??!
1 photo
Sunbeam Maestro KE6451

Sunbeam Maestro KE6451

MPN: SNB-KE6451
2.2 from 27 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
3
4 star
3
3 star
3
2 star
5
1 star
13

Ewokk

EwokkGisborne

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Disappointing

published

Disappointed with this kettle. It was not 'quiet' by any means.
The lid also had a habit of getting stuck so you be forced pry it open to fill it.
And lid also ended up with a crack through it. For the price you pay for this kettle you'd expect it be a lot better.

Purchased in September 2018 for $79.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Ewokk,
So sorry to hear of this. We will be advising our product manager of this. Please return the KE6451 to the store of purchase along with your receipt. Kind Regards, Sunbeam


Jen W

Jen WGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Lid wont open, now useless. Replacement for kettle where handle had broken away from kettle.

published

This kettle has a button to flip open the lid. The button function stopped working after 6 months. I have to open it with my fingernail which is dangerous if the kettle is still hot from previous use.

Purchased in January 2019 at Sunbeam Australia.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
3 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Jen W,
Sorry this has happened, please return to store for a replacement.

Jen W
Jen W

Thank you but I cannot return to the store as this was a replacement for a kettle whose handle had partly broken off.

Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Jen W,
Please contact Sunbeam on 1300 881 861 for further assistance. Kind Regards, Sunbeam

Liz E

Liz EGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

This kettle sucks

published

This kettle sucks, it doesn't turn off when the water is boiling and will continue boiling and boiling so there's steam everywhere and the water bubbles up and goes all over the benchtop. It's pretty dangerous and seems like a lot of other people have this problem. We will be returning it.

It otherwise seems ok, it's quiet until it boils but then gets really noisy because it won't switch off.
It seems like Sunbeam should do a product recall. If you forget you've put the kettle on it could cause a fire if all the water boils off and the element just keeps heating.

I would not recommend anyone purchase this product.

Purchased in June 2019 at The Good Guys for $79.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Liz, E,
Sorry to hear of this issue with you KE6451. All feedback is passed on to our product team. Please do return this to the store of purchase. Kind regards Sunbeam.

Disappointed

DisappointedIllawarra, NSW

Loudest Kettle

published

We purchased this kettle some time ago to replace a Kambrook kettle that was quiet noisy. Decided to spend a little extra money rather than buying cheap. Very disappointed to find the kettle is louder than the old one. We have an open plan living dining area and have to turn the volume up on the TV when the kettle is on. It is now stored in the back of the cupboard and the old Kambrook kettle is in its place.

Purchased in January 2018.

3 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Disappointed,
Thank you for contacting Sunbeam and for the feedback. If you have your purchase receipt please call us on 1300 881 861 and we will assist further.
Kind Regards, Sunbeam

Disappointed
Disappointed

I am very impressed with Sunbeam’s customer service. Thank you. I have other sunbeam appliances and have had no issues. I will continue to purchase the products

Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Disappointed,
Thank you very much, we appreciate your reviews


sparkygirl

sparkygirlAU

  • 9 reviews

Disappointing

published

I really want to like this kettle because it looks great, but it has 2 major design flaws. The first is that the water level indicator is under the handle of the jug which means that you can't see the indicator when filling the jug, making it totally impractical. I have to open the lid to see how much water I'm putting in. The second is the lid itself - the condensation or something seems to make it stick, and you usually have to press the lid button several times to get it to open.

Purchased in February 2019.

2 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam
sparkygirl
sparkygirl

Will do - thank you for your quick response. :)


David S

David SSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Ok but could be a lot better

published

Pro's:
Pours well no drips
Handle comfortable when pouring
Books 2 cups of water in 2 minutes
Cons:
It's a touch quieter than the Kambrook kettle it replaced, but to call it 'quiet' is a real stretch!
The 'look through' top gets condensation when the kettle boils, and you can't see inside.
The water level view window appears tinted, and it is very difficult to tell how much water there is in the kettle. Being located behind the handle just increases the difficulty (although you buy the kettle knowing it's location).
In Summary, it's not quiet (so just a marketing ploy) but the difficulty in knowing to what level you have filled the kettle really bugs me.

Purchased in March 2019 for $79.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi David S,
Thank you for your feedback. I will be sure to pass this onto our design and technology teams.


spike0108

spike0108Sydney

  • 13 reviews
  • 6 likes

Quiet to the Sunbeam management is not quiet at all...

published

$90 fro David Jones Hornsby on 9/12/18. Sold to me as a quiet kettle with special perforations built into the base of the unit to facilitate this function. It clearly doesn't work!
Would not recommenced this product if this is the feature you are after. The kettle works fine for boiling water. I feel ripped off.


Definitely not whisper quiet!

published

Bought this kettle on the basis of the claims on the box that it was guaranteed to be quiet. It is the noisiest kettle I have ever heard. If the box hadn't stated it was meant to be especially quiet I would have been less upset. I honestly don't understand how Sunbeam could have thought it was remotely quiet. If it wasn't for the noise it would be a good kettle. It does boil water fast.

Date PurchasedJul 2018
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Yvy,
Sorry to hear that. The kettle has a silencer to reduce the noise factor. Maybe you should return this to store to check it out.

Kiwi

KiwiSydney, NSW

It quieter than any other kettle! I’ve owned! (it’s not silent)

published

Had quite a few kettles in the last 15 years, they all seem last a shorter time....
Had the Sunbeam Maestro for a couple of months - and I like it.
I listen to podcast news every morning and the noise of the kettle has been an issues for over 10 years!
This is the quietest kettle I have owned.
It’s not silent - but the mesh on the base does seem to reduce the boil noise.
It’s quick to boil, and does not beep.
Fully SS is good.
I’m happy!

Date PurchasedOct 2018
2 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Thanks for the great review Kiwi.

Kiwi
Kiwi

The lid on this kettle is now sticking shut...this is a problem, I will need to find the receipt and return it :-(

Noisiest kettle!

published

This is NOT a quiet kettle - louder than any we have owned. I was sadly swayed by the marketing. Not sure if it's faulty, but seems to be complete false advertising. We have a swimmer up at 4.30am most mornings, and he is now reluctant to turn on the kettle for fear of waking others up. Doesn't bode well for Brand trust Sunbeam.

Date PurchasedOct 2018
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Sorry to hear of the issues you are experiencing. Please contact our customer care team on 1300 881 861 for further assistance.


Marilyn C

Marilyn C

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

This is NOT a quiet kettle

published

We purchased this kettle on 6 July 2018 and it has never been quiet. So disappointing when we've been checking kettles because we particularly wanted a quiet kettle, and this is what we got. Why is it called a Quiet Shield when it isn't quiet? I wish I'd checked this website before I purchased it.
The other big problem is that the water level indicator is plastic and small, and so it's very hard to see how much water is in it.
Very disappointed!

Date PurchasedJul 2018
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Marilyn and thanks for the feedback. Please call our customer care team on 1300 881 861 and we would be more than happy to assist.


Hatchet

HatchetWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • 6 likes

Not Happy. Supposed to be a quiet boil. It is the noisiest kettle I have ever owned. I thought after

published

Supposed to be a quiet boil. It is the noisiest kettle I have ever owned. I thought after a few weeks it would settle down but it is getting worse - wakes every one in the house. It is also not a fast boil as advertised, pretty slow actually. I have never purchased a Sunbeam product and will not ever again

Date PurchasedJan 2018
2 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Hatchet,
If the noise is getting worse the kettle may need to be replaced. Please return the kettle to store with your purchase receipt and they will be happy to replace for you.

Hatchet
Hatchet

Can I get a refund to purchase another brand as I am not at all happy with this product?
I have seen many other reviews with the same problem. This kettle is only 7 months old so should not be this bad.


JFo

JFoBaldivis

Boils for excessive time and base goes brown within weeks

published

I bought one of these a couple of months ago within a few weeks interior base started to go brown and the kettle started taking ages to switch off despite boiling vigorously at times not switching off. Assumed faulty returned to store and got a replacement, same thing is happening again, taking it back today, not getting another one.

Date PurchasedMay 2018

Marg N

Marg N

  • 2 reviews

Noisy boil

published

The kettle boils quickly but it is so loud even despite the bubble minimiser. You can't hear anyone talking while it does its stuff. The noisiest kettle I've ever owned. Somewhat disappointed. This is the stainless steel version costing $85 so it is also the most expensive one I've had.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
1 comment
Marg N
Marg N

I took it back to David Jones and they refunded me the cost. No argument. makes you think this was not the first one!

Monica

MonicaSydney, NSW

  • 13 reviews
  • 10 likes

Intermittent problem

published

I bought a Sunbeam Maestro KG6450G which is the glass version of this kettle in January and also have an intermittent problem with it not switching off. Contrary to other reviewers, I found Sunbeam extremely prompt and helpful with their reply. Very happy with the product and will take it back to Harvey Norman for replacement as advised by Sunbeam.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
hig58

hig58buff point

  • 5 reviews

great value

published

We needed a new jug for our kitchen as the old one was cactus. As there are only 2 of us now with the kids moving out.
We found the sunbeam Maestro to be the perfect size for us both.Not only was it a great price & very stylish but we found it
whisper quiet.Which was perfect for when I get up early & don't want to disturb anyone asleep.

Date PurchasedNov 2017

Mazzab

MazzabBrisbane

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Noisiest Kettle I have ever owned and misleading product claim?

published
Date PurchasedMay 2017

Water leakage problem

published

I bought this kettle 4 months ago. It started with minor water leakage at the bottom. Now it became serious. There is a pool of water under the base and table in the morning. I guess when the kettle is cool down and water leaks from the gaps of kettle.

Willrex

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Marian

MarianTaylors Lakes

Its going back

published

Hi Sunbeam, think you do have a common problem. I'm heart broken... I loved this kettle, but now after 2 months, it won't turn off. Its going back, but what I would like to know is if your going to acknowledge that this is a common problem? Do I purchase another and take a punt...as it is definitely quieter than an other SS kettle I've heard.

Date PurchasedSep 2016
1 comment
Marian
Marian

January 2017. No response from Sunbeen but the kettle decided to start turning off again after a few days


Noisiest kettle I've ever owned

published

Only just bought the kettle so can't comment on its durability but the claims of "Quiet Shield" are just ridiculous. I am also a little concerned that the powered base is quite small for the size of the kettle and it does tend to rock a little when boiling - time will tell if this is an issue.

Date PurchasedNov 2016

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Carolyn E

Carolyn Easked

My Sunbeam KE6451 is 12 months old. Can’t locate the receipt. Lid won’t stay down. What can I do please Sunbeam

2 answers
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Carolyn E,
Please call us on 1300 881 861 so we can assist with this.

Carolyn E
Carolyn E

Thank you for replying
I am in NZ and the team here are taking care of me and replacing my jug.
I’m very happy with the service
Thank you
Carolyn


I. Maricich

I. Maricichasked

barely 12 months old wont switch on. this a sunbeam ke6451 electric kettle very noisy like a steam train rumbling down the house, any help?

4 answers
Mazzab
Mazzab

Suggest you and other parties who have commented on this website about this product contact your state consumer affairs as surely this item does not pass the "pub test of fit for purpose"! Seemingly "Mr. Sunbeam" has no intention of addressing your issues nor mine nor those of the numerous other consumers who have contributors to the page on this website. Oh, and when purchasing other small electrical appliances consider boycotting this brand as they are obviousness aware of all the issues with this kettle, but choose to remain silent! Lets talk with our wallet err or credit card!

I. Maricich
I. Maricich

thanks for the feed back i will do as suggested.

hig58
hig58

Take it back from where you brought it.


chrissy1957

chrissy1957asked

hi
I have a quiet boil and I am really upset. As much as I love this kettle as it is a lot quieter than any other kettle I have owned, I took my first one back to Myers not long after purchase as it would not turn off and just kept boiling. No problems as I had my receipt and a replacement was given. Things were great until today just a few months after , this kettle also wont turn off itself. I have been searching hi and low looking for the replacement receipt with no luck so far .Very upset .Has anyone else had this issue or am I just unlucky?

3 answers
Deb
Deb

We haven't had that problem at all. The only thing that is happening now is that sometimes the lid doesn't want to pop up, maybe we are just not pressing the button hard enough. If the water level window was easier to see we wouldn't need to open the lid to fill, we could just fill through the spout without opening the lid.

Sunbeam
Brendan K.Sunbeam

Hi Chrissy.

I do apologise for the experience you have had with the Sunbeam KE6451. Please give our Customer Care team a call on 1300 881 861 and one of our representatives will be more than happy to assist.

Kindest Regards
Sunbeam

Lee
Lee

Hi Chrissy,
Two years later the faulty product hasn't been fixed. I purchased this kettle and absolutely loved it until a week ago when it just stopped turning off. My kettle is less than a year old (Unfortunately I can't find my receipt, so it's turned out to be a very expensive purchase)


Get an answer from our members and Sunbeam representatives

Details

CategoryElectric Kettles
Price (RRP) $99.95
Capacity1.7 L
FeaturesBPA Free and Water Gauge
Variable Temperatures No
Construction Material Stainless Steel
Colour / Finish Stainless Steel
Weight1.61 kg
Power2,400 W
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)

Visit official website - Download manual
  • GTIN13: 9311445022566 and 9311445023891
  • MPN: SNB-KE6451

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.