??!
2 photos
Sunbeam FoodSaver VS7850

Sunbeam FoodSaver VS7850

MPN: VS7850
4.8 from 45 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
37
4 star
8
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Mortishia

MortishiaMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 48 reviews
  • 2 likes

A must for all kitchens

published

So, I read reviews on this product before replacing my old food saver. I’ve always said that a brand name does make a difference and here I agree. The Sunbeam VS7850 may be a little bulky but I feel there’s a reason for this. You can store your roll in the unit. When needed, lift the cover to bring roll to sealing line, seal then pull to desired length. Using the cutting slide, cut then removed bag and put to use. Simply followed by vacuum sealing. The use of pump takes a little getting used to. Unfortunately, the price of the bags you don’t want to make too many errors.
Overall, I found the Sunbeam food saver a better improvement to what I previously owned.

Purchased in August 2019 at Costco for $127.99.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Jo Bevan

Jo BevanMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 35 reviews

Every Kitchen Should Have One!

published
  • +1

Purchased in July 2019.

2 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Jo Bevan
Thank you for the great review! Your information is fantastic for us and other readers. I will be passing this onto our product manager whom will be delighted. Thanks again Jo,
Sunbeam

Jo Bevan
Jo Bevan
xavibear

xavibearSYDNEY

  • 14 reviews
  • 12 likes

Lowered my grocery bill!

published
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi xavibear
Thanks so much for the great review! We definitely agree with you. Fresher food for longer entices people to eat more healthier foods.
Kind regards Sunbeam

Lightness

LightnessCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 15 reviews
  • 11 likes

Intelligently designed kitchen helper

published

This is an intelligently designed device that will save time, energy and food waste and it is wonderful for the environment. The reason I have given it four stars is because the instructions are pedantic, a little confusing and difficult to follow. It took a while to work out exactly where to place the plastic roll when sealing. Green markers on the spot would make a difference. Having said that, it is a small issue because this product will truly make a difference to families of all sizes who need to store food. It has been a welcomed addition to my kitchen.

Purchased in July 2019 at Gift.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Lightness,
Thanks for the great review! Well noted on the instructions. I have passed this feedback onto our product manager.


TTZ

TTZSouth Australia

  • 21 reviews
  • 18 likes

Food gets put into a time warp

published

Purchased in July 2019.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Tina Z.
Thanks so much for the great review. Enjoy!
Kind regards, Sunbeam


Denis

DenisFairfield

  • 14 reviews
  • 43 likes

Keep it on the counter to use every day!

published
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Denis,
Can't thank you enough for your time, thanks for reviewing.


ganstar

ganstarBris

  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

Perfect Product Name!

published

Purchased in July 2019.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

DamoonTwo

DamoonTwoWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 21 reviews
  • 12 likes

Great time and money saver ........a master appliance

published

Purchased in June 2019.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Damoon Two,
Thank you so much for this review.! Enjoy.
Kind Regards, Sunbeam

GrahamMac

GrahamMacSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 31 reviews

Great food saver and time efficient wonder for pre-prepping meals

published
  • +1
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi GrahamMac
Thanks for the great review! We really appreciate your time and effort. Now many more people will be able to follow suit. Kind Regards, Sunbeam

David

DavidSunshine Coast

  • 22 reviews
  • 1 like

A brilliant little machine

published
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi David,
Thank you so much for the great review! Your feedback is very informative to us and also the public. I will pass this on to our product manager, including the cost of the containers. Enjoy - Kind Regards, Sunbeam


Adelia

Adelia

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

I never knew that I needed a vacuum sealer until I owned this and now I can't live without it!

published
  • +1

Purchased in July 2019.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Adelia,
Very informative for all our customers, thank you...


sherri

sherriVic, 3802

  • 154 reviews
  • 1 like

Really easy to use, wonderful for preserving food quality if you freeze a lot

published

Purchased in July 2019.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Thanks Sherri, we appreciate your review


Simone

SimoneSydney

  • 9 reviews

Fantastic - must have item for the kitchen!

published

I’m a new mum and before getting this found it so difficult to eat healthy meals. Now I food prep and portion my food for the week using the Foodsaver. It’s so easy to use and is a really high quality product. In the long run I’ll save money because now I have zero wastage and my food is fresh and delicious, I don’t have a large freezer to stash meals so this is a great alternative. I would 100% recommend this item.

The only very minor negative which may need to be considered is storage because it’s quite a bulky item, which logically it has to be to be able to wrap larger foods/quantities but if you have very limited kitchen space and storage this is something to keep in mind. Other than this tiny point it’s absolutely brilliant. 10/10!

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Simone,
Thank you for the great review. I have also passed on your feedback with the size for storage. Kind Regards, Sunbeam


Workingmum

WorkingmumSouth West, WA

  • 12 reviews
  • 17 likes

Very useful for freezing products, bulky but worthwhile

published
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Workingmum,
Thank you for the great review. Your feedback on the cons are definitely noted and have been passed on to our product manager. Kind Regards, Sunbeam

drew76

drew76Perth, WA

  • 8 reviews
  • 15 likes

Use it all the time and you'll save money in the long run despite a few minor gripes.

published
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Thanks drew76 for the fabulous review!!

Kev H

Kev HMid North Coast, NSW

  • 29 reviews
  • 23 likes

Helps reduce food spoilage & wastage.

published

Purchased in June 2019.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Richard

RichardGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 23 reviews
  • 19 likes

Nice to see good Design in a product

published

Purchased in June 2019.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Richard,
Thanks for the great review! Any questions - please call us on 1300 881 861.
Kind Regards, Sunbeam


Sam49

Sam49SYDNEY

  • 34 reviews

Taking care of business!

published

Purchased in July 2019.

2 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Sam49,
Thank you for your great feedback and hints of trouble shooting some points. This is helpful to both Sunbeam and other customers. All of this is definitely taken on board and passed onto to our product manager. Kind Regards, Sunbeam.

Sam49
Sam49

Thank you to Sunbeam for participating in this Ambassador Review program and being open to dynamic and hopefully [to a degree], proactive feedback. Always happy to offer analysis on any Sunbeam product.


DavidH9000

DavidH9000Mid North Coast, NSW

  • 26 reviews

The gold standard in food storage.

published

Purchased in July 2019.

3 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi DavidH9000,
Thank you for reviewing, very informative and helpful to others...

DavidH9000
DavidH9000

My pleasure. It is a really brilliant product.

Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Thank you very much!


thubleau2

thubleau2Hunter Region, NSW

  • 38 reviews

Almost perfect but Not Quite

published
  • +1

Purchased in June 2019.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Thank you for that absolutely wonderful review!!!!


Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

DomB

DomBasked

Hi, I am looking at getting this machine. I will be using it to vacuum seal a lot of fish and other meats. I have a 500kg steer which I will be looking to butcher shortly and want to make sure this unit will be able to keep up. I see the GameSaver model states it can complete 50+ consecutive vacuum seals, however, I cannot see anything for this model. I would prefer the stainless steel model opposed to the plastic GameSaver as well as there isn't very many reviews on the GameSaver model. Can you please provide insight to this machine being capable to vacuum sealing consecutive bags for a period of time, or be capable of vacuum sealing a whole beast. Thank you in advance

4 answers
sherri
sherri

I can't answer your question about how well it would perform to vacuum seal a whole beast as I haven't had to do that much. But I can tell you there is a suggested time lapse between seals. It is only a matter of a few seconds. I forget exactly how many, maybe 20? Would have to look it up. I think you could complete a number of seals. I did with mine. But I am not sure about 50 in a row, you might need to give it a bit of a rest so it doesn't overheat.

DomB
DomB

Thank you Sherri for your fast reply. I did see there is a 20second time between seals and I am happy with that. Just would like to know if I should be trying to find a more suited vacuum sealer or if this would suffice. Thanks again :)

Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Dom B,
Thank you for contacting Sunbeam. Our FoodSaver units are quite powerful little units, however for a whole carcass, it will take longer than usual. These units are in general 120-130W only. Best to look at a vac sealer that is more a commercial power. Kind Regards Sunbeam


Louise James

Louise Jamesasked

What would be the longest fish /fish fillet you could do with the VS7850 and also with the game changer model?
Thanks Louise

3 answers
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Louise James,
The wider rolls are 28 cm wide but if you go lengthways then it would not matter how long as you cut to fit.

Louise James
Louise James

Thank you

Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Louise,
There is also FoodSaver roll 28cm (when wound on roll)- VS0530 - Expandable. Like a gusset style that widens up to 40cm wide. for the wider catch. Check it out on www.sunbeam.com.au Hope this helps, Kind regards Sunbeam.


Steven H.

Steven H.asked

Hey Sunny B,
I want to grab this machine but I have concerns around the bags. Can the machine work with other bags or will it only work with your bags. where can your bags be pickup

Cheers
Steve

4 answers
stevei
stevei

Hey Steven, I've got this machine and I reckon it'll work with any bags the same dimension as the Foodsaver originals. I'm going to try some cheaper versions next time I need bags to see how they go.

Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Steven H.
Thank you for contacting Sunbeam. FoodSaver bags are the only ones we recommend to use. Main reason being is the bags and other accessories are designed specifically for the FoodSaver brand units - temperature, size and pump capacity wise.
Kind Regards,
Sunbeam

Steven H.
Steven H.

Thanks Stevei,

Thanks Sunny B the response i expected lol cheers anyway


Get an answer from our members and Sunbeam representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.