??!

Reviews

2.4

16 reviews
5
(2)
4
(3)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(8)
  • Build Quality
    2.0 (2)
  • Value for Money
    2.5 (2)
  • Ease of Use
    2.5 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    1.0 (1)
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (1)
  • Safety
    3.0 (1)
  • Hill / Slope Performance
    2.0 (1)
  • Turning
    3.0 (1)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    1.0 (1)
Previous
Next

Total disaster

published

Totallty unreliable. Chews up belts on a regular basis. You have to take it out of gear to reverse, BIG turning circle. Good fuel economy. You can buy a better ride on mower, NOT a Rover.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
stewart50

stewart50South East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

cheap but you do get what you pay for

published

gets easily bogged and is not at all good on gradients but I think it has a great motor my only trouble is the deck belt and I cannot find a diagram that shows me its placement - see what else you can buy - give this a wide berth if you can help it

Purchased in December 2015 for A$2,500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Functionality
Hill / Slope Performance
Turning
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
See all answers
1 comment
stewart50
stewart50

avoid purchasing at any costs

tassieboy

tassieboyLaunceston, TAS

  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

Not to bad but

published

I like this mower it just has a few design problem.
It is nice to operate simple in design easy to start and use for my wife. Problems I find is the vibration that travels right through the mower when you engage blades if this never happened I'm sure the other little problem no normal person would care about. In saying that I do the steering linkage had no knuckle only a cheap split pin the petrol tank is zip tied on and the plastic ignition will break fast I'm sure moves around heaps when starting. The frame is very thin so please dont push on it as it will bend and dent before you go close to moving the mower

Date PurchasedSep 2018
Ride-On Mowers

Find out how Rover Raider compares to other Ride-On Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Duncan Bayne

Duncan BayneGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 13 reviews
  • 4 likes

Cheap, great for the first year, wears quickly

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2015
KJR

KJRSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

Deck belt constantly comes off

published

Has anyone else had this issue. Belt just comes off all the time. Have a 1 acre block and have to put it back on 2 or 3 times every mow. Have put on a proper brand belt for the model not a 'cheap replacement' and it broke in second use. All bearings seem to be fine. Nothing seized. Seems to be a design fault. Mower is in good order and runs well otherwise. Anyone know why?

Date PurchasedJul 2016
Ivan T

Ivan THobart

Trouble with vibration through floor plate

published

Had high hopes that it would be a good replacement for our MTD 38" ride on but excessive vibration even when blades not engaged have dented my enthusiasm. Currently back at dealership but they seem unable to fix it. Perhaps mounting bolts need rubber cushioning or motor not assembled correctly. Here's hoping there is a fix.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Daisy

DaisyBrisbane

Great mower

published

Fantastic mower had ours for 4 years, runs perfect never had any trouble easy to use still runs like the day it was purchased. Does a great job of mowing our acreage time after time. Has good safety devices so the whole family can use it,just turn the key and off you go.

Date PurchasedMar 2014
Deano

Deano

  • 2 reviews

Great mower had one for 4 years not one problem with it .

published

Great mower powerful great engine starts every time I have a block on steep hill and it is perfect never had any trouble I do look after it and always service it maybe this makes a difference? Rover have building mowers for a long time that have a good product

Date PurchasedMar 2013

Good unit

published

Reading the other reviews, I guess this is what happens when we sell out to the Chinese. Mine has a tecumseh motor, have changed the drive belt twice in 10 years but besides that has been a solid and reliable unit. Great for difficult and rough block which ours was when we moved in. What a shame, maybe one day Aussies will start giving a shti about our country and speak up, demand manufacturing back to this country.

Date PurchasedApr 2007
Ride-On Mowers

Find out how Rover Raider compares to other Ride-On Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dale

DaleMelbourne

Rover Raider

published

Heap of rubbish noisy running gear no deck wheels poorly built tin design not made for Australian conditions engine pops and misfires I just snapped to clutch linkage! gearbox, noisy, rattles, the deck wore out after 7 months no wheels on the deck at all Broken deck. Flimsy construction and I don't know how many time we have replaced blades and belts.
the color
gearbox, noisy, rattles, the deck wore out after 7 months no wheels on the deck at all

Zac Burgess

Zac BurgessHobart

  • 11 reviews
  • 10 likes

Poor construction

published
Tom Grady

Tom GradyCoffs Harbour

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Flimsy isnt the word!

published

I bought one for occasional use, after 6 months and about 10 hours the Briggs and Stratton motor through a rod through the side of the mower, it was replaced(short motor) under warranty but the agent was a real a hole about it.
"If I find low oil you will pay" etc.
Only broke 1 belt but the drive belt is now showing signs of wear. I will replace it with a new brand before it is worth nothing.
Comfortable to sit on.
Very thin metal, have to treat it very gentle.

Terrible

published

Great for the first 6 months. Terrible 3 years later. Broken deck. Flimsy construction and I don't know how many time we have replaced blades and belts. This machine has cost us around 5 grand in total. I don't think I'll be able to afford a new deck since they cost over a grand to replace.
It worked for 6 months
Flimsy, cheap and nasty

Terrible

published

I bought a rover on reputation (my father-in-law had one for 20 years) and ended up with one of the first Chinese made ones. Bad move. I don't know how metal can be so flimsy, everything bends and breaks. The latest installment is a cracked deck, over a grand to fix. Either the other guys writing reviews are lucky or I'm unlucky, but I wouldn't recommend one of these to anyone
Worked okay for about 6 months. Cheap.
Flimsy construction. If I get more than 2 mows between repairs I'm happy.

jwheat65

jwheat65Perth, WA

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good

published

Nice machine. Well built and easy to use. Not much room for accessing the adjustments for deck level, clutch etc but it's a small mower. Fits through gates bigger mowers wouldn't.
Small (compact)! Well built. Quality B&S motor. Economical.
No catch on the bonnet so it bounces around a bit. Not much space and difficult to get to adjustments. No headlights. 4 swing blades instead of single blade. User manual has very few diagrams/photos & no belt diagrams.

Ride-On Mowers

Find out how Rover Raider compares to other Ride-On Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Bad

published

We had a Colt 8 which was superb, could not stop it. The Raider is a POOR cousin with no wheels on the deck, no decent manual, crappy blades. It is good for about a 1/4 acre and that is it.
Good on fuel consumption
blades are hopeless, ended up using COX blades. Deck adjustment, what a joke, ended up using a tiedown to get it level

Questions & Answers

Tony

Tonyasked

Raider

What Will cause the air filter to oil up

1 answer
stewart50
stewart50

The air filter is designed to capture debris, dirt, and other contaminants but not oil. Occasionally, when a local service mechanic replaces an air filter, the technician will indicate that engine oil has been found; either inside the air filter housing or embedded inside the used filter. While oil finding its way into the air filter is not typically a sign of catastrophic engine failure, it should definitely not be neglected. Let's examine the top 3 reasons oil finds its way into the air filter in the first place

1. A Clogged Positive Crankcase Ventilation (PCV) Valve
The PCV valve is connected to an air intake housing via an often-rubber vacuum hose used to provide a vacuum release inside the engine's crankcase. This component is typically installed on top of a cylinder head valve cover, where pressure flows from the engine's bottom half, through the cylinder heads, and exits into the air intake. The PCV valve is similar to an engine oil filter in that it eventually becomes clogged with excessive debris (in this case — engine oil) and should be replaced as recommended by your mower manufacturer. If the PCV valve is not replaced as recommended, excessive oil will blow through the PCV valve and enter the air intake system.

The solution? If it is determined that a clogged PCV valve is the source of engine oil inside your air filter or air intake system, it should be replaced, the air intake should be cleaned, and a new air filter should be installed.

2. Worn Piston Rings
A second potential source of engine oil leaking into the air filter housing is due to worn piston rings. The piston rings are installed on the outer edge of the pistons inside the combustion chamber. The rings are intended to create a combustion ratio and permit small amounts of engine oil to continue lubricating the inner combustion chamber during each piston stroke. When rings wear out, they loosen and can cause oil blowout usually displayed by blue smoke coming from the engines tailpipe . In the early stages of worn piston rings, excessive oil blow-by can cause excessive pressure to build inside the crankcase, which sends more oil through the PCV valve and eventually into the air intake, as stated above.

What's the solution? If you notice engine oil in the air filter or intake housing, a professional mechanic might recommend a compression test. This is where a mechanic will install a compression gauge on each individual spark plug hole to check the compression of each cylinder. If the compression is lower than it should be, worn piston rings are usually the culprit. Unfortunately, this repair is not as easy as replacing a PCV valve. If worn piston rings are determined as the source, it might be a good idea to start searching for a replacement vehicle, as replacing pistons and rings will likely cost more than the value of the vehicle.

3. Clogged Oil Passages
The final possible reason engine oil will find its way into the air intake system and eventually clog the air filter is due to clogged oil passages. This symptom usually occurs when the engine oil and filter have not been replaced as recommended. It is caused by excessive carbon deposits or engine sludge developing inside the crankcase. When the oil does not flow efficiently, excessive engine oil pressure will be created and cause extra oil to push through the PCV valve and into the air intake.

What's the solution? In this instance, sometimes changing the engine oil, filter, PCV valve, and replacing the dirty air filter is good enough. However, if clogged oil galleys are discovered, it is usually recommended to flush the engine oil and replace the oil filter to ensure the engines oil galleys are clear of debris.

MikenCindy

MikenCindyasked

Raider

Just got a new Rover Raider. Used it once then backed it into the garage. That was 2 weeks ago. When I went to start it today, found it was stuck in reverse. Nothing I did was able to stop it from going backwards, even with the gear select in the Neutral position.

No answers
briancorney

briancorneyasked

Raider

is there a fues on the rover raider, i had no power (new battery) so i replaced the switch but still no starter motor working ((the starter motor is ok ) no lights,comletly dead

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.