??!
1 photo
Ring Video DoorBell

Ring Video DoorBell

MPN: 8VR1S5-VAU0
2.1 from 194 reviews

Reviews

(23)
(14)
(23)
(36)
(98)
  • Build Quality
    2.8 (42)
  • Value for Money
    1.7 (41)
  • Ease of Use
    2.0 (41)
  • Night Vision
    2.7 (29)
  • Connectivity / Reliability
    1.8 (37)
  • Ease of Installation
    2.8 (35)
  • Motion Detection
    2.7 (32)


Manny

MannySydney, NSW

  • 11 reviews

Garbage for $149

published

This is the worst thing I’ve bought after an Arlo camera. Stops working frequently and completely stop functioning a year after purchase. Do not waste your money on this. Especially the model which isn’t wired has to be unscrewed and charged frequently.

Purchased in December 2018 at Costco NSW.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money

MerrySea

MerrySeaSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Bring back the old Ring settings :/

published

There was an obvious change to Ring settings and since then it has been a huge letdown & disappointment.
There was a criminal incident on my property and for some reason it didn’t record all of the “Movement” incidents.
This would have helped for legal proof.

Sometimes it notifies me of movement and I can see a stranger moving on camera and later it isn’t on the History?!

Other times when someone is at my door I cant talk to them ?!
It notifies me of movement but wont replay it :/

Purchased at Bunnings Warehouse for $300.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers
m.demellweek76

m.demellweek76Murrumbidgee Region, NSW

Unexpected expense

published

Worked great for the first month and then you are expected to pay every year for the footage.Better off buying a cheap eBay one.Pay all that money and can’t use it to its full advantage unless you pay more.Its not good enough and not happy.

Purchased in January 2020 at JB Hi-Fi.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers

Total Rubbish, don't buy one. Would rate it 0 if possible

published

Absolutely Bloody useless. Can't get live view, wont show history of movement. Tried to get it all working via chat line, operator would not listen to what they were being told (3 separate attempts) tried phoning help line, guy was ok, reset app etc, still wont work properly, time to toss it away all too hard, LB.
NZ

Purchased in January 2020.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers

Alan

AlanSouth East Queensland, QLD

very poor, never get logged on quick enough to talk to anyone at the door

published

these things are rubbish, adjustable zones don't work, by the time you get notified there is someone at the front door and you log in to see who it is or try to talk to them their gone. it takes anything up to 4 minutes to log in to the website.

Purchased in April 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $299.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers

JT

JTSydney

  • 10 reviews

Works as claimed on the tin except for one important point.

published

If you live in australia, where the NBN services is flakey at best, the doorbell stops working. Nothing rings, you can't look at it, it does nothing.
It's worse than a power outage.
In fact, I had to fit a backup unit to take care of data to get internet again before the doorbell worked again.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money

BravoLima

BravoLimaEverton Park

  • 8 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Battery life is horrible

published

Have used this for 3 years and after 1 and a half years the battery barely lasts 2 months before needing recharging and this is after changing all the settings to reduce battery usage.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers

Jacqueline S.

Jacqueline S.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews

It's okay

published

The doorbell is okay, but I had to buy a wi-fi extender AND a Chime Pro to get a decent connection as I installed the doorbell on the front of our detached garage and the signal from my modem was too weak (about 15 metres away from the doorbell). Even with the wi-fi extender and chime pro, sometimes speaking to people who ring the doorbell is difficult as the sound keeps cutting in and out. The video quality is okay. I paid for the cloud storage as it's only $40 for the year and is handy to review the footage. I do like being able to receive notifications that a person is in our front yard (which is not visible from our house due to the position of the garage).

Purchased in October 2019 at Catch for $110.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
Greg S

Greg SMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Can't give it a zero

published

This would have to be one of the greatest failure of a computer network solution ever. Product refuses to find wireless network even though it was connected to the same network the day before. Chimes are the same. Have tried on line chat, phone calls, got a computer tech. Nothing. Don't bother. Mine headed for the bin.

Purchased in June 2019 for $250.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
See all answers
TimC

TimCCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 16 reviews

Waste of money, Pay monthly fee if want see recording motion.

published

Its ok you can view live by Mobile and Desktop app.
View Recording motion pay access monthly fee.
IF you have very big house and must get wireless Chime Pro extends your WiFi as i have trouble with Ring Chime WiFi becasue my modem is too far way from front door if you cant move modem or add another WiFi router extender.
You don't have to buy Ring Chime if you use mobile app all time.
Ring Door bell is good with sound .
Very silly why they don't have micro-card to record it for free.

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
See all answers

PeterSyd

PeterSydSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews

poor product - too difficult to get to work

published

Bought this with the Ring chime. Can get the doorbell to work finally but it wont integrate with google home. Cant get the door chime to connect to a network. No instructions the thing is just useless. Have spent hours trying to get the things working and integrated. Trashing it and will look for something better.

Purchased in December 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for $150.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers

Alex Kok

Alex KokSouth West, WA

  • Verified purchase

Absolutely useless!!

published

Been at it for 6 hours to try and connect this unit to my wifi. Bought the Chime Pro as well with the idea to improve the wifi reach which by the way works for all of my other gadgets but not for the Ring Doorbell. Do spend over $210 and wasted half a day of my life which I never get back all because of this lousy product which has the very poorest of wifi receiver which won’t even work if you stand 5m away from the router. So, save your money and buy something ‘made in China’ which will no doubt be much better!!

Purchased in January 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $210.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers

Ahmed

AhmedVictoria

  • 2 reviews

Free Recording like other major brands

published

It works fine but it's totally unfair that we have to pay for the recording. All other major brands have atleast 2 weeks free. In this age and day of cheap storage, at least one week of free storage should be offered. Doesn't make sense at all to pay even for a day or recording

Purchased in September 2017 at JB Hi-Fi for $350.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers

Disgruntled

DisgruntledThe Mallee, VIC

Waste of money!

published

Purchased at Kogan.com for $239.00.

GazMan

GazManPerth, WA

RING RUBBISH!

published

Terrible battery life if not hard wired, you will have to turn off all sensors to try to make it last. The video quality is rubbish, and you will only get a couple months of free saved video history before you have to pay for a subscription! Mass produced Ring rubbish!

Purchased in March 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers
Jim Pourgoutzidis

Jim PourgoutzidisGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Zero customer service

published

Subscription paid
Still no video
My car was broken into ,but where is the ring video when you need it?
After so many emails to them you would think they would make an effort to rectify the problem.

Purchased in March 2017 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $299.00.


Tasman2013

Tasman2013

  • 9 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Useless, to slow to be useable remotely

published

Very poor cloud back end makes it too slow to actually use, takes minutes to process each video and the audio features are unusable due to very poor quality, you can’t hear anything anyone at the door says (on NBN FTTP 50mb/s connection and google wifi). It also regularly misses motion notifications despite being 5 cm from the door (I get notifications from my smart lock but no matching motion detection from the Ring). I subscribed hoping that might improve response times but it made no difference. Basically doesn’t work as advertised and is only useful as a local doorbell and to view history after the fact (if it bothered to capture which it often doesn’t).

Purchased in April 2019 at Amazon for $300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection

Useless

published

Ring makes the doorbell useless unless you sign up to their subscription plan. Just another company trying to get more money off their customers and not delivering a good product! Always wanting more! Would not buy


mick

mickMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 6 reviews

ring cameras

published

I have 4 Ring Video Security Cameras setup at my house bin Adelaide and they worked perfectly for 15 months and now for some darn reason they have stopped recording which now makes them bloody useless to have , so can anyone tell me why they just suddenly stopped working
Michael
in Adelaide

Purchased in January 2017 at Officeworks Physical store for $315.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
See all answers

Viv I.

Viv I.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Don't waste your money

published

I've had the Ring doorbell for 12 months. It has always had a delayed notification, despite correct settings. The motion sensor stopped working about 7 weeks ago. Contacted customer service and was told to buy an adapter to increase the wifi coverage?? (nothing wrong with wifi coverage). After many many phone calls, remote testing was done, and it was concluded that yes, it was a faulty product. I have called / emailed / fb's / instagrammed and after 6 weeks, STILL don't have a replacement, or even confirmation of dispatch. No door bell, no security. Ring are the WORST customer service I have ever experienced. Please, don't waste your money or time.

Purchased in December 2018 for $300.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers

Page 1 of 10

Questions & Answers

dante p

dante pasked

how much does a video recording subscription cost

1 answer
choprasimple
choprasimple

$40/annum


Stephen M.

Stephen M.asked

Just read that with the door bell pro that even though it’s hard wired if the internal non serviceable battery goes flat the door bell video etc is useless, it was in another review I read. Looks like I’ll be looking for some thing else after all these bad reviews

No answers

david

davidasked

My doorbell says "Your videos are ot being saved" so it will not let me view anything. Do I have to pay for a subscription?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Ring representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.