1 photo
Rheem Metro

Rheem Metro

875E26 (Max), 874E16, 871E26 (Max), etc...
2.2 from 14 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Rheem

Reviews

2.2
14 reviews
  • Build Quality
    3.3 (7)
  • Value for Money
    3.6 (7)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (4)
  • Noise Level
    4.4 (5)
  • Smells of GasYes (0) · No (5)
  • Temperature Consistency
    4.0 (5)
  • Heating Speed
    3.6 (5)
Previous
Next
Brian
BrianPerth, WA
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Not Recommended, poor quality, poor after sales

published

Purchased in July 2017.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
3/5
Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem
Joe Pablo
Joe Pablo
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Repeated error codes after three months

published

After two months of use, the unit started repeatedly showing error code 76 and not producing hot water. It could be cleared by turning the unit off but the problem would return within a day. The plumber who installed it advised that he also had this problem on his own unit and on others. Rheem technician came out promptly and added a ?chip to hopefully fix the problem which was good.
However, my issue is that Rheem should not be selling a product with what would seem to be a known issue. This unit is being sold widely including at Bunnings. Not really fair for the unsuspecting buyer.

Purchased in January 2021.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
4/5
Rabbit
RabbitMurrumbidgee Region, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Buyer beware

published

Purchased in March 2017 for $1,320.00.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem
Rabbit
Rabbit

For the attention of Rheem. This matter has been raised with Rheem directly. Your reference is CIR23742. Your reply through this website would be appreciated.

Rabbit
Rabbit
Wun
WunPerth, WA

Not happy with this product.

published

It broke down under 5 years. I emailed Rheem. No warranty cover at all. They sent me a service man to check. There is nothing he can do. I was asked to get a new HWU.

Purchased in June 2015 at Summit Developments.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem
Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Find out how Rheem Metro compares to other Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Triphamk2
Triphamk2Perth, WA
  • 10 reviews
  • 4 likes

A faultless system

published

It comes with the house and land packaging. We have a little worry about it at first after seeing too many negative comments here, but to be honest the system runs so fine, hot water run so smooth when activated. The only issue is we have to wait more than 20s to get the first hot water in the bathroom’s sink in the morning, we don’t have to wait that much after that but we wish to change it to a little sooner. Anyone knows how please let us know. Otherwise, it’s a good system to go.

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem
Brisbane Plumbing a.
Brisbane Plumbing a.South East Queensland, QLD

Brilliant Gas Hot Water Systems

published

Purchased in August 2019 at Reece.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Jerryo
JerryoSouth West, WA
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Are we just lucky??

published

Purchased in May 2016.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5

Related Articles

Previous
The top-rated kitchen appliances for 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-top-rated-kitchen-appliances-for-2020
Fridge and Dishwasher Awards for 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the top fridges and dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
fridge-and-dishwasher-awards-for-2020
Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next
James I
James ISydney
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Sold a pup!

published

Similar experience to prior reviews. Since installing this unit the water pressure drops to nearly nothing for 20-30 seconds then dribbles at Luke warm and eventually gets hot. The plumber who sold it was pushy. The next plumber who came in said it had an issue. I called Rheem and the guy came and said that was normal!! It is not normal to spend $1500 on a heater that doesn’t heat and reduces water pressure. Want to return this for a refund please Raheem!

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem
James I
James I
Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem

Unable to contact a representative

published

Firstly, the response received does not have an email address to make contact with Rheem.
Secondly, for what reason do I require Facebook. Here’s my phone number to ensure a simpler response from a Rheem customer representative- 0414136333- My email- seanmould.yahoo.com.au
This is a disgrace at the highest level.. The description of this product is nothing but LIES, there has been deliberately no disclosure on the products limitations..
I’m in the process of accumulating enough signatures, written complaints and testimonies from disgruntled customers all of whom have experienced same and similar..
I will be posting negativities regard this product to social media.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem
Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Find out how Rheem Metro compares to other Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Not happy

published

Very disappointed with this unit
Just ran out of warranty. Called Rheem service they charged me call out fee and and still problem wasn’t fixed . Called Rheem again to check they never got back to me. Being a builder not buying this product and recommending it to anyone. Says 10 years warranty

Date PurchasedApr 2015
Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem
Sean
SeanGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

This should not have been allowed to be sold!!!

published
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem
Digger
DiggerSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

Not happy about not having any hot water during power outage

published

We recently had a Power Outage and had no Hot Water. These new Systems are not good at these times. As the system runs off an electric Pilot system it stops Gas being provided for Appliances. I couldn't even use the Stove as all gas seems to run through this.Is there another way it works when Power goes out.

Date PurchasedSept 2016
Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem
Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Find out how Rheem Metro compares to other Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Victor
Victor
  • 8 reviews
  • 14 likes

Rheem Metro 26 Max DO NOT BUY THIS HOT WATER SYSTEM

published
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem

Wasted money. usless . False advertising

published

Unit advertised 26 lpm. What it really is is 16lpm at a rise of 45c. If you want 60c water, it puts out 11 lpm which rheem states is ok for 3 bathrooms. 1 shower uses 9 litres so what are the other 2 rooms using. False advertising. Still waiting for rheem to reply which they told me was 1 day . Didnt happen

Date PurchasedAug 2016

Questions & Answers

Razz
Razzasked
Metro

I am just getting this particular model installed today and reading all the feedback, I am worried to death about how it's going to perform? Isn't the idea behind a 'continuous' is high flow hot all the time? I will be testing your thing out and if not happy, you will find yourselves in hotwater.

No answers
Darwin P.
Darwin P.asked
Metro

Hi there,

We just moved into a 3 year old house coming from a electric hot water system to a Rheem Continous hot water system. Man you have to wait around 30 seconds before the water gets hot and the water flow is really weak. Can I get some asaistance or advise?

1 answer
Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem

Dear Darwin

Thank you for your inquiry. In regards to your question, we highly recommend that you contact our customer service on 13 10 31 due to the technical information required, our customer service team will be able to advise accordingly

Kind Regards
Rheem Australia

Rob Gilbert
Rob Gilbertasked
Metro 871E26 (Max)

When was this model heater discontinued?
Our house was built in June 2016

No answers
See all Rheem Metro questions

Get an answer from our members and Rheem representatives

Rheem Metro

Details

Compare all 6 Rheem Metro
Rheem Metro 876E16

Rheem Metro 876E16

No reviews yet
Rheem Metro 875E26 (Max)
  • Discontinued

Rheem Metro 875E26 (Max)

1.8
(8)
CategoryGas Continuous Hot Water SystemsGas Continuous Hot Water SystemsGas Continuous Hot Water SystemsGas Continuous Hot Water Systems
Maximum Temperature50605050
Compare all 6 Rheem Metro

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.