??!
2 photos
Simpson SWT9043

Simpson SWT9043

SWT9043, SWT9043A
2.6 from 38 reviews

Washing Machines Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of washing machine would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

2.6

38 reviews
5
(10)
4
(4)
3
(2)
2
(3)
1
(19)
  • Build Quality
    2.7 (15)
  • Value for Money
    2.7 (15)
  • Ease of Use
    2.9 (16)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.4 (15)
  • Noise Level
    2.4 (17)
Previous
Next
Hello

HelloGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 7 reviews

Not sure about it

published

Usually it works ok. But a couple of times when on spin cycle it has made a loud banging noise. It sounds like it's about to break. I tried it on the slow spin cycle and it did the same thing.. I need to find out what that's about. It sometimes has trouble with things getting caught and might give an error message to move things around e.g. when I use wash bags. I've used really old machines that feel more reliable than this one. It's quite surprising since it looks nice and new and modern.

Adrian. T

Adrian. TCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 3 reviews

Unfortunate internal hose failure - 6 July 2020 - purchased 18 June 2018 - still a really good machine

published

Same issue as another reviewer that a plastic hose has split where it makes a u-turn. Hose is only a light plastic. Otherwise no issues until now and only weeks outside the 2 year warranty period. Contacted Simpson and they have arranged the replacement of the hose. It's a complete unit that includes the hose that runs from the base of the detergent dispenser to the main bowl. Very happen with the response from Simpson. Picture shows black tape of the temporary repair (thin teflon plumbing tape underneath it first) and is the bottom of the bend in the hose. Still a great machine.

Purchased in June 2018 at The Good Guys for A$719.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
topcat

topcatRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 2 reviews

No problems until now

published

We have had no issues with the machine until today. Just over 2 years old and just out of warranty it has started leaking. Removed the back plate to find that the internal drain hose has split in a couple of places. The thin plastic had gone hard and was not able to cope with the tight bend in the pipe. Hopefully I have succeeded in patching it but not pleased that an essential part has deteriorated after only 2 years. Not keen on paying for a replacement part if it also will die after 2 years. I also wonder how many other parts of the machine are made of shoddy materials?

Purchased in April 2018.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
See all answers
1 comment
Simpson
ELECTROLUX ..Simpson
Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Simpson SWT9043 compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Alain Ferrari

Alain FerrariSouth East Queensland, QLD

Somewhat disappointed.

published

I purchased this machine approximately four weeks ago and in general it functions adequately. My main reason for selecting this machine was the belief that cycle times were adjustable and not excessively long like many of its competitors However the Auto Water Level feature is very poorly engineered as it does not allow for a full load of lightly soiled clothes to be washed in under an hour making the shorter 45minute cycle useless. This is contrary to what the operating manual states on page 7 under the heading "Auto Water Level Feature" which clearly states that operator has the option to select either a Manual or Auto water levels. Had I been aware of this I would have attempted to source a different product.

Purchased in December 2019 at The Good Guys for A$760.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
SueM

SueMGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Worst machine I have ever owned

published

This machine is so loud its ridiculous. I wish Id read the reviews before I bought it.
The lint filter is terrible, hard to get out as the clips are so small - I wouldnt want to have large fingers or arthritis as it would be impossible to empty.
The water level is unreliable, I have to put it on full so that the clothes get wet.
I dont even use the detergent dispenser as most of the time its left in there as a soggy mess.
The cycle times are very long, over an hour for any of them.
I guess Im stuck with it for who knows how many years.

Purchased in April 2019 at Stan Cash for A$699.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Simpson
ELECTROLUX ..Simpson

Can't wait for this machine to die so I can replace it

published

I replaced my front loader with this one. We were in a hurry so got this one as it was on sale. Worst machine I have ever had. Using the same brand of detergent and stain remover as last machine and nothing comes out. Stains stay there forever. I wonder if this machine even cleans the clothes. They come out with lint or detergent residue all over them. I even put every load on with as much water as possible to try and alleviate the problem but it doesn't help (and yes, I clean the lint filter). Grotty socks come out just as grotty as they went in. I've had to buy black socks for my kids as they weren't getting clean. They are probably still not clean but now I can't tell. I wish this machine would die so I can replace it.

Purchased in January 2019 at The Good Guys Online store.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Simpson
ELECTROLUX ..Simpson

Programs not flexible enough and cycles much too long

published

Purchased in November 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers

Always had Simpson and this is the worst

published

I bought this machine a week ago. I have always had Simpson washing machines and decided to choose Simpson again because I had been so happy with them.
This one is so loud even though we have followed instructions to ensure it is balanced. I am yet to finish a cycle as I have had to turn it off due to the noise.

Purchased in September 2019 at Harvey Norman.

Ease of Use
Noise Level
Value for Money
1 comment
Jenny
Jenny
Chris

ChrisVictoria

Worst washing machine I have ever purchased

published

Very disappointed. First wash and error appeared. Also could not get lid open. Washing had to sit in water for 4 days, so you can imagine the stench when Electrolux finally sent a serviceman. He organised for machine to be sent back and I asked for a full refund of purchase. No compensation for mouldy, smelly washing!

Purchased in September 2019.

Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Simpson SWT9043 compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ricky

RickyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Highly recommended this company products

published

It lasted forever and still didnt break but we got bored from using and bought new machine to machine highly recommend using this company products. We bought new machine and dryer of this company.

Purchased in January 2011 for A$700.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Alisa

AlisaSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Great Machine....

published

I think this is a great machine, its the old style stainless steel barrel with lint collector which is a must no fluff on your clothes, I wash my work clothes with my Son's school clothes with no issues. It has different wash cycles so you can do a quick load or heavy duty clean load. Great value for money plus these are sturdy machines and you can never go wrong with a Simpson Washing Machine.

Purchased at Harvey Norman for A$700.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Gail C

Gail CGippsland, VIC

  • 2 reviews

Saving time and money and cleans like a gem.

published

I brought my 9kg Simpson Washing machine six months ago. Its large enough to take blankets and allows me to do big loads at same run time as smaller models.

Simpson let down

published

Less than 1 year old water is not filling it is pouring out the back not happy Jan water everywhere thanks Simpson so disappointed never again what's going on with it

Purchased in September 2018 for A$900.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Simpson
ELECTROLUX ..Simpson
theresasowinski

theresasowinskiSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 8 likes

End of the line for me with Simpson

published

This 9kg top loading Simpson washing machine is a real disappointment. Very noisy, each load takes a ridiculously long time to complete, the auto function on water level doesn't work accurately enough to rely on (I.e. I put on a load of towels which should have been a large load and it did it on a low load / I put on a load of clothes which should have been a medium load and it did it on a large load) and the control panel refuses to let me make the selections I want to make. I have been buying Simpson for decades but no more.

Purchased in April 2019 for A$880.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Simpson
ELECTROLUX ..Simpson
neds

nedsGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Terrible clunking

published

Purchased in July 2019 at Appliances Online for A$776.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Simpson SWT9043 compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tori

ToriGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Worse machine EVER!

published

This machine is the worse machine I have ever own. It sooo loud when washing. Have to wash clothes 2 times to even get them half cleaned. The lint left all over the clothes. Chucks of lint is left all over the clothes. (Yes the filter gets cleaned after every wash) always get a e40 error. On spin cycle the clothes still come out with heaps of water in them. All this started at the start but didn’t think much of it, the machine is now 7mths old and that last 2mths it’s gotten worse. Requesting a full refund on this machine. Do not buy

Purchased in November 2018 at Harvey Norman for A$640.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Simpson
ELECTROLUX ..Simpson
Marissa Janet

Marissa JanetSouthwest, VIC

Great value. Great machine.

published

I’ve had this machine for 24 hours. It is awesome. Quiet, great wash results. Simple and solid. Instructions are easy. Great bedding cycle. A lot of choice for every type of article. Very pleased with this washer.

Purchased in May 2019 at Harvey Norman for A$800.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Maggie M

Maggie MSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 7 reviews

Extremely disappointed in this washing machine.

published

I have had this washing machine for 6 months now and it will be my last Simpson product after using Simpson washing machines for many years. This machine's programs are NOT user friendly. If I try to balance a spin load by pausing the machine the timer goes back 16 minutes even if there is only a few minutes spin time left on the cycle. There is no way to adjust a cycle without returning to the beginning again which is most annoying. The machine is extremely noisy during the spin cycles and the bowl wobbles about alarmingly. The cycles are far too long and the short cycle only does a spray rinse. I am now looking at replacing this nightmare of a machine after only 6 months.

Purchased in October 2018 at Appliances Online for A$769.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Simpson
ELECTROLUX ..Simpson
Leanne

LeanneCentral Queensland, QLD

This machine is rubbish

published

Within 5 months of purchasing this machine the power board went so had that replaced. I then started receiving error messages so had to turn machine off then back on. 4 weeks later the machine started making awful noises so rung technician again. He replaced the more parts resulting in the machine stopping and me having to replace. This took a week and a half for the paper work to come through allowing me a store credit. Service and machine is CRAP.

Purchased in July 2018 at Betta Home Living.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
William16

William16South East Queensland, QLD

Horrible Software Design. Water Hammer

published

After the start button is pushed, the machine does a cycle of water squirts in rapid succession ( 10 cycles on some wash settings ). If your house suffers from water hammer, DONT BUY THIS MACHINE !!!!!

Purchased in November 2018 at Harvey Norman.

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Mick O.

Mick O.asked

SWT9043

My machine will not turn on between 5 pm and 8.45 pm
How do I fix or change this

No answers
Kylie J.

Kylie J.asked

SWT9043

Constantly getting the error EFO on the machine, have obeyed the instructions of the technician of not to overfill the machine etc yet only have 5 towels (not even 2kgs) in the machine and constantly getting errors with this machine

No answers
Mel d

Mel dasked

SWT9043

My washer wont allow me to start a new load. Every time I attempt to press any buttons it gives me 3 quick beeps. Ive tried holding down the start/pause button for 3 secs but to no avail. Ive also switched it off from the power but that didnt work either. Please help!

1 answer
Simpson
ELECTROLUX ..Simpson

Hi Mel d,
Linda from Electrolux here.
We are sorry to hear you are experiencing problems with your washing machine.
If you wish to discuss this further please feel free to contact me at customercare@electrolux.com.au attention Linda Ticket Number 1209450
Thanks
Linda

Get an answer from our members and Simpson representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.