1 photo
Polocool PC-53AP/C / PC-58AP/C / PC-44BP/C

Polocool PC-53AP/C / PC-58AP/C / PC-44BP/C

PC-53AP/C (5.5kW), PC-58AP/C (6.0kW), PC-44BP/C (4.4kW)
3.8 from 89 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Portable Air Conditioners in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Polo

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.0 (9)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (10)
  • Ease of Use
    3.9 (10)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (10)
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (10)
  • Heating / Cooling Speed
    3.5 (10)
  • Portability
    3.6 (10)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
Arborist
ArboristPerth, WA
  • 2 reviews
  • 7 likes

Long term Review Poor Efficiency and costly to run

published

Purchased in January 2013 at The Good Guys for $850.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Arborist
Arborist
Belinda
BelindaSydney, NSW
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Almost Perfect

published

Purchased this unit about 18 months ago amd it is fantastic. Cools the room down perfectly. Only down side is the fan is a bit noisy, but still best unit I have used.

Purchased in November 2018 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Electronics.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Lesley T.
Lesley T.Wide Bay-Burnett, QLD

Exceeds expectations

published

With 35-38 degree days I would be lost without my Polocool PC-50XLA. I run it From early morning and it cools my lounge and kitchen down well. Keep doors and curtains closed. For a renter this machine is ideal.

Purchased in December 2019 at Harvey Norman for $1,295.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Portable Air Conditioners

Find out how Polocool PC-53AP/C / PC-58AP/C / PC-44BP/C compares to other Portable Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Pal
PalSydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 7 reviews
  • 7 likes

Intermittent clunk, thud, cough sound and water tank fills up

published

Purchased in February 2020 at Harvey Norman for $1,195.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Bob
BobSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Caught on fire

published

1.30am this morning woke up to smoke alarm going off. Electrical fire started in air conditioner unit. Unit is about 4 years old and maintained regularly. Was a good unit until this happened

Purchased in November 2016 at Harvey Norman for $850.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Related Articles

Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020

Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next
Telulah H.
Telulah H.Central Queensland, QLD

When it isnt playing up.

published

Purchased at Harvey Norman.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Telulah H.
Telulah H.

Would like to update as i had my unit swapped at harvey norman today. Got it home turned it on and now its making a grinding noise! Im so done with these machines

hena s.
hena s.Sydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Cannot live without it !!

published

I love it soo much and it’s saved us through summer. Clean and not too loud and affordable. Reliable and not a nuisance to use thank you

Incentivised Review No
A Jones
A JonesGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Works a treat!

published

Money well spent, this unit is fantastic. It's 40 degrees outside but it's nice and cool inside. Works well in large open spaces and it isn't very loud. I highly recommended this unit if you want instant relief from unbearable summer heat.

Purchased in December 2019 at Harvey Norman for $990.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Tuhoe
TuhoeSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Fantastic

published

I have the mega polocool.. it is so awesome..it's worth the money as u don't need to empty it or anything only at end of season.. even then it's so easy.. hardly any water.. easy to clean.. highly recommended..I was lucky to purchase mine off a mate for a few hundred who was moving into a place with ducted air conditioned home and only had it 6 months and so was still under 2 year warranty..but I so would've purchased this at Harvey Norman..

Incentivised Review No
Portable Air Conditioners

Find out how Polocool PC-53AP/C / PC-58AP/C / PC-44BP/C compares to other Portable Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kieren A.
Kieren A.Murray Region, NSW
  • 5 reviews

Can buy them for 200 2nd hand

published

Is a very powerful A/C. at 2300w it uses some power but can rival small split systems in cooling output.
Pain to connect and seal because of how much heat it expels but other than that, fantastic for a medium sized house! If you get this for 200 bucks second hand you cant make a better choice.

Purchased in May 2015 at Harvey Norman for $1,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Corey T
Corey TMid North Coast, NSW
  • 3 reviews

Perfect Air con unit.

published

This has got to be the best Portable Air Con unit.
It’s well priced, easy to maintain gets icy cold even on 30°+ days. It does a great job of cooling the open plan living area of my townhouse.

Purchased in January 2017 for $1,299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Rose
RoseMIDGENOO
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Excellent customer service

published

My old air conditioner broke down. So I decided to get a portable air conditioner, coz it can be used more flexibly. Having arrived about a week, well packed. Very easy to install the hot air exhaust hose and the water drain hose. There is a CAUTION on the side of the box not easy to be noted saying operating it after 24 hours. I have put it for more than 24 hours and the unit blows cold air after turning on 30 seconds. The temperature is down to 61 degrees quickly. It’s much quieter than I expected and the remote control makes it easier to use. I like the good-looking design. And the filter is on the back, very easy to clean. Love this!

Date PurchasedJuly 2018
Sav
SavSouth Australia, 5106
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Way over rated

published

This portable air con is way over rated. At best in moderate heat it barely keeps up just making it slightly bearable. The first unit we had went faulty and blew nothing but air. The replacement is no better and or though cold is coming out it doesn't help the room sadly

Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Chippy27
Chippy27Williamstown
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

heavy duty portable air conditioner

published

I knew this was better than the previous one a soon as I unpacked it. It solid and heavy. The pipes are heavier duty, the plastic is better quality even the rollers are better. Hooked it up and I was rewarded with COLD air and relief of the hottest days. Wife took to it and loves it too. This is the model to get people. Its dear but its worth it!

Date PurchasedDec 2016
Irene V
Irene VSydney
  • 6 reviews

Amazing lasts forever

published

We bought this PC44 as an impulse buy but it's the best thing we have done! We sleep better and longer. We have a large bedroom and this does the job! It is little noisy but not enough to wake you up and the exhaust hose could be longer but the window kit fits our window perfectly and blows all the hot air out. We rent so no damage and completely relocatable. We set it on auto at 24° and forget it. Its a solid unit and uses mist technology to keep to temperature down and the humidity just right. Love it. 5 years still going strong.

Date PurchasedDec 2013
Portable Air Conditioners

Find out how Polocool PC-53AP/C / PC-58AP/C / PC-44BP/C compares to other Portable Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read more reviews - page 2

Questions & Answers

Bernadette Gilligan Mall
Bernadette Gilligan Mallasked
PC-44BP/C (4.4kW)

What does FE mean on the polocool
It won’t turn on

No answers
Tamarra L.
Tamarra L.asked
PC-53AP/C / PC-58AP/C / PC-44BP/C

What does it mean when LU

No answers
Ray H.
Ray H.asked
PC-53AP/C / PC-58AP/C / PC-44BP/C

Where does the drip tray fit into the unit

No answers
See all Polocool PC-53AP/C / PC-58AP/C / PC-44BP/C questions

Get an answer from our members and Polo representatives

Polocool PC-53AP/C / PC-58AP/C / PC-44BP/C

Details

Features:

  • There are three models: the PC-35AP/C, which cools rooms up to 20sqm, the PC-44BP/C, for rooms up to 30sqm, and the PC58AP/C, suitable for larger rooms up to 42 sqm.
  • Comes with an included window kit, that suits all window types and sliding doors. It’s meant to make for easier installation, but you can also purchase a ceiling/wall exhaust if this is more practicable.
  • According to Polocool, the water tank never needs to be emptied, even when a room is high in humidity. This may be helped in part by the built-in dehumidifier.
  • Included timer allows for easy set-and-forget functionality.

Overall, reviewers appreciated that the Polocool PC AC models were quiet in operation, that they usually only had to be emptied out once at the end of summer, and perhaps most importantly of all – that they produce crisp, cold air that kept a room comfortable, no matter how high the barometer rose outside.

Compare all 3 Polocool PC-53AP/C / PC-58AP/C / PC-44BP/C
CategoryPortable Air ConditionersPortable Air ConditionersPortable Air Conditioners
Price (RRP) $1,049.00$1,395.00$1,095.00
Features Dehumidifying Function, On/Off Timer and Remote ControlDehumidifying Function, On/Off Timer and Remote ControlDehumidifying Function, On/Off Timer and Remote Control
Cooling Power5.5 kW6 kW4.4 kW
Reverse Cycle NoNo
Cooling Capacity19,000 BTU20,000 BTU
Dimensions 775 x 365 x 568 mm775 x 365 x 568 mm775 x 365 x 568 mm
Auto Restart FunctionNo
Max Room Size 394230
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Release dateOct 2011Oct 2011Oct 2011
Compare all 3 Polocool PC-53AP/C / PC-58AP/C / PC-44BP/C
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.