??!
1 photo
Ring Video DoorBell

Ring Video DoorBell

MPN: 8VR1S5-VAU0
2.1 from 217 reviews

Reviews

2.1

217 reviews
5
(27)
4
(15)
3
(23)
2
(38)
1
(114)
  • Build Quality
    2.7 (63)
  • Value for Money
    1.7 (62)
  • Ease of Use
    2.1 (62)
  • Night Vision
    2.8 (41)
  • Connectivity / Reliability
    1.9 (52)
  • Ease of Installation
    2.8 (49)
  • Motion Detection
    2.6 (45)
Previous
Next
Faraz A.

Faraz A.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Terrible terrible device

published

I was very excited when I put an order for this. At approx 150 AUD, I thought they would give some quality. The box arrived quickly but since the start, I just cant get it to work. There is no audio at all from outside to the phone. I tried all their recommendations but it doesnt work. The device would not even restart (the restart capability looks like its broken too!) You try to contact support and there is no response to emails, no chat support and calling has awfully long queues that you just cannot spend that much time during work hours. Unfortunately, I missed their return/refund times of 30 days due to personal reasons and I am now stuck with something perfect for a rubbish bin.

Purchased in June 2020 for A$150.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers
Red Griffin

Red GriffinBrisbane

  • 39 reviews
  • 30 likes

Amazing and simple

published

I know people that spend $thousands on home security cameras. I got mine at Bunnings for $149 on special then added a stick Up cam at $143 from JB Hi Fi and a $49 solar charger from Amazon.
So for less than $350 I have the front of my house fully covered.
Cristal clear colour day recording and sharp night recording albeit in black and white without flood lights but goes colour at night with my existing motion sensor flood lights.
I have subscription to ring at $4/month for recording. Great value.
What is also impressive is that if a camera gets stolen... ever... Ring replace it for free.
Perfect and very low cost.

Purchased in July 2020 for A$149.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers

Real waste of money and effort

published

I have this door bell over a year, not impressed at all.
Not reliable as every month need to contact for support as response time very late. Some time sitting in home but no ring inside and no alert on phone.
Some time, people press the door bell and I get alert/bell after they gone.
Their help centre almost not exist as their no way you can contact them directly via chat, email or phone.

I’m about to through this rubbish in bin

Not recommended

Purchased in January 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$210.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers
Door Security Products

Find out how Ring Video DoorBell compares to other Door Security Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
alexxmc77

alexxmc77Sydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Amazing company, products and support m

published

Purchased in October 2017 at Ring for A$399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers
Ichijyo

IchijyoSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Beware! Intl TX fee charged from its Australian official website!

published

I was odering the Video Door Bell 2 from its official website (https://au-en.ring.com/). It was listed as AUD 149. Yet I later found out my credit card was charged additional AUD 5.06 INTL TX FEE!!!

It was an website targeted for Australian customers and the price was listed in AUD. Why on earth they would charge INTL TX FEE? I sent an email to them 2 weeks ago but there is no reponse yet.

Purchased in June 2020 for A$154.06.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Sash

SashGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Laggy response and poor battery life

published

The system alerts you when there is a person or movement at the door. When I click to see the camera view, it is so incredibly laggy that someone would have had time to break in, steal my things and drive off down the street before the video actually played... and it isn’t a problem with my wifi! The battery life is also pathetic. Do not purchase this product, it’s not worth the money!

Purchased in June 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$200.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers
Sandy

SandySydney Surrounds, NSW

Save yourself the stree

published

Purchased in June 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers

These guys are money hungry

published

Its an absolute discrace protection plan - imagine if you buy an Iphone which you can make photos with but for you to be able to see the photos you will have to pay Apple an additional 40$/year - i mean what do you think of that? Feels like a rip off right... well you are doing exactly the same - greed

Purchased in March 2020 at JB Hi-Fi for A$350.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers
Dominic S.

Dominic S.Mid North Coast, NSW

  • 2 reviews

The "Ring 2nd Generation" Is NOT The "Ring 2"

published
Door Security Products

Find out how Ring Video DoorBell compares to other Door Security Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bellarine

BellarineSouthwest, VIC

Not possible to purchase the required transformer

published

If you want to hard wire a video doorbell for a new build house then forget the Ring Doorbell as it is not possible to purchase the required transformer. Ring Australia will sell the resister, but not the transformer. Secondary retailers also sell the Ring Doorbell but not the transformer.

Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability

Not worth the money.

published

Difficult to set up . Not as easy as seems. Chime is bad as well. Difficult to hear doorbell ringing unless you're standing by the door ........wish I could return and get refund ,but used the product...

Purchased in May 2020 at JB Hi-Fi Online Store for A$190.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Mercurious

MercuriousSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 14 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Even better than expected.

published

I bought this so the Alexa spots around our house would announce when someone rang our doorbell. What I didn't realise I'd use so much is the video of people who have approached my front door after being alerted via the phone app. I enjoy the security aspect and would recommend. The subscription to video storing is quite inexpensive.

Purchased in March 2020 at Officeworks Online store for A$139.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers
A J

A J

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Functions hindered by poor battery life

published

Purchased in December 2019 at Bing Lee for A$129.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers
Geof

GeofVictoria

  • 6 reviews
  • 13 likes

won't connect to ring wifi for setup

published

I changed internet provider and have to redo setup but the ring wifi won't connect. The 'community help' is of no use and there is no Australian help number listed. Previously it had its problems (as per other comments) but worked most of the time. Now it functions as a doorbell only which is not what it was purchased for

Purchased at JB Hi-Fi.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
See all answers
TSki

TSkiPerth, WA

Absolute trash

published

Bought one of these as concept sounds great, rechargeable battery, connection to multiple devices, no need to wire. Truth is first one failed within 4 months. Contacted customer service, sent a replacement, which is faulty. Doesn't connect, no workaround seems to do the trick. Attempted to call Ring, have been on hold on 4 occasions for 20 minutes at a time at which point my patience runs out. Turns out it is very easy to over engineer. Simple push and chime doorbell is what I'm buying next.

Purchased in December 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$129.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers
Door Security Products

Find out how Ring Video DoorBell compares to other Door Security Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Worked for one day

published

Installed with assistance of electrician and worked great for 1 day. Lost connection to the internet and now will not reconnect despite trying every troubleshooting option outlined.
No other devices having trouble connecting to internet.
Return policy is very restrictive - waste of money

Purchased in March 2020 at Qantas store.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Rob G.

Rob G.Illawarra, NSW

DON'T BUY

published

The motion sensor detects cars going past despite repeated adjustments to the settings.
The battery needs changing every few weeks.
The "guaranteed" security screws can be undone with a small flat blade screwdriver.
For some reason people don't actually press the button, they just knock in my door. Either it doesn't look like a doorbell to most people, or it doesn't work when they press the button. A big waste of money, time and effort. Doesn't really do what it's supposed to.

Purchased in June 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$149.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers
Kevin

KevinGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Absolute crap

published

It is very expensive for a door bell
It is not useful as anything else.
It is far too slow to be useful as a means of answering the door when you are not home.
Any caller has long gone before it connects

Purchased in June 2018 for A$700.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Tom

TomGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 12 reviews
  • 10 likes
  • Verified purchase

Excellent

published

Bought this as a temporary security camera while waiting for the proper security cameras to be installed. For the price and ease of setup and use, 2 thumbs up for me

Purchased in March 2020.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Ethan

Ethan

  • 5 reviews
  • 8 likes

Avoid at all costs, Existing Ring User .

published

Avoid at all costs, I was with ring for 2 years and they have failed at every chance. Don’t waste your money, The device failed at many occasions, the company does not care what happens to missed and missing recordings from their data base very unreliable system have switched to another company. go on youtube and watch comparison reviews they you will see how bad this device is.

Purchased in January 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$699.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers
Page 1 of 11

Questions & Answers

Tom P.

Tom P.asked

Is subscription for ring 2 available in Australia I have sent all the information including account number but i can’t get it why

1 answer
Jim S.
Jim S.

Sorry but no idea - I was not even remotely (no pun intended) interested in a subscription process for it, so did not even attempt to follow through. I must admit that I had no idea that the system was actually linked online back to ring at all - and would NOT have gone ahead with the purchase had I known that.

dante p

dante pasked

how much does a video recording subscription cost

1 answer
Rustproofhydra
Rustproofhydra

$40/annum

Stephen M.

Stephen M.asked

Just read that with the door bell pro that even though it’s hard wired if the internal non serviceable battery goes flat the door bell video etc is useless, it was in another review I read. Looks like I’ll be looking for some thing else after all these bad reviews

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Ring representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.