??!
10 photos
Rinnai Infinity Range

Rinnai Infinity Range

26, 20, 16, etc...
3.1 from 210 reviews

Reviews

3.1

210 reviews
5
(77)
4
(25)
3
(14)
2
(32)
1
(62)
  • Build Quality
    3.5 (21)
  • Value for Money
    3.0 (23)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (18)
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (21)
  • Temperature Consistency
    3.0 (22)
  • Heating Speed
    3.1 (22)
  • Smells of GasYes (2) · No (21)
Previous
Next
Marty

MartySydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

I love it

published

we always have Hot water and have 8 people living in the house. low cost water heater and I can control the temperature so the kids don't get burnt. I couldn't live without it.

Purchased in February 1993.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 8 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Jett

JettGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Loud whirring noise

published

Purchased at G Store for A$1,099.00.

Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 2 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
RY

RYPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

24 Years trouble free operation

published

Infinity 20 installed in 1996 replacing an inefficient solar system. Heavy use family home with two bathrooms and it has performed wonderfully during all this time. Had it serviced after about 5 years and was told not to bother again unless there was a problem and there have been none until today. Cost of the unit and installation was approx 30% of a replacement solar system and running costs have been cheaper than the electric boosted old solar unit. Flow rate to two showers at one time is a little reduced but still satisfactory although one shower is perfect achieving water temperatures in excess of my tolerance levels if required !! Cannot rate the unit to highly.

Purchased in May 1996.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
2 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
RY
RY

The problem today was found to be the gas supply regulator on the bottles not the Rinnai unit so looking forward to a few more years yet !!!

Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Find out how Rinnai Infinity Range compares to other Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

No Customer Service

published

Wow having read all these issues one thing really stands out..... customer service is non-existent just an automated response which does nothing to solve the issues or help the customer.
I'm not even going to bother adding my complaint.
I will just never buy a Rinnai product again.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 2 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Nic

NicMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

WOW I Love it!

published

Purchased in July 2020 at Gas Works Morphett Vale South Australia 5162 for A$900.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 6 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Have to disconnect the remote if your power goes off

published

When your power goes off we have to reset the new controller and turn it back on otherwise the heater will not turn on. This is a pain as sometimes you don't know when the power goes off in the middle of the night and then comes back on so when you go and have a shower in the morning there is no hot water. As we have 2 bathrooms we have the controller in a central part of the house so we have to get out the shower and go turn the unit back on total pain... So spoke to service and the only fix is to disconnect the controller on the main unit... What's the point!!! Very disappointed and there is not fix to the problem. Our older unit would turn itself on when the power came back on not this new one you have to manually turn it on.

Purchased in April 2020.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
purplethings

purplethingsGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 28 reviews
  • 1 like

Love the continuous flow of hot water

published

Purchased in May 2020.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 4 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Jude

Jude

  • 2 reviews

Temperature decrease

published

Hi I have Rinnai infinity 26 (REU-V2626W(50)-AK), This system default temp 50 degree Celsius, I tried to decrease the temperature to 25 / 30 degree Celsius via dip switch. but I couldn't. The manual show only decrease 40 degree, can I decrease or not

Purchased in July 2013.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Peter Kothstein GF8771

Peter Kothstein GF8771Perth, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Rinnai Life expectancy excellent

published
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Find out how Rinnai Infinity Range compares to other Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bill2123

Bill2123Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Terrible experience use cheap hosing that rusts

published

Does not cope always waiting ages for hot water.
Ribbed hosing rusted after only 5 years of use and started leaking like a sieve.
Plumber told me they have had many issues with this hose.
Annode had to be replaced after 2 years use.
They would not reimburse me to change the ribbed hosing to copper which is what it should have been in the first place.
We are pensioners and we cannot afford this additional cost.

Purchased in May 2015 for A$4,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 2 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
pete

pete

  • 26 reviews
  • 22 likes

Its a great hot water unit

published

Purchased for A$1,199.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 3 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Blake M.

Blake M.Sydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Cold & cruddy

published

Model Rinnai B26 A2626WB-50-AK
This unit is COLD, 20 degree day & I just had an only hot water shower & did not get warm at all from my COLD supply of water. I will have to purchase a thermometer & see the actual temp from faucet but you can stand under all hot from this unit without even feeling mild discomfort. Installed sheltered area. Looking forward to developing a hatred of Rinnai over the warranty period...
2 questions posed - Copes well with high demand & extended usage
- Does have issues with fluctuation but may not be due to hot water system

Purchased in November 2019 for A$800.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 1 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
CjhBrisbane

CjhBrisbaneSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Super efficient gas water heater, some lessons though

published

Replaced an old mains gas storage heater with an Rinnai Infinity 26 with controllers to set temp. Great news is my gas consumption fell 90% (not a typo).
Some lessons though.
Had to replace the mains gas line into the property to a larger size, ie less gas consumed but at a much higher rate.
Low flow taps/shower heads appear to confuse the heater (hence some poor reviews i guess), solution is to turn on hot tap much more seems to solve problem.
Have had the unit for almost two years, faultless and highly recommended.
However, given the cost of gas main replacement and gas retailers quarterly connection fee, it would have been more cheaper to go LPG option. QLD fee is almost $100 per quarter plus my $10 gas usage.

Purchased in April 2018 at Gstore.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 2 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Kate

KateNgunnawal 2913, ACT

  • 4 reviews
  • 7 likes

Absolutely hate it!

published

Absolutely terrible HWS. Wastes ridiculous amounts of water to heat up, goes cold during showers several times per shower. Have to turn off cold and leave hot water to heat up during shower after already wasting water and time to heat up in first place. Deters the household from even wanting to shower regularly as it is not a relaxing experience whatsoever.

Purchased in April 2018 at ActewAGL.

Value for Money
Household Size 2 person(s)
Smells of GasYes
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Alex

AlexSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Hot and Cold

published

Our B20 unit is 16 months old and it is satisfactory in all respects except for our shower. In a 3 or 4 minute shower it runs cold 2 or 3 times. The instruction book says to increase the hot water flow but it is already at near its maximum. It is very frustrating as out old tank system never caused a problem in 16 years.

Purchased in September 2019 at Fallon plumbing.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 2 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the review Alex. there are a number of factors that can cause this issue We would recommend speaking to our technical department on 1300 555 545 option 3, who can run through some troubleshooting with you.

Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Find out how Rinnai Infinity Range compares to other Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
MsRachel

MsRachel

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Do not get any system like this

published

Purchased in August 2019 for A$2,205.00.

Household Size 4 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
2 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
MsRachel
MsRachel

On and off since its gone in

published

The hot water takes ages to come through, I'm on bottled gas no flow restrictors anywhere. Been like this since it went in. Plumber not helpful at all. It sometimes works after been thumped on the outside of unit.

Purchased in November 2018 for A$429.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 2 person(s)
Smells of GasYes
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the review Katie S, we are sorry to hear of the issues you have faced with your unit. We would recommend speaking to our Technical Help Desk on 1300 555 545 option 3 who may be able to help.

Thanks
Rinnai Australia

Peter Kothstein GF8771

Peter Kothstein GF8771Perth, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Another Successful Installation

published

I supplied and installed a Rinnai B20 Last week.
Rinnai elite Products and HWS's a must for any persons changing Hot Water units.
Get installation done by a Licensed Gasfitter/Plumber.
GF8771 PL6440 Peter

Purchased in October 2019 at Samios for A$765.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 5 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Dan

DanPerth, WA

  • 4 reviews

Exceptional hot water unit

published

Purchased in September 2018.

Household Size 4 person(s)
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Andy

AndyVictoria

Fantastic unit

published

Our unit has been running flawlessly for the past 5 years. I installed controllers next to our showers + kitchen and the kids love having easy control of their shower temp. Energy efficient - Gas bill is nice and low - although installation was high (thick copper gas pipes).

Temperature fluctuation is minor when say the washing machine and/or dishwasher kicks in while you're showering, but it's still warm enough and it very rarely happens. On the flip side, you don't run out of hot water (except during a power outage)!

In all, no regrets and would install again.

Purchased in September 2014 at GStore.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 4 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Page 1 of 11

Questions & Answers

Steve L.

Steve L.asked

Infinity 16

Rinnai 16 infinity is only delivering water at 30 degrees

1 answer
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi Steve L,

Thank you for getting in touch,

Please contact our Technical team on 1300 555 545 option 3 and they may be able to assist, alternatively, If a service call is required they can help organise this also.

Thanks
Rinnai Australia.

Guner

Gunerasked

Infinity 24

Our rinnai infinity 24 gas hot water goes cold then hot then cold we wait nearly 15 mins to see if it’s going to heat but no what do you think the problem is

2 answers
Jett
Jett

Your gas pipe needs updating. Its not large enough to handle instantaneous flow. I mentioned that in my post.
Rinnai should have this stated on their website. They don't because it would deter sales. Its not as simple as just changing over. Get a LPG unit. Would save you monthly gas service charges if you only use it for hot water.

Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi Guner,
Thanks for the question, there are a number of reasons for the symptoms you have stated. Our technical team can troubleshoot over the phone on 1300 555 545 option 3. They will need the model and serial number of the unit which can be found on the data plate on the left hand side of the unit.

Thank you
Rinnai Australia

Thanh

Thanhasked

Infinity 26

How to fix a big noise when turn off a miser. I just installed a Rinnai infinity 26 hot water unit about 5 weeks ago.

5 answers
Jett
Jett

What is miser ?

Jett
Jett

You are probably talking about mixer , correct me if I am wrong. This is the same issue I am experiencing. It is a manufacturer fault and you can return the unit. Rinnai have not address this due to cost. They only deal with complaints. The noise especially during lockdown is unbearable. I have now switched to electric hot water, MicroHeat 3 phase. I have both installed. The noise from Rinnai is unbearable.

Thanh
Thanh

Hi Jett,

Mixer is a basin mixer tap (It is like a basin water tap). Sorry, I was describing a basin water tap unclear.
I just installed a Rinnai infinity 26 hot water unit about 5 weeks ago then when using it, I turned on a basin mixer tap was good but turned it off the noise was coming from outside of the wall. Do you know what wrong is it?
Thank you very much for your comments.

From,
Thanh.

Get an answer from our members and Rinnai representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.