3 photos
Breville Toast & Melt

Breville Toast & Melt

BSG540 (4 Slice), BSG220, BSG520
4.4 from 52 reviews · View Statistics
Listing monitored by Breville

Pros

  • Toasts and melts excellently

  • Lasts a long time

  • Easy to clean

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    5.0 (2)
  • Build Quality
    4.5 (2)
  • Ease of Use
    4.5 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (2)
  • Even Heat DistributionYes (2) · No (0)
  • Non-Stick Longevity
  • Non-Stick Quality
    4.0 (1)
Previous
Next
John13
John13Perth, WA
  • 57 reviews
  • 57 likes

The Breville Toast/Melt Sandwich Press BSG520BSS is one of the best sandwich presses one can buy.

published

Purchased in March 2021.

Value for Money
Build Quality

Great machine, one flaw

published

Had ours for about 5 years now, still going strong. Given its age, its falling apart a little, the cover for the light on top has fallen off somewhere and its a bit scraggly. Anyhow, I would recommend it. i use it for everything!! I have made pancakes in it, burritos, I have sliced pumpkin, courgette, tofu, and cooked them when i can't be bothered using my frying pan - and I barely need to use oil. I've assembled vegetable terraines by cooking my veges in it. Its so fast and easy to clean.
the only issue i have ever had is when toasting 4 sandwiches at a time, the press tends to squash the sandwiches at the back more and on an angle. Totally minor issue.

Value for Money
Build Quality
Ella
EllaGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 11 reviews
  • 4 likes

Excellent! Would 100% recommend

published

Received as a house-warming gift about 14 months ago. After asking for one for YEARS and putting up with kmart ones.
This machine is sturdy. It heats up quickly and is easy to clean. I have used it instead of a frying pan to make tortillas (home made) and I have melted cheese on it to just let it cool and go crispy (great snack don't judge).
It will make pizzas with the melt function - I do recommend putting the pizza on baking paper and then transferring to the oven for a quick grill to brown your cheese. That's why it got 4 stars not 5. Also when it's on melt, the top sits a little unevenly. It's also great for toasties. 100% recommend this product.

Purchased in February 2020 at The Good Guys for $70.00.

Incentivised Review No
Sandwich Presses

Find out how Breville Toast & Melt compares to other Sandwich Presses

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Genkii
GenkiiMelbourne
  • 12 reviews
  • 10 likes

Sturdy machine that does the job

published

I’ve had mine for 18 years and it’s still going. I use it constantly. Great size for a family. Apart from toasties I also use it to heat up leftover pizza, make quesadillas, grill bacon, crisp up leftover spanakopita after it’s been in the microwave and more. You could probably fry an egg on it but I’ve never tried it.
I reckon it’ll keep going for another 18 years.

Purchased in December 2002.

Incentivised Review No
Misbah
MisbahGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Great Product

published

Purchased in August 2020 at The Good Guys Online store for $99.00.

Incentivised Review No

Related Articles

Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020

Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next
MLM
MLMBrisbane
  • 16 reviews
  • 7 likes

Does as expected

published

I had a Breville sandwich press before this and that lasted over 10 years. Decided to bite the bullet and go with another Breville. Not disappointed at all. It toasts both open faced sandwiches as well as normal sandwiches. Doesn't take too long to warm up either. The non-stick makes it easy to clean up after but I do clean after every use. Been 3 years now and can't complain.

Purchased in July 2017.

Incentivised Review No
Dham P.
Dham P.Sydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews

Wonderful machine, does the job quickly and efficiently

published

I use it to make sandwiches with a filling and grilled cheese . Feels heavy and well built as opposed to a cheapie Kmart sandwich maker. It is super quick to heat and makes nice crispy sandwich if you leave the sandwich there for sometime as the machine goes on for it's heating up on/off cycles. Non stick coating is excellent and it is easy to clean.

Incentivised Review No
lebron720
lebron720Sydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 60 reviews
  • 27 likes

Great 2 slice sandwich press

published

Very happy with this purchase. It's compact and light so I can easily pick it up and store it away in the cupboard. It is very quick to heat up and my toasties are done before I've made my coffee. The browning is even on the sandwiches, which is what I like. Quick and easy if you also want to cook your steaks on it too. Very simple to clean. Wish they made the exterior so your fingerprints didn't appear all over it but that's my only issue. Otherwise it also has the adjustable height which many of the cheaper ones don't have. So far so good.

Purchased in January 2020 at Bing Lee Physical store for $45.00.

Incentivised Review No
annazianna
annaziannaGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 43 reviews
  • 8 likes

Excellent sandwich press

published

This item is great and has lasted over two years already which unfortunately considering the crappy quality of manufacturing today and also serious issues I've had with other Breville products is doing very well. No complaints, it does what it is supposed to and it does it well.

Incentivised Review No
Sandwich Presses

Find out how Breville Toast & Melt compares to other Sandwich Presses

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Andrew Nguyen
Andrew NguyenPerth, WA
  • 64 reviews
  • 18 likes

Perfect combo: toast and melt

published

Loved the adjustable height for the sandwiches press. The heating is faster then our previous Sunbeam. I like the cord wrap in the middle (underneath) the appliance, however the cord is a bit short. Not sure if longevity but for now I loved the ideas of toast and melt in one.

Purchased in November 2019.

Incentivised Review No
Cassandra
CassandraIllawarra, NSW
  • 16 reviews
  • 7 likes

Open Grill function doesn't work well

published

It makes great toasted sandwiches ,but annoyingly if you want to make more than one (and I find making 2 at a time means one of them won't be cooked properly) you have to turn the machine off and totally let it cool down or the ready light will display early and the second sandwich will not be toasted properly ! The open grill never worked well and after 2 years it is even worse . The ready light turns on well before the cheese is melted on your muffin meaning you have to turn it off and cool the machine half way through cooking and then turn it on again and try again. I have had to do this 3 times just to get the muffin I wanted for lunch done and I'm done with this Breville now !!!

Purchased in February 2017 at David Jones for $59.00.

Incentivised Review No
faerydoc
faerydocGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great little machine

published

Just needed a small but good sandwich maker - this is a small one but more than big enough for me. Heats quickly and cooks evenly. Has two non-stick flat plates that are easy to clean. Very happy.

Purchased in August 2019 at The Good Guys for $55.00.

Incentivised Review No
Tess
TessMurray Region, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Every home should have one

published

Have one for 7 years, going strong. Sandwiches, melts, cooking bacon or chicken strips is great. Plates are getting a little worn,time for a new one. Well used and loved.

Purchased in April 2012.

Incentivised Review No
Coops
CoopsHobart, TAS
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Great sandwich maker

published

Replaced another breville grill model which was years old. Happy with the new product, easy to toast anything, cleans easily by wiping and 4 slice makes it easier for larger items.

Purchased in January 2019 at The Good Guys Online store for $64.00.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

gizmo7
gizmo7Southwest, VIC
  • 17 reviews
  • 12 likes

Does what it says on the box.

published

Purchased in December 2018 at The Good Guys for $67.50.

Incentivised Review No
Sandwich Presses

Find out how Breville Toast & Melt compares to other Sandwich Presses

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read more reviews - page 2

Questions & Answers

jane
janeasked
Toast & Melt

does this model have different a non stick surface from the Breville Maxi Press?

No answers
fiwi
fiwiasked
Toast & Melt

does the outside get too hot to touch? we had to throw out a different brand because the outside was so hot that it burnt my kids hand.

No answers
Chetwin L.
Chetwin L.asked
Toast & Melt BSG540 (4 Slice)

How hot can this get to

1 answer
Sam
Sam

Hot enough to toast bread and melt the cheese inside

See all Breville Toast & Melt questions

Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

Breville Toast & Melt

Details

Features

  • An adjustable grill height lets you lift the floating top plate so it sits a little higher to make space for open melts. Securing the lid at a taller height also has a ‘Crush Control’ function, which stops soft wraps from being crushed and bursting open.
  • Made with a brushed stainless steel and heavy duty die cast arms, which are solid and long lasting.
  • A titanium-infused non-stick coating allows for easy cleaning after the appliance has cooled down.
  • The Breville Toast & Melt is available in a compact, 2-sandwich option ($69.95), a larger option to make 2 larger sandwiches ($99.95), and an extra-large version, which can fit 4 sandwiches ($119.95).

Points of praise

  • According to reviewers, the Breville Toast & Melt cooks food evenly, thanks to even heat distribution. The appliance warms up quickly and efficiently, making sandwiches that are crispy and well-melted, without burning them.
  • This Breville sandwich press is designed with a sturdy construction, and has a heaviness that is different from cheaper sandwich makers, like those from Kmart and ALDI. It often lasts for several years, with reviewers having them for 5 years and longer; and in one case for 18 years and still going strong.
  • It presses slices of bread together to make it toastie-worthy, but doesn’t squash them.
  • This toastie maker is easy to clean, thanks to the non-stick coating.

Something to consider

The lack of a thermostat to set the desired temperature was viewed as a downside by some reviewers; although just a minor one.

Compare all 3 Breville Toast & Melt
CategorySandwich PressesSandwich PressesSandwich Presses
Price (RRP) $99.95$119.95$69.95
Sandwich Capacity
Plate StyleFlatFlatFlat
Non-Stick CoatingYesYesYes
Dimensions 125 x 329 x 304 mm125 x 380 x 380 mm96 x 314 x 258 mm
Power2,000 W2,200 W2,000 W
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)1 year(s)1 year(s)
Colour / FinishBrushed Stainless SteelBrushed Stainless SteeBrushed Stainless Steel
Release dateDec 2009Dec 2009Dec 2009
Compare all 3 Breville Toast & Melt

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.