??!
1 photo
Samsung Galaxy Tab A 7.0" Wi-Fi

Samsung Galaxy Tab A 7.0" Wi-Fi

MPNs: 36483903, ITZPTABSAMYWDS, KHSGTABAT280BLK and 2 more
3.9 from 96 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
31
4 star
42
3 star
13
2 star
4
1 star
6

Lauren D

Lauren DNorthern Region, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified purchase

Good value for purpose

published

I wanted to purchase a cheap tablet to cast/stream movies etc onto our tv (with the help of Chromecast) and this one was the cheapest i could find at the time, and i am very happy with it. Battery life is great, lasts longer than a week, WIFI connection is good, can be slow at times but that could be due to my location, but not a big issue. The camera on it isnt great, but thats not the reason i purchased it so not an issue for me.

Purchased in March 2019 at Officeworks Online store for $177.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers

Joanna

JoannaSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Best thing I’ve bought!

published

Seriously the best thing I’ve ever bought! This Samsung Tablet is reliable, fast charging with long lasting battery.
Internet connection is great, streaming from Apps is what I use it for.

Purchased in November 2018 at JB Hi-Fi for $186.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
Kate

KateMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 14 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Perfect for the kids

published

I purchased this product for my child to use as she always wants to use my phone
This product is great for wifi where your children can enjoy playing educational games
It has a great picture quality for the size

Purchased in July 2019 at Big W Retail Stores for $229.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
Mellisa G

Mellisa GSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 19 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great value, best reasonably priced tablet on the market

published

I purchased this tablet to replace my old one and I am very happy with it. While storage can be an issue, it is easily fixed with a 64gb sd card, the only flaws for me, are not being able to install directly to sd card, and the lack of options for securing Bluetooth connection (unable to hide device to all but allowed devices).

Purchased in August 2018 at The Good Guys for $189.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers

Mike C

Mike CSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Perfect for what I need

published

Perfect for what I need and perfect size. I think the only thing I would indicate here is that the tablet's system and software already occupies 4.5+GB of memory so out of 16GB, you only truly get around 11.

Purchased in August 2017.

Hardware
Body Durability
Battery Life

belindaatyahoo

belindaatyahooPerth, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

IT CAUGHT ON FIRE

published

My daughter's Samsung Galaxy Tab A 7" was 14 months old. She plugged it in to charge overnight and it caught on fire. Smoke alarms went off and woke us up. The house reeked of burning plastic.

On the phone Samsung said all the right things and said to return it to them for review and replacement under warranty. Now they're saying that because i used a third party charger the warranty is void and I'll need to pay $300 to repair a $150 tablet.
I value my child's safety and will not be purchasing or recommending Samsung products to anyone.

Purchased in September 2017 at Big W Retail Stores for $150.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Battery Life
2 comments
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung
belindaatyahoo
belindaatyahoo

Message was sent and Samsung provided yet another polite fob off. Samsung prove yet again that they're very good at saying the right things, but really couldn't care less about faulty products or customer safety.


Wendy M.

Wendy M.Wide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Worst Tablet!

published

Purchased in January 2019 for $179.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers

Funky Consumer

Funky ConsumerPerth, WA

  • 27 reviews
  • 14 likes

Overpriced bottom end tablet at premium price

published

Purchased in January 2018 at Officeworks.

Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
John m

John m

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Can’t connect to wifi in some instances

published

Purchased in February 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $200.00.

Value for Money
2 comments
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung

We are very sorry to hear about your experience with us. We've sent you a PM requesting for more information. When its most convenient for you can you please send that through?

Jo
Samsung AU

John m
John m

3 months after the event Samsung now want to discuss the issue .
unit returned to retailer . apple product purchased at extra expense however it works correctly.
no further correspondence in the matter required.

Sheri

SheriBrisbane

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Does what I need

published

It is very easy to use and fast. I use it for reading books and I am very happy with it.
I have all the my applications such as skype and camscanner on it so I do not need to have them on my mobile.
I use it to review my studies when I am in the bus after work.

Date PurchasedJun 2016

Johnthemon

JohnthemonMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Amazing

published

The good The Samsung Galaxy Tab A is affordably priced and offers many premium app perks for free. Its microSD slot accommodates cards up to 128GB.

The bad The plastic construction feels cheap, and the single speaker provides weak audio. The text often appears pixelated.

The bottom line The Samsung Galaxy Tab A is a simple tablet worth picking up for its low price, and its valuable extras sweeten the deal even more.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung

Soulular2

Soulular2

  • 9 reviews
  • 6 likes

Quite a handy unit, a bit slippery for the careless

published

This tablet does all the things without lagging much after a year or so. The small HDD size is easy to cope with. The thing is sleek and cleans up well. The bloatware doesn't get in the way much and the battery still seems alright, Accubattery says, "91% heath based on 86 sessions with 4,957%% charged for 224,356mAh total."

Date PurchasedMay 2018
1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung

I.B

I.BAdelaide

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Won’t beat apple

published

I normally use my tablet for day to day work, now as converting over to apple I’ll never convert my tablets, as I said apple dose offer hire sercurity but for everyday to day use I’ll go android all the way. It runs perfectly and have never had any issues.

Date PurchasedJan 2017

gael

gaelSydney

  • 24 reviews
  • 18 likes

Not enough storage, too much bloatware

published

Love it as an eReader and for games and puzzles, very handy size. But Samsung has too much bloatware, apps I don't want. Hard to update my apps because I get messages to delete some apps to make room. I have Force stopped a few of the inbuilt apps to get around it. My 16GB phone has no problems, and I wish I'd bought a brand without so much bloatware. Won't be buying Samsung again because of that.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
1 comment
Samsung
PhilSamsung
Tim

Tim

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good value

published

I don't like Apple products and prefer android, this being Samsung has a more functional layout compared to the standard android. The battery life is excellent and having the battery still like new even though the family uses it every day. I'd recommend and would buy again its a good thing

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Kat

KatMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Very happy

published

I usually only buy apple products as my phone is an iPhone but overall i have been very happy with this Samsung tablet. Like the iPad this Samsung tablet is very lightweight and has a nice sleek design. I also found this Samasung tablet to be very affordable in comparison to iPads and have had no issues with its performance and battery life so far.

Date PurchasedNov 2017

Jenny

JennyApollo Bay

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Samsung tablets have come a long way

published

Wow I remember the first Samsung tablet i bought back in the day which was super slow but the new A tab is 20x faster and can run a lot more apps. The design hasn't changed much but the weight has heaps and holding it feels great and not heavy. The screen display is outstanding too

Date PurchasedMay 2017

Suits12

Suits12South Melbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Lovely fast processor, great screen

published

This was a very much appreciated Christma gift. Its already been with me up and back the east coast of Australia and made a superb travelling companion. Its got a lovely vibrant screen and the processing power to match. It replaced an old Telstra branded tablet that was well past due and so the upgrade is still very obvious to me. I can't think of anything I would change - I am very pleased with it.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Rank

RankSydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 18 likes

Very handy but don't buy 8 GB version

published

As the title says, the 8Gb model is very low on storage space and I get a msg almost on a daily basis. Even after deleting many files it keeps saying storage space low and asks to delete files from My Files. In spite of putting an extra SD card, it would not automatically send files to the SD. But other aspects of the tablet are very good - it is light, quick, good resolution and user-friendly.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Optusisasham

OptusisashamSunshine coast

  • 9 reviews
  • 4 likes

Just no

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017

Page 1 of 5

See all Samsung Galaxy Tab A reviews

Questions & Answers

Jim

Jimasked

Hi
Can I put data sim card network in it for quick internet without using wifi?
Thank you

2 answers
Rex
Rex

No. Not with this model

Wander44
Wander44

If you have purchased the Sim card version the Tab A is released as a WiFi only version and a WiFi and Sim version.


missjo

missjoasked

I cannot connect my tablet to the internet any more I bought it in 2014 it got stuck on hearing disabled and my friend got it back to normal was ok but now when I try to go to a web page it says try later but the wifi says connected??? Any help?

4 answers
Rex
Rex

Update the software to the latest operating system

missjo
missjo

thanks Rex

Samsung
PhilSamsung

Hi there, we hope this has been resolved, however if not, we suggest soft resetting the device, ensure software is all up to date. If there are further issues, please visit your nearest service centre, and our technicians will assist you.


Adelady

Adeladyasked

Can the control buttons. Be moved to the screen?

4 answers
Dhelia
Dhelia

I'm not sure I'll have to check

Good question
But i would keep the controls as they are
Too much going on in the touch screen already(including upwards touch screen volume slide bar? )
Just be carefull and you get used to the positioning of the buttons, it's bearable.
The next generation model Samsung tablet will be very interesting to see ?

Good question
But i would keep the controls as they are
Too much going on in the touch screen already(including upwards touch screen volume slide bar? )
Just be carefull and you get used to the positioning of the buttons, it's bearable.
The next generation model Samsung tablet will be very interesting to see ?

This Samsung tablet is super quick
Could it be faster than an i pad ?


Get an answer from our members and Samsung representatives

Details

CategoryTablets
ConnectivityWi-Fi Only
Charging Port USB-C
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Display
Pixel Density216 ppi
Screen Size 7"
Screen Resolution800 x 1280 pixels
Display TechnologyIPS LCD
Hardware
Battery Size4,000 mAh
Memory (RAM)1.5 GB
Build
Colour / Finish Black
Body MaterialPlastic
Dimensions 186.9 x 108.8 x 8.7 mm
Weight283 g
Compare all Samsung Galaxy Tab A

Visit official website
  • MPN: 36483903, ITZPTABSAMYWDS, KHSGTABAT280BLK, KHSGTABAT280WHT and SM-T280NZWAXSA
  • GTIN13: 8806088288598 and 8806088518268
  • GTIN12: 887276149585 and 887276149639

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.