??!
1 photo
Ryobi 18V One+ Pole Pruner OPP1820

Ryobi 18V One+ Pole Pruner OPP1820

MPN: OPP1820
3.6 from 43 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

Previous
Next
Ian

IanWollongong

  • 19 reviews
  • 4 likes

Had This Unit for 6 Years and Still Going Strong.

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
Sc3d

Sc3d Sydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great purchase, heavier than expected

published

Great tool! Works well with a standard ryobi 18v battery.

It’s a little hard to manoeuvre if you’re short, but you get used to it. Also heavier than expected.

Easy to put together as well.

Purchased in January 2021 at Bunnings Warehouse for $119.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Jorgejio

Jorgejio

  • 25 reviews
  • 18 likes

For what it is, surprisingly good. Some design weaknesses.

published

Purchased in May 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $199.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Hedge Trimmers

Find out how Ryobi 18V One+ Pole Pruner OPP1820 compares to other Hedge Trimmers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lou

LouMelbourne

  • 15 reviews
  • 8 likes

Handy Long Reach Pruner

published

Purchased in October 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Kerry

Kerry

  • 3 reviews

Pole pruner use - without the pole?

published

I have a Ryobi Pole Pruner ... but for some areas I need to be able to use the pruner without the pole. Does anyone know how to connect the pruner directly to the battery section without the pole in between? I don't wish to go an purchase another product eg chainsaw.

Purchased in July 2020.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Paul B.

Paul B.Hunter Region, NSW

Terrible service from Ryobi

published

Lost white cap off oil tank & it can't be replaced because they released a new modal & changed the size of the cap so it doesn't fit the OPP 1820 model.

Purchased for $200.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Chad

ChadGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Great pruner

published

Great pruner so far. Have used it about 10 hrs cutting lemon gum and black wattle including dry dead branches and had no problems. It does use a lot if chain oil, but doesnt leak for me unlike others, so you do need to keep a eye on that and the chain need tighten every 15 or 20 mins of use. Very quiet and not that heavy. Great battery life.

Purchased in December 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Mark S

Mark SSydney

  • 17 reviews
  • 10 likes
  • Verified purchase

Fantastic

published

I've got a lot of the One+ products so figured I'd give this a go. This is a great product, much easier and safer than using a step ladder.

Being battery powered it's not the fastest at cutting, but since I only need to cut through relatively thin branches it does the job well.

Purchased in March 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $199.75.

Incentivised ReviewNo

Oil leaks

published

The saw has only been used for several minutes and it leaking the bar and chain oil down the pole. Very annoying. Back to Bunnings. We are in the country with our closest store an hour away.

Purchased in March 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $119.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Hedge Trimmers

Find out how Ryobi 18V One+ Pole Pruner OPP1820 compares to other Hedge Trimmers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dave

DavePerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 7 likes

Dear Ryobi, useful piece of equipment and works. However, user manual is a joke, a cartoon with no words? Disappointed

published

Dear Ryobi, useful piece of equipment and works. However, user manual is a joke. l would be embarrassed to produce something like this, a cartoon with no words? Very Disappointed

Purchased in February 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $198.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo

Saw OK, Ryobi Fail

published

Saw has been good,Available up until recently. Critical parts no longer available for a relatively new item. I now have the Ryobi $200 paperweight. Not very pleased and will think twice before buying Ryobi again.

Purchased in January 2018.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Paul

PaulSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Great idea but build quality seems average

published

I purchased this a few months ago because the price was good, i've had good success with other Ryobi ONe+ tools, and already had the batteries. This Pole saw is a great idea and so far has worked fine for me, however the chain oil seems to leak out all over the place and runs down the pole, handle, motor, etc. It also doesn't seem to be oiling the chain from what i can see which will lead to premature chain failure down the track too. I think this has some serious design flaws that need to be rectified. As this has the 6yr Ryobi warranty i have a bad feeling i may be needed it sooner than later. But time will tell!

Purchased in August 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for $199.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
BarryC

BarryCMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes
  • Verified purchase

No problems despite what I'd read here.

published
Date PurchasedJan 2019
1 comment
BarryC
BarryC

I’ve since found out that one of the standard generic chains can be used as a replacement. Bunnings sells them so don’t need to go through Ryobi for a new chain.

Daryl H

Daryl HUpwey

Poor quality

published

Oil leaked from seemingly everywhere upon first filling it. This was brand new. What a mess. I still soldiered on and tried getting the pruner to even spin and it was dead with the battery fully charged.

Unfortunately my wife threw out the receipt, so I will see if I can fix this myself, but the lack of any life doesn't give me hope. Thanks for other comments about how to fix the hose. Hopefully the oil leaking everywhere hasn't ruined it.

Date PurchasedOct 2018
Dodger

Dodger

  • 2 reviews
  • 12 likes

Top Heavy

published

Bought one today, but it's very top heavy, the trigger is at one end and the weight at the other, no matter how you adjust the harness it's just impossible to use at it's full length...returned.
Staff member at Bunnings told me they are hard to use.
If they had the trigger half way down it would have made a difference.
The shorter one which I have is great.

Date PurchasedFeb 2019
Hedge Trimmers

Find out how Ryobi 18V One+ Pole Pruner OPP1820 compares to other Hedge Trimmers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Daniel

Daniel

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Disappointed in Ryobi cordless product range - failing just after warranty expiration

published
Date PurchasedMar 2016

Pole saw seems seized

published

For some reason my Ryobi battery operated saw just stopped and seems to be seized. It has operated perfectly since I bought it and I am very happy with it. When I push the levers to operate it nothing happens and the chain cog won’t turn. Anyone else had this or overcome it some how?

Date PurchasedJune 2017
Hibullet

HibulletForster

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

This Faulty Product Remains on Sale

published

Purchased this product a few days ago. On first use it had oil running down the pole. A quick search has revealed this is a common occurrence.
I spoke to Ryobi's technical support today and drew their attention to these reviews. They claimed they had no knowledge of the problem. I was advised to pull it apart and see if I could locate the problem.
My request to have them look into the matter and call me back was rejected. I was told if I wasn't prepared to pull it apart I should return it.

Date PurchasedOct 2018

Oil leaks the second time around

published

Purchased this a month ago and within half an hour of usage had the chain oil running down the pole onto my hands. Took it back to Bunnings and they said that have never had an issue with this unit and replaced it. The second unit has the exact same problem, back to Bunnings we go...

Date PurchasedSept 2018
Denito

DenitoMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

OK for the money if you can fix it!

published
Date PurchasedSept 2018
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Jim B.

Jim B.asked

I have a problem somewhere in the handle first pole section. Same battery and upper pole sections work on another lower section my son has but not on mine. Any clues?

1 answer
Dom
Dom

I saw a video where there is a fuse in one of the poles. Pretty dumb design.

Penny

Pennyasked

We have just bought a pole pruner and after trying to use it, we are a little confused. When the extension pole is not connected, the saw head works perfectly. When the extension pole is connected, the chain runs in the opposite direction and won’t cut at all. We have checked all connections carefully. Any ideas???

No answers
Kim B.

Kim B.asked

Can I use Canola oil in my Ryobi OPP1850 pole pruner?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Ryobi representatives

Details

CategoryHedge Trimmers
Power SourceBattery
Weight4.1kg
Price (RRP)$179
Blade Length203mm
ManualDownload manual

Visit official website
  • MPN: OPP1820

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.