1 photo
NVIDIA Shield

NVIDIA Shield

4.0 from 31 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Networked Media Players in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for NVIDIA Shield? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

4.0
31 reviews
Previous
Next
fptr
fptrmooloolaba
  • 10 reviews
  • 5 likes

no wonder its rated noi 1

published

i bought the pro version and i know android very well its easy to see why this unit rated very highly for those who complain i guess just dont understand android its worth the effort u will get so much more out of the shield add the tv channels was a breeze and using plex all my movie content on my nas was quickly recognised 10/10

Purchased in January 2021 at Shopping Express for $435.00.

Incentivised Review No
Sam
SamAU
  • 59 reviews
  • 32 likes
  • Verified

Good but unreliable

published

What I like about the NVIDIA Shield is it has lots of features and can be customised a lot. The AI upscaling is a little bit better than some other devices. The voice commands work well and save some time. I had no trouble finding apps for the different streaming services I use.

However, it wasn't reliable. Sometimes when I turned it off then it didn't turn off the TV. Other times when I turned it on then the image was distorted and I had to restart it. And every now and then the video playback started stuttering and dropping frames. Changing the volume had some bugs too.

So I don't think it's worth it because when I want to watch something, then I just want to turn it on and play it without the device getting in the way.

Purchased in September 2020 at The Good Guys for $326.00.

Incentivised Review No
BOOF3R
BOOF3R
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified

Great product with only one disappointment

published

All the media you could ever need, Netflix, YouTube, Disney+, and all the free to air channels streaming apps are available
The only disappointment is that GeForce (gaming service) now isn't available in Australia

Purchased in September 2020 at Kogan.com for $249.00.

Incentivised Review No
Networked Media Players

Find out how NVIDIA Shield compares to other Networked Media Players

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
vanilla
vanillaCity
  • 12 reviews
  • 15 likes
  • Verified

Nice product. Even better service

published

It's a nice small unit that I use mainly for plex and attaching a HDD to for local playback of huge media files. Also great that it is an android box so access to apps from there. Last week it just refused to start up though. Nvidia replaced it out of warranty which was great.
The reason for only 4 stars is that it is a little pricey and getting hold of helpdesk is very tedious in that there was no number to call but had to painfully troubleshoot with a chat.

Purchased in February 2019 for $275.00.

Incentivised Review No
Sam
SamGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Biggest Con sold in Australia as far as gaming is concerned.

published

Cannot use Geforce Games not available for Australia.
If all I wanted was a media player I know the MI 4K S TV BOX blows Nvidia out of the water for $90.

Purchased in April 2020 for $293.00.

Incentivised Review No
Kaz
KazGeelong
  • 14 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great Media Player That Plays Everything

published

This is a great Android media player that can play anything you throw at it. Coupled with Kodi, it can play 4K HDR content with Dolby Atmos. It's losing one star due to its prive and it not being able to auto switch resolution to match the content. You can get around this by installing a third party app.

Purchased in April 2019 at Computer Alliance for $268.00.

Incentivised Review No
Albs
AlbsGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Nvida shiled tv

published

This product is great love it interface need to be improved little bit other than that its good This product is good will buy again in future if the add something new.

Incentivised Review No
Toliman
TolimanHunter Region, NSW
  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

The Best Future-Proof Android TV box out there, with issues.

published

Purchased in December 2017 at PC Express for $299.00.

Incentivised Review No

Absolute trash

published

Purchased in January 2020 at JB Hi-Fi.

Incentivised Review No
Networked Media Players

Find out how NVIDIA Shield compares to other Networked Media Players

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
  • Verified

Best Android TV streaming box out there

published

Such a great product, I've used a number of streaming boxes and this one is by far the best, it's lightning fast due to the processing power, and it uses your original TV remote so when you turn your TV on/off the Nvidia Sheild turns on/off. Well worth the extra money over a Roku or other similar device. I use it for , Netflix,Disney +, Prime Video, Kayo and Kodi.

Purchased in November 2019 at Kogan.com for $240.99.

Incentivised Review No
Zac R.
Zac R.Northern Region, NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Fantastic device. Can't fault it.

published

Purchased in September 2019 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Electronics for $329.00.

Incentivised Review No
Alok
AlokSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Brilliant device and brilliant service

published

The box arrived earlier than scheduled so the experience started off even better than anticipated!

The box comes beautifully packed and booted instantly. The setup was intuitive and rapidly accomplished. Loving the apps and the smoothness of the output!

Incentivised Review No
antkey
antkeyGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified

Great TV box

published

I bought this to replace my old TV box, the system is obviously fast including running Kodi. There are many other apps are available can be downloaded and installed on Shield TV. The only problem probably is the remote control I'm not get used to it keep mis-pressed the button, luckily my TV remote control can be paired with Shield TV so I use the TV remote control which is much easier

Purchased in December 2018 at Kogan.com for $168.00.

Incentivised Review No
dmb
dmb
  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified

Can't fault it. Great quality.

published

Purchased in March 2019 at Kogan.com for $209.00.

Incentivised Review No
triks_melb
triks_melbGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 18 reviews
  • 9 likes

Good device but 2 issues

published

This is an Android TV device = limited apps from a very limited version of the Google Play Store. I recommend checking if your favourite apps are available on this device before purchase.

No 3D file support, so you won’t be able to watch your 3D Blu-ray Rips or similar - no not even in Kodi or with an app or add-on.

Purchased in November 2018 at Kogan.

Incentivised Review No
Networked Media Players

Find out how NVIDIA Shield compares to other Networked Media Players

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read more reviews - page 2

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.

Get an answer from our members

Details

Visit official website
  • GTIN12: 812674023892

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.