??!
10 photos
Rinnai Infinity Range

Rinnai Infinity Range

26, 20, 16, etc...
3.1 from 199 reviews

Reviews

(70)
(26)
(12)
(32)
(59)
  • Build Quality
    3.1 (11)
  • Value for Money
    2.4 (12)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (8)
  • Noise Level
    3.8 (10)
  • Temperature Consistency
    2.3 (12)
  • Heating Speed
    2.7 (12)
  • Smells of GasYes (2) · No (11)
CjhBrisbane

CjhBrisbaneSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Super efficient gas water heater, some lessons though

published

Replaced an old mains gas storage heater with an Rinnai Infinity 26 with controllers to set temp. Great news is my gas consumption fell 90% (not a typo).
Some lessons though.
Had to replace the mains gas line into the property to a larger size, ie less gas consumed but at a much higher rate.
Low flow taps/shower heads appear to confuse the heater (hence some poor reviews i guess), solution is to turn on hot tap much more seems to solve problem.
Have had the unit for almost two years, faultless and highly recommended.
However, given the cost of gas main replacement and gas retailers quarterly connection fee, it would have been more cheaper to go LPG option. QLD fee is almost $100 per quarter plus my $10 gas usage.

Purchased in April 2018 at Gstore.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 2 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Kate

KateNgunnawal 2913, ACT

  • 4 reviews

Absolutely hate it!

published

Absolutely terrible HWS. Wastes ridiculous amounts of water to heat up, goes cold during showers several times per shower. Have to turn off cold and leave hot water to heat up during shower after already wasting water and time to heat up in first place. Deters the household from even wanting to shower regularly as it is not a relaxing experience whatsoever.

Purchased in April 2018 at ActewAGL.

Value for Money
Household Size 2 person(s)
Smells of GasYes
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Alex

AlexSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Hot and Cold

published

Our B20 unit is 16 months old and it is satisfactory in all respects except for our shower. In a 3 or 4 minute shower it runs cold 2 or 3 times. The instruction book says to increase the hot water flow but it is already at near its maximum. It is very frustrating as out old tank system never caused a problem in 16 years.

Purchased in September 2019 at Fallon plumbing.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 2 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the review Alex. there are a number of factors that can cause this issue We would recommend speaking to our technical department on 1300 555 545 option 3, who can run through some troubleshooting with you.

Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Find out how Rinnai Infinity Range compares to other Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
MsRachel

MsRachel

  • 3 reviews

Do not get any system like this

published

Purchased in August 2019 for $2,205.00.

Household Size 4 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
2 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
MsRachel
MsRachel

On and off since its gone in

published

The hot water takes ages to come through, I'm on bottled gas no flow restrictors anywhere. Been like this since it went in. Plumber not helpful at all. It sometimes works after been thumped on the outside of unit.

Purchased in November 2018 for $429.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 2 person(s)
Smells of GasYes
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the review Katie S, we are sorry to hear of the issues you have faced with your unit. We would recommend speaking to our Technical Help Desk on 1300 555 545 option 3 who may be able to help.

Thanks
Rinnai Australia

Peter.K.

Peter.K.Perth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Another Successful Installation

published

I supplied and installed a Rinnai B20 Last week.
Rinnai elite Products and HWS's a must for any persons changing Hot Water units.
Get installation done by a Licensed Gasfitter/Plumber.
GF8771 PL6440 Peter

Purchased in October 2019 at Samios for $765.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 5 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Dan

DanPerth, WA

  • 4 reviews

Exceptional hot water unit

published

Purchased in September 2018.

Household Size 4 person(s)
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Andy

AndyVictoria

Fantastic unit

published

Our unit has been running flawlessly for the past 5 years. I installed controllers next to our showers + kitchen and the kids love having easy control of their shower temp. Energy efficient - Gas bill is nice and low - although installation was high (thick copper gas pipes).

Temperature fluctuation is minor when say the washing machine and/or dishwasher kicks in while you're showering, but it's still warm enough and it very rarely happens. On the flip side, you don't run out of hot water (except during a power outage)!

In all, no regrets and would install again.

Purchased in September 2014 at GStore.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 4 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Christine

ChristineGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

The unit is perfect. When it works.

published

Installed in October 2018, worked fine some of the time, until winter when it now works about 2 hours a day at lunchtime. Sometimes it works in one shower and not the other, or sometimes nowhere fat all for a few hours. Fine over summer. Now, I've had the installer out 3 times, then referred to Rinnai. So, no hot water for 3 days now, but apparently someone will come out in 2 days time so, yay. My family of 2 adults and 3 kids aren't needing a warm shower with day temperatures of between 10-16 degrees. 3 calls today to Rinnai, still waiting to hear back from the manager, 5 hours and counting....

Purchased in October 2018.

3 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Christine
Christine
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Find out how Rinnai Infinity Range compares to other Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
john

johnGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

too much wasted water

published

Purchased in March 2019 at Burson.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 1 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Susan

SusanDERRIMUT VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Poor customer service with Rinnai

published

Had an issue with faulty value on solar hot water unit which we only had for 15 months. Tried to call Rinnai to book technician to fix problem ASAP however was on hold for 30 mins and couldn't get through so had no choice to go with independent plumber. Still had faulty value available and a massive water bill because of this. As we didn't use Rinnai's technician, this apparently void the warranty. It is appalling Rinnai not prepared to compensate us nor contribute to the cost of the massive water bill. In future will not support Rinnai products.

Purchased in February 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Smells of GasNo
Sandra A.

Sandra A.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Terrible temperature and flow

published

In the summer months it's OK but when it get cold the temperature at best the water is Luke warm and the flow is terrible.
I have had your Tech guy out charged me $190 to say it's not the unit it's the gas company flow from the street they came out said the gas Flow is fine .
I have had the plumber out 3 times thinking he could help he has seen what is happening but can't find anything .
This happened last winter we couldn't afford to call your tec guys again as her said it will cost again now winter here again and here we go again like warm shower again.
So frustrating wish I had money to buy a new brand.

Purchased in November 2017.

Household Size 4 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Donna

DonnaWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

Not hot enough

published

Our water has never been hot enough. Can wash hair on all hot and hold hand under hot water at kitchen sink. Kitchen sink is close to the unit. Have to boil a kettle for wash up water. How can the temperature be raised please?

Purchased in August 2012.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 2 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
AJR2093

AJR2093Sydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Works great..until it doesn’t. No service from Rinnai

published

2 months before end of warranty our water heater dies. No shower, no washing, nothing. Still cannot get Rinnai to answer a phone. Plumber says it has corroded. Outdoor unit dead after Andre 3 years.Buying BOSCH next time.

Purchased in July 2016 for $3,000.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 5 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Mattk

Mattk

  • 2 reviews

Rinnai Touch C1 fault

published

So on Sat night for no reason the unit stopped working. Kept giving a C1 fault code which is not even listed in the Rinnai install manual or troubleshooting guide. Called Rinnai and operator was clueless. Took all my details at 8am Monday, but when I called back at 4.30pm Monday they hadn’t even logged the job and sent it to a plumber ffs. I found details of the C1 fault on this site and ended up fixing it myself. Remote control needed calibration wth. Fix your install and fault finding manual Rinnai and fix your service. Hopeless.

Purchased in October 2018.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 4 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the review Mattk, we are sorry to hear of the issues you have faced in booking a service call with our 1st Care Department. We will pass on your feedback to our management team,

Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Find out how Rinnai Infinity Range compares to other Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Suzanna

Suzanna

  • 18 reviews

I have no hot water and can't get a service call.

published

I have called four times today and had two return calls "to see what I Wanted" and all I want to do is book a service Call! How hard is that?

Purchased in November 2013.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thank you for the review Suzanna. We would like to confirm that a service call has been booked and a technician will be in attendance today to resolve this matter for you.

Thanks,
Rinnai Australia

Dave

DaveSouth East Queensland, QLD

Not happy with Rinnai B20 unit.

published
Date PurchasedDec 2018
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

-

Very happy with our Unit, would definitely purchase another!

published

We purchased ours in 2012 and love our unit. I love being able to adjust the temperature and know my kids and visitors aren't going to get burnt . Great space saver also for the side of our house. We will definitely be looking to purchase another when we move into our new home next month.

Date PurchasedApr 2012
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
mechanic

mechanicabermain

  • 6 reviews

i wish i would have purchased a rinnai infinity years before i did.

published

I purchased a rinnai infinity 26 lpg 60 (6) years ago it is and has been the best (in all respects) hot water system I have ever owned and I have owned a lot over (50) years.
I expect it will not last forever but there is not much that does.
It fired up perfectly the first time it was turned on and has been used a lot in (6) years and keeps on keeping on.
Cheap to run.

Date PurchasedJan 2012
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

We are pleased to hear that your infinity hot water unit is continuously exceeding your expectations. At Rinnai we pride ourselves in producing quality products and we thank you for your review Mechanic.

Jenn

JennSydney

this happened to me too!

published

Finally got a service person to visit and the fan unit is faulty and has to be replaced. Is yours the brand new design with the dark grey contrast sides? Mine is. Service person says a few of these hard a faulty fan unit. Hopefully the replacement with fix it.

Date PurchasedOct 2018
4 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thank you for the review Jenn. Please contact customer service on 1300 555 545 option 2 if you require any further assistance.

Jenn
Jenn
Jenn
Jenn
Page 1 of 10

Questions & Answers

kumar g.

kumar g.asked

Infinity 24

Is the gas line diameter for Rinnai 24 and 26 ,the same please?
Can a rinnai 26 replace a 24 without much modification?

1 answer
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the question kumar g.,

We would recommend calling our technical help desk on 1300 555 545 option 3 with your model and serial number which can be found on the data plate.

Thanks
Rinnai Australia

kumar g.

kumar g.asked

Infinity 24

Can a Rinnai 26 replace a 24 without much modification,please?

1 answer
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the question kumar g.,

We would recommend calling our technical help desk on 1300 555 545 option 3 with your model and serial number which can be found on the data plate.

Thanks
Rinnai Australia

Fakhri

Fakhriasked

Infinity 26 Touch

What it means C1 on display heater and wireless controllers-0

1 answer
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the question Fakhri. The Infinity Touch will display the number of controllers currently linked, so the C1 indicates there is 1 controller attached.

Thanks
Rinnai Australia

Get an answer from our members and Rinnai representatives

Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.