?
? !
1 photo
UNIMIG VIPER 185 KUMJRVM185 MIG/TIG/Stick Welder

UNIMIG VIPER 185 KUMJRVM185 MIG/TIG/Stick Welder

MPN: KUMJRVM185
4.7 from 73 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

4.7

73 reviews
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Karen

KarenRoper Gulf, NT

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect for my workshop

published

I purchased this machine as a replacement. After looking at the reviews, decided on the Viper 185 as I needed a multi process unit.
I was not disappointed as the welder is very well built and super smooth to use.

Purchased in April 2021 at Total Tools for $749.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
UNIMIG
UNIMIGUNIMIG

Thanks for the review, Karen!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Great machine

published

As a newbie to welding, I find that the Unimig Viper is fairly easy to use. Just got to get the settings right for the material. The gasless system seems to run hotter than the gas so early burn throughs with previous settings. But hey, that's what experimenting is all about.

Purchased in March 2021 at Sydney Tools for $899.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
UNIMIG
UNIMIGUNIMIG

Thanks for the review, Brad!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tony P

Tony PPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Nice welder and very easy to use.

published

I have only used the mig side of the welder to weld 5mm angle to 2mm tube and have found it very simple to adjust to suit what I am welding.

Purchased in April 2021 at Total Tools WA, Malaga for $750.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
UNIMIG
UNIMIGUNIMIG

Thanks for the review, Tony!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Welders

Find out how UNIMIG VIPER 185 KUMJRVM185 MIG/TIG/Stick Welder compares to other Welders

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Great welder

published

Great welder for a first time MIG welder that has only done stick before. Only issue is the amount of birds nests im getting with the wire feeder. other than that its been great.

Purchased in March 2021 at gasweld for $789.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
UNIMIG
UNIMIGUNIMIG

Thanks for the review, Stephen. In terms of the bird nesting, make sure you are using the correct size liners, contact tips and rollers for the wire you are using. Also, make sure the tension is not too loose, as this can also cause bird-nesting.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
  • Verified

Best portable welding machine

published

Great performance in terms of reliability and portability. Use it for the first time on my DIY project, assembly, installation and operation was simple and easy. Used gas less welding wire and the process went smoothly without any issue,

Purchased in January 2021 at Total Tools NSW, Penrith for $794.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
UNIMIG
UNIMIGUNIMIG

Thanks for the review, Joy!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
epic d.

epic d.Darwin, NT

Value for your dollars

published

First job to weld was a JIC fitting into a sump off a TD42T engine. Bit of fine tuning on some scrap and then committed. Come out a treat, viper 185 multi function

Purchased in January 2021 at Total Tools NT, Darwin for $749.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
UNIMIG
UNIMIGUNIMIG

Thanks for the review!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Bumpy start , but worth the wait

published

Bought 185 MiG with tig , stick capacity. when I received it the wire feed didn't work.
Spoke to Unimig they were very helpful. Got the unit back and its been terrific. very smooth, amazing what single phase 10 amp can produce. Great value

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
UNIMIG
UNIMIGUNIMIG

Thanks for the review, Michael!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
nytramrendrag

nytramrendragMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

work great and looks great what more could you want

published

Took me a little while to setup and get the settings right (welding newbie) played around for about three hours with different metals thicknesses with some welds so bad peanut paste would have worked better (welding newbie) that was it now I can weld a car door panel to 10ml butt joint . Its so easy and so much fun I cant wait to start my next project.

Purchased in February 2021 at Total Tools SA, Elizabeth for $749.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
UNIMIG
UNIMIGUNIMIG

Thanks for the review!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Great welder

published

Very easy to use and set up, easy to change the type of welding. Can easily weld various materials with a quick setup time. Happy with the product and the spare parts.

Purchased in January 2021 at Sydney Tools for $1,000.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
UNIMIG
UNIMIGUNIMIG

Thanks for the review, Nathan!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Welders

Find out how UNIMIG VIPER 185 KUMJRVM185 MIG/TIG/Stick Welder compares to other Welders

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lloyd W.

Lloyd W.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Perfect replacement for my old Weldmate stick welder

published

Loving the welder, so easy to make the shift from my old arc welder to the Unimig / mig welding, easy to use and the online guidance is great. Very happy.

Purchased in January 2021 at Total Tools.

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
UNIMIG
UNIMIGUNIMIG

Awesome to hear, thanks for the feedback!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Nick Lyle

Nick LyleHunter Region, NSW

Love the flexibility his offers.

published

Easy to switch between different applications. I found that I could start to experiment with TIG Welding. This has allowed me to start looking at courses to reach my goal of high end results. may even move to metal fabrication small business model.

Purchased in August 2020 for $850.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
UNIMIG
UNIMIGUNIMIG

Thanks for the review, Nick!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Love it

published

So far everything is good can’t folt it highly recommend it to all my fends that weld can’t think of eny think rong with it at all thank you. Norm

Purchased in January 2021 for $799.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
UNIMIG
UNIMIGUNIMIG

Thanks for the review, Norm!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Claus Schmid

Claus SchmidGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

My purchase of a viper 185.

published

Extremely happy, excellent support, I couldn’t ask for more. The best $700 I have spent on tools in a long , long time. Also invaluable to me was the tuition provided as I am a fairly novice welder. As I said very happy. Thanks guys.

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
UNIMIG
UNIMIGUNIMIG

Thanks for the review, Claus!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Nate

NateNorthern Region, NSW

  • Verified

Great little machine.

published

Unimig 185 viper. Great machine. Light weight. Easy to use. All round good machine. Worth the money. Yet to try the tig. No fault with the mig. Thanks great service.

Purchased in December 2020 for $795.00.

1 comment
UNIMIG
UNIMIGUNIMIG

Thanks for the review, Nate!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Alex L.

Alex L.Southeast, SA

Should have invested sooner !!

published

Absolutely love it don't know why I didn't buy it sooner, awesome customer service from unimig haven't looked back since ! Would recommend to anyone! Haven't used the Tig function yet as I am waiting for my redemption torch to turn up and need to use my CO2/ argon mix so I can go straight argon but I'm sure it's great 5 stars all day long !

Purchased in January 2021 at Total Tools for $800.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
UNIMIG
UNIMIGUNIMIG

Thanks for the review, Alex!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Welders

Find out how UNIMIG VIPER 185 KUMJRVM185 MIG/TIG/Stick Welder compares to other Welders

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Love my Viper 185 !!!

published

Purchased in December 2020 at Total Tools for $794.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
UNIMIG
UNIMIGUNIMIG

Thanks for the review, Kane!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Rob Lowrie

Rob LowrieGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Awesome unit

published

Awesome welder, great for at home and on-site work. Arc and Mig feature work perfectly fine. Just wish my tig torch redemption would arrive and then I'll be giving that a blast

Purchased in December 2020 at Total Tools VIC, Epping for $700.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
UNIMIG
UNIMIGUNIMIG

Thanks for the review, Rob!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jodiewilk

JodiewilkGoldfields, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

It is a great Welder

published

It is a great Mig welder 185 I thought the video on your website that was great couldn’t be happier.It was very informative and explain how to set it up.

Purchased in December 2020 at Hamptons .

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
UNIMIG
UNIMIGUNIMIG

Thanks for the review!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Air System Repairs

Air System Repairs Gippsland, VIC

So Far So Good

published

Initial use has been easy with just gasless mig on a simple job. I will eventually go to gas though to. Waiting for my TIG torch and will then have a complete system

Purchased in December 2020 for $794.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
UNIMIG
UNIMIGUNIMIG

Thanks for the review!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bob McLean

Bob McLeanPeel, WA

  • Verified

Mig/Tig

published

Awesome.
Great value for the money.
Easy to set up and use with great results.
Waiting for the amazing bonus pack to arrive.
Can not wait to try the Tig side of the unit out.

Purchased in December 2020 at Total Tools WA, Mandurah for $794.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
UNIMIG
UNIMIGUNIMIG

Thanks for the review, Bob!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Glenn

Glenn asked

Is the TIG "HIGH FREQUENCE" or not ???

1 answer
UNIMIG
UNIMIGUNIMIG

Hi Glenn, the VIPER 185 is a lift-arc style TIG welder. For High-Frequency start, our AC/DC welders are the ones to go with.

Jamie A.

Jamie A.asked

This sounds like a great welder. I’m considering buying it and using it remotely on a farm so will need to run it off a generator. Can a Unimig rep please advise the minimum Kva requirements of this welder?

1 answer
UNIMIG
UNIMIGUNIMIG

Hi Jamie, we recommend at least a 10 kVA generator for the VIPER 185.

Sean McClure

Sean McClure asked

Will a unimig 180 amp 9 pin spool gun work on the Viper 185?

1 answer
UNIMIG
UNIMIGUNIMIG

Hi Sean, that is correct mate it’s a 9 pin plug.

See all UNIMIG VIPER 185 KUMJRVM185 MIG/TIG/Stick Welder questions

Get an answer from our members and UNIMIG representatives

Details

Visit official website
  • MPN: KUMJRVM185

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.