2 photos
Sunbeam Compact Café Press GR8220 / GR8250B

Sunbeam Compact Café Press GR8220 / GR8250B

GR8250B, GR8220
4.3 from 10 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

4.3

10 reviews
5
(8)
4
(0)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(1)
    Previous
    Next
    3mailjohn
    3mailjohnSydney, NSW

    What’s this black film?

    published

    I just bought this item. Washed the surfaces with warm soapy water, and dried with a paper towel (white), only to find a black film on the drying towel. Rubbed more and there was less. Then I thought to look up Eazyclean, the coating that is placed on the hot plates. Is it Teflon? Is it toxic? Difficult to get any info but good to know because I won’t be using it until I’m sure it’s safe to use.

    Incentivised ReviewNo
    Rebecca
    Rebecca
    • 4 reviews
    • 2 likes

    Great little machine!!

    published

    After getting one of these for my mum I was so impressed with it I had to get one. Purchased it on sale. Cooks toasties quickly and easily with different amounts of fillings etc. have had it for at least 3 months now with use every couple of days and it’s fantastic!! Would recommend

    Date PurchasedDec 2017
    Dan B
    Dan BSydney

    Bad or faulty machine

    published

    I recently purchased one of these machines, with the first few uses everything worked well but it all went down hill after that, the press then would burn anything with the top plate and wouldn't heat anything with the bottom plate. Then after using it today the machine burnt the sandwich and even melted the buttons on the top of the machine all within 2 minutes. I called the shop we purchased this from and the said that someone will call me back tomorrow. I wouldn't recommend this machine it was meant to be one of the better one, very disappointed.

    Date PurchasedFeb 2017
    Sandwich Presses

    Find out how Sunbeam Compact Café Press GR8220 / GR8250B compares to other Sandwich Presses

    Know better, choose better.

    Compare all
    Zues Lives on!
    Zues Lives on!Western Australia, 6060
    • 17 reviews
    • 7 likes

    Who doesn't love their toasties?

    published

    This café press is a welcome addition to any kitchen. it simple to use and makes great toasties with a minimal of fuss. It's adjustable hinge allows for it to also be use to heat up your wraps, giving it the same taste as if you brought one from the shop. I love this little press, it's easy clean and to store away. The only thing I would swap it for is maybe the 4 slice café press.

    Date PurchasedJan 2017
    Bugs
    BugsSouthern and Hills, SA
    • 15 reviews
    • 10 likes

    Clever design

    published
    Date PurchasedJune 2016
    Related Articles
    Previous

    The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

    Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

    Nathan S.
    Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
    the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

    Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

    These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

    Wendy Z.
    Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
    best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020
    Next
    Kay R
    Kay RSYDNEY
    • 5 reviews
    • 3 likes

    Excellent.

    published

    This is ideal for making a quick tea for seniors or singles, just put ham tomato, cheese and onion on two slices of bread and presto it is toasted in two minutes. Just like buying it from the shop. You add whatever you like, thickness is not an issue, you can adjust it.

    2 comments
    Sunbeam
    Brendan K.Sunbeam
    Kay R
    Kay R

    It really is a great product and I need to letter others know.

    Chris P
    Chris PSydney
    • 55 reviews
    • 23 likes

    Nice for a winter's day

    published

    Relatively inexpensive and super easy to use- a great sandwich press to use for lunch or a quick snack. Out of the box and cooking in 5 minutes and heats up/cooks very fast. Also quite small and good to use in a small kitchen environment. A solid purchase- well worth it if you eat a lot of sandwiches.

    1 comment
    Sunbeam
    Brendan K.Sunbeam
    Allan Visser
    Allan Visser
    • 3 reviews
    • 1 like

    Definetly Awesome!!

    published

    Just bought this press, and tried it right away! I am totally blown away at how quick it grills! Much faster than any other earlier types, normally takes over 5 minutes, this one though: inside of 5 minutes! (though it depends on what you put in the sandwiches, could take longer) Wow! I definetly recommend it to anybody that is considering one. Absolutely Fantastic! Great one Sunbeam! you have outdone yourselves this time! Yahoo!!

    Dayse
    DayseSydney
    • 3 reviews

    Love it. Excellent quality !!!

    published

    I've bought this machine almost 3 years ago and it still looks like brand new. The size is perfect for small families, fits in small places, lightweight and extremely easy to clean. I usually use it to prepare sandwiches and nothing sticks to much because of Teflon coating and if so it is very simple to remove that, just pass a moist soft paper.

    I'm very happy with that.

    Sandwich Presses

    Find out how Sunbeam Compact Café Press GR8220 / GR8250B compares to other Sandwich Presses

    Know better, choose better.

    Compare all
    Melodramie
    MelodramieAU
    • 5 reviews
    • 2 likes

    Fast, convenient, brilliant!

    published

    I was looking for a smaller cafe press, without the ridges in the plates so that I could toast almost anything and it was easy to clean. I'm so glad I bought this one, as it really fits the bill. The compact size is perfect for my already cluttered bench space, and it heats up and toasts things evenly and quickly. The manual says it can also be used to make open grills, but I find it takes ages to do this - I've never seen cheese melt so slowly before. So I mainly stick to closed toasted sandwiches and wraps. Fantastic little machine!
    Size, appearance, flat plates, easy to clean, floating hinge
    Not so good for open grills - too slow.

    1 comment
    Melodramie
    Melodramie

    Questions & Answers

    Rangiah
    Rangiahasked
    2 answers
    Sunbeam
    Customer C.Sunbeam

    Hi Rangiah. Yes you can cook fish in this machine. My advice would be to wrap it in foil to avoid any sticking.

    Rangiah
    Rangiah

    Thank you very much for your solution. I am very much pleased.

    Marian Steinberg
    Marian Steinbergasked
    Compact Café Press GR8220 / GR8250B

    Can you use this model to make tortillas or other flatbreads?

    2 answers
    Allan Visser
    Allan Visser

    I just had a quick look in the user's guide, especially in the recipes section, and the answer to your question Marian Steinberg is "Yes you can make tortillas or other flatbreads with this model". I hope that helps.

    Usability tester
    Usability tester

    Hi Marian, I haven't toasted tortillas or flatbreads myself, but I see no reason why you couldn't do it.

    Get an answer from our members and Sunbeam representatives

    Sunbeam Compact Café Press GR8220 / GR8250B

    Details

    Compare both Sunbeam Compact Café Press GR8220 / GR8250B
    CategorySandwich PressesSandwich Presses
    Price (RRP) $79.95
    Release dateDec 2009
    Compare both Sunbeam Compact Café Press GR8220 / GR8250B

    ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.