??!
4 photos
Stihl FSA 65 / FSA 85

Stihl FSA 65 / FSA 85

FSA 65 and FSA 85
3.9 from 13 reviews

See the Best Electric Whipper Snippers in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
7
4 star
2
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
2

Unhappy

UnhappyNew South Wales

Whipper snipper failure

published

I am sadly disappointed by Stihl the company when my whipper sniper broke down . It was a very useful efficient tool . BUT there was no advice to say to never wet the head as the electric motor is there and not sealed . Water in the motor shorted out the control unit at the switch which was quoted at two thirds the cost of replacing the machine. Causing huge environmental waste and massive cost to myself . I tried to speak to Stihl who said they would get back to me but never did .

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Product is used: Weekly
Grass Type Tall grass
See all answers

Randall

RandallSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews

Good, but a few drawbacks

published

Purchased in March 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Product is used: Weekly
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers

Lightweight, powerful, long battery life

published

This trimmer is lightweight for this over 50 woman and it has two lines of trimming power that really take care of the weeds. The battery lasts a long time but I have two batteries since I also use it for my Stihl lawnmower. It was difficult to get the battery released but since I pulled out the prongs at the back a little and used vaseline on the sides it has been much easier. I also had difficulty refilling the spool with trimmer line but now I clean out the spool and make sure that I insert the twine until it is engaged in the spool. This is much better than dragging a heavy cord around my yard or carrying a heavy gas powered trimmer.

Date PurchasedJun 2015

How to do complicated when you can do simple

published

How to do complicated when you can do simple... The system for putting cutting line is RIDICULOUSLY STUPID AND COMPLICATED! GOOD LUCK! I am a landscape pro of 20 plus years and have never seen such a complicated spooling system to replace the cutting line. I PROMISE YOU WILL WANT TO RIP YOUR HAIR OUT!

Date PurchasedJun 2018

Dave

DaveMelbourne

Waste of money. Stihl offer poor customer service

published

Five weeks old, Used it twice to have a piece of long grass get caught between the motor and spool head. Ruined motor. Stihl refusing to fix under warranty or refund money. Will cost more than buying a new one to fix. Don't wate your time with stihl, Will have to take the to small claims (vcat) to get my money back.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
1 comment
Dave
Dave

After complaining at Mitre 10 who gave us great service Stihl agreed to a refund and I got my money back


Beverly Henderson

Beverly Henderson

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

My best ever investment.

published
Date PurchasedAug 2015

Lindy

LindySouth Australia

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great BUT

published

Cuts even heavy duty weeds but not designed for little old ladies with small hands! I find the battery next to impossible to get out at times and the head I can't get off without using multigrips and sheer grit and determination. It also doesn't come with a strap but fortunately my son improvised one for me. Update 5/11/17 I have overcome the battery problem by pulling the spring things at the back of the battery compartment further out. I also put some vaseline on the rails to help it come out more easily. Happy now.

Date PurchasedOct 2015

Alan Dunn

Alan DunnMAITLAND

  • 17 reviews
  • 18 likes

In a league of its own

published
Date PurchasedSep 2015
Elmo

ElmoShellharbour

  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

Expensive but good

published

Lovely silent trimmer with heaps of power and very good battery life. I chose the smaller and cheaper AP-115 battery which has 50% charge left after I'm done trimming the back and front yards of our townhouse. I don't see myself going back to the stinky noisy petrol trimmers ever.

Date PurchasedFeb 2016
tmark tas

tmark tasNorth-West & West coast, TAS

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

It works

published

I live on a small acreage and use it to cut back the small patches of weeds that pop up around the place, stick it in ATV in morning and can knock them back during the day. Quick and easy and no herbicides. It's just works, and is not too loud. It holds it's charge well over 6 months in the winter.


Jason L

Jason L

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Pick of the bunch in Stihls 36v range.

published

big-m

big-mHunter Region, NSW

  • 12 reviews
  • 10 likes

Stihl FSA85 Line trimmer

published

Cordless convenience. As powerful as a petrol trimmer. The turbo charger recharges in around 20 minutes. Usual 'bump and feed' line delivery system is easy to use, and uses any two millimeter line. Chews through heavy grass and weeds. My lawn is less than 200 square meters, but has plenty of edges. Battery still has plenty of charge to run the blower after use.
High quality, well balanced, shares battery with 36volt family of products.
Expensive, but high quality. May be too heavy for some users.


MP82

MP82WA, 6230

  • 3 reviews
  • 9 likes

This thing is powerful

published

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.


Get an answer from our members and Stihl representatives

Details

Stihl FSA 65

Stihl FSA 65

7 reviews
Stihl FSA 85

Stihl FSA 85

6 reviews
CategoryElectric Whipper SnippersElectric Whipper Snippers
Power SourceElectricElectric
Handle TypeLoop HandleLoop Handle
Price (RRP)269319
Weight2.72.8
Cutting Arc (mm)300350
Release dateMar 2012Mar 2012

Visit official website - Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.