??!

See the Best Laptops in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.


Not worth buying

This computer is pretty bad its battery life was not what is was supposed to be. There were several problems such as turning it on it would never turn on until like the 20th time of pressing the button. It was also very laggy and could not have a lot of tabs open at the same time and I had to replace it 3 times because it had an issue and could not be fixed even my old HP computer was better than this potato.

Purchased in June 2017 at PB Tech for $1,600.00.


This computer is a nightmare

From the word go I've had a lot of trouble with this computer. When it updates you can't go in the internet or use your computer until it's updated which is terrible. Then my computer started just turning off for no reason. I never had put it on the internet unless it made me update so there was no viruses on it. I only used it for recording music as I write songs and Midway it would just turn off. JB organised for it to be repaired but it came back and thevpower kept going on and off so would charge for a second and then it would not charge. So the power light would turn on and then it would turn off. It's seriously is the worst computer I've ever had and I hope that I can swap it with jb for another brand that is decent. I can't believe that Microsoft is selling these Surface Pro at an an exorbitant price when these things are faulty.

Purchased in August 2017 at JB Hi-Fi for $2,200.00.

Not up to scratch

Bought in Feb 2017 had problems turning it on and off immediately but it did eventually work ok for about 6 months then it wouldn't turn off again, also life of battery was only 2 to 2.5 yours nowhere near the supposed 8. Contacted Microsoft and they replaced it with a reconditioned laptop in August 2017. This worked ok until March 2019 then the hard drive crashed in this one, Microsoft said as this was out of warranty they would not replace it but I could buy a Surface Pro 4 for $675 ( probably another reconditioned lemon). Now I'm $1200 out of pocket and no computer. Stay away from this product warranty should have been a new product not a reconditioned lemon.

Purchased in February 2017 for $1,200.00.

Awesome little laptop/tablet

I wanted something that was portable but also able to be used as a desktop app this was perfect! Does everything I need it to do and more, all in a sleek package. I love being able to use the pen and write on the tablet without smudging it when I rest my hand on the tablet. All in all a fantastic little device!

Purchased in March 2019 at JB Hi-Fi.


Perfect Computer for those on the Go

I use this as my everyday laptop and has enough processing power for most activities. I usually have multiple windows open and a media player in the background which it handles very well. the keyboard on this is a must if you want to increase productivity.
I also bring this with me when i travel and it doesnt take too much space or weight.

Purchased in July 2018 at JB Hi-Fi for $1,225.00.


Cool gadget

I purchased the Surface Pro after my Macbook decided to not wake up. So far, it's been very impressive. It so far is very dependable but battery life is about 4 to 5 hours. Not too sure if it's supposed to be 8?

Purchased in May 2019.


Love it, happy with my choice

Happy with it so far, easy to use and i love the convenience of being able to switch between tablet and keyboard. Very stylish and practical. I';d say it does run a bit slower than my macbook pro did when I got that one new though

Purchased in April 2019 for $1,300.00.


A defective device was sent to replace a defective device

Just provide an update on my previous review on this product. 3 devices they sent to me in about 1.5 years are all defective, not working. They kept replacing a defective device with another defective device for me. Very very very disappointed.

I bought a Surface Pro 5 in June 2017 with the top specs at more than $3000 plus the Microsoft Complete Package. In the first 1.5 months, the device must be replaced immediately because the Surface Pro became completely frozen if I left it turned on without touching it for a while. And after I left it charging for about 1 hour, the device became very hot. I got the second device as a replacement and again I detected the battery was not charging after a year or so. Note that I rarely use this device, basically, use it when traveling only.

This time I detected the malfunction on the night before I was preparing for a 3-week overseas trip, so I contacted Microsoft again in the morning while preparing for my night flight on the same day. It took me nearly all morning until noon to work with the Microsoft Customer Support staff to know that my replaced device is malfunctioning again and needed a replacement. That means I would need to fly on an overseas business trip without a computer although my work requires a computer.

Thus, I asked them to refund me and I will send the defective device back such that I can use the refund to buy a new laptop that I can use to work overseas. But they refused to refund me since I bought it for more than 30 day

It is still not the end of their very disappointing and unprofessional manner. I got a replacement that is a refurbished and dirty device in March. And again this 3rd Surface stop working immediately after I finished the Microsoft setup. And they marked my cased as RESOLVED when I called them to ask them to fix the third defective device they just sent me.

So far, more than 2 months I still have had a defective device and another defective device again. Of course impossible to use the device to work.

I have felt they cheated their customers by producing such defective devices and it seems like they charged customers with very high prices, keep replacing the defective devices until the warranty package ended. And then customers can actually use their devices in about only one year or so with the current malfunctioning rate of their device.

I will never use their products again. It is a very expensive product but malfunctioning that was amplified by the terrible management team with their bad refund policy. Also, I have wasted a huge amount of time dealing with the products problems, with the bad customer service and wasting time on reinstalling all of my necessary software in the devices each time the device was replaced.

So I strongly recommend you NOT buy their devices if you do not want to get malfunctioning devices, and then again get another malfunctioning replacement device.... And huge of waste time to follow them up such that you could get replacement malfunction device.

Purchased in June 2017 for $3,000.00.

Don't buy Surface Pro. Frequently Malfunctioning, expensive and terrible customer support.

Don’t buy any Microsoft hardware products unless you want to get defective devices and terrible customer service. I strongly recommend you NOT buy their devices if you do not want to pay the huge amount of money, to get malfunctioning devices, to waste tons of time on fixing the expensive but defective devices, and to travel for work without a computer like me.

I bought a Surface Pro 5 in June 2017 with the top specs at more than $3000 plus the Microsoft Complete Package. In the first 1.5 months, the device must be replaced immediately because the Surface Pro became completely frozen if I left it turned on without touching it for a while. And after I left it charging for about 1 hour, the device became very hot. I got the second device as a replacement and again I detected the battery was not charging after a year or so. Note that I rarely use this device, basically, use it when traveling only.

This time I detected the malfunction on the night before I was preparing for a 3-week overseas trip, so I contacted Microsoft again in the morning while preparing for my night flight on the same day. It took me nearly all morning until noon to work with the Microsoft Customer Support staff to know that my replaced device is malfunctioning again and needed a replacement. That means I would need to fly on an overseas business trip without a computer although my work requires a computer.

Thus, I asked them to refund me and I will send the defective device back such that I can use the refund to buy a new laptop that I can use to work overseas. But they refused to refund me since I bought it for more than 30 days.

It is very disappointing and unprofessional. I have felt they cheated their customers by producing such defective devices and it seems like they charged customers with very high prices, keep replacing the defective devices until the warranty package ended. And then customers can actually use their devices in about ONLY ONE YEAR or so with the current malfunctioning rate of their device.

I will never use their products again. It is a very expensive product but malfunctioning that was amplified by the terrible management team with their bad refund policy. Also, I have wasted a huge amount of time dealing with the products problems, with the bad customer service and wasting time on reinstalling all of my necessary software in the devices each time the device was replaced.

So I strongly recommend you NOT buy their devices if you do not want to get malfunctioning devices, to waste tons of time on fixing the expensive but defective devices, and to travel for work without a computer like me.

Purchased in June 2017.

Fantasticly over priced weapon

i5 8G 256G / i5 so so ….. Fanless i5 woot woot … operation so so , Full operation woot woot , a hidden gem in the respects of 4G on board and that's the only way I would have it or nothing at all …. There is not much you can not do with this unit and sometimes that's a great thing ….. Sometimes bad ….. I will enjoy sitting on the fence on this one, I am glad I own the unit and wonder what the future will bring.

Date PurchasedMay 2018

Best Light laptop tablet hybrid

If you need more than an ipad / android tablet but still want a full PC that is portable this is one to look at.

It is not a cheap device but it is a lot of portability for the amount of power. Has a full size USB port, mDP and the surface connector (charging and dock). It is a 3:2 ratio which is much better suited for reading (A4) than most laptops. It costs the kind of money you would pay for a make book but has better features.

I do highly recommend the advance warranty though, There are not really parts or repair options outside MS and if you have the advance warranty they will send you a replacement then you send back the one with issues within a week. Very useful.

I like them so much that I have moved the Admin team at work from cellular ipads to Surface pros with LTE. they love 'em.

Date PurchasedJun 2018

This device is awsome

I am a student and I cant explain how happy I am by using "split screen" feature for multitasking where I can see problems on one side and solutions on the other side of same screen. Thank You so much.
I recommend it for all University students as this device is superb for us.

Date PurchasedSep 2018

Terrible experience

I purchased 2 surface pro last year as I decided to change from my iPad to surface pro. Unfortunately I developed a defect in my surface pro screen while travelling for business couple of weeks ago. I contacted for replacement and paid approximately 650$ for replacement. Sent package following all instructions but when the replacement arrived pen, mouse missing from package and keyboard badly damaged due to substandard package and handling. Called to complaint but very poor response and asked to wait for 10 more days. My business is affected but they don’t care. Very unfortunate and painful experience overall. Meeting legal friend tomorrow to see if I can make a formal legal case.

Date PurchasedSep 2017

Laggy, but gets the job done

I also purchased the Surface Type Cover and the Surface Pen, and having been using them on a daily basis. Of course, lag can be attributed to me having a base model of the product and it's not even a major issue. It works great, and there is barely any input lag between the Pen and the screen. It feels as though the Pen glides over the screen, so if you're looking for a paper-like feel, I suggest getting a matte finish screen guard. Taking notes on this is really easy, and any time I have to switch between written notes and typed notes, it's as easy as flipping the keyboard behind and getting started. I would recommend a higher model if you're looking for devices that need to run heavy applications.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Keeps failing

I have the surface pro + dock and use it with two monitors. The dock ($300) has failed twice so far in a year. Today I got the Blue Screen, it has a scan code which I used and that took me to a Microsoft Website, which asked me dumb questions - no answers and then asked me if it was helpful?? NOT! I re-booted and it would not recognise the monitors, so thought I would revert to one Monitor Directly plugged in to the Screen, then the Keyboard stopped working. Used the touch screen to log on, but could not use the keyboard again. Gave up and now going to buy a HP Spectre and pass this piece of four letter word starting with S, to support to fix up. Wasted three days this year on this piece of junk

Date PurchasedMar 2017

Microsoft product & service terrible

Bought product through school program for son studying VCE.
After 5 months product just went black & could not be restarted.
Computer is designed to be serviced only by Microsoft & cannot be opened without damaging the screen.
I have a couple of these through school & have had various problems with chargers (of course they change the design of this so they are not compatible with different models.
Microsoft will not under any circumstances let you retrieve data or help you with recovery.
Even if the item is deemed faulty you can not buy it back.
Computer shops can get the data but it will void warranty as product is designed so that you have to break it to open it.
You have to package & post back the computer so I finally got the label & sent it off. (1 week)
This took two long phone calls & two emails, eventually the shop got the label posted.
Two more emails & phone call later I finally got a replacement (28 Days)
Even though I stressed that my son was using it for Year 12.
The replacement item was clearly not brand new as the touch screen did not work well.
Two hours into using it, this computer also failed.
I am waiting for item No 3 as I write this.
I certainly would not recommend this product or it's company's customer service.
I have received unit No 3 which is obviously a reconditioned unit. It did come a lot quicker at least.
The internet reception will only work if it is used within 3 to 4 metres of the modem.
touch screen is very laggy.
Two months on the Internet problem has now escalated & we cannot get it to receive a signal at home but does work ok at school.
We have various other devices all over the house which work fine.
I will be asking for ANOTHER replacement as soon as my son has finished VCE.
Have other brands of laptop at home over longer time with no problems.
Not sure if it is all the reconditioned units or just a rubbish design.
POSTSCRIPT;
We have had the computer crash & unable to get going again.
Four calls to Microsoft to fix problem without success
No return call or follow up on each occasion.
Said they would send usb to help recovery, waited over a week; nothing.
Eventually sent it back again!!!
I have been on the phone for a total of around three to four hours trying to sort out this device.
Hopefully the FOURTH one will work properly!!
Terrible device, disgraceful service.
I have had a MSI device for years which has not faltered once & cost way less.

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Perfect as a daily driver

The Surface Pro has beautifully brought the gap between paper and screen closer. Writing/drawing on it is a breeze, and this is what I take to class now. It is so easy to operate, and is so versatile! I have one of the base models, yet everything is snappy and it gets the job done, be it programming, or drawing. Graphics/display is amazing and the battery life is enough to last longer than any study session! It is the best purchase I've made in this year yet, and I'm really looking forward to what else this device has to offer!

Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Changes the game, but the proprietary power connnector a huge let down

I use this everyday. It's the perfect tool for study, like an endless book to write in. With Drawboard, marking up pdf files feels just like having a printed copy. What is far from endless is the battery life though, don't expect to use it for a day without a charge or two. This wouldn't be such a problem if Microsoft had added a USB C port to charge from so that we could use external batteries, or at least offer an external battery pack for it. The proprietary magnetic power connector is kind of cool, yet at the same time the biggest let down with this device. There are other annoyances to do with how mature the software is with respect to operating by stylus, but I'm noticing these are slowly being resolved. I've owned the machine for 9 months and not had any reliability issues. The build quality is great. The attachable keyboards are expensive, flimsy and unnecessary since you can use the on-screen keyboard far more conveniently. If you want to do a lot of typing, get a laptop. If you want an endless book to write in / organize and all your textbooks and pdf files in one place, this is currently the best option. It is a tad expensive but worth the extra

*Edit* After just over 1 year of ownership, an even bigger let down is the lag. When this thing is working well, it is awesome. But very frequently the screen becomes unresponsive to pen inputs and pressing the keyboard soft-button does nothing. Besides being annoying, this makes the thing useless for trying to keep up in lectures. Very often, the pen will also start missing the mark, being about a mm off from where the pen touches, so I'll have to write the same thing out over and over. I use this as a pdf markup tool, ebook reader and one-note for all my uni work. I think this device is hopelessly under-powered considering with only a couple of pdfs and one-note notebooks open, it becomes unresponsive like this, and this is the i5 version. I don't recall this happening when I first bought the machine. Perhaps it is a power saving update as I have noticed battery life seems to be a little better lately, but as the cost of usability this is not a good compromise. A better option would be to get rid of this useless magnetic power connector and give us a USB type C connector so that we can charge from an external battery. Disappointingly, Microsoft have not taken this option with the newly released surface, so I won't be upgrading any time soon.

Date PurchasedJun 2017

A perfect office tool

It has a new mode of laptop, lighter than surface book ,more practical than surface laptop. It also has a perfect writing experience ,easy to use it when class and meeting.Plus, Onenote is perfect too, it help me save a lot of time. All in all, it is a very good office tool, however it cannot be used like a game tool.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Great laptop

This laptop is lightweight, fast, and easy to use. I love the magnetic ‘cover’ keyboard and the pen. The stand works well and some nice laptop cases are available. I’m so glad I bought this instead of both a laptop and a tablet. My partner and I boh have one and we share the keyboard cover which works well!

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.

Details

Microsoft Surface Pro (2017) 128GB/Intel m3 - 4GB RAMMicrosoft Surface Pro (2017) 128GB/Intel i5 - 4GB RAMMicrosoft Surface Pro (2017) 256GB/Intel i5 - 8GB RAMMicrosoft Surface Pro (2017) 256GB/Intel i7 - 8GB RAMMicrosoft Surface Pro (2017) 512GB/Intel i7 - 16GB RamMicrosoft Surface Pro (2017) 1TB/Intel i7 - 16GB RAMMicrosoft Surface Pro (2017) 128GB/Intel i5 - 8GB Ram, LTE
CategoryLaptopsLaptopsLaptopsLaptopsLaptopsLaptopsLaptops
Product Type2-in-1 Laptop2-in-1 Laptop2-in-1 Laptop2-in-1 Laptop2-in-1 Laptop2-in-1 Laptop2-in-1 Laptop
Screen Size12.3Inches12.3Inches12.3Inches12.3Inches12.3Inches12.3Inches12.3Inches
Price (RRP)$1199$1499$1999$2449$3299$3999$2199
Weight0.768kg0.77kg0.77kg0.784kg0.784kg0.784kg0.77kg

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.