??!
37 photos
ALDI Stirling Portable Air Conditioner
3.3 from 74 reviews · View Statistics

Portable Air Conditioner Buying Guide

A portable air conditioner is a great way to stay cool, but with the array of choices, finding the best portable air conditioner can be complex. This portable air conditioners buying guide is here to help you meet your AC match so you can spend a cool time together.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.3 (11)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (12)
  • Ease of Use
    4.2 (11)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.1 (11)
  • Noise Level
    2.8 (12)
  • Heating / Cooling Speed
    3.4 (12)
  • Portability
    3.4 (12)
Previous
Next
kyle

kyleVictoria

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Loud and air flow right not straight

published

Bought this on dec 12th 2020 its loud and stops from time to time with the cold air. If you want the loud noise to stop you'll have to put weights on the top to stop the cheap shell from vibration. It does however cool a 4x3 room. The air blows to the right not straight.

Purchased in December 2020 at ALDI for $350.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Incentivised ReviewNo
Home Insulation LevelGood
Room TypeSmall Bedroom
See all answers
S H.

S H.Sydney, NSW

Overall Good Aircon

published

I am using this portable aircon in two bedroom unit. For me its working good. Brings down temperature to 21 in scorching heat of Sydney. it is bit noisy, but all portable aircons are. I am renting the place and cannot install other cooling systems. So just spend $400 and installed properly - Bingo! A cool place for living. if you renting, then go for it otherwise you can get better one.

Purchased in October 2020 at ALDI for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Incentivised ReviewNo
Home Insulation LevelPoor
Room TypeSmall Bedroom
See all answers
Sue C.

Sue C.South East Queensland, QLD

Noisy and odd airflow

published

The Stirling ac unit i bought has a diagonal airdliw that seems counterintuitive to how you would set it up in a room and so doesnt seem efficient. it is also extremely noisy for me. we rang the helpline and got no help sadly.

Purchased in January 2020 at ALDI for $400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Incentivised ReviewNo
Home Insulation LevelAverage
Room TypeLiving/Dining Area
See all answers
Portable Air Conditioners

Find out how ALDI Stirling Portable Air Conditioner compares to other Portable Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

cool fast

published

this portable aircon works really nice, not too noise and control remote is a plus obviosly the room need to small about 30m2 I never had a problem till now with that over a year now. Perfect in a studio or oven garage.

Purchased at ALDI for $400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Incentivised ReviewNo
Home Insulation LevelNot Insulated
Room TypeSmall Bedroom
See all answers
Jee3030

Jee3030Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Effective, value for money

published

Does the job, easy to use, cheaper than most other portable air conditioners but still quite effective! Glad we purchased this as it has definitely helped to make us feel more comfortable during the hot days and nights.

Purchased in December 2019 at ALDI.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Incentivised ReviewNo
Room TypeLarge Bedroom, Living/Dining Area and Small Bedroom
See all answers
Chris

ChrisSydney Surrounds, NSW

Complete Junk

published

It worked well for 2 weeks and by working well I mean it actually blew cold air. After 2 weeks, it makes all the noise associated with a cheap portable a/c unit but stopped delivering cold air. I have 2 other Portable A/C Units (different brands) that work extremely well. In terms of the Stirling 12000BTU 3.4kW Portable A/C - I wouldn't recommend you buy one - you can achieve the same result with a $50 fan.

Purchased in December 2019 at Aldi at Vincentia NSW for $379.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Incentivised ReviewNo
Home Insulation LevelAverage
Room TypeSmall Bedroom
See all answers
CJ S.

CJ S.South East Queensland, QLD

Better than expected

published

Purchased in November 2019 at ALDI for $300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Incentivised ReviewNo
Home Insulation LevelAverage
Room TypeLarge Bedroom
See all answers
Kat

KatSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

I can help resolve some issues!!

published

This is a great product. As long as you duct it PROPERLY, it’s air intake is actually from the side and back and disperses it out the hose! To stop the air swinging a certain direction there is a little switch/leaver at the bottom edge of the vent that goes side to side to change the air flow direction. It’s easily cools a 5 x 5 metre room quickly!

Purchased in March 2017 for $297.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Scotty S.

Scotty S.Sydney Surrounds, NSW

A good unit

published

I use this in a large room - 70 sq metres - and it is effective. It brings the temp down slightly - by about 3 degrees - but more importantly it dehumidifies the space so the real feel is down by 10-15 degrees. It's important to have a well insulated space. You have to be able to keep external heat out and the cool air in before these will work effectively. A lot of rental properties are not insulated and unfortunately a unit like this won't work effectively in those properties. Heat transfer occurs through windows but there are simple tricks to combat this eg DIY thermal blinds and/or bubble wrap taped to the windows. A portable can never be as effective as a split system but they are cheaper and they blow cold air unlike a fan.

Purchased in October 2019 at ALDI for $400.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Home Insulation LevelGood
Room TypeLiving/Dining Area
Portable Air Conditioners

Find out how ALDI Stirling Portable Air Conditioner compares to other Portable Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Abis007

Abis007Sydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Good aircon but very noisy

published

I purchased this aircon for the guest bedroom. It cools the room very well but takes time. The only disadvantage is that it is very noisy and I can hear the sound of the aircon in the next room. Good for a small room. The heating option is ok and not that great. It has 36 months of warranty on it which is good.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Works on TV Remote Controller.So can not turn on TV and change channels or adjust sound. Portable ai

published

Works on TV Remote Controller.So can not turn on TV and change channels or adjust sound. Portable air conditioner also keeps change settings. So TV and portable AC can not use same area. Should address this issue before selling more units. My TV is LG 49" smart 4k UHD TV.

Date PurchasedDec 2018
Dev

DevGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews

Amazing Product. I love it :)

published

I bought this one couple of years a ago and believe me its amazing. No regrets except the one that I should have bought this product earlier :). Its Compact, not that heavy weight as you would think of an Aircon to be.
Moreover it comes with 3 years warranty - what else would to need to take risk of $400 which eventually would turn out to be the best portable Aircon.

I am very happy with this.

Purchased in December 2016 for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Incentivised ReviewNo
Home Insulation LevelGood
Room TypeSmall Bedroom
See all answers
David S

David SSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Unreliable - 3 Year Warranty not worth the paper its printed on.

published

Purchased in January 2018 at ALDI for $300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Incentivised ReviewNo
Home Insulation LevelGood
Room TypeSmall Bedroom
See all answers
Jacob

JacobPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Love it

published

In very good condition, works perfectly and I love how you can put it in rest mode and change it from low to high , very affordable price aswell very happy

Purchased in February 2019 at Rockingham for $130.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Incentivised ReviewNo
Home Insulation LevelAverage
Room TypeSmall Bedroom
See all answers
Cecilia

CeciliaSydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

It didn’t work for my situation

published

Purchased in January 2019 at ALDI for $279.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Incentivised ReviewNo
Home Insulation LevelNot Insulated
Room TypeLiving/Dining Area and Small Bedroom
See all answers
Portable Air Conditioners

Find out how ALDI Stirling Portable Air Conditioner compares to other Portable Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

no modulating air flow

published

Why does the air flow... mainly to the right side only and there is no way of adjusting this, there is no modulation to change this?
It would better if one could adjust the problem as all the cool air goes to the right only?There does not seem to be control over this?

Date PurchasedJan 2019
Sosman

SosmanGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Adequate to supplement wall installed unit at other end of house

published

The most annoying thing about this air conditioner is the fact it blows air to the right of unit, Has up and down grill but no sideway direction so consequently the unit has to be placed in precarious position to direct flow. For a 2Kw unit you can't expect too much. Cools small room, spec says 10-16 sqm. For the few hot days it's adequate for relief.

Date PurchasedDec 2018
Shen

ShenSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Alright for a portable

published

I’ve used this product overnight and it coped without issue.
It’s very simple to use with minimal setting options
When using it during really hot nights it’s not going to make your room feel like a fridge. It will cool it down a bit though but I found this to be the case with having the air con and the ceiling fan running together. It’s also not the best for a bedroom as the cold air was hitting against the bed. When you turn the vents upward it doesn’t blow the air high enough to surround the room efficiently. Also the electrical cable is too short for a product that requires direct connection to a wall socket and not recommended to be connected to a power board or extension cable

Date PurchasedOct 2018
Edwy

Edwy

  • 3 reviews

Just bought installed in bedroom. Absolutely perfect

published

Cannot write full review as yet. Just bought.. But it's doing perfect job of cooling as text. Bit on the noisy side but l can get over that After enduring two sleepless nights earlier in week looking forward to great nights sleep. Easy setup. Instructions adequate. Will buy another for caravan.

Date PurchasedDec 2018

Does the job for a small room

published

I bought the smaller unit at Aldi ( they have 2 options of air con) I have been using it for the last week in a small room 4x3m. It does a good job st cooling the room and for the price paid $279 it is not bad.
The only thing that needs to be mentioned is that the system is a bit noisey. So if it is for your bedroom it might be an issue for you. I can sleep with the noise so no issue for me.

Date PurchasedDec 2018
Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Sascha K.

Sascha K.asked

Stirling Portable Air Conditioner

The swing function doesn't work. The air flow comes out only to the left (when facing the unit). It will not blow air straight or move from side to side. Please help.

No answers
Bruce M

Bruce Masked

A007B-12C (3.4kW, Oct 2018, Nov 2019)

i have the following model Stirling A007B-12C (3.4kW, portable air conditioner it has an exhaust vent at the read and below is the cooling bars or coils, what distance to a wall should these be to make the unit preform at its best or if i want the unit to be hard against the wall can the cooling bars be subject to the external air via a vent. or it does not matter as these cooling bars do not require air circulation. the intake vent on the side has plenty of air flow. My unit was not working to its best in the last hot days and i changed its position to give better air intake through the side intake vent and in doing so the cooling bars on the back were away from the wall as a result, so not quite sure if both areas need clear air space or only the intake vent

regards
Bruce

No answers
Dee C.

Dee C.asked

A008A-14C (4.1kW, Dec 2015-2018)

My air con keeps tripping the breaker. Is there a shut off switch somewhere that isn’t visible on the outside?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and ALDI representatives

Details

Compare all 9 ALDI Stirling Portable Air Conditioner
CategoryPortable Air ConditionersPortable Air ConditionersPortable Air ConditionersPortable Air Conditioners
Price (RRP) $379.00$399.00$399.00
Features Dehumidifying Function, On/Off Timer and Remote ControlOn/Off Timer and Remote ControlOn/Off Timer and Remote Control
Cooling Power3.5 kW4 kW4.1 kW
Reverse Cycle NoNoNo
Cooling Capacity12,000 BTU14,000 BTU14,000 BTU
Weight27 kg22 kg29 kg
Dimensions 721 x 415 x 291 mm807 x 355 x 330 mm794 x 320 x 364 mm
Auto Restart FunctionNo
Max Room Size 2730
Special Buy Dates
  • 26 Oct 2016
  • 25 Oct 2017
  • 23 Oct 2019
  • 5 Dec 2015
  • 3 Dec 2016
  • 2 Dec 2017
  • 1 Dec 2018
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2008Oct 2019Dec 2015
Discontinuation dateDec 2015Oct 2019Dec 2018
ManualDownload manualDownload manualDownload manualDownload manualDownload manual and manual 2Download manual
Compare all 9 ALDI Stirling Portable Air Conditioner

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.