??!
3 photos
Microsoft Surface Pro (2017)
3.4 from 27 reviews

Reviews

3.4

27 reviews
5
(11)
4
(5)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(8)
Previous
Next
Matt

Matt

  • 3 reviews

Good if you have 3Yr warranty support.

published

Working with these in the office over the past year and a half has been both a joy and occasional challenge. It is light, compact and super mobile removing the need for multiple devices, however it can be fussy.

Would I buy one with my own money? If the screen was closer to 13", performance was 30-50% better and 3Yr warranty standard, possibly. The drawing experience is great and the display is super clear albeit on the smaller side. If all you do is push emails around, online research and sign a few docs during the day its a handy companion. Content creators and those more impatient may however struggle to let go of their more powerful laptop or desktop PC and end up using both.

Purchased in February 2019.

Joshua J.

Joshua J.Sydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Rubbish. Touch screen doesnt work

published

A touch screen tablet where the touch screen doesnt work. And Microsoft knows about it. Then send out another famous Microsoft update. Makes the thing totally useless. Get an iPad or laptop and save yourself the heartache.

Purchased in January 2019 for A$2,000.00.

Not worth buying

published

This computer is pretty bad its battery life was not what is was supposed to be. There were several problems such as turning it on it would never turn on until like the 20th time of pressing the button. It was also very laggy and could not have a lot of tabs open at the same time and I had to replace it 3 times because it had an issue and could not be fixed even my old HP computer was better than this potato.

Purchased in June 2017 at PB Tech for A$1,600.00.

Laptops

Find out how Microsoft Surface Pro (2017) compares to other Laptops

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Love2sing777

Love2sing777Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

This computer is a nightmare

published

Purchased in August 2017 at JB Hi-Fi for A$2,200.00.

Nerida C.

Nerida C.Mid North Coast, NSW

Not up to scratch

published

Bought in Feb 2017 had problems turning it on and off immediately but it did eventually work ok for about 6 months then it wouldn't turn off again, also life of battery was only 2 to 2.5 yours nowhere near the supposed 8. Contacted Microsoft and they replaced it with a reconditioned laptop in August 2017. This worked ok until March 2019 then the hard drive crashed in this one, Microsoft said as this was out of warranty they would not replace it but I could buy a Surface Pro 4 for $675 ( probably another reconditioned lemon). Now I'm $1200 out of pocket and no computer. Stay away from this product warranty should have been a new product not a reconditioned lemon.

Purchased in February 2017 for A$1,200.00.

Tina

Tina

  • 10 reviews

Awesome little laptop/tablet

published

I wanted something that was portable but also able to be used as a desktop app this was perfect! Does everything I need it to do and more, all in a sleek package. I love being able to use the pen and write on the tablet without smudging it when I rest my hand on the tablet. All in all a fantastic little device!

Purchased in March 2019 at JB Hi-Fi.

jay

jaySydney, NSW

  • 11 reviews

Perfect Computer for those on the Go

published

I use this as my everyday laptop and has enough processing power for most activities. I usually have multiple windows open and a media player in the background which it handles very well. the keyboard on this is a must if you want to increase productivity.
I also bring this with me when i travel and it doesnt take too much space or weight.

Purchased in July 2018 at JB Hi-Fi for A$1,225.00.

jason

jasonGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Cool gadget

published

I purchased the Surface Pro after my Macbook decided to not wake up. So far, it's been very impressive. It so far is very dependable but battery life is about 4 to 5 hours. Not too sure if it's supposed to be 8?

Purchased in May 2019.

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Leanne Orico

Leanne OricoGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Love it, happy with my choice

published

Happy with it so far, easy to use and i love the convenience of being able to switch between tablet and keyboard. Very stylish and practical. I';d say it does run a bit slower than my macbook pro did when I got that one new though

Purchased in April 2019 for A$1,300.00.

Laptops

Find out how Microsoft Surface Pro (2017) compares to other Laptops

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Phuong

Phuong

  • 2 reviews

A defective device was sent to replace a defective device

published

Purchased in June 2017 for A$3,000.00.

Zeta

ZetaMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Don't buy Surface Pro. Frequently Malfunctioning, expensive and terrible customer support.

published

Purchased in June 2017.

red

red

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Fantasticly over priced weapon

published

i5 8G 256G / i5 so so ….. Fanless i5 woot woot … operation so so , Full operation woot woot , a hidden gem in the respects of 4G on board and that's the only way I would have it or nothing at all …. There is not much you can not do with this unit and sometimes that's a great thing ….. Sometimes bad ….. I will enjoy sitting on the fence on this one, I am glad I own the unit and wonder what the future will bring.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
Adam G

Adam GPerth

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Best Light laptop tablet hybrid

published
Date PurchasedJun 2018
Addie Anoop

Addie Anoop

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

This device is awsome

published

I am a student and I cant explain how happy I am by using "split screen" feature for multitasking where I can see problems on one side and solutions on the other side of same screen. Thank You so much.
I recommend it for all University students as this device is superb for us.

Date PurchasedSep 2018

Terrible experience

published

I purchased 2 surface pro last year as I decided to change from my iPad to surface pro. Unfortunately I developed a defect in my surface pro screen while travelling for business couple of weeks ago. I contacted for replacement and paid approximately 650$ for replacement. Sent package following all instructions but when the replacement arrived pen, mouse missing from package and keyboard badly damaged due to substandard package and handling. Called to complaint but very poor response and asked to wait for 10 more days. My business is affected but they don’t care. Very unfortunate and painful experience overall. Meeting legal friend tomorrow to see if I can make a formal legal case.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
Laptops

Find out how Microsoft Surface Pro (2017) compares to other Laptops

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Connor

ConnorMelbourne

  • 5 reviews

Laggy, but gets the job done

published

I also purchased the Surface Type Cover and the Surface Pen, and having been using them on a daily basis. Of course, lag can be attributed to me having a base model of the product and it's not even a major issue. It works great, and there is barely any input lag between the Pen and the screen. It feels as though the Pen glides over the screen, so if you're looking for a paper-like feel, I suggest getting a matte finish screen guard. Taking notes on this is really easy, and any time I have to switch between written notes and typed notes, it's as easy as flipping the keyboard behind and getting started. I would recommend a higher model if you're looking for devices that need to run heavy applications.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
GrillaBBQ

GrillaBBQBrisbane

  • 26 reviews
  • 4 likes

Keeps failing

published

I have the surface pro + dock and use it with two monitors. The dock ($300) has failed twice so far in a year. Today I got the Blue Screen, it has a scan code which I used and that took me to a Microsoft Website, which asked me dumb questions - no answers and then asked me if it was helpful?? NOT! I re-booted and it would not recognise the monitors, so thought I would revert to one Monitor Directly plugged in to the Screen, then the Keyboard stopped working. Used the touch screen to log on, but could not use the keyboard again. Gave up and now going to buy a HP Spectre and pass this piece of four letter word starting with S, to support to fix up. Wasted three days this year on this piece of junk

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Ted

Tedbrisbane

  • 2 reviews

Microsoft product & service terrible

published
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Aman B

Aman BAU

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect as a daily driver

published

The Surface Pro has beautifully brought the gap between paper and screen closer. Writing/drawing on it is a breeze, and this is what I take to class now. It is so easy to operate, and is so versatile! I have one of the base models, yet everything is snappy and it gets the job done, be it programming, or drawing. Graphics/display is amazing and the battery life is enough to last longer than any study session! It is the best purchase I've made in this year yet, and I'm really looking forward to what else this device has to offer!

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Mark

MarkMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Changes the game, but the proprietary power connnector a huge let down

published
Date PurchasedJun 2017
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.