?
? !
7 photos
Sony X8500G Series

4K TV Buying Guide

4K, OLED, HDR, what does it all mean? Read our 4K TV buying guide to help clear up the marketing jargon so you can make the best purchasing decision and enjoy 4K movies, Netflix and more.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.6 (28)
  • Value for Money
    3.1 (28)
  • Sound Quality
    3.7 (27)
  • Software
    3.4 (28)
  • Picture Quality
    4.0 (28)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail

Complete Garbage.

published

Purchased in March 2020 at Heathcote Appliances for $1,399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Christine B

Christine BAU

  • 2 reviews

If I could give zero stars I would

published

Whatever you do don’t buy Sony. Within weeks of buying this tv it had problems. Five months later and we have a tv we can’t use and Sony won’t do a thing about it. Absolutely atrocious. Have now lodged complaint with ACCC

Purchased in September 2020 for $2,500.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Shan K. The Ponds

Shan K. The PondsSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

wrong choice-SONY is not the same as before

published

Purchased in December 2019 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
4K Ultra HD TVs

Find out how Sony X8500G Series compares to other 4K Ultra HD TVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Steve

StevePerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Poor Quality TV - Reasonable Warranty Service

published

Purchased in September 2019 for $2,995.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
NHF

NHFCanberra 2600, ACT

Save your money and angst

published

Purchased the 75" X8500G 4K UHD SMART LED TV on 11 Nov 2019 and it stopped working altogether on 10 October 2020 - not even a year old. Purchased through Good Guys at Tuggeranong, even bought their "5 years Concierge Gold Service Extras" (waste of money there too). I keep ringing to follow up and keep getting told that someone will ring me (still waiting) and that apparently waiting 8 weeks is normal. I thought paying the best part of $3000 means you are getting a quality product but I am wrong. Save your money and angst and avoid purchasing any Sony product.

Purchased in November 2019 at The Good Guys Physical store for $2,495.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
AZA

AZAGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 28 reviews
  • 20 likes

Sony, not the brand I thought it was

published

Purchased in December 2019 at Costco VIC, Moorabbin for $3,199.99.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Pete

PeteSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Keep away from all Sony TVs, known faults that Sony refuse to cover under warranty

published

Decided to buy a new smart 4K tv, and given Sony's reputation, thought I would go with this. I have had it for about six months and then noticed a small black spot under the screen. The TV is not effectively sealed thus allowing insects to enter the unit. Sony are well aware of this issue but don't tell you this before you purchase and then refuse to cover a clearly know issue under warranty. Misleading and deceptive conduct and other breaches of the consumer law. Sony then offer you a new TV but you have to fork out thousands. What a joke

Courts and ACCC here we come

Purchased in February 2020 at Costco for $3,399.99.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tantoun77

Tantoun77Melbourne

  • 9 reviews
  • 7 likes

Perfect - love it & Highly Recommend it.

published

Purchased in July 2020 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $1,499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
YUKI K.

YUKI K.Perth, WA

Excellent quality of screen and quick response

published

It has Android software and with voice very easy to command. Bluetooth connection was established by the TV itself - how easy it is! At this moment, we need only one HDMI port, so can not comment about the number of the ports. The quality of the screen is very good, even when getting online drama of 1080p level, it shows more beautiful picture of finer image than the 2k TV we had been useing.

Purchased in March 2020 at The Good Guys for $1,580.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
4K Ultra HD TVs

Find out how Sony X8500G Series compares to other 4K Ultra HD TVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Srinivas

SrinivasIllawarra, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Worthwhile purchase

published

Excellent value for money. The clarity in audio and video is good and its a good buy for $1300 .
Cons : mirroring your desktop or mobile doesnt work as it should

Purchased in April 2020 at The Good Guys for $1,300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Taniela G.

Taniela G.Sydney, NSW

I wasted my money on this TV

published

I had a perfectly good 10 year old LCD Toshiba 49” TV and, foolishly bought this TV fit no other.

Remote control and menu is good.

Sound is not what it is touted to be.

Picture is blurry and ghosting - even on prerecorded content such as you tube videos.

Wish I could send it back.

Purchased in August 2020 at Sony.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Christian

ChristianMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Not the TV for me

published

Upon unboxing the remote stood out looking very dated in appearance, and the only positive comment would be the Netflix dedicated button. For the price point the picture isnt bad and meets the expectations for everyday viewing with a decent quality output. For fast moving sports ive found it not capable at times. Within a month of purchasing we encountered issues with streaming apps such as Netflix and Disney. Only fix would be to hold down power button to reset tv. Sony did act on our issue relatively easily sending out a business to replace the main board. Still no success in rectifying the intermittent issue.

Purchased in April 2020 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Clea_Hooper

Clea_HooperCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 13 reviews
  • 5 likes

Quality you expect from a Sony TV

published

Purchased in July 2020 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $1,395.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Garth B.

Garth B.Perth, WA

Should have bought something else

published

1 It won't update automatically, though it tries and fails every time you turn it on or off, and you can't do it manually due to unable to scroll through end user agreement.
2 Our 7 year old LG is more user friendly having a magic mouse than the Sony basic remote.
3 Possible due to it's inability to update but streaming is constantly buffering or just blurry to watch.
4 Google apps are 1 tenth available as compared to them on my phone, won't search for any if you try.

Purchased in June 2020 at Goodguys for $2,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ivano G.

Ivano G.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Not happy

published

Purchased this tv a few weeks ago. First tv has a crack screen and went thru hell to get it replaced. Second is that I am very disappointed with the picture especially watching sport as their is a lag in fast moving scenes. I do not recommend this TV at all.

Purchased in May 2020 at JB Hi-Fi for $2,995.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
4K Ultra HD TVs

Find out how Sony X8500G Series compares to other 4K Ultra HD TVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
paulie71

paulie71

  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

Good TV but bugs caught in front of screen and poor after sales support

published

Purchased in January 2020 at Harvey Norman for $1,849.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
6 comments
paulie71
paulie71
paulie71
paulie71

another two months and it appears Sony has gone to ground, and Harvey Norman Coburg is playing a flat bat. Really poor customer service from two companies who should know better!

paulie71
paulie71
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jethro

Jethro

  • 6 reviews

Nice tv

published

Brought at Costco with $400 off.

The X1 processor is brilliant. Makes the colour very vivid.

The android system is much better than other OEM systems used by hisense.

However, there is one time that the youtube app wont load properly, need to hold power buttom on remote to make a reset.

The remote can control ps4 and a very old samsung bluray player to play discs.

The sound is decent, as good as some low end soundbar.

Purchased in April 2020 at Costco NSW, Marsden Park for $1,730.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Jethro
Jethro

price correction: $1749

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tony S

Tony SAU

  • 12 reviews
  • 14 likes

TV is great by itself, but connecting to other devices can be problematic

published

Great TV, excellent picture and 4k upscaling Is reason why I gave it 5 stars. Also The Sound outputted by the TV by itself is also the best i've ever heard.

Connecting other devices to it or setting it up as part of a Home Theatre System can be a bit fiddly and problematic. No matter how much I try I cant get the Sound to automatically output from TV to the Receiver (a SONY 4k Receiver) without having to change the setting on both the TV and Receiver (ie change both to TV). Also Im having trouble getting the Colors right from other devices like my Media Computer (It isnt TV's problem but the other devices like the Receiver I think)

Purchased in April 2020 at Harvey Norman for $2,675.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
gymy777

gymy777Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 11 reviews

Fantastic Picture!

published

High quality TV that was worth every cent I paid. Very user friendly and easy to set up!

Equiped with all the Netflix, Youtube features built into the tv. I have been a Sony user for many years and always been happy with the TV's I have purchased. You get what you pay for at the end of the day!

Purchased in January 2020 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Manfort

Manfort

  • 3 reviews

Like it

published

I like the quality of this tv picture sound ok.. The only issue is sticking out from the back is not narrow like many other tv's available in the market.

Purchased in November 2019 for $1,300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Performance
Sound Quality
Software
Picture Quality
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Pollyfodder

Pollyfodderasked

X8500G Series

Update Dec 2020:

Is Sony going to reinstate the delete feature as outlined below?

Sony's recent firmware update for its Bravia X8500G Tv's have removed the erase and other features from the menus when viewing movies/music via USB or external HDD.

Consumer Law dictates that if a company removes features that were part of a product when purchased the consumer has the legal right to return said product to place of purchase for full refund irregardless of products age or condition.

Sony may also be liable to pay all transport costs of larger Tv's back to place of purchase.

Please contact the Minister for Consumer Affairs or Fair Trading Minister in your state for more!
Australian Consumer Law is National Law!

Keep an eye on media for further updates.

Peter
Townsville
Queensland

End update.

3 answers
Pollyfodder
Pollyfodder

Question directed to Sony, also a "heads up" for people who have this model informing them of their rights as per the law.

Pollyfodder
Pollyfodder

Still ongoing, for some stupid reason the "legal process takes a while for the wheels to turn" (bla bla bla).
WILL DEFINATELY KEEP YOU UPDATED VIA THIS PLATFORM!

Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

You have posted an ‘update?’ under the Question section. Suggest the Review section as it is more appropriately relevant.
Don’t expect Sony to see or respond here as they are obviously not registered in this site.
As I have DEFINITELY not seen any related media posts ... good luck.

Norm

Normasked

X8500G Series

I have a WD My passport 1T Hard Drive.
Will I be able to watch my downloaded movies on this Tv

3 answers
Clea_Hooper
Clea_Hooper

Hi Norm. Yes, when you plug in a WD My Passport it recognises it as a media player, and you access it via the input button on your remote, selecting USB. It works!

Norm
Norm

Thanks

Pollyfodder
Pollyfodder

Yes mate, these are supposed to handle 2Tb BUT...
X8500gs both my 75 and 85 inch accept SAMSUNG SSDs WD HDD, Seagate HDD and Toshiba HDDs.
See my reviews on here and find out why!
Let us know how you get on OK.

indelible14u

indelible14uasked

X8500G Series

Can you record fta channels of this model in 85 inch ? If so with what device does it work and which device doesnt work ?
I am asking re an unanswered question earlier re this topic.
Thanks

2 answers
Milord
Milord

Hmm., I've never tried to record before, even with my 85"; I do however have a Synology NAS DS916+ sitting next to it and had hopes to connect it via HDMI or a different throughput and use some of the Disk Station operating system software to record stuff (e.g. Plex)

Pollyfodder
Pollyfodder

NO. Cannot do.
Buy a cheap KOGAN if you want to record and play back on Sony!
KOGAN has better media player too, and friendlier Tech support!

See all Sony X8500G Series questions

Get an answer from our members

Sony X8500G Series

Details

Compare all 4 Sony X8500G Series
Sony KD-55X8500G (55")
  • Discontinued

Sony KD-55X8500G (55")

3.8
(8)
Sony KD-65X8500G (65")
  • Discontinued

Sony KD-65X8500G (65")

3.6
(9)
Sony KD-75X8500G (75")
  • Discontinued

Sony KD-75X8500G (75")

2.9
(11)
Category4K Ultra HD TVs4K Ultra HD TVs4K Ultra HD TVs4K Ultra HD TVs
Price (RRP) $3,495.00$1,295.00$1,995.00$2,695.00
Screen Size 85"55"65"75"
Screen TypeLED/LCDLED/LCDLED/LCDLED/LCD
Type of TVHDR Compatible and Smart TVHDR Compatible and Smart TVHDR Compatible and Smart TVHDR Compatible and Smart TV
Wireless OptionsBluetooth and Wi-FiBluetooth and Wi-FiBluetooth and Wi-FiBluetooth and Wi-Fi
Refresh Rate 100/120Hz100/120Hz100/120Hz100/120Hz
Number of HDMI Ports4444
Number of USB Ports3333
Wall MountableYesYesYesYes
Weight46.5 kg18.7 kg25.3 kg37.8 kg
Operating SystemAndroid TVAndroid TVAndroid TVAndroid TV
Dimensions (without stand) 1097 x 1909 x 80 mm713 x 1231 x 52 mm836 x 1450 x 52 mm963 x 1673 x 54 mm
Dimensions (with stand) 1175 x 1909 x 433 mm776 x 1231 x 316 mm899 x 1450 x 316 mm1031 x 1673 x 358 mm
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)1 year(s)1 year(s)1 year(s)
Release dateJuly 2019
Compare all 4 Sony X8500G Series

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.