??!
3 photos
Sunbeam Big Fill Toastie GR6450

Sunbeam Big Fill Toastie GR6450

MPN: GR6450
3.3 from 11 reviews

Reviews

(4)
(1)
(2)
(2)
(2)
  • Even Toasting Yes (1) · No (0)
  • Incentivised Review Yes (0%) · No (100%)
  • Build Quality
    2.5 (2)
  • Value for Money
    3.5 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.0 (2)

Tuncay I.

Tuncay I.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Pretty happy with it

published

We use all sorts of slice bread and the toaster is able to press them together pretty easily. Less oozing eg cheese from the sides because the pockets are significantly bigger letting the ingredients sit inside.

My only gripe is the 12 month warranty by Sunbeam, something like a 2 year warranty should be more appropriate and would show that the company stands by it's products.

Purchased in May 2019 at Big W Retail Stores for $39.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Tuncay I.
Thanks for the great review! While we cannot change the warranty period we can usually still assist within a certain time frame after the warranty has expired.


Amelia C.

Amelia C.Sydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Was amazing, then the handle broke

published

We purchased our Big Fill Toastie make in June 2017 and loved it. It did amazingly well and handled everything we put it in from Reubens to cheese toasties. We loved the capacity and it was going so well.... Until last night when closing the lid and squeezing the two handles together. the bottom handle broke and we are quite upset. There is only a 12 month warranty and we expected longer out of such a good product considering we only use it once or twice a month at most.

Purchased in June 2017 at Myer Online Store for $49.95.

3 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Amelia,
So sorry to hear of your experience with your GR6450. We do value your feedback and I will be sure to pass this onto our product team.

Amelia C.
Amelia C.

Hi, that is an incredibly disappointing response. Why did Doug (the review below mine) receive a replacement after he had his a few years, whilst we only had ours less than 2 years?

Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Amelia,
Please email your purchase receipt to customercare@sunbeam.com.au - attn: Clare. Please also include your address and contact details.

Doug

DougNSW

  • 6 reviews

Broken handle

published

I’ve only had this toastie maker a few years, with very minimal use, and it’s broken already. I put 4 cheese sandwiches in to cook, went to squeeze the two handles together to close the clip and the bottom handle completely snapped. Looks like the plastic handles can’t handle the heat and become brittle. Very disappointed and would think twice about purchasing Sunbeam again.

Purchased in January 2017 at The Good Guys for $69.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
4 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Doug,
Sorry to hear of your experience with your GR6450. Please call us on 1300 881 861 as we would love to assist you with this.

Doug
Doug
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Doug,
Thank you for your response. We were very happy to assist!

jess24

jess24melbourne

  • 8 reviews

Perfect!! Love it

published

Such a fantastic sandwich maker!! Heats up extremely fast! Fits a range of filing it and very easy to clean purchased at Harvey Norman on special! If your looking for a Awesome Jaffle marker this is it and very compact in size for easy storage now I will be making regular dinner jaffles.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Designed too big! Depth is great! Width is a Fail!

published

Have just read the reviews below and agree, there is not a loaf of bread out there big enough! I get where sunbeam were going with the deep design but to make the width bigger also was a fail! The sandwich can't deal this not holding the 'extra' filling in! I believe the actual quality of the product is great but the design size is the let down! Can't see any bread brand option that actually lets this toaster do it's job properly.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
1 comment
Dee
Dee

Oops I made an error...the sandwich can't SEAL thus NOT holding the extra filling in!!!


Julia

Julia

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified purchase

Terrible!! 3 loaves tried bread doesn't fit!!

published

I can't believe Sunbeam released this with such a massive design flaw at a high end price. I tried this out and I'm instantly regretting this purchase TRIED THREE DIFFERENT BREAD LOAFS NONE OF THEM EVEN NEARLY FIT SO THEY DONT SEAL FILLING POURS OUT OF EDGES!! Can I get a refund after I've used it?!

Date PurchasedApr 2017

sunnyj

sunnyjMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 3 reviews

Diappointed

published

I was just given the Big Fill Toastie as a present. I am very disappointed, which is an understatement!
The bread does not brown or go crispy and I have left the sandwiches in the maker for nearly 10 minutes!
If I had bought this myself I would be returning it!
Will go back to using my old Kambrook.

Date PurchasedNov 2016

Greg

Greg

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Deep pockets, better than others

published

We are not fans of scissor jaffle makers because the filling usually end up squashed out and there is not enough in the middle of the finished product. Not so with this Sunbeam, as the pockets are the deepest we have seen and the finished jaffle has minimal edges and maximum filling. We even made apple pies in it, using pastry and filling, and these turned out as yummy as other results. The best jaffle maker we have had, and there have been a few over the years.

Johan

Johan

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Best sandwich press

published

This is the best sandwich press I have owned. I like my sandwiches to have lots of filling and this one works perfectly. I use a baking paper while toasting my sandwiches to keep it clean. If required, I then brown my sandwiches in a pan. Seems like a lot of work but it keeps the sandwich press clean.

MY OPINION

MY OPINIONVictoria

  • 10 reviews
  • 9 likes

Not happy!

published

I HATE this Jaffle maker. I had an original Breville one, but when the cord started to fray after 30 years, I thought I better get a new one! Well good luck finding a loaf of bread with big enough slices to fit! Even with the biggest slices I could find they fall short, causing the edges not to seal properly, therefore you just get slop on toast!! Also the bread just doesn't toast up nice and crispy like my old one did, no matter how long it stays in there for. So, if anyone wants to buy one, contact me cos I have a near new one in the cupboard!


MsPink

MsPinkNorth-West & West coast, TAS

  • 8 reviews

Best sandwich toaster ever!

published

Questions & Answers

Julie Northern Beaches

Julie Northern Beachesasked

I have this Sandwich Maker Big Fill Toastie, and I am greatly dissapointed in it, I have had several sandwich makers all have performed well, but whatever bread or fill I place in the sandwich maker, it always comes out soggie and sticks to the non stick plate, my sandwich maker of years ago performs far better, so annoying. Thanking you in advance to answer my queries, should I be doing anything wrong. Julie Lynn

1 answer
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Julie Northern Beaches,
Thank you for contacting Sunbeam. You can use grease proof or baking paper in addition, however it should not be necessary all the time. It will depend on each filling too as to how soggy the bread will get. If you have kept your receipt and it was purchased in the last 12 mths, please return it to the store.


davis1957

davis1957asked

How do you use it with raw egg please? Would love an egg and bacon toastie.

2 answers
MY OPINION
MY OPINION

Yes! You can crack the egg in the centre of the bread and place next slice on top then close lid gently, OR if it slices across the centre, you can use smaller sized eggs and crack one on each side! Oh...and don't forget to put a slice of cheese under the egg!! : )

davis1957
davis1957

Thank you for answering the question. Can't wait to try it.


Pay Pay Lee

Pay Pay Leeasked

My concern; is there a bread that fits this? I bought something before had trouble finding bread that fits. Which brand of bread do you all use?

4 answers
MY OPINION
MY OPINION

Hi there. That is the reason why I can't use it any more... I can't find bread to fit it, and believe me I've tried every brand of large slice bread! It just wouldn't seal the edges. I ended up buying a far less expensive Tiffany sandwich maker brand that makes four at once and it is HEAPS better! I got mine on line at Billy Guyatts for about $30. You can also try Bourne Electrics. Hope this helps : )

Abs
Abs

I used this machine at my mum's house yesterday. I made two batches and they all worked perfectly with no filling leaking out at all. I used Abbots bread so I suppose helgas would also fit

Greg
Greg

We used supermarket packaged bread. All work OK. We are in WA.


Get an answer from our members and Sunbeam representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.