??!
3 photos
Philips Lumea Advanced IPL

Philips Lumea Advanced IPL

SC1999/00 and SC1997/00
4.8 from 4 reviews

Good product. Disappointing customer service!

I bought this product more than one month ago, as part of Philips Mother's Day AU$100 Cash Back promotion. I am still trying the product, with nothing to complaint so far (I still have to test for few weeks more to give a good review). My discontentment is with the poor customer service they provided me in regards to the promotion (which was the reason that lead me to buy the product in first place). I never received the promised Cash Back from Philips. Last contact was 12/05/19, when they said that the cash back was approved, and that I should received an email within 7 days confirming the payment. However, I never received neither the email nor the money. I have been trying contact since then unsuccessfully. I am very disappointed. I imagine how difficult must be to get the "Philips Beauty 90 Day Money Back Guarantee" deal.

Purchased in May 2019 at Shaver Shop Physical store for $399.00.

Value for Money
Causes Irritation No
1 comment
Hi there, Thanks for sharing your thoughts on the product as well as the service here on Product Review. Although we're happy to hear you quite like the device, we're startled that you've never received your cashback. We have a dedicated team for promotions like these. Would you mind contacting them via the following channels? call :02 9912 4490; email :cashback@philipspromotions.com.au We hope they can help you out. Kind regards, The Philips Australia team

Excellent results

I purchased this model three months ago and have had no trouble with its operability. After relatively lengthy use at level 5 it can overheat and need a couple of minutes to cool off, but otherwise it has worked faultlessly. The cord length is generous and the machine design makes it comfortable to hold. After three treatments I was pleasantly surprised to discover a noticeable reduction in hair growth. I've found that for best results I've needed to apply treatments over more weeks than the instructions imply, but am very happy to have achieved smooth almost hair free skin, painlessly. Great investment considering the ongoing cost of waxing or shaving.

1 comment
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're very pleased to hear the Lumea has worked so well for you. We appreciate the valuable feedback. Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team.

Great product, looking forward to great results

After a heap of research I chose this IPL machine because
a) it has 5-10 years worth of flashes and no replacement cartridges necessary
b) It has both a large and small window, for large areas like legs and small/bumpy areas like upper lip/ underarms/ knees (as it needs to press fully on the skin to work this small window is necessary for these areas)
c) it has a continuous mode, hold the button down for a flash and slide it to the next spot (wait 1-2 seconds for flash to charge) and flashes automatically again
d) it was top of its field (IMO) for the price range, and 60% off at Shaver Shop was a bargain

It has a long cord but I preferred this to cordless as I don't want to have to worry/think about recharging or going flat in the middle of a session. It's not too big to hold, flashes are quite hot (as expected) but not painful.

Takes no time at all to use under arms and for face, but a bit longer and awkward for legs, when trying to do the back. The front of my leg (shin) is bony so it wasn't pressed flat against skin so wouldn't let me flash it, so I just pushed more skin forward from the back of my leg.

I've only done one session and noticed hair free spots randomly all over my legs. I understand different hairs are in different growing phases so I think after another 2 or 3 sessions (one session per fortnight) I'll see great results.

Would 100% recommend this style of IPL for beginners, as it has everything necessary without having to spend big money on the prestige model. Definitely sold on this one because I'll never have to worry about replacing cartridges or running out of flashes. I had no idea about IPL beforehand so I've done extensive research and looking forward to the results :)

1 comment
Hi Corinna. Thank you so much for sharing how your experience with the Lumea has been so far. It's great to hear you find such ease in using it, as that's very important to us. It sounds like you have done your research which we're sure will contribute to great results, especially after a few sessions. In case you have any questions or remarks, please don't hesitate to get in contact with us. We're available on social media 24/7, or via one of the options stated here: http://bit.ly/2yofpzO. Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team.

Absolutely fantastic. Exceeded my expectations

I was sceptical thus would work but after 4 weeks i have almost zero hair. It didnt happen immediately so i thought it wasnt doing much but after 3 sessions i can clearly see results. Mostly painless to use. Good control over level means it can be adjusted to suit tender areas. Easy to apply takes 5-10 minutes each time depending on area.
I love this and cant believe it works so well. Excellent value at this price.
Highly recommended

1 comment
Dear Tracy, You made us blush. We don't know how to react on such compliments, stop it you! ;) All joking aside, we're thrilled to hear that our Lumea works that well for you. That's exactly what we like to achieve and please keep in mind that it is important that you maintain the areas according to the manual! Thank you so much for your contagious enthusiastic words. It's much appreciated, really. Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

Questions & Answers

Hi my device is brand new.its face attachment is working as body one is just showing flashing lights and ready light is also kind of blinking what should I do??? I tried on different places on my body and also put that perpendicular
1 answer
Hello Rabia, Congrats on the new Lumea. But it's a pity to hear it's not quite working as it should. We would recommend to contact our customer care team either by phone (1300 363 391), or through social media (Facebook or Twitter). Then they could look into this further for you. We hope you will give us a chance! Kind regards, The Philips Australia team

Hi my device is brand new.its face attachment is working as body one is just showing flashing lights and ready light is also kind of blinking what should I do??? I tried on different places on my body and also put that perpendicular
1 answer
Hi Rabia, thanks for reaching out. Nice to hear that you've chosen for the Lumea Advanced! We regret to hear that you seem to be facing some issues with the body attachment of the device. Do we understand correctly that all the intensity lights are blinking when you're trying to use this attachment? If that's the case, then we'd recommend you to reset the device. You can do this by switching it off and unplugging the adapter from the mains. Then, plug it in and switch it on again. If that is to no avail, please give our colleagues a call at 1300 363 391 (Australia) or 0800 658 224 (New Zealand), so they can look into this further. We hope that you can soon use your Lumea Advanced to the fullest. Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

Is it for forever reduce hair?
1 answer
Hi Pei, thanks for reaching out to us. The Lumea doesn't remove the hair forever. When you have reached the desired result after the first period of two weeks, you have to repeat the treatment every 4-8 weeks to maintain it. Hopefully this information was helpful. Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.