??!
1 photo
Polocool PC-44BP/C (4.4kW)

Polocool PC-44BP/C (4.4kW)

3.1 from 18 reviews

Portable Air Conditioner Buying Guide

In the sweltering summer months, a portable air conditioner is a nifty way to stay cool. With the array of choices, finding the best portable air conditioner can be complex. You may have wanted a small, cheap portable AC but just discovered the term ‘reverse cycle.’ Or what if you can’t decide between a Delonghi or a Dimplex? This portable air conditioners buying guide is here to help you meet your AC match so you can spend a cool time together.

Read now

Reviews

3.1

18 reviews
5
(3)
4
(6)
3
(2)
2
(4)
1
(3)
  • Build Quality
    3.8 (4)
  • Value for Money
    3.0 (4)
  • Ease of Use
    3.5 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.5 (4)
  • Room Type
  • Noise Level
    2.5 (4)
  • Heating / Cooling Speed
    2.8 (4)
  • Portability
    3.5 (4)
Previous
Next
Arborist

ArboristPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

Long term Review Poor Efficiency and costly to run

published

Purchased in January 2013 at The Good Guys for A$850.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Large Bedroom
See all answers
1 comment
Arborist
Arborist
Bob

BobSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Caught on fire

published

1.30am this morning woke up to smoke alarm going off. Electrical fire started in air conditioner unit. Unit is about 4 years old and maintained regularly. Was a good unit until this happened

Purchased in November 2016 at Harvey Norman for A$850.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Small Bedroom
See all answers
A Jones

A JonesGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Works a treat!

published

Money well spent, this unit is fantastic. It's 40 degrees outside but it's nice and cool inside. Works well in large open spaces and it isn't very loud. I highly recommended this unit if you want instant relief from unbearable summer heat.

Purchased in December 2019 at Harvey Norman for A$990.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Living/Dining Area
See all answers
Portable Air Conditioners

Find out how Polocool PC-44BP/C (4.4kW) compares to other Portable Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sav

SavSouth Australia, 5106

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Way over rated

published

This portable air con is way over rated. At best in moderate heat it barely keeps up just making it slightly bearable. The first unit we had went faulty and blew nothing but air. The replacement is no better and or though cold is coming out it doesn't help the room sadly

Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Irene V

Irene VSydney

  • 6 reviews

Amazing lasts forever

published

We bought this PC44 as an impulse buy but it's the best thing we have done! We sleep better and longer. We have a large bedroom and this does the job! It is little noisy but not enough to wake you up and the exhaust hose could be longer but the window kit fits our window perfectly and blows all the hot air out. We rent so no damage and completely relocatable. We set it on auto at 24° and forget it. Its a solid unit and uses mist technology to keep to temperature down and the humidity just right. Love it. 5 years still going strong.

Date PurchasedDec 2013
F1ord

F1ordmelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Saved Me This Summer

published

This is the slightly less powerful model from polocool, the 4.4kw. It still has more than adequate power to easily cool our largish bedroom. I mean really cool too, not an asthmatic wheeze like our old Aldi one! The Polocool really produces cold air and is the next best thing to fully installed aircon. It also requires no maintenance other than cleaning the filter occasionally as it self evaporates the moisture out the hot air window hose. These are good machines, I recommend them to anyone.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Sarah

SarahBrisbane

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great product!

published

I'm very satisfied with this aircon, cools my small room down completely and isn't too noisey at all. The price of the aircon is completely worth the value! I'm a very happy customer and would definitely recommend the brand Polocool for your next air con purchase. Thanks Polocool for helping me with this heat!

Date PurchasedNov 2017

Waste of money

published

Replaced a smaller older unit from Kogan with this piece of junk, won't cool a room down, goes from cycle to cycle and just blows air, DON'T buy one, no back up no nothing Harvey Norman should be ashamed to sell it and their salesmen are just liars who have no idea on what their selling

Date PurchasedJan 2017
kcd1961

kcd1961Illawarra, NSW

  • 19 reviews
  • 14 likes

Liefesaver

published

We needed something to get us through the summer from hell while waiting to make a longer term decision. We tried this in the bedroom but it was indeed too noisy for comfort (wooden floors) - so we have gone with a separate window unit. We have used this in a large, open plan lounge area. It definitely takes the edge off and if you are sitting in front of it, it will get you through an otherwise unbearable day.

Date PurchasedJan 2017
Portable Air Conditioners

Find out how Polocool PC-44BP/C (4.4kW) compares to other Portable Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lin

LinMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 10 likes

Don't go there

published

Got this unit for Christmas- store model did not show there was a massive hose that needed to be fitted out a window - very loud and means it can not go in a bedroom - tried unit on lowest temp and left room - only slight change after one hour and water leaking - no customer support - no point having extended warranty when not happy from start - spend an extra $299 and get a reverse cycle.

Date PurchasedDec 2016

Competent unit, a little noisy works fine except the timer!

published

We replaced our 10yr old Delonghi 3.5kw portable air conditioner with the above unit 19th December 2016. Purchased from Harvey Norman Auburn. The polo cool is definitely more noisy than the Delonghi unit it replaces but is far superior in cool a similar space. Easy to install and running in minutes and cools the room quickly. So far no problems but I would never have brought this unit had I known about the timer: BE AWARE, this is not a 24hr timer (we had one on the Delonghi) all this timer can do is delay the start or add an end time which means you have to set it every time you need to use it, you can't set it to come on at 5 pm every day. Really inconvenient and given the cost of the unit, a poor omission.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
Clayton

ClaytonPORTLAND VICTORIA

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

it works!

published

was a bit skeptical about portable air con, but this does make a difference. No air con will drop temp more than 10 degrees when its 40 degrees plus. The secret is turn it on early, close doors and windows, and vent the unit according to the instructions supplied. A bit noisy perhaps, but better than being hot and uncomfortable all night.
For me, money well spent. A must for people who rent. Shop around, prices do vary. Purchased mine in January, no problems so far. Does what its supposed to do.

JIngle Bells

JIngle BellsMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Polocool Not Cool

published

Not efficient enough, left water all over carpet

published

Purchased a PC-44 on Saturday 23/01/16, turned on unit and mounted all correctly. Struggled to cool room 12m2,

Room was 42 deg during peak day, and only dropped temp by 4 deg. Celsius to 38 deg.

Night temp of 29 deg Celsius reduced room temp to 23 deg Celsius.

Woke in the morning to find unit gurgling with water like sound, and water all over the carpet, even though the drain plug was securely fitted.

At a cost of $999au I was expecting much better performance/quality. Let's hope the retailer comes to the party and offers a refund.

resusjam

resusjamMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 9 likes

Happy with product

published
Portable Air Conditioners

Find out how Polocool PC-44BP/C (4.4kW) compares to other Portable Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dev

DevMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

PoloCool..Super cool indeed!!!!

published

Initially thought of buying 3.5 KW Unit, however was skeptical if that would suffice during the worst days of summer.
Opted for 6.0 KW unit as it had better cooling record under hotter conditions compared to the 3.5 KW unit.
Got the unit on Jan 10th when Melbourne temperature was pleasant.
Used the Air con on Monday 12th Jan when the temperature was 32 deg in a hall sized 4mX5m, it was able to drop it down to 23 degrees in an hours time.
That is pretty decent I guess, I will have to wait and watch when the temperature soars to 38 deg or 40 deg (that will be the real test for this unit).
As of now, I liked the powerful cooling unit and give full marks for its design and performance.

1 comment
Dev
Dev
Chillin'

Chillin'Southwest, VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 8 likes

Impressive!

published
1 comment
Chillin'
Chillin'

I forgot to include in above review that the PC also comes in a 6.0kw for larger areas. Thankyou :)

Arborist

Arborist

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Cools a small volume of room at the same time as it sucks a large volume of hot air into the room

published

Purchased in February 2017 at The Good Guys for A$850.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Small Bedroom
See all answers
See all Polocool PC-53AP/C / PC-58AP/C / PC-44BP/C reviews

Questions & Answers

Sharron H.

Sharron H.asked

PC-44BP/C (4.4kW)

What does FE or FL stand for on display on aircon

No answers
Kathryn

Kathrynasked

PC-44BP/C (4.4kW)

Hi .. my aircon blows warm air most of the time, but switches to cool for about 3 minutes every 20.
I have ensured filters are clean and tank is empty. Any suggestions?
Thank you.

2 answers
Joe A.
Joe A.

I've got the exact same issue, really hoping that somebody here has an answer.

Kenny M.
Kenny M.

Never had an issue with the pc44 but got it with pc58 check your length of your exhauts pipe ..have got 2 units now and the pc58 is more susceptible of overheating due to having a much bigger compressor...depending on the age of it these machines build up with gunk on the inside of the filter..like the filter doesn't stop all of it the dust

jenny.floyd.3975

jenny.floyd.3975asked

PC-44BP/C (4.4kW)

I bought my unit a couple of months ago and from day 1 it's made this strange intermittent noise kind of like cough. There also seems to be no discernible difference between the fan speeds and it pumps a lot of hot air out off where the exhaust attaches to the unit at the back

1 answer
Pal
Pal

I just bought polocool 6kw 20,000 btu and mine makes that same intermittent, thud, cough noise. I have emailed polocool and waiting for a response. And whenever i unplug drain, heaps of water comes out, even though they say it never needs emptying re Mist technology. Feeling extremely angry at the moment. I cannot stand the thud, cough, whatever noise it is. The exhaust is not a very secure attachment to the air con unit.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.