??!
2 photos
Sunbeam Long Slot Toaster TA4520

Sunbeam Long Slot Toaster TA4520

MPN: TA4520
2.6 from 28 reviews

Reviews

2.6

28 reviews
5
(2)
4
(8)
3
(2)
2
(8)
1
(8)
  • Build Quality
    2.5 (4)
  • Value for Money
    1.5 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.5 (4)
  • Even Toasting Yes (1) · No (2)
Previous
Next
ssal8

ssal8QLD, 4559

  • 10 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Waste of time & money!

published

Just wanted a basic toaster. This toaster only toasted one side. A “lemon”?
So annoying. So much for the claim on the box -“Tested to the limit”. “ Designed & engineered in Australia”
Poor quality control! Who pays for my time and petrol to drive all the back to the store for a refund. Should have read the reviews here before hand. Lesson learnt!

Purchased in March 2020 at Joyce Mayne for A$45.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam
CDAussie

CDAussieNortheast, VIC

  • 25 reviews

Rubbish product, DON'T BUT IT.

published

Purchased from Target. Awful toasting coverage, needed up to 3 toasts to actually toast something. Return spring would frequently throw the bread onto the bench or floor. Returned it and bought a Target toaster which is a big improvement.

Purchased in March 2019 for A$37.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting No
See all answers
Lyn W

Lyn WGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Uneven toasting

published

I bought this toaster today when I returned another brand that did not toast evenly. Used Lawson's bread. Popped it on, turned knob to 3, waited til it popped up. Result was no better than the brand I returned, one side beautiful, other side almost still 'bread.' I don't seem to be able to find a reasonable long slot toaster that will toast evenly. So disappointed, I will go back to my cheap 'normal' toaster, and when I have Lawson's bread, continue to cut it in half and use the 2 slots to toast.

Purchased in August 2019 at Big W for A$59.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting No
See all answers
Toasters

Find out how Sunbeam Long Slot Toaster TA4520 compares to other Toasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ashleigh J.

Ashleigh J.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Broke after a year and a half

published

This toaster broke after only a year and a half - it also tripped out my electricity when it died. When it was working, it worked well. It lightly toasted my bread on the 1st setting which was perfect. Its stylish and looks good on the counter. It also has a handy removable piece down the bottom to help get rid of the inevitable crumbs. My only concern is that it is not as durable as expected, especially considering that it only gets used about once a week.

Purchased in September 2017 for A$47.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Ashleigh J,
Sorry to hear of your experience with your toaster. Please call us on 1300 881 861 and we can assist you further.

Amy

Amysydney

  • 3 reviews

A decent toaster for everyday use

published

I have had this toaster for quite a while now, so I will complement it on it's high level of durability. It toasts the bread and does the job quite well. However, only downside is that the toast does not cook uniformly (especially if toasting high-top bread) as it requires constant flipping over since it browns only on one side. It also burns easily so ensure you put it on the first setting. But overall, decent toaster for daily use.

Date PurchasedJul 2018

Long slot toaster-false advertising and poor customer service

published

I ordered a Sunbeam long slot 2 slice toaster because I bake my own bread & the slices are larger than store bought bread. The slots of our old, standard toaster are 17cm long & the slots on this 'long slot' toaster are only 14.5cm long. I am very disappointed in this product as it is not what I thought I was purchasing and does not live up to the advertising. I contacted Sunbeam about it and although they acknowledged receipt of my email, there was no follow up to discuss the problem. False advertising & poor customer service.

Date PurchasedNov 2018
mike155

mike155Illawarra, NSW

  • 4 reviews

did not even colour one side

published

I Looked at choice magazine , and their rating for sunbeam Quantum plus 4 slice toaster TA2340 even toasting one slice 65% tried , several times! burned the edges did not toast the bread, returned to Target . Then purchased sunbeam long slot 2 slice toaster TA4520 in Campbelltown Big W Choice rating one slice 65% did not even colour one side I thought surely a sunbeam $49 toaster can not be this bad, so returned it and got another from Mittagong Big W just as bad so returned that one , now have no faith in Sunbeam , I should add the $12 abode toaster lasted 5 years and toasted one slice perfectly, still waiting to hear back from sunbeam on their QA

Date PurchasedSep 2018
Ronikins

RonikinsNambour

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Pretty good toaster

published

We've mostly only had budget toasters in our house so this one was a cut above the others for the price. Have found it to be very consistent and produces a fairly uniform piece of toast. The slots are definitely wider and longer than most of the cheaper toasters but sometimes could be a little longer still. The finish is good and it's relatively easy to keep clean. Only paid $40 so have found it pretty good value for the money.

Date PurchasedJul 2016
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Thanks for the positive review Ronikins!

duke

dukesydney

Rubbish one star is to many really but won't post unless I award

published

I bought this toaster from 2nds world and have had it for a few years, but it has now stopped working. It has a lock screw on it so i can't repair. Very disappointed. Older toasters seemed to last forever. I feel a victim of poor workmanship and service. Unfortunately I no longer have the receipt.

Date PurchasedFeb 2016
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Duke, so sorry you found the life span of this toaster to be relatively short....this particular one was designed without the facility to replace the elements due to the cost of possible repair.

Toasters

Find out how Sunbeam Long Slot Toaster TA4520 compares to other Toasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Unhappy customer

Unhappy customerSydney Surrounds, NSW

Not long slot at all!!

published

Ordered this online as it said it was a 2 slice toaster "with long slots for a variety of bread types". How misleading is that. If you scan down on their own website specifications it says "slot size: standard". Now how's that for telling the customer the truth? We want our money back. Buyer beware.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Unhappy customer, sorry to hear this toaster did not meet your expectations. We have sent you a PM with a few options for you.

Nick

NickByron Bay

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Good

published

I have had the two slice toaster for 10 months and I am happy with the result, good price and works fine. The first few times there was a bit of a funny smell, but nothing massive and it has happened me before when purchasing new toasters, so, not a drama.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
sukanya

sukanyaMELBOURNE

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good

published

I have been using this sunbeam toaster for the past one month, it was good. But when im using for the first couple of times the toast smells like burnt wire. Then after 3 to 4 times of usage it went away. I wont recommend this product to anyone. Im planning to buy new one.

Date PurchasedNov 2017

Generally worked well, but broke just after warranty ran out!

published

Generally worked efficiently and toasted the toast fine. 12 month warranty and toaster broke at 18 months old. Lever wan't stay down. Probably a fault with the timer sensor, but unable to be fixed. My family have always had Sunbeam toasters and they usually were built well and lasted. This one is flimsily made, died young, and repairer said it is not worth fixing. Stupid disposable economy. Will be changing brands!

Date PurchasedJun 2017
Beagle

Beagle

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Burnt one side

published
Date PurchasedMay 2016
Julie J

Julie JSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 10 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great at the price

published

The sunbeam Long Slot Toaster is good value for money at around $49 for a toaster that fits four slices. Many others in this category are much more expensive. Toast fits 4 slices comfortably, and toasts quickly Highly recommend. Stainless steel looks good. Lots of settings. Easy to use. Easy to clean.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Toasters

Find out how Sunbeam Long Slot Toaster TA4520 compares to other Toasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
jvdv01

jvdv01

  • 8 reviews

Disappointing

published

After having read in Choice magazine that this toaster was rated as good I decided at $49.00 it would do the job - but I should have checked the online reviews also. The toaster, even on the darkest level (6) will not produce a well toasted slice of bread and also doesn't toast evenly on both sides.

At $49.00 we should expect a toaster, a basic toaster, to do the job. I may have been better going to K-Mart and getting one of their $10.00 jobs!

No more Sunbeam products for this household.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
nikhild

nikhild

  • 21 reviews
  • 7 likes

Works great and has a couple of features

published

The ability to check how much the bread has been toasted is worth noting. Also there’s a neat tray that can be cleaned. The silver outlook does not feel cheap. toasting function is standard. Somewhat long in length compared to standard ones. Happy with purchase. It was on sale at the Good Guys. No complaints.

Date PurchasedOct 2016
holidaymaker

holidaymakerAU

  • 15 reviews
  • 11 likes

Only toasts one side of the bread

published

I purchased this toaster because my old toaster (not a Sunbeam) only toasted one side of the bread and I had to remove the half toasted bread, turn it around and cook it again. Well sadly this new toaster does exactly the same thing. Is there a toaster out there that toasts both sides of the bread?

Date PurchasedApr 2017
I.L.

I.L.perth

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Pretty average

published
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Rhyll

RhyllBrisbane

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

50 shades of brown

published
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Bob

Bobasked

Does this model have features to enable even toasting of crumpets.

1 answer
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello Bob,
Yes, this toaster does have High Lift Levers so that Crumpets & muffins can be removed easily.
Have a look on our website to see more about the toaster: https://www.sunbeam.com.au/Long-Slot-Toaster-2-Slice-1.aspx
Manual found here: https://www.sunbeam.com.au/Root/Specifications/InstructionBooklet/TA4520_ib_1.pdf

Bob

Bobasked

Does this toaster cook crumpets.

If it does cook them are toasted evenly

1 answer
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello Bob,
Yes, this toaster does have High Lift Levers so that Crumpets & muffins can be removed easily.
Have a look on our website to see more about the toaster: https://www.sunbeam.com.au/Long-Slot-Toaster-2-Slice-1.aspx
Manual found here: https://www.sunbeam.com.au/Root/Specifications/InstructionBooklet/TA4520_ib_1.pdf

Get an answer from our members and Sunbeam representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.