??!
2 photos
Samsung Galaxy Tab A 7.0" Wi-Fi

Samsung Galaxy Tab A 7.0" Wi-Fi

MPNs: 36483903, ITZPTABSAMYWDS, KHSGTABAT280BLK and 2 more
3.9 from 93 reviews

Great value, best reasonably priced tablet on the market

I purchased this tablet to replace my old one and I am very happy with it. While storage can be an issue, it is easily fixed with a 64gb sd card, the only flaws for me, are not being able to install directly to sd card, and the lack of options for securing Bluetooth connection (unable to hide device to all but allowed devices).

Purchased in August 2018 at The Good Guys for $189.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use

Perfect for what I need

Perfect for what I need and perfect size. I think the only thing I would indicate here is that the tablet's system and software already occupies 4.5+GB of memory so out of 16GB, you only truly get around 11.

Purchased in August 2017.

Hardware
Body Durability
Battery Life

IT CAUGHT ON FIRE

My daughter's Samsung Galaxy Tab A 7" was 14 months old. She plugged it in to charge overnight and it caught on fire. Smoke alarms went off and woke us up. The house reeked of burning plastic.

On the phone Samsung said all the right things and said to return it to them for review and replacement under warranty. Now they're saying that because i used a third party charger the warranty is void and I'll need to pay $300 to repair a $150 tablet.
I value my child's safety and will not be purchasing or recommending Samsung products to anyone.

Purchased in September 2017 at Big W Retail Stores for $150.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Battery Life
2 comments
We’re really sorry to hear what’s happened. Customer safety is something that we take very seriously, and we’d like to follow up on this as soon as possible. Could you please send us a PM on Facebook with a copy of this review and some more information. > m.me/SamsungAustralia Mick Samsung AUMessage was sent and Samsung provided yet another polite fob off. Samsung prove yet again that they're very good at saying the right things, but really couldn't care less about faulty products or customer safety.

Worst Tablet!

I was used to a Samsung 8.2 but the battery died after 3 years. Tried an Aldi Tablet for $99 & that was quite a disappointment, BUT compared to this one .. it was a real gem! I couldn't do anything with this as more than half of the 8Gb was taken up with essential running s'ware so I couldn't add photos or anything else with it! All I wanted was for podcasts but it was so totally useless that I couldn't even put my favourite playlists, let alone trying to download even one short story & certainly no more than even three photos! Couldn't add OneNote, Messenger which is something that I was used to using on my 8.2" so I added a 32GB sim but I couldn't even add what I needed to the card. I had to return it ... & now purchased a Lenovo which appears better already! Fortunately Officeworks was great about giving me a full refund.

Purchased in January 2019 for $179.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use

Overpriced bottom end tablet at premium price

We had a Tab 3 10.1 for a few years it was too big for around the house, so I bought the Tab A 7.0".

It was one of my worser purchases I have made.

Samsung now fall into the same boat as Apple who use abuse brand loyal customers pockets by using average hardware at top end prices.

For the same price you can get a lenovo tablet with much better hardware specs.

Pros:
- 7" screen is good size for around the house.

Cons:
- I have google wifi and can test wifi the speed of all my devices connect to it individually, my robot vac has a faster wifi bandwidth than the tablet and it doesn't even need to use much data.
- CPU is slow (takes ages to open apps).
- 1.5GB RAM is ok but not great.
- 8GB of storage is only enough to install about 5-8 apps and even then some can't update coz all the storage has been used. Most apps won't let you run them on the SD which you don't want to do anyway coz it would make them slow.

Purchased in January 2018 at Officeworks.

Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use

Can’t connect to wifi in some instances

Works in some instances but not in the nursing home where it needs to work for translation purposes we have tried by resetting back to factory default at least 4 times
Unit works until I turn it off and then back it says I have a wifi connection but we can’t get internet to use google translate app
Have tried Samsung support and chat line for approx.2hours and quite frankly the responses are a joke and attempts to resolve issue were futile
I had a 3pm phone booking to discuss today and was rung at 2.10pm when I was not at the nursing home apparently due to “training “ and we’re unable to assist
Why was that not mentioned when I booked the return call 2 days earlier
It is now 2 weeks since we bought tablet and have not been able to use it at all
Back to the retailer for a replacement

Purchased in February 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $200.00.

Value for Money
2 comments
We are very sorry to hear about your experience with us. We've sent you a PM requesting for more information. When its most convenient for you can you please send that through? Jo Samsung AU3 months after the event Samsung now want to discuss the issue . unit returned to retailer . apple product purchased at extra expense however it works correctly. no further correspondence in the matter required.

Does what I need

It is very easy to use and fast. I use it for reading books and I am very happy with it.
I have all the my applications such as skype and camscanner on it so I do not need to have them on my mobile.
I use it to review my studies when I am in the bus after work.

Date PurchasedJun 2016

Amazing

The good The Samsung Galaxy Tab A is affordably priced and offers many premium app perks for free. Its microSD slot accommodates cards up to 128GB.

The bad The plastic construction feels cheap, and the single speaker provides weak audio. The text often appears pixelated.

The bottom line The Samsung Galaxy Tab A is a simple tablet worth picking up for its low price, and its valuable extras sweeten the deal even more.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
1 comment
Thank you for your lovely review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with the Galaxy Tab A. Your feedback is important to us, we'll keep this in mind for future launches. :) - Vicky

Quite a handy unit, a bit slippery for the careless

This tablet does all the things without lagging much after a year or so. The small HDD size is easy to cope with. The thing is sleek and cleans up well. The bloatware doesn't get in the way much and the battery still seems alright, Accubattery says, "91% heath based on 86 sessions with 4,957%% charged for 224,356mAh total."

Date PurchasedMay 2018
1 comment
We can’t thank you enough for your kind review of the Galaxy Tab A. You’re awesome! - Vicky

Won’t beat apple

I normally use my tablet for day to day work, now as converting over to apple I’ll never convert my tablets, as I said apple dose offer hire sercurity but for everyday to day use I’ll go android all the way. It runs perfectly and have never had any issues.

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Not enough storage, too much bloatware

Love it as an eReader and for games and puzzles, very handy size. But Samsung has too much bloatware, apps I don't want. Hard to update my apps because I get messages to delete some apps to make room. I have Force stopped a few of the inbuilt apps to get around it. My 16GB phone has no problems, and I wish I'd bought a brand without so much bloatware. Won't be buying Samsung again because of that.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
1 comment
Hi Gael, we're sorry to hear you feel this way about the Galaxy Tab A 7.0" - I will send feedback to our product team internally. In the meantime, if you go to Settings > Apps > Uninstall or Disable all apps that you don't use that are pre-installed and that should free up a lot of space. We apologise for any inconvenience this has caused you. If you require further assistance, please take the device into your nearest Samsung store, so that our techs can assist further. Here is a link to find your nearest service centre: https://www.samsung.com/au/support/service-centre/ Philip Samsung Australia

Good value

I don't like Apple products and prefer android, this being Samsung has a more functional layout compared to the standard android. The battery life is excellent and having the battery still like new even though the family uses it every day. I'd recommend and would buy again its a good thing

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Very happy

I usually only buy apple products as my phone is an iPhone but overall i have been very happy with this Samsung tablet. Like the iPad this Samsung tablet is very lightweight and has a nice sleek design. I also found this Samasung tablet to be very affordable in comparison to iPads and have had no issues with its performance and battery life so far.

Date PurchasedNov 2017

Samsung tablets have come a long way

Wow I remember the first Samsung tablet i bought back in the day which was super slow but the new A tab is 20x faster and can run a lot more apps. The design hasn't changed much but the weight has heaps and holding it feels great and not heavy. The screen display is outstanding too

Date PurchasedMay 2017

Lovely fast processor, great screen

This was a very much appreciated Christma gift. Its already been with me up and back the east coast of Australia and made a superb travelling companion. Its got a lovely vibrant screen and the processing power to match. It replaced an old Telstra branded tablet that was well past due and so the upgrade is still very obvious to me. I can't think of anything I would change - I am very pleased with it.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Very handy but don't buy 8 GB version

As the title says, the 8Gb model is very low on storage space and I get a msg almost on a daily basis. Even after deleting many files it keeps saying storage space low and asks to delete files from My Files. In spite of putting an extra SD card, it would not automatically send files to the SD. But other aspects of the tablet are very good - it is light, quick, good resolution and user-friendly.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Just no

It’s extremely slow and I all I have on it is 2 apps that I downloaded and 7 photos. It’s been this way since purchase and when I took it in to see what was wrong with it, I was told it was in perfect working condition. The keyboard is so slow that I may as well be typing backwards. The apps and pages that I attempt to open take anywhere between 45 seconds - 4 minutes to actually do so, sometimes not at all. It has a decent battery life but if it turns on it takes so long to turn back on. The sensitivity of the screen is also extremely insensitive. I basically have to hit the screen as hard as I would knocking on a door for it to register what I press. I’ve had other Samsung tablets in the past which were decent. This one just isn’t. If it was faulty I would understand I just got a bad one but being told it was working perfectly... I believe it’s a dud of a tablet. After having purchased this and the s6, I have now turned to Apple products in hopes of a better experience

Date PurchasedNov 2017

Not an iPad

My partner brought me a Samsung Tablet for work, it’s okay but it’s not great, it regularly freezes in the middle of trying to do anything, I have to “turn it off and on again” when requesting help from the provider, I definitely wouldn’t go buy one myself Id be more inclined to buy an iPad because it’s more reliable!

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Excellent product, highly recommend!

Really easy U.I, great charging speeda and battery life. Can spend moat of the day browsing memes or watching youtube vidyas without having to plug in the charger. The specs aren't high-end but aren't really needed for this device. Most gamea play well, a few will require a drop in graphics settings but most will run fine

Date PurchasedApr 2018

Good little tablet

Was looking for a good reliable 7" android tablet and this was probably the best. Have had other brands like Lenovo and Asus in the past but this is way better. Has decent amount of memory (1.5GB RAM ) and powerful enough cpu to do most things. Mainly use it for browsing the web and social media so can't comment on how well it does on graphics intensive games. Screen is bright enough - although Full HD would have been great. Only real annoyance is that the speaker is on the back so you lose most of the sound out the back.

Date PurchasedJun 2018

Page 1 of 5

See all Samsung Galaxy Tab A reviews

Questions & Answers

Hi Can I put data sim card network in it for quick internet without using wifi? Thank you
2 answers
No. Not with this modelIf you have purchased the Sim card version the Tab A is released as a WiFi only version and a WiFi and Sim version.

I cannot connect my tablet to the internet any more I bought it in 2014 it got stuck on hearing disabled and my friend got it back to normal was ok but now when I try to go to a web page it says try later but the wifi says connected??? Any help?
4 answers
Update the software to the latest operating systemthanks RexHi there, we hope this has been resolved, however if not, we suggest soft resetting the device, ensure software is all up to date. If there are further issues, please visit your nearest service centre, and our technicians will assist you.

Can the control buttons. Be moved to the screen?
4 answers
I'm not sure I'll have to checkGood question But i would keep the controls as they are Too much going on in the touch screen already(including upwards touch screen volume slide bar? ) Just be carefull and you get used to the positioning of the buttons, it's bearable. The next generation model Samsung tablet will be very interesting to see ?Good question But i would keep the controls as they are Too much going on in the touch screen already(including upwards touch screen volume slide bar? ) Just be carefull and you get used to the positioning of the buttons, it's bearable. The next generation model Samsung tablet will be very interesting to see ? This Samsung tablet is super quick Could it be faster than an i pad ?

Details

Galaxy Tab A 7.0" Wi-Fi
Operating SystemAndroid
Price (RRP)$199
Screen Size7inches
Weight286grams
Camera (Rear)2MP
Camera (Front)5MP
Battery4000mAh
Expandable StorageYes
Compare all Samsung Galaxy Tab A

Visit official website
  • MPN: 36483903, ITZPTABSAMYWDS, KHSGTABAT280BLK, KHSGTABAT280WHT and SM-T280NZWAXSA
  • GTIN13: 8806088288598 and 8806088518268
  • GTIN12: 887276149585 and 887276149639