??!
1 photo
Ryobi Slide Compound Mitre Saw EMS254RG

Ryobi Slide Compound Mitre Saw EMS254RG

3.1 from 15 reviews

See the Best Cut-Off & Mitre Saws in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
2
4 star
5
3 star
3
2 star
3
1 star
2

Dazza

DazzaSouth West, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Perfect for Casual DIY

published

I have been using the Ryobi Mitre saw for about 6 months now for home DIY and furniture projects. I have found it is really good value for money. It is easy to set-up, use and cuts straight. The light built in light and laser cutting guide are super helpful for ensuring cuts are made to the right length.
I would agree with other reviews that dust extraction is completely useless, I have connected up a vacuum cleaner to the extraction port and it still spews out a lot of saw dust. To be fair I think this is a problem for most Mitre saws so It wouldn't be fair to label this as a problem for the Ryobi alone.

Overall I am happy with my purchase and would not hesitate in recommending it for any DIY user.

Purchased in January 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.


Nick C.

Nick C.Gippsland, VIC

Blade Jammed

published

Bought this RYOBI saw, was perfect until I decided to install an 80T blade to it, installed it correctly, right diametre, right bore size, as soon as I turned it on it jammed, smashed the safety guard and locked the blade bolt. RYOBI were good have asked me to bring it back to Bunnings, will see what transpires. Dont have proof of purchase, lost receipt hopefully they can track it back via the serial number on the product.
I have no problems with RYOBI and or BUNNINGS. Both very helpful, just curious as to why the saw did this...... Had to cut blade bolt off with a grinder and will need to replace that and the safety guard.

Purchased in February 2019 at BUNNINGS MORWELL for $299.00.

Graham

GrahamGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Ryobi combination sliding saw

published

Hey all you handyman types .
Now i have read the reviews and agree with everyone about the sawdust gathering in the bearing slot for the miter cut but its an easy fix i just picked up a peice of high density foam cut it out somewhat bigger than the shape of hole and push it in ive not had a problem with it since .
How ever my biggest and most disappointing problem is that after only a few decent cuts the saw doesn't slide freely any more infact its quite hard to push back while cutting has anyone else came across this problem.

Cheers graham

Purchased in May 2019 at Bunnings bayswater for $300.00.

1 comment
Graham
Graham
caprica6

caprica6Melbourne

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Value for money

published
Date PurchasedSep 2018

nichriv

nichrivLittle Swanport

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Disappointed.

published
Date PurchasedAug 2017

Tarielle

TarielleGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Fantastic saw, does what it should

published

I recently put new floating floor down in my entire house and used the Ryobi saw to cut all the boards. Once I had the right blade it did the job, no problems at all. Gave me straight cuts every time, never needed to adjust anything. I also use this saw when I have some large tree branches to cut up at home. This saw just powers through everything. I also had to replace several of the skirting boards and this saw produces excellent mitre cuts. I can really recommend this saw, it won't let you down when you have a lot of cutting to do. Bought at Bunnings.

Date PurchasedNov 2017

wallyt99

wallyt99Brighton East

  • 7 reviews
  • 15 likes

Dust blows back into mitre bearing.

published

Basic engineering failure with this product. There is an exposed 'bearing' right behind the saw blade for setting the angle. Dust goes straight in here and the when it's time to make a mitre cut - the bearing catches all the dust.

I literally just purchased this today. Used for 30 minutes and it failed the first time I tried to set an angle. I couldn't go all the way to 45 degrees because dust was jammed in there.

I will be taking this back to Bunnings tomorrow and buying a Makita or Bosch. Shame as I really liked the laser function and the saw cut very well. However if it can't do a mitre cut - I may as well have bought a $50 Ozito.

Date PurchasedApr 2018

No accuracy

published

No accuracy in the angle cutting. Do not buy if you want this accuracy. After numerous attempts this still does not work. Agree with the other comments regarding the dust extract this is useless. Must use outside and only cut at 90 degrees so what’s the point in having a flexible saw to mitre angles that doesn’t work.

Date PurchasedOct 2016
CPLF

CPLFMelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 17 likes

Pretty good product , Especially for home use

published

Cant go wrong with this mitre saw (Especially when its $100 cheaper). I compared this product with better - not so better products in the market, read a lot about it before I went and purchased it. I can say I am happy about my choice. I have already build couple of decks, used it for other work around the house, Hoping to build some shelves , wooden garden shed etc too. Dust extraction is not great, but who cares when you work outside.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Doc

DocMelbourne

No dust extraction

published

The saw dust collection bag is only there for looks. Dust is thrown everywhere except the bag. Dangerous to use indoors when cutting MDF with fine dust particles in the air. Very messy. Adding a shop vac does nothing to help. Ryobi's claim of having a dust extraction system is nothing but a deception! I want a refund.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017

JBeard

JBeard

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Ordinary

published

Horrible accuracy for anything over 100mm wide even after using a engineers square to try to get it square. Don't trust any of the angle settings on it. It has a very noisy motor. Spend extra and get something that is of better quality. Ryobi has zero customer service so don't expect anything once you have purchased it.

It will do the job cutting small stock for a rough job but you'd be better just to save some coin and just a compound miter saw.

Date PurchasedAug 2015

Michael

MichaelSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified purchase

Fantastic piece of equipment

published
Date PurchasedJan 2017

Markp

Markp

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good value, great for basic use

published

For $300 this thing is a steal. I recommend it unless you're a tradies and need something more heavy duty and accurate, otherwise it's a bargain. The laser is a godsend.

cons: the 45 isn't 100% accurate but it can be adjusted so check it first; the positive stops aren't that positive, as in the saw doesn't always stop exactly on the stop so again just double check the angle; the dust bag does nothing because the dust just spews out the back of the saw.
All in all I'm happy with it though.

Date PurchasedJun 2016

One fatal flaw

published

One simple flaw renders this saw practically useless; dust extraction!
The dust extraction system does not work at all. Dust blows of the back off the blade throughout the room with not a single speck ending up in the dust bag. I even hooked up my industrial dust extractor to the back of the saw with no result.
I'm taking it back to the shop this afternoon. Very disappointing!

Date PurchasedNov 2016
Coops

Coops

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Poor mitre accuracy

published

I like the performance of the saw in general but have been let down with the accuracy of the mitre cut. When set to 0 degrees it is not a 90 degree cut and must be set about half a degree off to achieve 90 degrees. The bevel cut is off as well :/ . This can be adjusted with fine tuning but what's the point of having a CSMS if it is not accurate. Seriously thinking of taking saw back.
Price, looks, weight
Mitre and Bevel settings at 0 degrees are not accurate :/

Questions & Answers

Greg B.

Greg B.asked

My switch seems to be jammed and won't turn on - I have lowered the blade, unlocked the sliding mechanism, etc can't work out why it is jammed

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Ryobi representatives

Details

CategoryCut-Off & Mitre Saws

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.