??!
7 photos
Sony X8500G Series
3.9 from 17 reviews

4K Ultra HD TVs Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of 4k ultra hd tv would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

3.9

17 reviews
5
(9)
4
(2)
3
(2)
2
(3)
1
(1)
  • Build Quality
    3.8 (16)
  • Value for Money
    3.4 (16)
  • Picture Quality
    4.4 (17)
  • Software
    3.6 (17)
  • Sound Quality
    3.9 (17)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Ivano G.

Ivano G.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Not happy

published

Purchased this tv a few weeks ago. First tv has a crack screen and went thru hell to get it replaced. Second is that I am very disappointed with the picture especially watching sport as their is a lag in fast moving scenes. I do not recommend this TV at all.

Purchased in May 2020 at JB Hi-Fi for A$2,995.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Performance
Picture Quality
Software
Sound Quality
paulie71

paulie71

  • 3 reviews

Good TV but bugs caught in front of screen and poor after sales support

published

Purchased in January 2020 at Harvey Norman for A$1,849.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Performance
Picture Quality
Software
Sound Quality
1 comment
paulie71
paulie71
Jethro

Jethro

  • 4 reviews

Nice tv

published

Brought at Costco with $400 off.

The X1 processor is brilliant. Makes the colour very vivid.

The android system is much better than other OEM systems used by hisense.

However, there is one time that the youtube app wont load properly, need to hold power buttom on remote to make a reset.

The remote can control ps4 and a very old samsung bluray player to play discs.

The sound is decent, as good as some low end soundbar.

Purchased in April 2020 at Costco NSW, Marsden Park for A$1,730.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Performance
Picture Quality
Software
Sound Quality
1 comment
Jethro
Jethro

price correction: $1749

4K Ultra HD TVs

Find out how Sony X8500G Series compares to other 4K Ultra HD TVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tony S

Tony SAU

  • 10 reviews

TV is great by itself, but connecting to other devices can be problematic

published

Great TV, excellent picture and 4k upscaling Is reason why I gave it 5 stars. Also The Sound outputted by the TV by itself is also the best i've ever heard.

Connecting other devices to it or setting it up as part of a Home Theatre System can be a bit fiddly and problematic. No matter how much I try I cant get the Sound to automatically output from TV to the Receiver (a SONY 4k Receiver) without having to change the setting on both the TV and Receiver (ie change both to TV). Also Im having trouble getting the Colors right from other devices like my Media Computer (It isnt TV's problem but the other devices like the Receiver I think)

Purchased in April 2020 at Harvey Norman for A$2,675.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Performance
Picture Quality
Software
Sound Quality
gymy777

gymy777Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 10 reviews

Fantastic Picture!

published

High quality TV that was worth every cent I paid. Very user friendly and easy to set up!

Equiped with all the Netflix, Youtube features built into the tv. I have been a Sony user for many years and always been happy with the TV's I have purchased. You get what you pay for at the end of the day!

Purchased in January 2020 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Performance
Picture Quality
Software
Sound Quality
Manfort

Manfort

  • 3 reviews

Like it

published

I like the quality of this tv picture sound ok.. The only issue is sticking out from the back is not narrow like many other tv's available in the market.

Purchased in November 2019 for A$1,300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Performance
Picture Quality
Software
Sound Quality

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

HG

HGSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 10 reviews

Disappointing

published

It replaced a Sony Bravia. Great picture quality etc. but one big disappointment for me was the headphone option. With the old Bravia the headphones can be left plugged in, they can be used by one person whilst another can hear the normal speakers (great for a hard of hearing partner). Simply turn down the normal volume to hear only through the headphones. This ability is gone on the new TV. It is also extremely fiddly and difficult to see to plug in the headphone jack to the rear and side. It also cuts off the normal speakers so the dual listening option is gone. Its a real step backwards in ease of use.

Purchased in September 2019 at Harvey Norman for A$1,600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Performance
Picture Quality
Software
Sound Quality
ehmert

ehmertGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

It's a Sony

published

We bought the X8500G as our first 4K purchse and has been great so far for gaming, Netflix, TV and YouTube. It meets our requirements and expectations as we did our homework before heading into the store.
Understand the technology you're paying for. You won't get the rich blanks like QLED but you'll get quality visuals and build quality.
Sales people will rarely suggest Sony because they don't get kickbacks like they do from Samsung.
So far so good and no complaints!

Purchased in March 2020 for A$1,300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Performance
Picture Quality
Software
Sound Quality
Sweet G.

Sweet G.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

great TV

published

NIce Picture, colour is nice, sound is perfect, screen size is just great, even ports , great tv,
Performance is superior to lower brands.
will reccommend to anyone controls are smooth. playing games was great.

Performance
Picture Quality
Software
Sound Quality
4K Ultra HD TVs

Find out how Sony X8500G Series compares to other 4K Ultra HD TVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Pollyfodder

PollyfodderNorth Queensland, QLD

  • 32 reviews
  • 30 likes

Sony KD-75X8500G 5 Stars For Picture Quality Only! Slow loading HDDs and USBs

published

Purchased in March 2020 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Performance
Picture Quality
Software
Sound Quality
Shaun C.

Shaun C.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 9 reviews

Fantastic

published

Very happy with the TV, menus and options are easy to use. It also runs on Android TV so many of your favourite apps are available to download. Picture is fantastic. Very spot with my purchase

Purchased in December 2019 at Sony Online store for A$1,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Performance
Picture Quality
Software
Sound Quality
Has

HasGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews

Great Performance- love it

published

We purchased a tv after 7 years and love it. Watching movies now is a completely different experience.
The colours and picture quality is unbelievable and lightening fast, we paired it with a soundbar and the experience got even better.
The best part is the built in apps and that the tv remote connects to all other devices and a set up box which eliminates the use of 3 remotes, one remotes controls it all....

Highly recommended.

Purchased in June 2019 at Harvey Norman for A$2,115.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Performance
Picture Quality
Software
Sound Quality

Casting issues

published

This TV is average at best. Tried to cast from my phone and it just freezes and disconnects WIFi. Replaced with new one under warranty and new replacement does same thing. Picture quality average.

Purchased in September 2019 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Electronics for A$1,350.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Performance
Picture Quality
Software
Sound Quality
Pollyfodder

PollyfodderNorth Queensland, QLD

  • 32 reviews
  • 30 likes

Buyer BEWARE Sony KD-85X8500G has Beautiful picture... BUT...pathetic performer for external USBs and HDD usage!

published

Purchased in October 2019 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Performance
Picture Quality
Software
Sound Quality
frank m

frank mGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Poor Quality, Poor Service 2 failed in 1 week

published

Sony X8500G 65" 4K Ultra HD Smart LED TV

Worst tv i have ever had, purchased in Aug died after 1 month had a replacement yesterday to find another faulty out of box failure. Never had a Sony TV, always Samsung or LG.

What happened to the quality of Sony and the service?

Was told if I don't like it get a refund and buy another TV.

Purchased in August 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Performance
Picture Quality
Software
Sound Quality
4K Ultra HD TVs

Find out how Sony X8500G Series compares to other 4K Ultra HD TVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dani

DaniMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 54 reviews
  • 2 likes

Absolute incredible TV

published

I switched from a Soniq 65” to this TV and I can’t believe the difference in both quality & performance. The 4K definition is incredible & the TV is lightening fast. It operates smoothly & I’m impressed by the ease of both wireless & Bluetooth connectivity. It has plenty of HDMI ports & switching between ports is effortless.

I love the smart options of the TV and having it open YouTube or Netflix by the press of a button is handy as.

I can’t recommend this TV enough.

Purchased in September 2018 at JB Hi-Fi for A$1,900.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Performance
Picture Quality
Software
Sound Quality
Fishar

FisharSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Outstanding TV

published

As a large TV, value for money, (I did pay under advertised price), this can't be beaten for quality of picture, sound, ease of set-up and daily use. OK, it comes with instructions, it's a 2 person install, etc, but unless you're Fred Flinstone and live under a rock, follow the instructions and it's easy-peasy! NOW, some "persons" (who obviously do live under a rock) have bagged the pic quality and sound (on other sites)...ummm IT'S A BIG TV.... seating must be suitable for viewing, i.e. distance etc, but watching everything from movies to news and in between has been sensational! HD TV on steroids... and if you can't get it working.... crawl back under the rock pile.

Purchased in July 2019 at GoodGuys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Performance
Picture Quality
Software
Sound Quality

Questions & Answers

Ivano G.

Ivano G.asked

X8500G Series

Can anyone recommend the best setting as
I am getting a lag with fast moving scenes and find it hard to watch especially sport

No answers
Ibrahim Y

Ibrahim Yasked

X8500G Series

My new problem is it doesn't turn on properly turn it and it offs itself 3-4 times what a crappy tv their service well its terrible maybe they should replace it as I never had problems like this on my old Panasonic plasma.
My question is what will you do Sony?

No answers
brad h

brad hasked

X8500G Series

just bought an x8500g but cant make output from digital variable. The x8000g I have has no problems doing it. any ideas ,you would think they would be the same.

2 answers
gymy777
gymy777

Hi brad h,
Sorry I have no idea. I just pulled my tv out of the box and set it up via instructions from the tv.

brad h
brad h

thanks for the reply

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.