??!
4 photos
Stihl FSA 65 / FSA 85

Stihl FSA 65 / FSA 85

FSA 65, FSA 85
3.8 from 14 reviews

Reviews

3.8

14 reviews
5
(7)
4
(2)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(2)
  • Build Quality
    3.3 (3)
  • Value for Money
    3.7 (3)
  • Ease of Use
    4.3 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.0 (3)
  • Product is used
  • Grass Type
  • Noise Level
    4.7 (3)
  • Safety
    4.7 (3)
Previous
Next
Phill

PhillHunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great product to use BUT poor quality.

published

I love using this product but my biggest issue is.... The second week I used this was on wet grass and now no longer works. The motor is completely vulnerable to water. Forget being waterproof it's not even water resistant...

Purchased in February 2020 at Stihl Dealer for A$1,000.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Tall grass
See all answers
Unhappy

UnhappyNew South Wales

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Whipper snipper failure

published

I am sadly disappointed by Stihl the company when my whipper sniper broke down . It was a very useful efficient tool . BUT there was no advice to say to never wet the head as the electric motor is there and not sealed . Water in the motor shorted out the control unit at the switch which was quoted at two thirds the cost of replacing the machine. Causing huge environmental waste and massive cost to myself . I tried to speak to Stihl who said they would get back to me but never did .

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Tall grass
See all answers
1 comment
Unhappy
Unhappy

I have exactly the same comments to make . I thought this was my review .

Randall

RandallSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Good, but a few drawbacks

published

Purchased in March 2017.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
Battery Whipper Snippers

Find out how Stihl FSA 65 / FSA 85 compares to other Battery Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Lightweight, powerful, long battery life

published

This trimmer is lightweight for this over 50 woman and it has two lines of trimming power that really take care of the weeds. The battery lasts a long time but I have two batteries since I also use it for my Stihl lawnmower. It was difficult to get the battery released but since I pulled out the prongs at the back a little and used vaseline on the sides it has been much easier. I also had difficulty refilling the spool with trimmer line but now I clean out the spool and make sure that I insert the twine until it is engaged in the spool. This is much better than dragging a heavy cord around my yard or carrying a heavy gas powered trimmer.

Date PurchasedJun 2015

How to do complicated when you can do simple

published

How to do complicated when you can do simple... The system for putting cutting line is RIDICULOUSLY STUPID AND COMPLICATED! GOOD LUCK! I am a landscape pro of 20 plus years and have never seen such a complicated spooling system to replace the cutting line. I PROMISE YOU WILL WANT TO RIP YOUR HAIR OUT!

Date PurchasedJun 2018
Dave

DaveMelbourne

Waste of money. Stihl offer poor customer service

published

Five weeks old, Used it twice to have a piece of long grass get caught between the motor and spool head. Ruined motor. Stihl refusing to fix under warranty or refund money. Will cost more than buying a new one to fix. Don't wate your time with stihl, Will have to take the to small claims (vcat) to get my money back.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
1 comment
Dave
Dave

After complaining at Mitre 10 who gave us great service Stihl agreed to a refund and I got my money back

Beverly Henderson

Beverly Henderson

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

My best ever investment.

published
Date PurchasedAug 2015
Lindy

LindySouth Australia

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great BUT

published

Cuts even heavy duty weeds but not designed for little old ladies with small hands! I find the battery next to impossible to get out at times and the head I can't get off without using multigrips and sheer grit and determination. It also doesn't come with a strap but fortunately my son improvised one for me. Update 5/11/17 I have overcome the battery problem by pulling the spring things at the back of the battery compartment further out. I also put some vaseline on the rails to help it come out more easily. Happy now.

Date PurchasedOct 2015
Alan Dunn

Alan DunnMAITLAND

  • 17 reviews
  • 20 likes

In a league of its own

published
Date PurchasedSep 2015
Battery Whipper Snippers

Find out how Stihl FSA 65 / FSA 85 compares to other Battery Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Elmo

ElmoShellharbour

  • 7 reviews
  • 8 likes

Expensive but good

published

Lovely silent trimmer with heaps of power and very good battery life. I chose the smaller and cheaper AP-115 battery which has 50% charge left after I'm done trimming the back and front yards of our townhouse. I don't see myself going back to the stinky noisy petrol trimmers ever.

Date PurchasedFeb 2016
tmark tas

tmark tasNorth-West & West coast, TAS

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

It works

published

I live on a small acreage and use it to cut back the small patches of weeds that pop up around the place, stick it in ATV in morning and can knock them back during the day. Quick and easy and no herbicides. It's just works, and is not too loud. It holds it's charge well over 6 months in the winter.

Jason L

Jason L

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Pick of the bunch in Stihls 36v range.

published
big-m

big-mHunter Region, NSW

  • 17 reviews
  • 13 likes

Stihl FSA85 Line trimmer

published

Cordless convenience. As powerful as a petrol trimmer. The turbo charger recharges in around 20 minutes. Usual 'bump and feed' line delivery system is easy to use, and uses any two millimeter line. Chews through heavy grass and weeds. My lawn is less than 200 square meters, but has plenty of edges. Battery still has plenty of charge to run the blower after use.
High quality, well balanced, shares battery with 36volt family of products.
Expensive, but high quality. May be too heavy for some users.

MP82

MP82WA, 6230

  • 3 reviews
  • 9 likes

This thing is powerful

published

Questions & Answers

Janet

Janetasked

FSA 65 / FSA 85

Seems that it is an issue with wet grass so that’s a worry..just bought the blower so was tempted to get whipper snipper

2 answers
Unhappy
Unhappy

The whipper snipper works very well but blow it clean with air and a dry cloth . A squirt of Stihl’s cleaner or the Briggs and Stratton lanolin lubricant should keep the head from becoming damaged with rusted bearings or electrical issues. Stihl have not given me any response re my problems but I have changed dealers and they certainly are more diligent. John’s mowers in Ballina by the way .

Phill
Phill

Love the whipper sniper, my biggest problem was the dealer's inability to give a s#+& about my concerns. Best friends when selling it to me but treated me like a moron when my concerns were raised.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.