??!
4 photos
TCL P8M Series

TCL P8M Series

75P8M (75"), 50P8M (50"), 65P8M (65"), etc...
3.6 from 65 reviews · View Statistics

4K TV Buying Guide

4K, OLED, HDR, what does it all mean? Read our 4K TV buying guide to help clear up the marketing jargon so you can make the best purchasing decision and enjoy 4K movies, Netflix and more.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.0 (62)
  • Value for Money
    4.3 (63)
  • Sound Quality
    3.9 (61)
  • Software
    3.5 (62)
  • Picture Quality
    4.3 (61)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Darrel

DarrelGrafton

  • 3 reviews

Stand by light

published

Don't buy if you want to put this tv in your bedroom, you have to turn it of at power point if you don't want the bright light on. It then takes age to start up

Purchased in December 2019 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances for $400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Antony a.

Antony a.Sydney, NSW

Best value for money!!!

published

Been 14 months and so far amazing purchase !
I have noticed the TV slows down and it takes some time to load or close apps.

I simply go to the "TV Guard" application. And click system optimise. Cleans all the cache and apps and gets me back to 100% again.

Anyways. Got my Netflix, Kayo, Stan, Binge, Amazon all on it!! And it works like magic! Best $400 I ever spent on a 50" TV. 5 Stars!

Purchased in September 2019 at Bing Lee Online store for $404.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Bonnie K.

Bonnie K.Gippsland, VIC

Good while it lasted, worst after sales support I've ever encountered.

published

Purchased in October 2019 at Appliance Central for $1,350.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
4K Ultra HD TVs

Find out how TCL P8M Series compares to other 4K Ultra HD TVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Wendy O.

Wendy O.Perth, WA

Wouldn’t purchase again.

published

Nice clear picture, reasonably easy to use. The problem we have is it keeps shutting down whilst using apps or YouTube. Have had repair man out twice, had motherboard replaced once, updates done regularly but it continues to shut down. Every time we contact TCL we have to start the explanation process from the beginning - so frustrating.
Would not recommend this brand.

Purchased in August 2019 at Harvey Norman for $1,900.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Michael

Michael

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Low product & customer service quality

published

-It took us a while to adjust the picture.
It was ok after that.
-You can't have headphones and speakers working together.
-Headphone port was detached! after plugging in the headphones no more than 10 times. TCL blamed us for causing this damage by moving the 65' tv around with the headphones hooked on! That's the scenario that they came up with in order to walk away from their defective product!
Not in a million to accept that the tv (at least the headphone port) may was defective.
Their customer service reps. sound like robots. They do not listen to what you've to say.
After numerous emails and phone calls I gave up.
NEVER AGAIN cheap Chinese tv (or any other product).

Purchased in February 2020 at Domayne NSW for $850.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Kuan Su

Kuan SuSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

TV Start got some problems after few months later

published

The images go brighter to normal or dark to normal as playing PS4 or watch Netflix. Happened often after few months purchased and just feel very annoying...better go for others good brand one!

Purchased in April 2020 at JB Hi-Fi for $479.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Peter  Adams

Peter AdamsAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 8 likes

Good value,but,

published

Great picture quality.
Good price
My only drawback is having to continually pair remote to tv for speech,even after factory resets.
Has the clearest of clearest test pics come on when idle on utubes,don't know why pic isn't that clear all the time even on HD stuff.?

Purchased in February 2020 for $1,399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Joel

JoelSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Great TV bought for a steal!

published

I bought the 2019 model during the 2020 runout sale in April 2020 for an amazingly good price. I loved everything about this TV. The picture was perfect, the sound was great and there was heaps of apps, plus Chromecast included. The only thing that was a bit annoying was the time it took to turn on. Otherwise, best TV I've ever had!

Purchased in April 2020 at The Good Guys for $975.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Fred

FredGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 6 likes

Great TV (but a little slow when turning on the first time)

published

So happy with my new purchase. It was an upgrade from a 60 inches that I had from TCL. Definately better picture quality and sound. Price was also amazing under $2000. Totaly recommend an android TV

Purchased in July 2020 at The Good Guys Online store for $1,695.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
4K Ultra HD TVs

Find out how TCL P8M Series compares to other 4K Ultra HD TVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Brett H.

Brett H.

  • 2 reviews

Wanting more than the budget could afford

published

love the Android system, price, features, speed of processing.
Had wifi freeze and not connect. Tried everything then turned off at power to reboot and been fine since. After kayo use it seemed a bit laggy but cleared up

Purchased in April 2020 at Harvey Norman for $1,295.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Bee F.

Bee F.Sydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Great value

published

Great value android tv. Easy access to google play store, Netflix, Stan, Amazon Prime video and all other streaming apps. Great picture for ps4 and Xbox as well, keeps up with the latest games

Purchased in May 2020 for $800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
KevC

KevC

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

A Big TV

published

Purchased in April 2020 for $1,250.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
jim0060

jim0060Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Great until it breaks down

published

Good sound and picture. Quick response to the remote. Ive had mine for 7 weeks. 2 weeks ago the glitches started. Slower to start up, Slower to respond to the remote, longer waits for apps to load, periodic cutting out and returning to menu, until now where it wont load anything. Its gone haywire...

Purchased in April 2020 at Goodguys for $530.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Sound Quality
Software
Picture Quality
Nikki Nighthawkk

Nikki NighthawkkSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Great picture:price ratio

published

All the apps work well and it connects to the internet very easily. The in-built Chromecast works seamlessly. It took a bit of fiddling within the settings, but eventually connected up the ARC return with my LG soundbar and can control it using the TV remote. Having connected the soundbar up immediately, I can't speak to the quality of the in-built TV speakers. The base is sturdy enough. I wouldn't say the picture quality is amazing, with the blacks certainly not great, but that's to be expected from a non-OLED tv. It works well with both TV and gaming through my PS4.

Overall, an excellent value 4K TV.

Not sure what the point of the extra small remote is.

Purchased in March 2020 at Bing Lee Online store for $468.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
rivkah.hammer

rivkah.hammerMurray Mallee, SA

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great value for money

published

We upgraded by first buying a Big W TV. we returned it pronto and researched affordable TVs in our budget. Hubby bought this on clearance so even better. The sound is way better than we expected and its easy to use and the phone app remote actually works!

Purchased in January 2020 at The Good Guys for $548.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
4K Ultra HD TVs

Find out how TCL P8M Series compares to other 4K Ultra HD TVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Xie T.

Xie T.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Good TV , but can be better

published

First of all, my model is 75P8MR, not 75P8M. I am quite happy with this TV for the price I paid. This TV runs Android TV and speed is ok

SDR content doesn't have any issue. But I have to say HDR is not ideal. Colour looks washed out for some dark scenes and it lacks of brightness

Purchased in April 2020 at The Good Guys for $1,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Philip

PhilipSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Perfect Television

published

I purchased this TV after looking at many similar but this was the best in all configuration, excellent.the pictures are extremely beautiful, sound great, l would recommend this TV brand to all.

Purchased in March 2020 at Bing Lee Online store for $449.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Jo

JoSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Good clear tv with better app options

published

Sharp image, good sound and I like its android so you have more app options like kayo you can put on there. The only negative is it does take sometime to start up and turn on and sometimes a few cliches now and then but over all value for money.

Purchased in February 2020 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
rainsanity

rainsanityGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Value for Money

published

I got the TV a month ago and I am mainly using it for Netflix and Prime. The 4k resolution looks great on streaming. The only downside is that if you are playing a movie from external hard srive, the USB port can only read FAT32 format where you can only transfer files less than 4gb. Most 4k movies are 4GB+. Other than that, you can't get something better than this at only $350. I will recommend this product for those who mainly use their tv for netflix / prime. Its definitely value for money.

Purchased in April 2020 at Costco for $350.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Bellabee

BellabeeGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Middle of the range

published

Purchased in April 2020 at JB Hi-Fi.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Antony a.

Antony a.asked

50P8M (50")

Are you struggling with slow and lag?

Simply open the "TV Guard" Application on the tv main menu screen. Click "system optimise"

This will simply close all the cache and running apps and will bring U back to speeeeeddd !

1 answer
Lexie
Lexie

I did. Still all my streaming apps lag with audio..... Out of sync

Sue F

Sue Fasked

P8M Series

When I hit the home button all I get is a black screen. it had been working fine, suddenly it is gone. Is there something I can do to get it back?

1 answer
Wendy O.
Wendy O.

You could try - turning it off at the wall for 10 seconds then turn back on, try pushing the settings button on your remote, do a software update. Good luck!

Dave G.

Dave G.asked

65P8M (65")

Does this model have HDMI Arc ???

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 8 TCL P8M Series
TCL 75P8M (75")
  • Discontinued

TCL 75P8M (75")

3.5
(21)
TCL 65P8M (65")
  • Discontinued

TCL 65P8M (65")

3.4
(8)
TCL 70P8M (70")
  • Discontinued

TCL 70P8M (70")

3.0
(2)
TCL 85P8M (85")
  • Discontinued

TCL 85P8M (85")

2.5
(2)
Category4K Ultra HD TVs4K Ultra HD TVs4K Ultra HD TVs4K Ultra HD TVs
Price (RRP) $2,999.00$1,999.00$2,499.00$5,999.00
Screen Size 75"65"70"85"
Type of TVHDR Compatible and Smart TVHDR Compatible and Smart TVHDR Compatible and Smart TVHDR Compatible and Smart TV
Wireless OptionsBluetooth and Wi-FiBluetooth and Wi-FiBluetooth and Wi-FiBluetooth and Wi-Fi
Refresh Rate 100/120Hz50/60Hz100/120Hz100/120Hz
Number of HDMI Ports3333
Number of USB Ports1111
Wall MountableYesYesYesYes
Weight33.5 kg18.5 kg30.4 kg46.3 kg
Operating SystemAndroid TVAndroid TVAndroid TVAndroid TV
Dimensions (without stand) 956.2 x 1680 x 88.3 mm844.7 x 1463.8 x 76.6 mm956.2 x 1680 x 88.3 mm1193.9 x 1902.6 x 100.3 mm
Dimensions (with stand) 1036.6 x 1680 x 402.9 mm904.1 x 1463.8 x 275 mm1036.6 x 1680 x 402.9 mm1187.6 x 1902.6 x 424 mm
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Compare all 8 TCL P8M Series

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.