??!
3 photos
Stihl RE 129 Plus

Stihl RE 129 Plus

3.1 from 22 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

3.1

22 reviews
  • Build Quality
    2.9 (12)
  • Value for Money
    2.3 (11)
  • Ease of Use
    3.7 (12)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.5 (11)
  • Noise Level
    3.4 (12)
  • Safety
    3.8 (11)
Previous
Next

Stihl not good

published

Stopped working so many times, was spending more time returning it for repair than using it, customer service was even worse .... just don’t buy a Stihl product and life will be good

Purchased in June 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Dave

DaveHunter Region, NSW

Very disappointing

published

The plastic wheel fell apart in the first day. Stihl refused to supply another wheel. I replaced both wheels with metal lawnmower wheels. Now the machine will not spray water under pressure. No more Stihl.

Purchased in November 2019 for A$529.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Bora

BoraWest Arnhem, NT

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Stihl

published

Used 4 times,approx 20 min each and developed a issue in the pressure switch,then started tripping out.Sent back under warranty, been waiting 2 months.$700 wasted,shouldve just brought another $200 michelin.Bout as good as the stihl whipper snipper.First and last stihl in my shed.

Purchased in November 2019 for A$780.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Electric Pressure Washers

Find out how Stihl RE 129 Plus compares to other Electric Pressure Washers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Pete

PeteAU

  • 18 reviews
  • 25 likes

Garbage. Constant leaks and repairs (Updated review)

published

I’ve owned this for 12 months and it went back for repair in the first month due to a leak where the input hose connects. Now it’s leaking from the lance handle and appears to be the same issue that others here have reported. The plastic high pressure connector inside the lance handle has split. Back to the dealer again........

I would not recommend this product based on my experience.

Update May 2020:
The spray lance has been repaired so I was without the washer for another month.
Seems ok for now. This machine is too unreliable. I'll be looking to replace it with something better.

Purchased in January 2019 for A$499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Tim

Tim

  • 13 reviews
  • 16 likes

Good product that needs improvement

published

Purchased in May 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
Tim
Tim
DirtySquirty

DirtySquirtyHunter Region, NSW

Great when it's not leaking...

published

My re129 was great for a few months, then it started leaking out of the trigger handle and lacking pressure as a result.
Sent for repair but when I connected it up at home it was still leaking and low on pressure.
I pulled the handle apart myself to find the leak. They use a plastic looking pipe in the handle not metal! I connected the water back up with one side of the handle removed and I could see the plastic pipe was cracked and forcing water out the side even under low pressure only getting worse when the unit was powered on!
I thought I'd done enough research when I decided to buy a Stihl, I guess I was wrong!
Based on my experience I would not recommend!

Purchased in October 2018 for A$599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Ranga

RangaCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 6 likes

Felt like a solid bit of gear. Hand piece issue resolved.

published

Purchased in September 2018 at Mitre 10 for A$549.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers

Stihl RE130 pressure washer trigger problem

published

Retract previous problem where I stated trigger problem whereas unit would not start. Returned to dealer and they could not duplicate problem. Seems to work ok now that they checked it out. Must be other electrical issue or the pressure within system wouldn’t allow restart

Purchased in May 2019 at Westside Honda for A$429.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Photographer

PhotographerSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Awful - avoid this brand.

published

I bought a 129plus 6yrs ago and have had nothing but problems. The main problem is that if you connect the water and power and then turn the water on, power on and depress the trigger on the gun it won’t work. You have to depress the trigger before turning the power on. It clearly states that this is a problem in the manual yet they still sell the machine with this defect. It is not possible to stop the trigger without having to then disconnect the power and water. Avoid at all costs and choose another brand.

Purchased in January 2012 for A$450.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Electric Pressure Washers

Find out how Stihl RE 129 Plus compares to other Electric Pressure Washers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Vanita Hope

Vanita HopeNorth West, QLD

will never buy stihl again

published

I purchased a RE129 pressure washer at $549.00 .I have had nothing but problems with the hand piece.
I've always been a Karcher user but had no option but to buy this machine. If it wasn't for economic times at the moment I would throw it to the dump.

Purchased in January 2019 for A$549.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Ian

IanBedfordshire

Not very reliable

published

Had the machine 2 years had nothing but problems with the trigger on the Lance it has been back twice to the supplier last time was charged for a broken part inside the trigger not on when on that occasion still in warranty when it is working it does s fair job but I would not buy another one.

Date PurchasedSep 2016
CHK

CHK

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Pressure function stopped working after single use

published

Used it once for cleaning deck and the next time I tried after a month, the pressure wasn't working. Stihl FTG fixed the issue as it's within warranty. It worked again once and failed after that with the same issue. I spoke to Stihl again and they said they can fix the issue as it's within warranty. What if this happens after the warranty period, they charge for fixing it. I have paid $400 for this unit and didn't expect a faulty unit.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
JimmyG84

JimmyG84AU

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

Worth the $

published

Purchased in April 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers

not good

published

less then 24 months old and stopped hardly any use. only cleaned shed and half of the veranda .
would of thought for 500 dollars you get a good product . I have had stihl products before and done okay with them but not happy with what we purchased. yeah

Date PurchasedMar 2016
Paul

PaulSydney

  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

Cant fault

published

Purchased RE 129 Plus after another brand (from Bunnings) with little use had some seemly simple looking part in handle go that rendered unusable ... After research settled on the Stihl as such parts are made of steel not plastic ...Very happy as quite powerful,does job with minimum of fuss. The retractable 9 meter steel reinforced high pressure hose just rolls up on top of unit so no chance of hose getting snagged on things when transporting and the power cord rolls up out of the way ...The unit is fairly heavy so if moving up and down e.g. stairs the trolley is very welcome addition... so far very happy with purchase

Date PurchasedSep 2017
Electric Pressure Washers

Find out how Stihl RE 129 Plus compares to other Electric Pressure Washers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kasparov

KasparovSydney

  • 20 reviews
  • 13 likes
  • Verified purchase

Great Pressure Washer - Quiet and Powerful

published

Purchased at GYC for A$549.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Bodalenko

BodalenkoVictoria, 3045

Time will tell how good this unit is.

published
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Max

MaxNew Plymouth NZ

  • 6 reviews
  • 11 likes

Still water blaster RE108.

published
Date PurchasedMar 2013
Wiggo

WiggoGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

So far so good

published

Got sick of my karcher being repaired, so I have stepped up to what I think is a better more solid unit. It's quite heavy and if that has anything to do with it it should last. I like the way it's all together on the one unit (stored). The stihl salesman also convinced me this was a far superior unit to anything at Bunnings

Date PurchasedDec 2016
Kevin

KevinGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 21 reviews
  • 26 likes

Fantastic Product - Great Quality.

published

Purchased the Stihl RE 129 plus for Xmas from Plenty Mowers in Kingsbury and couldn't be happier. Fantastic service when purchased and the quality of this pressure washer is first class. 2 Year warranty and also received over $200 in bonus accessories due to special offer at the time of purchase. Goodbye Karcher.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Bampton boy.

Bampton boy.asked

It works perfectly until the trigger is released when instead of stopping the pump tries to continue with increasing difficulty until it eventually stops (from overload?). It will not start again immediately but will after a while (reset period?). Is this a known problem? Can you help, please?

No answers
Tony D.

Tony D.asked

Water hose keeps popping off When water is turned on to washer?

1 answer
Tim
Tim

Garden hose? Sounds like a faulty fitting on hose or pressure washer, both should be easily replaceable. Check that the hose fitting in the pressure washer has an o-ring first.

Jordi f.

Jordi f.asked

The machine stoped while working. It wasn't a probem of overheating.
Where is (are) the fuse (fuses)??

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

The Stihl RE 129 Plus has a maximum pressure of 1, 958PSI or 135 bars – which makes it a touch more heavy-duty than the Stihl RE 119 model and suitable for cleaning decks, paths, windows and cars.

The Stihl RE 129 Plus comes with a steel-reinforced 9m high-pressure hose, with a maximum water throughput of 500 l/h. It’s also designed with both rotary and fan jet nozzles. Rotary nozzles produce a cone-shaped spray that rotates and pulses, achieving a deep clean. The fan jet nozzle gives you control over the pressure, so you can adjust the angle to produce a high-pressure jet or a wide spray pattern, for example for windows.

Other convenient features include a detergent spray, as well as an aluminium telescopic handle and transport handle, which make carting around the pressure washer easier. Hose and swivel power cable holders and integrated nozzle storage help to ensure the washer packs away compact, so it doesn’t take up a premium on space in your shed or garage.

CategoryElectric Pressure Washers
Price (RRP) A$549.00
Maximum Pressure1,958 psi
Hose Length9 m
Max Water Flow7.1 L/min
Weight20 kg
Power2,300 W
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.