??!
2 photos
TCL C4US Series

TCL C4US Series

75C4US (75"), 70C4US (70")
2.9 from 15 reviews · View Statistics

4K TV Buying Guide

4K, OLED, HDR, what does it all mean? Read our 4K TV buying guide to help clear up the marketing jargon so you can make the best purchasing decision and enjoy 4K movies, Netflix and more.

Read now

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.2 (9)
  • Value for Money
    3.1 (9)
  • Sound Quality
    3.3 (9)
  • Software
    2.8 (9)
  • Picture Quality
    4.1 (9)
Previous
Next
Reviewer

ReviewerMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

3 different issues in 2 years, useless.

published

Purchased in December 2018 at JB Hi-Fi for A$2,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Sound Quality
Software
Picture Quality
See all answers
thislo

thisloPerth, WA

  • 13 reviews
  • 7 likes

So far so good. Maybe add a 5 year warranty and still come out much cheaper than equivalents

published

Had this 2 years - so far its good. Only use it for streaming. An exceptional picture quality and very good H & K sound for the price - we have an expensive Yamaha sound bar but don't always use it. Initial android system was a bit buggy but it updated after 2 months. It can behave a bit like an android phone in hard use - eg sometimes (not often) boots in safe mode but you just reboot. Those uncomfortable with Android tech might be better with a more limited proprietary main-brand system. I was wary of the brand, so purchased a 5 year concierge warranty with Good Guys - total price with warranty ($1996 less $250 cash back offer plus $299 warranty) was $1000 less than most equivalents at the time.

Purchased in October 2018 at The Good Guys for A$1,746.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Sound Quality
Software
Picture Quality
See all answers
carolyn

carolynGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Worst tv I’ve ever had and after sales service

published

In 7 months we have had 2 new mother boards and software up dates and still turns off when using apps after an hour and can’t load new apps and still won’t replace the tv or call back

Purchased in December 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Sound Quality
Software
Picture Quality
See all answers
1 comment
carolyn
carolyn
4K Ultra HD TVs

Find out how TCL C4US Series compares to other 4K Ultra HD TVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mont

MontPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Do not buy this TV

published

TV starts off great good picture quality, but after 13 months we can now watch a maximum of 5 minutes of commercial TV before the screen goes black and you need to turn it off at the power point, remote unresponsive.
Things go wrong fully understand but their warranty team is nothing short of crap. Sent an email no response, rang them a few days later they send me a software update to load. The update fails to load send them an email stating it did not work as per their instruction and surprise no response.
Wish I had stuck with Kogan or Samsung, which I still have and are going strong 10+ years later. Granted I am the idiot that took the salespersons advice at The Good Guys when I went in for the Samsung.

Purchased at The Good Guys.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Gazza

Gazza

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Wifi, Safe mode, Freeview, Customer service. All crap.

published

Turning off the TV can take 4 attempts, Goes into safe mode. Wifi wont login to modem, its only 2 metres away from the TV. Freeview is missing channels. Try to get customer service, what a joke.

Purchased in October 2018 at Radio Rentals for A$3,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Sound Quality
Software
Picture Quality
See all answers
Dave

DavePomona

  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

2 yr life span on ALL TCL tv's 55" or bigger, PROVEN built-in obsolescence.

published

Great specs and size, but like all the TCL tv's they will ALWAYS stop working after 2 years, almost to the day. ( They ALL seem to do this. )
LUCKILY, it comes with a 3yr warranty, which you can use once and the TV fixed or USUALLY replaced as thay usually CAN'T be fixed.
Slow start up.

Purchased in June 2016 at Harvey Norman for A$2,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Sound Quality
Software
Picture Quality
See all answers
O Rahat

O RahatGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 10 likes

Extreamly buggy operating system

published

Extremely buggy operating system, slow and full of glitches. Sound quality is great for the price, picture quality is decent. waited for nearly 2 years and still no updates. So don't buy TCL thinking that they will fix their bugs on future updates because, TCL doesn't care about its consumers. They only care about selling as many unit as possible with what ever crap TV they have. Would give 4 star if the operating system did its job. Bought hisense tv and the OS is much better and price is similar. I wont recommend TCL to anyone. Go for Samsung, Lg, Sony or hisense.

Purchased in November 2018 at Costco for A$1,700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Sound Quality
Software
Picture Quality
See all answers
Nicole S

Nicole SGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Over 1 year in and still going strong (sort of)

published

Purchased in December 2018 at The Good Guys for A$1,800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Sound Quality
Software
Picture Quality
See all answers
Brendan C

Brendan CGippsland, VIC

  • 3 reviews

Good TV, was hoping for better, quality issues.

published

Purchased in September 2018 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for A$2,481.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Sound Quality
Software
Picture Quality
See all answers
4K Ultra HD TVs

Find out how TCL C4US Series compares to other 4K Ultra HD TVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kerry Rowlands

Kerry RowlandsSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

GREAT VALUE

published

Decided we wanted a larger TV for our family of 5 to watch films etc together. This TV is perfect, and great value for the money we spent. With the Smart TV to I’m able to watch Netflix’s and continuous kids TV programs which is amazing.
Picture quality is great and functions are easy to use.

Purchased in February 2019 at The Good Guys for A$2,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Sound Quality
Software
Picture Quality
See all answers
1shot

1shotSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Budget Smart 75" for under 2k

published
Date PurchasedJan 2019
Rohwalk

RohwalkVictoria

Installed on wall 4 says ago. Just wanted a 75 inch TV so didn’t want to spend a fortune. So for 2k

published
Date PurchasedDec 2018
Simon

SimonAdelaide

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

As a budget choice! it's perfect!

published

First this all for a 75inch Tv, this tv's price is pretty good! So you need evaluate it combined with it's price.
Advantage: 75inch big enough, price good, 4k output. Android TV system you can install any Tv app as you wish use google store or USB port. Chromecast build-in. Looks beautiful.

Disadvantage: Old panel version, compare to new version panel, the display is not good enough. Only 3 hdmi ports, seems not enough.

I will definitely recommend this product!

Date PurchasedOct 2018
longpole

longpoleAU

  • 9 reviews
  • 7 likes

Looks good so far

published
Date PurchasedSep 2018
Ben

BenAdelaide

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Not worth buying

published

Bought this 75 inch 4K TCL tv a couple of months back believing we are upgrading. Other than the screen size, everything is a disappointment.
The Android software is awful. It is highly erratic and annoying. The customer support helped me with the hard reset, software update, etc but nothing improved. The TV keeps coming up with new faults all the time.
My small external soundbar is better than it's Harman Kardon sound system.
The picture quality is worse than my 10 year old Samsung. Forget about 4k, you will dislike even the HD. I believe there is too much background bleeding.
Very disappointed. Have sent emails to the customer service for refund but they haven't even responded.
Save your money, go and buy a renowned brand!

4K Ultra HD TVs

Find out how TCL C4US Series compares to other 4K Ultra HD TVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

Gary M.

Gary M.asked

75C4US (75")

I have just got myself a new tcl 75 inch smart tv but am very upset with the screen which has displayed in the top left corner an add for 10play and a red rectangle followed by freebies + and a green triangle witch takes up one tenth of my screen through all movies and tv. I need to get rid of it .Cheers.

No answers
Elana Z.

Elana Z.asked

75C4US (75")

Has anyone had problems with the built in chrome cast?

2 answers
Gazza
Gazza

I've had problems with everything. Worst of all is the after sales service. TCL just don't care.

carolyn
carolyn

We have had the technician 4 times plus software updates and still TCL will not replace the tv they want the technician to take it away and run further tests and JB HiFi won’t collect it until stage 4 is over.

Sachin

Sachinasked

75C4US (75")

I purchased TCL (75C4US) August 2018, and was working fine until last week (May 2020) when it started blacking out with sound going... each time had to only restart with power off. Tried following steps to fix myself and with TCL contact center technician:
1. Removed all devices connected with Coaxial, USB and/or USB
2. Updated the software.
3. Reset to factory settings.
Nothing fixed the problem. TCL will arrange technician to visit and inspect in 24/48 hrs.

1 answer
Nicole S
Nicole S

Contact TCL and they'll send out a technician to replace a part that is a known problem in all TCL and Sony 75inch TVs. Had mine fixed and have had no problems since.

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare both TCL C4US Series
TCL 70C4US (70")
  • Discontinued

TCL 70C4US (70")

3.0
(2)
TCL 75C4US (75")
  • Discontinued

TCL 75C4US (75")

2.8
(13)
Category4K Ultra HD TVs4K Ultra HD TVs
Price (RRP) A$2,999.00A$3,999.00
Screen Size 70"75"
Type of TVHDR CompatibleHDR Compatible
Wireless OptionsBluetooth and Wi-FiBluetooth and Wi-Fi
Number of HDMI Ports33
Number of USB Ports22
Wall MountableYesYes
Weight30 kg33 kg
Operating SystemAndroid TVAndroid TV
Dimensions (without stand) 947.2 x 1562.4 x 63 mm1009.8 x 1674 x 63 mm
Dimensions (with stand) 996.3 x 1562.4 x 339.7 mm1056.4 x 1674 x 363 mm
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)
Compare both TCL C4US Series

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.