??!
4 photos
Mitsubishi Triton MQ

Mitsubishi Triton MQ (2015-2020)

Also referred to as: Mitsubishi Triton MQ 2019 and Mitsubishi Triton MQ 2021. 4x4 2.4L Turbo Diesel, 4x2
3.5 from 193 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

3.5

193 reviews
5
(76)
4
(38)
3
(21)
2
(20)
1
(38)
  • Build Quality
    3.6 (39)
  • Value for Money
    3.9 (37)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.2 (37)
  • Noise Level
    3.7 (38)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.6 (36)
  • Handling
    4.1 (36)
  • Braking
    4.0 (36)
  • Suspension
    3.4 (35)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.1 (34)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.6 (36)
  • Interior Design
    3.8 (36)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (29)
  • Features
    3.8 (36)
  • Comfort
    3.8 (37)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Martin swift

Martin swiftHunter Region, NSW

Sad To See the 24litre engine is failing and the dealer does not want to know you

published

Used to be a fan of the Triton Ute have at least 20 in the fleet but i am afraid the new 2.4l do not cut the work load they say they can do
Cars are serviced every 10000klms but have just blown 3 Motors 150000/120000/105000 and a clutch at 55000 and they do not want to know you
Will look at replacing the fleet in the next 12 months with something a little more reliable
Still have 4 of the older models with 350000 plus klms so it certainly has something to do with the new smaller engine

Purchased in February 2016 for A$42,000.00.

BoughtNew
Year2016
Cab Type Dual
Ben J.

Ben J.Sydney, NSW

blow up engine

published

car used only for family transport regularly serviced
engine blow up at 73000 km 5 years
terrible customer service ,they just ignore you
not a reliable car , dont waste your money

Purchased in May 2015.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Cab Type Dual
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Fuel cap issues

published

The car itself is great...but the fuel flap door will not open. It has taken 6 months already for them to order the part which is still another two weeks away. So I have a brand new car that I can’t put fuel into without first going to the dealer to have them open it for me. The 7 year warranty is no help with this apparently because the car goes, but still can’t leave town or head away on holidays in the new car in case it runs out of fuel.

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2019
Cab Type Dual
See all answers
Utes

Find out how Mitsubishi Triton MQ compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mel E

Mel EPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Such a beauty!

published

Just bought our GLS Premium 4x4 yesterday. Such a beauty to drive! This is our first 4x4 and we find it easy to park with the help of 360deg camera. We'll be using it in 2weeks for our camping trip to Karijini so we're a bit excited.

Purchased in July 2020 at Mitsubishi Dealers for A$50,754.90.

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2020
Cab Type Dual
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Great drive

published

Great truck. Have completed 73000km with it. I Use the Ute on gravel roads over mountain passes all the time in NZ. I am using Four wheel drive daily. Also tow my 1.7ton digger over same roads. It’s been awesome. No real dramas apart from a sticky turbo waste gate. Seems to have fixed itself

Purchased in December 2017 for A$44,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2017
Cab Type Dual
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Maria

MariaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 12 reviews
  • 6 likes

So happy with purchase

published

Recently purchased our first ever new car and chose a Mitsubishi Triton. What a surprise package. Know why it made ute of the year. Great looking ute. Very comfortable drive. So many safety features and automatic functions. It’s fantastic. Very easy to use giving you hands free communication.

Purchased in March 2020 at Zupps for A$38,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Cab Type Dual
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Ben Simmons

Ben SimmonsTasmania

Have had some issues.

published

Cracked head beyond repair @ 63000ks
Replaced under warranty.
The day after the car was returned to me the glow plugs failed.
Replaced under warranty.
I like the ute but the problems i have had hasn't given me much faith in the build.
Things like this shouldn't happen at 60,000ks.
Throttle response and turbo lag is terrible but can be fixed with a throttle controller.
Stock suspension is terrible needs to be replaced.

Purchased in August 2019 for A$25,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
SixSixSh33P

SixSixSh33PSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 16 reviews
  • 11 likes

Great ute for the price

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Zupps for A$32,888.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Stephen

StephenPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews

BEST UTE EVER! TRY ME!

published

Totally effortless offroad. Very fuel efficient. Can keep up with anything offroad with ease. Plenty of aftermarket support. The Triton community is very welcoming if you're wanting to join. Cheers.

Purchased in October 2019 for A$33,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Utes

Find out how Mitsubishi Triton MQ compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jason D

Jason DGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Love the Triton

published

Triton was the best rated and best price. I chose the black( wrong choice) but the car is extremely comfortable and reliable with 7 year warranty and fixed price service

Purchased in April 2018 at Mitsubishi Dealers for A$45,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
c purton

c purtonNorth-West & West coast, TAS

Good light weight workhorse

published

Purchased in July 2015.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Ryan C.

Ryan C.

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great value for money

published

I've set the vehicle up as a tourer and it's been going great. With a good fuel economy and soild performance. I haven't towed anything so can't comment on that but I have loaded it up with weight and it maintains a decent performance... though perhaps not as much as some of the other dual cabs on the market. For the price though, it's hard to beat and after 90000 km I've not had a single issue.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
paul

paulhowrah tasmania

  • 17 reviews
  • 27 likes

BEFORE you buy read the many road tests first.

published

Triton is the third biggest selling vehicle [& ute] in Aus; after the Ranger 1st & Hilux 2nd. Some road tests rate them in that order too, ahead of all the others. Tritons are a bit cheaper than the many overpriced 4x4s & now have a 7 year warranty as not much goes wrong [same as with MOST new cars these days. Just ensure you read the ANCAP 5 star safety tests & buy the most safety extras you can get. Your family deserve to be safe. I test drive several makes before I decide. Make sure you do too.

Purchased in December 2019 at McGrath Mitsubishi Liverpool for A$33,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
paul
paul

Excellent

published

Had my 2018 exceed for 12 months. Used off road, beach and around city. Brilliant value for money. Can still buy new 2 of these for the price of a Toyota or Ford. To selling new for $38000. Have had zero problems with it. More extras as standard than most other 4wd's. 5 star safety rating.

Purchased in January 2019 for A$39,900.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
David Rich

David RichSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Poor quality including that of the factory fitted genuine accessories

published
  • +2

Purchased in October 2016 for A$53,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Utes

Find out how Mitsubishi Triton MQ compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
craig64baird

craig64bairdGordon 2906, ACT

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Absolute rubbish

published

Dont buy!

Fuel economy is atrocious, double what the Mitsubishi suggest. Mitsubishi wont accept responsibility. Put a bull bar on the front and the entire vehicle shakes.

They are cheap for a reason, but they also depreciate quicker than any of their competitors.

Purchased in February 2018.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Arb boi

Arb boiNortheast, VIC

Worst 4x4 to drive on market no suspension travel loud engine and road noise poor build and design

published

Work for a accessory company and have one company car and fit accessories to multiple dealers drive all brands and this is the worst on market carnt say anymore on how bad these drive on and off road

Purchased in June 2019 for A$39,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Comfort
See all answers
jasonzammit22

jasonzammit22Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Awesome 4wd, haven't had an issue

published

Car has been great and can't fault it at all in the past 18 months of owning it. Definitely glad I saved the money by going a triton rather than a more expensive ute

Purchased in June 2018 for A$38,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Dave

DaveSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Can’t complain great ute

published

I bought my MQ end of July 2017 new only problems I have had have been with dealers but I have that sorted now. Mitsubishi was very helpful in solving my issues. I have done 50k in two years trouble free motoring this vehicle is used in 4x4 to climb up to my house every day and has never been a problem. Averages 7.8 l/100 on hi way and has achieved 6.6 on trip from Sunshine Coast to Brisbane and around Brisbane as well not being driven hard but not sitting still either, 110 on hi way. I can,t complain and believe me I would if I had reason to do so.

Purchased in July 2017 at Dealer Caloundra for A$32,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Caambo

CaamboGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

A very good vehicle for a very decent price.

published

Purchased in June 2016 at Mitsubishi Dealers.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Page 1 of 10
See all Mitsubishi Triton reviews

Questions & Answers

Kath m

Kath masked

Triton MQ (2015-2020)

Best tyre pressure for 120 km highway driving round trip daily. 2018 MQ dual cab auto

No answers
Tom

Tomasked

Triton MQ (2015-2020)

Just bought a 2019 Triton when I drive the car locks how do I unlock it when picking up someone no unlock and lock button near window buttons

No answers
Rick

Rickasked

Triton MQ (2015-2020)

Want to install a cb radio in my 2017 MQ triton. Ideally would like to put it in the middle / bottom opening in front of the T-Bar. Would this be possible?

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Other Utes

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.