??!
12 photos
Morphy Richards Accents Traditional

Morphy Richards Accents Traditional

Metallic Red (102004), Graphite (102002), White (102005), etc...
2.6 from 127 reviews

Reviews

(25)
(13)
(21)
(21)
(47)
  • Build Quality
    2.2 (11)
  • Value for Money
    2.3 (11)
  • Noise Level
    2.8 (11)
Kylie M.

Kylie M.

  • 2 reviews

Colour does not last and leaks

published

Had the kettle for a few years and the paint started chipping within a few months. The paint also faded in a drip mark pattern, almost as if from hot water dripping down the sides. I thought it was just mine, but my sister has the same kettle, purchased around the same time, but from different stores and she has the same marks.
The kettle will leak every now and then , but particularly when I'm descaling it. I thought the leaking was from overfilling but when I boiled with a descaling solution (per instructions), the liquid had leaked everywhere, and the kettle was empty

Purchased at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
1 comment
Morphy Richards
Eleonore E.Morphy Richards

Hello Kylie
So that we have the opportunity to try and assist can you please contact our office on 1300 556 816 and speak to warranty team, please also have a copy of your purchase receipt at hand when you call.

Awful

published

Bought the set kettle and toaster black and rose gold, the toaster has never heated properly and the kettle leaks like a sieve disappointed. Love the look but now having to replace both

Purchased in April 2019 at Costco SA, Adelaide for $250.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
1 comment
Morphy Richards
Angela C.Morphy Richards

Hi Awful,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Morphy Accents Traditional Rose Gold Toaster and Kettle. If you are still within the warranty period please return the items back to store with your purchase receipt for a replacement.

Worse kettle ever

published

This was brought to match toaster within a few months paint flaked a couple of years old now but I am going to throw it out. Water level corroded and lid dirty looking.most expensive and worse kettle i have ever had

Purchased in March 2018 at Direct Chemist Outlet for $60.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
1 comment
Morphy Richards
Angela C.Morphy Richards

Hi Patricia,
Please send through photos of your kettle showing the flaked paint and corroded lid to our Service and Warranty Department at service@glendimplex.com.au with your contact details.

Electric Kettles

Find out how Morphy Richards Accents Traditional compares to other Electric Kettles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jen25

Jen25North West, QLD

Style over Substance

published

Loved the look but when you boil it and pour a drink it bubbles up through spout when only half full making a big mess I wouldn’t buy this brand again

Purchased in October 2019 for $100.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
1 comment
Morphy Richards
Angela C.Morphy Richards
Sputnik1949

Sputnik1949Launceston, TAS

  • 4 reviews

Never again!

published

I bought one of these and it seemed okay until the warranty was almost at an end, when it failed.
I could not find the receipt so was out of pocket replacing it. I will definitely never buy a Morphy Richards 'anything' again. Pretty poor when it can't even last the distance of the warranty.
I also know other people who have had similar experiences.

"Once bitten"
Michael

Purchased in May 2017 at Target Australia for $79.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
1 comment
Morphy Richards
Angela C.Morphy Richards

Hi Sputnik1949,
We are sorry to hear of your experience. Please call our technical department on 1300 556 816 to discuss further.

Carol

CarolHunter Region, NSW

Leaks all over the place

published

We received this red kettle as a gift and it in less than three months old it leaks from the bottom of the gauge - we have no receipt so cant return it but it is a design fault which must be common in this kettle - it will have to be thrown away when we can afford to buy another kettle - very disappointed

Purchased in July 2019 at Myer.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
1 comment
Morphy Richards
GLEN D.Morphy Richards

Hi Carol,
Please contact our Technical Department on 1300 556 816 and they maybe able to assist with your enquiry.

Amy C

Amy CGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews

The perfect kettle

published

Quiet to operate and looks fantastic on the bench top too. It doesn’t take long at all to boil and doesn’t have an irritating noise when it’s ready.

Very happy that I upgraded to this kettle.

Purchased in December 2018 at Myer.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Tilly

TillySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews

Extremely disappointed and this is my second Accent; purchased 2016 warranty 2 years.

published

Purchased in April 2016 for $100.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
1 comment
Morphy Richards
GLEN D.Morphy Richards
Brie

BrieFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

Most Stylish Jug

published

I love this kettle. It looks so beautiful on my kitchen bench with the matching toaster. It is so easy to see how much water is left, the water taste so clean, heats up so quickly and being a mum i love that it whistles when its finished boiling, as somethings I forget what I was doing (eg. making a tea or coffee).

Purchased in June 2018 at Myer Retail Stores for $90.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
1 comment
Morphy Richards
GLEN D.Morphy Richards

Hi Brie,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and we are very pleased you are enjoying your beautiful Morphy Richards kettle.

Electric Kettles

Find out how Morphy Richards Accents Traditional compares to other Electric Kettles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Giselle Randle

Giselle RandleGippsland, VIC

leaking

published

I purchased a Yellow coloured Murphy Richards kettle about five years ago. It didn't last longer than about 18 months as the element stopped working. Almost three years ago my daughter bought me another (same style) and now it is leaking and looks like corrosion on the gauge area. WHY can't this product have a longer life? It should be at least 10 years and it's dreadful that they can't be repaired...something else to go on the scrap heap and landfill. I REALLY wanted the yellow as it matched the toaster and now I don't think the yellow is available as it was very hard to locate when my daughter was looking. I hate the whistle which is turned off. Very very disappointing on all counts.

Purchased in December 2016 for $120.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Karen S

Karen SSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews

So pretty - so practical

published

The styling is just perfect, with the right amount of rose gold trim to create an accent. It heats quickly, the water window is accurate and easy to see. The cord can be tucked into the base so you don't have too much hanging on the bench. I just love it

Purchased in September 2018 at Myer Retail Stores for $89.10.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
1 comment
Morphy Richards
GLEN D.Morphy Richards

Hi Karen,
We are so pleased you are happy with your kettle. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

Connie

ConnieBerrimah

  • 10 reviews

not the best, but not to bad

published

The speed for boiling: average
the noise: average (not too loud)
The design: nice, cute, but not really practical if you want to wash the interior part as the opening is too small! paint on the outer layer start peeling
it has whistle in it, which is good, but it is quite long, last a few more seconds than what's needed which can attract attention if you have it in the office!
I would rather choose other conventional design and brands like bre'**vl etc.

Date PurchasedApr 2018

The last of FOUR!

published

So sad to report that my experience with this kettle mirrors that of many others. My first purchase was about 5 years ago and each kettle (of the four) was replaced under warrantee. While the warrantee was honored three times, that is NOT the point!
It (the kettle) is a most aesthetically pleasing design, is well-balanced ergonomically, boils fast and relatively quietly......but, to continue manufacturing and selling a product that is not fit for purpose and has to be disposed of at this rate is utterly reprehensible. Won't buy any Morphy Richards product as long as I'm able to remember my terrible experience and will (with regret) share my experience with anyone who might be interested.

Date PurchasedOct 2013
1 comment
Morphy Richards
Danielle D.Morphy Richards

Just exactly what I wanted

published

Stylish and perfectly proportioned.
I love it!
Pours smoothly perfect spout.
Fast boil and whistle option which I love!
So happy with my choice looks amazing and is perfectly functional.
If your looking for a practical stylish functional kettle at a good price this is it!
Matt white finish is great!

Date PurchasedOct 2018
1 comment
Morphy Richards
GLEN D.Morphy Richards

Hi Jenny,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your new kettle.

Pathetic Product, Warranty and Replacement Policy

published

Original kettle was purchased in 2015 and broke after about 12 months. It was replaced under warranty with a new kettle, which has subsequently failed again after approximately 18 months. The second kettle was not replaced by Morphy Richards under warranty as they work from the first purchase date only, even though their products cannot last a 2 year period. Stay away from these products if you want something to last longer than 12-18 months.
Very dissatisfied with these products and wont be back.

Date PurchasedNov 2016
Electric Kettles

Find out how Morphy Richards Accents Traditional compares to other Electric Kettles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Emma

EmmaSydney

Does the job - aged poorly

published

Decent kettle. The water indicator ball became stuck about 1 year after purchase, so that no longer works. Also, the kettle ages poorly, with the finish on the outside picking up all grease and dirt etc. Overall, does the job and is still working, but maybe not worth the premium price tag.

Date PurchasedJul 2013
Kettle

KettleGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 5 reviews

Terrible customer service for faulty items

published

I had a faulty kettle, contacted warehouse and was advise would send me a a replacement. I provided photos, serial number etc. I received the ‘replacement’ and it was sent the “aspect’ kettle and the box was ‘retapped’. When I notified The contact centre I was told they ‘could not garentee what kettle I received’ which was not the case and I had been asked two preference colours as they could not guarantee the colour.

Date PurchasedJun 2018

Leaky Kettle

published

I loved this kettle, I especially liked the whistle function but the whistle doesn't work anymore and the kettle leaks which I would think is rather dangerous. Only 18 months old too! This time I will go with another brand, which is a shame as I have the matching toaster as well.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
1 comment
Morphy Richards
GLEN D.Morphy Richards
Terry G

Terry GGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 11 reviews
  • 4 likes

Wouldn't purchase again.

published

Paid $70. Not worth the premium price tag in my opinion. Loved the designer colour and look when I first purchased it but it aged poorly and leaked so I replaced it. The lid always stuck and made it difficult to fill. We are in Melbourne and no hard water problem & I use a descaler routinely so not a 'maintenance issue'. Within 12 months became dull and looked ten years old yet I know not to use abrasives. Operationally it isn't any different from a much cheaper kettle so you are paying for the nice look. It doesn't last very long. Wouldn't buy again.

Date PurchasedJul 2016
2 comments
Morphy Richards
Danielle D.Morphy Richards
Terry G
Terry G

Thank you for your reply. I did locate my receipt dated 14th July 2016 and do still have the kettle so I will follow up with your customer care team.

Maree S

Maree SGippsland, VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great customer service - great product

published

My kettle stopped working after approx 14 months use. I emailed Morphy Richards and they replied almost immediately. I could not find the receipt for proof of purchase. They supplied a reply paid number for me to return the kettle & I received a brand new kettle a few days later by courier, I am absolutely delighted with their customer service.I would thoroughly recommend their products.

Date PurchasedJan 2017
1 comment
Morphy Richards
GLEN D.Morphy Richards

Thanks for posting a review on our product, and thanks for referring us to your friends :)
We really appreciate your feedback.

Page 1 of 7

Questions & Answers

Kiran

Kiranasked

Accents Traditional

How to fix filter inside the kettle which was floating inside when I opened the lid of the kettle?

1 answer
Morphy Richards
Eleonore E.Morphy Richards

Hello Kiran
The filter should just slide into the holder on the inside at the front of the kettle near the top.
Please do not hesitate to call us on 1300 556 816

Giny

Ginyasked

Accents Traditional

The on/off switch on the base has stopped functioning. I turn kettle on and off at the PowerPoint when I hear the Switch try to go off. As it is the shiny stainless steel version which is no longer made, I want to keep it. Is it possible to fix the switch please?

4 answers
Morphy Richards
Angela C.Morphy Richards

Hi Giny,
Unfortunately we do not have spare parts or service agents for the kettles. During the 2 year warranty period it is a replacement warranty only. If you take the kettle to a small electric appliance repairer in your area they may be able to assist.

Tilly
Tilly

If it has a 2 year warranty, under Australian consumer laws Morphy Richards should replace it. I had one that malfunctioned and EVENTUALLY the manufacturer replaced it. Persevere with them.

Morphy Richards
GLEN D.Morphy Richards

Hi Giny,
The kettle has a 2 year warranty so please take your kettle back to place of purchase with your purchase receipt and they will be able to provide a refund or replacement. As mentioned earlier unfortunately we do not have spare parts to repair the kettle.

Kate M

Kate Masked

Accents Traditional

Do you make any other electric kettle that whistles when boiled suitable for elderly. We have an accents traditional but this would not suit the elderly as the lid is to hard for them to remove. Looking for a kettle similar to the aspect, but I need it to whistle on boil.

2 answers
Tilly
Tilly

When I replaced my kettle I asked the same question and no Morphy Richards does not make any. I have seen any other brands who make them with the whistle. I liked the whistle myself.

Morphy Richards
Eleonore E.Morphy Richards

Hi Kate M
In the Morphy Richards range of kettles, the Accents model is the only one that will whistle when it boils.
Please note however that it is not necessary to remove the lid except to replace the lime scale filter.
The kettle can be filled from the spout for ease of use.
Should you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to contact us on 1300 556 816

Get an answer from our members and Morphy Richards representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.