??!
1 photo
Triumph Tiger

Triumph Tiger

4.2 from 11 reviews

See the Best Adventure Touring Bikes in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
6
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
1

2018 Tiger 800 XRx - rambling impressions

published
Date PurchasedSep 2018
1 comment
ian H
ian H

Try it


2015 Triumph Tiger 800xcx

published

Just broke 50,000km's this month (August '18). Been to Alaska from Toronto, and everywhere in between. Will take her to Downtown Toronto and ride the dirt roads north of Guelph to Owen Sound. I'm always loaded up and I am 6ft 2 and weigh 230 myself. I have wiped her out on Lyndon Johnson's ranch (in the mud thankfully!) and just broke the break lever ball piece. My rear bearings went on a trip to Texas in June 2018 which was a little interesting, but other than that I plan to put another 50,000km's on this baby before I even dream of trading her in. Pound for Pound, Dollar for Dollar, this has got to be the best bike on the road in it's class! Thank you Triumph!!

Date PurchasedApr 2015
Mark

MarkCanberra

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Triumph Tiger 800 XRx - all rounder

published
Date PurchasedAug 2015
Col

ColAU

Triumph Tiger 1200 Explorer is just OK but not as good as an older BMW GSA.

published
Date PurchasedNov 2015

John M

John MADELAIDE

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Very Happy owner

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2016

migo33

migo33Sydney, NSW

  • 18 reviews
  • 8 likes

Great bike for the open road just a bit too heavy when off road.

published
Date PurchasedNov 2015

Valmorph

ValmorphSydney

  • 29 reviews
  • 6 likes

A good all rounder

published
Date PurchasedMay 2016

Karyn_67

Karyn_67

  • 13 reviews
  • 7 likes

Engine blew up, still waiting for it to be fixed under warranty

published

If you want a bike to last more than one year, do not buy the 1200 Tiger Explorer. If you want great customer service, stay away from Triumph. Due to faulty manufacturing, small bolts on the alternator came loose and damaged most of the engine including the crankshaft. It's been six weeks since the Tiger broke down and I am still waiting for an answer from the Triumph dealership.

2 comments
Karyn_67
Karyn_67

Still haven't got an answer. It's now been over two months. Only received one phone call last month to say the 'report' on the bike had been despatched to Triumph Australia.

Karyn_67
Karyn_67
Blackdog

Blackdog

  • 6 reviews
  • 11 likes

absolutely brilliant bike

published

I have a 2012 1200 Tiger Explorer, fitted with panniers, topbox, tank bag, handlebar risers, fog and spotlights, engine crash bars and an air horn (best accessory for country and city riding). My bike has 45,000kms and has been perfect since I got it. I love the long travel suspension, the excellent handling, the comfort, and performance.
If you are looking for the perfect touring bike for Australia, then a Tiger is the only way to go. Unfortunately, it has to go soon....but only because I will be trading it on the new Explorer.

1 comment
Blackdog
Blackdog
Midnite

Midnite

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

best bike ever

published

sold my faithfull KLR 650 and purchased a Triumph tiger xcx 800, 2015 model, this would have to rate as one of the best bike's I have ever owned. put a two brothers racing exhaust on it, heated grips, touring screen , led spotties ,the protection package from triumph and the lowered comfort seat, had the engine remapped with the pipe, this thing is unbelievable, the howl from the exhaust is spine chilling when you get under it , the acceleration pulls your arms , the only bad thing is you will have trouble keeping your license, would recommend this bike to anyone looking to upgrade to a larger adventure tourer ,forget the Austrian's and german machine's with the massive price's these are gold.
Midnite


Abe65778

Abe65778

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent

published

A perfect bike for touring, road riding or really REALLY long trips. Its comfortable fast & very agile. Its a great bike & around 10k cheaper than a BMW alternative GS, and in my opinion its 10 times better looking. As always, great build quality from Triumph.
Riding position, low down torque, heaps of power in any gear. You can ride this all day long & never feel like it!. As a touring bike its got really good street appeal, one very sexy bike! Superb 2 year warranty! (Not that you'll need it!)
Can be expensive brand new with all the accessories, so try to find a 2nd hand one or dealer demo, as you might get a better deal. But I doubt any rider would want to part with one so good luck! :)

1 comment
Thumpa
Thumpa

Agreed.

Questions & Answers

Goody

Goodyasked

The Tiger Sport is still being sold in the UK , but only 2018 stock is available in Australia. Is production going to be discontinued soon? The new 2019 colours are available in the UK , but not here in Australia. They are a great & underrated bike. Thanks

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Triumph representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.