??!
1 photo
Redback RB4

Redback RB4

3.9 from 16 reviews

Reviews

3.9

16 reviews
5
(9)
4
(3)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(3)
Previous
Next
  • Verified purchase

To good

published

Owned this power plant for a couple of years now it’s powered me through the centre and up the top very easy unit to maintain thumbs up if I could say one thing I wish I had this 10 years ago

Purchased in February 2018 at Itechworld for A$1,899.00.

Spokesy

SpokesySouth-Eastern Region, NSW

  • Verified purchase

Upgrade

published

My Honda EU22i was recalled due to a fire risk. I have stood by Honda for almost 3 decades and always considered my self a “Honda Man”. Not anymore! They offered me a replacement, I politely declined. I took the refund.

I have had my eyes on my neighbours RB4 for a while, I couldn’t believe the things he could power in his van all at once.

I phoned Itech talked to the boys and four days later the RB4 turned up at my front door in New South Wales. Incredible service from iTech.

The RB4 powers everything in my van at once, the old Honda had no chance of that. It was struggling to keep up with the AC.

I now consider myself a “Redback Man”.

Purchased for A$1,699.00.

Ivan

IvanPerth, WA

  • Verified purchase

Did what it said

published

Got the generator for my fifth wheeler ran my aircon did what I was told it would do. Thumbs up great little genny. Would recommend highly great that it’s black as well.

Purchased in February 2018 for A$1,899.00.

Generators

Find out how Redback RB4 compares to other Generators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
  • Verified purchase

Can not fault

published

Purchased this unit in 2017 have used the power plant to go around Australia multiple times . Ran the unit to run my aircon microwave and battery chargers has never let me down if there was a bad thing I could think of I honestly could not tell you has stood up well against the test of time

Purchased in November 2017 at itechworld for A$1,499.00.

Pfows

PfowsGoldfields, WA

  • Verified purchase

Best generator

published

Got this generator for a back up I’m in Kalgoorlie and we get more blackouts then anyone I believe in Australia have no issues running my fridge and deep chest freezer my son borrowed it for his caravan and he bought one and is more then happy. Quiet compact and POWERFUL .

Purchased in October 2018 at Itechworld for A$1,899.00.

  • Verified purchase

Could not believe this ran everything in the van

published

I bought this generator after seeing one in Broome. I currently own a Spinifex epex which has an ibis 3 aircon I recently had a Honda 2 but it packed up I got this after seeing claims it will run everything in the van.... I could not believe it this not only ran the aircon but I could also run my battery charger and microwave all at once I can not describe how happy I am with the unit.

Purchased in February 2020 at Itechworld .

  • Verified purchase

Best generator

published

I am very pleased with my 5kva Redback generator.
Excellent starter.
Capable of running air con and microwave at the same time in my Jaco Heritage caravan.Unknowingly I also had the electric hot water running at the same times the generator was working fairly hard and showing an output of4 kw.When I turned the hot water it handled the other two easily.
I believe the Redback to be a very good generator at a very reasonable price.

Purchased in February 2019 for A$1,899.00.

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

  • Verified purchase

Run away

published

Generator warranty has a lot of fine print re onerous service schedules having to be adhered to, being used on hard surfaces only ( not easy to find when camping ) and 5kva really 3.6. Our remote died straight away and machine now dead probably because of no hard surfaces to put machine on. Poorly designed if it can't cope with what would normally be expected of any other generator. Stretching the truth with size also not a great look. Cheap price about right for quality. Just don't expect anything more.

Purchased in September 2019 at Itech world for A$1,499.00.

Corrin

CorrinPeel, WA

  • Verified purchase

Warning

published

Beware that this generator draws cooling air from underneath. If it ever stands on Kimberley dust, as mine did once, it will suck dust in and ruin it within minutes.

Purchased in April 2018 at I Tech World Riversale WA.

4 comments
Redback Generators
James M.Redback Generators

Thank you for your review. We are sorry its not a positive one.

It is stated clearly several times in your instruction manual to use The Redback RB4 on a hard surface away from dust and sand.

Corrin
Corrin
Redback Generators
James M.Redback Generators
Generators

Find out how Redback RB4 compares to other Generators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
  • Verified purchase

Reliability problems

published

Received the generator promptly after 5 days it began blowing fuses and remote would only work from about 7 meters
Sent it back to Itechworld received it back all items fixed we then had a 37 degree day and the generator stopped and refused to start until the next morning have been in contact both by email and phone but not getting any support from Itechworld the generator is just under 2 months old

Purchased in August 2019 for A$1,599.00.

1 comment
Redback Generators
James M.Redback Generators

Thank you for your review. We are sorry its not a positive one.

If you have any issues please contact us for support.

Butcher

ButcherPerth

  • Verified purchase

4 Days delivery time - Extremely Quiet

published

I got my Redback 4 days after I ordered it. From Perth to Cairns I think that’s extremely impressive!
We are very impressed with this genny, it runs extremely quiet, powers the air con and also powers the coffee machine.
She really is a great piece of kit, I have taken it on several trips now and everyone at the caravan parks I’ve been too have commented on how quiet it runs. I think I may have even sold a few by singing it’s praises so much......I wonder if I can get commission lol.
Best thing about it is the 5 year warranty, peace of mind.

Date PurchasedOct 2018
DougS

DougSWaikiki

  • Verified purchase

Good unit....once i completed my modifications

published

Handles the load of the caravan easily, AC, Microwave, Kettle, TV and lights. When its getting closer to full load
I noticed it vibrated more and got noisier. On closer inspection i realised that most of the extra noise was coming from the under carriage - wheels and pull out handle assembly. I completely removed the wheels and the pull out handle and noticed that the noise level dropped considerably. The remote control is an excellent feature, it means my wife can start the generator up with no stress attached. Happy wife, happy life.

Date PurchasedSep 2018
Willandra

WillandraBemboka

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

It is not quiet under load

published

I bought this because my old 8 KVA generator is too noisy. But under load, this is only 2dB quieter - barely noticeable. I do have a sound level meter. The RB4 is quiet with no load, but as soon as you load it, it roars. The distributor invited me to do a review, but they refused to publish it - maybe that is why they only have great reviews on their site. I also note that their 3 year warranty is void unless serviced by an authorised rep, although they sell kits so you can do your own service - if you don't mind losing your warranty.

Date PurchasedJul 2018
Colin

ColinPerth

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Redback RB4 on yacht

published
Date PurchasedJul 2018
HansG

HansGPerth

  • Verified purchase

Generator review

published

Yes I read the promotional material and I bought into their marketing. Hoping it would do half the things it was advertised to do. Well, I was shocked but in a good way. Very happy with this little generator. I used it on a trip to Broome recently and it ran my whole caravan. Very happy. Would recommend to others.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
Generators

Find out how Redback RB4 compares to other Generators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
  • Verified purchase

REDBACK

published

The Redback was advertised in my caravan members magazine (CMCA) I called iTechworld and found them very easy to deal with. The generator was delivered from Perth to country QLD in 5 days. The overall feel and presentation of the product is excellent. It runs the Ac in my caravan with minimum effort and the noise level has been acceptable with no complaints to date. I got 10 hours run time out of a full tank which I believe is very economical. So far so good. Very happy.

Date PurchasedApr 2018

Questions & Answers

Mike S.

Mike S.asked

Wondering where the Redback generators are made?

1 answer
Ian M
Ian M

I am wondering the same Mike. Probably China like everything else

Viv G.

Viv G.asked

My RB4 will not shut down with the ignition key and the remote control no longer works either ..... the problems happened at the same time

5 answers
Hugh W.
Hugh W.

Have exactly the same problem so far nearly every trip have had some sort of issue with the Redback just over 6 months old

Corrin
Corrin

I had the same problem after 17 hours op. So did my friend. Had to start by hand and shut down by fuel starvation. I took mine back to iTech who charged $75 for a service. They replaced the ignition and remote but when I got it home it would not start at all. Took it back, they refused to do anything claiming that the problem was the result of my abuse of the unit. A local workshop could not start it either. Said there was no compression. Funny how it was working OK before service but not after. Consumer Affairs were no help. Bought a Honda 2.2 as a replacement. Similar price, same job, reliable.

Rozo
Rozo

Mine did the same after a week or so (remote stopped working and key would not turn off) - only way to shut down was with choke

richard l

richard lasked

hi there, My rb4 continues to cut out after 4 hours hours of running.....why....had only 3 hours when purchased...used it first time christmas just passed...ran ok then not then ok then not....
sent email to manufacturer last week....waiting on reply
rich
0413815120

2 answers
Hugh W.
Hugh W.

Had something similar check the spark plug lead is not loose apparently if it is it’s not their problem it’s a maintenance issue

Corrin
Corrin

My key start failed within 17 hours/4 months of new. Had to start it with the cord. Took it back to iTech who charged $75 upfront for service. Picked it up took it home. Found that they changed the key start but the battery was flat. But it would not start with cord. Took it back but iTech refused to touch it claiming that I had voided the (5 year) warrantee because there was dust in the cover and some corrosion on internal alloy parts. Took it to a local work shop who said they could not start it because there was no compression. Plenty of spark and air cleaner clean as a whistle. iTech tells Consumer Affairs that the motor is stuffed because of my misuse. Funny how it was running OK before I took it to iTech for service ($75) but not after ????? $1,500 down the drain. Good luck.

Get an answer from our members and Redback Generators representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.