3 photos
Suzuki V-Strom 1000

Suzuki V-Strom 1000

4.3 from 16 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Sport Touring Bikes in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Suzuki? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

4.3
16 reviews
5
(8)
4
(7)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(1)
  • Build Quality
    3.9 (7)
  • Value for Money
    4.3 (7)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.6 (7)
  • Mileage 47,400 km
  • Noise Level
    4.3 (7)
  • Braking
    4.7 (7)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (7)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.3 (7)
  • Suspension
    4.0 (7)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.3 (7)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (7)
  • Handling
    4.1 (7)
Previous
Next
Steveo56
Steveo56Sydney, NSW
  • 9 reviews
  • 17 likes

2014 Suzuki Vstrom 1000 ABS

published

Purchased in May 2014 at Action Motorcycles.

Build Quality
Value for Money
JBterrigal
JBterrigalSydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 3 reviews

Just gets on with the job!

published

2016 model purchased new in 2017. Travelled just under 40000kms, mostly touring since and hasn’t missed a beat. Great fun to ride, solo or with a pillion and it covers the miles effortlessly. People are not drawn to it like more exotic brands but with the money you save in the purchase and servicing of this bike, you will have lots left over to ride further than the local cafe every Saturday. A great bike.

Purchased in July 2017 at Procycles for $13,750.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Susan L.
Susan L.South-Eastern Region, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Real-world no frills riding enjoyment

published

I got into the adventure-touring bikes in 2010 with a V-Strom 1000, then to a 2014 BMW 1200GS, then in 2019 back to another Suzuki, DL1000-XT. Heated hand grips should be standard equipment. A Givi bash plate gives good lower engine protection on dirt & gravel, which the bike copes with very well. Handling on bitumen is excellent. It is comfortable, the engine is very torquey and smooth, the brakes powerful and fuel range around 350 km. Try to get a deal on this model unless you want the latest electronics with the 2020/21 model. I got free centre stand, panniers, top box, protection bars & LED blinkers.

Purchased in January 2019 at Suzuki Dealers for $18,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sport Touring Bikes

Find out how Suzuki V-Strom 1000 compares to other Sport Touring Bikes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ride-on
Ride-onCentral Queensland, QLD

The quiet achiever..

published

Having just done 17thou klms in one year both as a daily commuter and long distance tourer I'm pretty happy with her.
With just the right mix of accessories to suit whatever riding you look to do the Strom is a great platform to ride with. Strong enough to tour the open road with luggage and with the right tyres she'll take you off the beaten path for those magic camping trips.. Great underrated machine with the usual Suzuki reliability.. If you want to go a bit harder off-road just spend a bit on suspension an she goes fine.

Purchased in November 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sonya 1
Sonya 1Central Queensland, QLD
  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Way better than I expected

published

Purchased in August 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
josh
joshSydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 16 reviews
  • 23 likes

Very disappointing, plagued with problems

published

Purchased in August 2018 for $17,990.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Claus W
Claus WMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

a great bike, spend a few dollars an awesome bike

published

9/2011 model, First, 2 teeth extra on the rear sprocket made a huge difference, so much easier to ride. Partner loves the large seat and the good suspension, and the top box. I up dated the engine using information from Holeshot in the USA, different pipes, air filter box modified/K&N filter and an ECU up graded, it is quick!!, Pirelli Scropion Rally tyres are great, on both dirt and tar

Date PurchasedJune 2014
Luko
LukoSydney
  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Don't buy the BMW. Buy this instead.

published

If you're looking at this bike there's a good chance you'e also considering the BMW 1200 GS.
A warning: When you drop your bike (you will, don't kid yourself) the BMW will land on the valve cover and split it open. You will NOT be able to ride the bike home. There have been many instances where people have the factory engine guards and still split the valve covers open. The guard just folds over under all that weight.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Charlie M
Charlie MAdelaide
  • 9 reviews
  • 21 likes

Excellent package - 2017 Suzuki V Strom 1000 XT

published
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Sport Touring Bikes

Find out how Suzuki V-Strom 1000 compares to other Sport Touring Bikes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
mike the bike
mike the bike
  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great bike when you sort it out.

published
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Bradj
BradjHunter Region, NSW
  • 18 reviews
  • 6 likes

Great all-round bike. Good on and off road.

published

Bought the new DL1000A model. Very comfortable & predictable bike and performs well. Had to spend a few bucks on basic accessories after the initial purchase (centre stand, heated grips, top box and a radiator guard) to finish it off. I have gone away on weekend rides and find the DL is great on the highway or gravel roads. I looked at similar bikes before I bought the DL (Honda & Kawa) and the Suzuki seemed to be the best value for money and had ABS and traction control as standard. Very happy with my purchase and highly recommend this model.

Date PurchasedApr 2016
Parklanda
ParklandaSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great bike , shame about Suzuki's customer service

published

Purchased in July 2009 at Peter Stevens Motorcycles for $13,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Big Mick
Big MickPaddington
  • 8 reviews
  • 8 likes

Great Legs. Shame about the Face

published
hopoz
hopozAU
  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

really comfortable great all rounder

published
jon
jon

i have a 2002 mod with 182.000 kms, only work done to it cam chain and tensures at 165.000,put a cee bee screen on it and flatter bars

mark.mcconaghy
mark.mcconaghy
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent

published
Sport Touring Bikes

Find out how Suzuki V-Strom 1000 compares to other Sport Touring Bikes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

Rod P.
Rod P.asked

For the 2018 Suzuki V Strom 1000 xt they recommend you use 95 octane fuel. Is this necessary or can you get away with ulp instead.

2 answers
Ride-on
Ride-on

No the high comp motor will hate 91, to the point it may fail to run.. Try not to do it even by accident, I have.

Sonya 1
Sonya 1

Always best to go with the manufacturers recommendation. Running 95 RON does have other advantages in that a lot of the fuel suppliers add fuel system cleaners to their 95 and 98 RON so the fuel system should stay cleaner longer and reduce problems with blocked injectors. I live in a rural area and find that I can get 95 even in a lot of isolated areas now. This was not always the case.

Rosco J
Rosco Jasked

Hello all, I recently got a 2017 DL 1000 and am a bit disappointed with the fuel consumption. what sort of mileage do you blokes get please?

4 answers
Sonya 1
Sonya 1

Hi Rosco J.
I am probably not a lot of help as I haven't actually calculated the fuel consumption. However if it is at all helpful, I can usually get 400 km + out of a tank on highway use without being careful with the throttle. I usually sit on around 110 km/h on the highway.

Rosco J
Rosco J

thanks Sonya 1, appreciate it. That's definately better than mine. Oh well.......

Claus W
Claus W

Hi Rosco, The 17 model was updated from my 10 model, google Commander fuel system, there are quite few different types around, I got mine through Hole shot in the States, also change the muffler or whole system. I also change the rear sprocket, I add 2 teeth, which made a lot more pleasant to ride

Bill
Billasked

Hi. I`ve had a DL1000 2011 for years and get pretty frustrated with the missing and coughing of the engine at low revs in the first 5 gears .does not seem to happen in top. Has anyone got a solution to this problem apart from fitting a Dyna jet fuel controller which comes from USA? Other than that I love the bike.
Cheers Bill.

2 answers
Claus W
Claus W

Hi Bill, yes you will need a fuel controller of some type, I got mine through Holeshot in the US {google it} and then had it dyno tuned.

Bill
Bill

Thanks very much Claus,do you know anything about the clutch shudder some DLs have?

See all Suzuki V-Strom 1000 questions

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryEnduro Bikes and Sport Touring Bikes
Engine Capacity996
Release dateMay 2007
ManualDownload manual
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.