??!

Portable Air Conditioners Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of portable air conditioner would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

(13)
(28)
(9)
(5)
(15)
  • Build Quality
    3.4 (7)
  • Value for Money
    3.4 (8)
  • Ease of Use
    4.1 (7)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (7)
  • Room Type
    • Small Bedroom (6)
    • Living/Dining Area (3)
    • Large Bedroom (2)
  • Noise Level
    2.9 (8)
  • Heating / Cooling Speed
    3.3 (8)
  • Portability
    3.3 (8)


Jee3030

Jee3030Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Effective, value for money

published

Does the job, easy to use, cheaper than most other portable air conditioners but still quite effective! Glad we purchased this as it has definitely helped to make us feel more comfortable during the hot days and nights.

Purchased in December 2019 at ALDI.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Room Type Large Bedroom, Living/Dining Area and Small Bedroom
See all answers

Chris

ChrisSydney Surrounds, NSW

Complete Junk

published

It worked well for 2 weeks and by working well I mean it actually blew cold air. After 2 weeks, it makes all the noise associated with a cheap portable a/c unit but stopped delivering cold air. I have 2 other Portable A/C Units (different brands) that work extremely well. In terms of the Stirling 12000BTU 3.4kW Portable A/C - I wouldn't recommend you buy one - you can achieve the same result with a $50 fan.

Purchased in December 2019 at Aldi at Vincentia NSW for $379.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Small Bedroom
See all answers
CJ S.

CJ S.South East Queensland, QLD

Better than expected

published

Purchased in November 2019 at ALDI for $300.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Large Bedroom
See all answers
Kat

KatSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

I can help resolve some issues!!

published

This is a great product. As long as you duct it PROPERLY, it’s air intake is actually from the side and back and disperses it out the hose! To stop the air swinging a certain direction there is a little switch/leaver at the bottom edge of the vent that goes side to side to change the air flow direction. It’s easily cools a 5 x 5 metre room quickly!

Purchased in March 2017 for $297.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
See all answers

Scotty S.

Scotty S.Sydney Surrounds, NSW

A good unit

published

I use this in a large room - 70 sq metres - and it is effective. It brings the temp down slightly - by about 3 degrees - but more importantly it dehumidifies the space so the real feel is down by 10-15 degrees. It's important to have a well insulated space. You have to be able to keep external heat out and the cool air in before these will work effectively. A lot of rental properties are not insulated and unfortunately a unit like this won't work effectively in those properties. Heat transfer occurs through windows but there are simple tricks to combat this eg DIY thermal blinds and/or bubble wrap taped to the windows. A portable can never be as effective as a split system but they are cheaper and they blow cold air unlike a fan.

Purchased in October 2019 at ALDI for $400.00.

Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Living/Dining Area

Abis007

Abis007Sydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Good aircon but very noisy

published

I purchased this aircon for the guest bedroom. It cools the room very well but takes time. The only disadvantage is that it is very noisy and I can hear the sound of the aircon in the next room. Good for a small room. The heating option is ok and not that great. It has 36 months of warranty on it which is good.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Works on TV Remote Controller.So can not turn on TV and change channels or adjust sound. Portable ai

published

Works on TV Remote Controller.So can not turn on TV and change channels or adjust sound. Portable air conditioner also keeps change settings. So TV and portable AC can not use same area. Should address this issue before selling more units. My TV is LG 49" smart 4k UHD TV.

Date PurchasedDec 2018

Dev

DevGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Amazing Product. I love it :)

published

I bought this one couple of years a ago and believe me its amazing. No regrets except the one that I should have bought this product earlier :). Its Compact, not that heavy weight as you would think of an Aircon to be.
Moreover it comes with 3 years warranty - what else would to need to take risk of $400 which eventually would turn out to be the best portable Aircon.

I am very happy with this.

Purchased in December 2016 for $399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Small Bedroom
See all answers
David S

David SSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Unreliable - 3 Year Warranty not worth the paper its printed on.

published

Purchased in January 2018 at ALDI for $300.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Small Bedroom
See all answers
Jacob

JacobPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Love it

published

In very good condition, works perfectly and I love how you can put it in rest mode and change it from low to high , very affordable price aswell very happy

Purchased in February 2019 at Rockingham for $130.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Small Bedroom
See all answers

Cecilia

CeciliaSydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

It didn’t work for my situation

published

Purchased in January 2019 at ALDI for $279.00.

Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Not Insulated
Room Type Living/Dining Area and Small Bedroom
See all answers

no modulating air flow

published

Why does the air flow... mainly to the right side only and there is no way of adjusting this, there is no modulation to change this?
It would better if one could adjust the problem as all the cool air goes to the right only?There does not seem to be control over this?

Date PurchasedJan 2019

Sosman

SosmanGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Adequate to supplement wall installed unit at other end of house

published

The most annoying thing about this air conditioner is the fact it blows air to the right of unit, Has up and down grill but no sideway direction so consequently the unit has to be placed in precarious position to direct flow. For a 2Kw unit you can't expect too much. Cools small room, spec says 10-16 sqm. For the few hot days it's adequate for relief.

Date PurchasedDec 2018

Shen

ShenSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews

Alright for a portable

published

I’ve used this product overnight and it coped without issue.
It’s very simple to use with minimal setting options
When using it during really hot nights it’s not going to make your room feel like a fridge. It will cool it down a bit though but I found this to be the case with having the air con and the ceiling fan running together. It’s also not the best for a bedroom as the cold air was hitting against the bed. When you turn the vents upward it doesn’t blow the air high enough to surround the room efficiently. Also the electrical cable is too short for a product that requires direct connection to a wall socket and not recommended to be connected to a power board or extension cable

Date PurchasedOct 2018
Edwy

Edwy

  • 2 reviews

Just bought installed in bedroom. Absolutely perfect

published

Cannot write full review as yet. Just bought.. But it's doing perfect job of cooling as text. Bit on the noisy side but l can get over that After enduring two sleepless nights earlier in week looking forward to great nights sleep. Easy setup. Instructions adequate. Will buy another for caravan.

Date PurchasedDec 2018

Does the job for a small room

published

I bought the smaller unit at Aldi ( they have 2 options of air con) I have been using it for the last week in a small room 4x3m. It does a good job st cooling the room and for the price paid $279 it is not bad.
The only thing that needs to be mentioned is that the system is a bit noisey. So if it is for your bedroom it might be an issue for you. I can sleep with the noise so no issue for me.

Date PurchasedDec 2018

Couldnt be more impressed

published

Very quiet, very cold air, cools my one bedroom apartment. I use a fan to move the cold air around and raised it on a bookshelf for greater quicker cooling . It still worked as well on a 40° day. As effective as the brand name one my parents bought for double the price.

Date PurchasedOct 2018

Stefan3

Stefan3melbourne

  • 4 reviews

Not perfect but not bad

published

These are always a compromise and I knew that before we got it. Basically they always draw more hot air inside by way of their operation and so cannot be efficient. This did an adequate job of cooling out lounge room over summer, not crispy cold like a split system but definitely better. If it runs for a few more years I will be satisfied with it.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Golf1957

Golf1957Chadstone

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Pumps out plenty of cool air

published

We have used this over one summers so far We live in Melbourne so its freezing all year and then its 40c over summer. Portables are perfect for us and this one works very well. It cools much more than its diminutive size would suggest and can easily make a room habitable even on those 40c days. Simple set up and very basic remote. Good bonus is that this model does not require the water tank being emptied as it vents it outside. Would purchase again, good unit

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Bookems

BookemsMoorabin

  • 4 reviews

Good cooling over summer

published

We are currently renting which means we can't install a split system and our landlord is too cheap to get one so this was style our only option. I actually performed way better than I expected - my dad said that portables were not up to par but this one did manage to cool the bedroom. It's a bit noisy and the window kit isn't the strongest but these are always something of a compromise. I did cool which meant I could sleep and that's a good thing!

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

anmol s.

anmol s.asked

How can i get rid of the water that has been stored in the air conditioner?

No answers

Vijay Singh M.

Vijay Singh M.asked

Hi all
I got Stirling Portable ac from aldi in December 2016.
Before it was workin Good but now after running 4-5 hours it makes a terrible sound and i have to turn it off
Any suggestions

1 answer
Fired Up
Fired Up

Yes. Contact Stirling


Deon B.

Deon B.asked

WF indicator is on.
Do you need to manually empty tank.
Over a 8 hour sleep I had to empty 6 times is that correct.

1 answer
Fired Up
Fired Up

Does not sound right


Get an answer from our members and ALDI representatives


Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.