5 photos
Mercedes-Benz GL-Class

Mercedes-Benz GL-Class

X164, X166 (See All)
3.8 from 13 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Large / 7 Seater SUVs in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Mercedes-Benz? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

3.8
13 reviews
5
(9)
4
(0)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(3)
    Previous
    Next
    Ruby
    RubyBrisbane

    My dream car

    published

    I love everything about mine. I tow my van up through sand with it and it’s never let me down. Beautiful to drive. Comfortable and easy to park even if she is big. Bit expensive to service but what the hell. I love it. It’s worth it. Had an ML before and loved it too

    BadgeGL320 CDI
    TransmissionAutomatic
    Date PurchasedJan 2015
    Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
    Sam L.
    Sam L.Sydney
    • 5 reviews
    • 8 likes

    Awesome car, power and luxury

    published
    BadgeGL450 CDI
    Line0
    TransmissionAutomatic
    Date PurchasedJan 2017
    Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
    purvistenille
    purvistenilleDrummond Cove
    • 8 reviews
    • 4 likes

    Disappointed

    published

    The handling was well but when i purchased this i had nothing but trouble with different mechanical issues of the car.. I lost so much money on this when trying to sell it i had to cut my losses by about $25k... never will i buy or recommend a Merc again

    BadgeGL500
    TransmissionAutomatic
    Date PurchasedJune 2015
    Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
    Ajay
    AjaySouth East Queensland, QLD
    • 5 reviews
    • 9 likes

    What a disappointment

    published

    While the car itself is OK, despite major turbo lag, the service issue are just endless. In just under 18 months we've been in for two recalls and the HVAC system is a disaster and will spew mould and mildew spores all over you within the first year of operation. Mercedes Benz will not fix it under warranty, instead you'll need to pay $700-$1000 every year to deal with their design fault. There is even a class action law suit in the US about this very issue. For a $125K motor vehicle from a supposedly prestige band, the customer service of Mercedes Benz in Australia is appalling and the dealership at Mercedes Benz Toowong are even worse. STAY AWAY! Do NOT buy this vehicle!

    BadgeGL350 CDI
    TransmissionAutomatic
    Date PurchasedMar 2016
    Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
    Large / 7 Seater SUVs

    Find out how Mercedes-Benz GL-Class compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

    Know better, choose better.

    Compare all
    fergo76
    fergo76Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
    • 2 reviews
    • 5 likes

    Unsafe feeling while driving

    published

    I took delivery of a brand new GL 350 late January 2016.
    Since then I have had nothing but problems with the car and it had spent more than 15 plus trips to the dealer.
    During this time the car has been kept for days at a time.
    With the work they have done to the car the entire front end has been almost replaced.
    The vehicle floats all over the road and is a chore to drive.

    I will never purchase another Mercedes Benz again due to the feeling this vehicle had left.

    Still to this day I have Left feed back on surveys with a promise of a call back but nothing

    Very unhappy purchaser.

    BadgeGL350 CDI
    TransmissionAutomatic
    Date PurchasedJan 2016
    Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
    Russell B
    Russell B
    • 2 reviews

    Surprisingly agile and very comfortable.

    published

    This is a big heavy car, but driving it is a pleasure. Certainly the most comfortable 4WD I have ever driven. Thirsty if you put your foot down, but can happily cruise under 9l/100km on the highway. Auto wipers are a bit enthusiastic, but other than that, all the gadgets work perfectly and make it an easy car to drive.

    BadgeGL350 CDI
    TransmissionAutomatic
    Date PurchasedNov 2016
    Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
    flapgum
    flapgumSouth East Queensland, QLD
    • 15 reviews
    • 12 likes

    The best by a long way

    published
    Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

    Related Articles

    Previous
    Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

    With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

    Clara V.
    Clara V.15 Nov 2021
    smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
    Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

    Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

    Avleen M.
    Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
    christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
    The right to repair: which brands are making it easier for you to fix their products?

    The right to repair movement in Australia is calling for companies to make it easier for their products to be repaired. Here are some electronics and appliance manufacturers who are starting to listen and make it more feasible for consumers to repair, rather than replace, their items.

    Clara V.
    Clara V.14 Feb 2022
    the-right-to-repair-which-brands-are-making-it-easier-for-you-to-fix-their-products
    Next
    SilverBack
    SilverBackAU
    • 5 reviews
    • 10 likes

    Don't do it to yourself unless you have very deep pockets

    published
    BadgeGL320 CDI
    Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
    Jo
    JoSydney
    • 3 reviews
    • 1 like

    Great SUV

    published
    BadgeGL350
    TransmissionAutomatic
    LineAMG
    Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
    Large / 7 Seater SUVs

    Find out how Mercedes-Benz GL-Class compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

    Know better, choose better.

    Compare all

    Wow, I made the right choice

    published
    TransmissionAutomatic
    BadgeGL350
    Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
    Jtdesmond
    Jtdesmond
    • 7 reviews
    • 7 likes

    Excellent

    published
    TransmissionAutomatic
    BadgeGL320
    XianR
    XianR

    Someone from Namibia owns one and travels down to Cape Town, South Africa, GL350 laden to the hilt and sitting at 10-km/h. Even so, return s 11 L/100km. Or, as we say here, 9 km/l. Pretty impressive stuff.

    Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
    bigdog1
    bigdog1Sydney, NSW
    • 3 reviews
    • 2 likes

    Excellent

    published

    What a superb and smooth vehicle. For a 2500kg monster it moves pretty damn quick (6.5sec 0-100kmh). You can actually seat 7 adults in the 7 seats with still some space to carry cargo. 5.5L V8 chews the juice but you get a great drive in luxury. Roomier than the Q7 and more functional - Q7 3rd row almost impossible to get in and out of). The GL320 is also very good (probably better value....it's 40K cheaper) and is pretty nimble in its own right. If you can afford it and don't mind spending the $$ on the fuel, the GL500 is for you. Best luxury 7 seat SVU on the market by a mile.
    GL500 - Power, size and quality.
    Cost, fuel consumption

    TransmissionAutomatic
    BadgeGL500
    Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
    Large / 7 Seater SUVs

    Find out how Mercedes-Benz GL-Class compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

    Know better, choose better.

    Compare all
    annabellem
    annabellemAU
    • 26 reviews
    • 13 likes

    Excellent

    published
    TransmissionAutomatic
    Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

    Questions & Answers

    VanJohn
    VanJohnasked
    GL-Class

    Mercedes Benz 2006 GL320 DIESEL The red warning battery light came on TAKE TO WORK SHOP.
    I tried switching car off but it did not turn off. Drove it to a battery place and found battery and alternator ok. Again tried switching car off but it stayed on. Removed petrol pump fuse and car stopped. Put fuse back in, now car will turn over but will not start. Removed one battery lead off. though it may reset things but now car will not even turn over after connecting lead back again. Does anyone have any ideas?

    No answers

    Get an answer from our members

    Mercedes-Benz GL-Class

    Details

    Compare both Mercedes-Benz GL-Class
    CategoryLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVs
    Release dateMay 2013Nov 2006
    Discontinuation dateDec 2015Dec 2012
    Compare both Mercedes-Benz GL-Class

    ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.