??!
2 photos
Vax Duo Master Steam Cleaner VSTDUO1600

Vax Duo Master Steam Cleaner VSTDUO1600

2.9 from 22 reviews

See the Best Steam Mops in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
5
4 star
5
3 star
1
2 star
4
1 star
7

Mish W

Mish WFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 10 reviews

Quiet & effective

published

We have a house with tiles throughout and mopping became a difficult task with a bad back. Monster have produced an excellent product, the floors dry very fast and refills are at a minimum (2 for the entire house). We brought this a year ago and it comes with 2 pads, so far we're still using these pads and these will last a long time with the right aftercare. The cord length is perfect plus we use an extension to do the job extensively. A light weight, excellent steam mop!

Purchased in August 2018 at Harvey Norman Appliances Physical Store for $289.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Floor Type Tiles
See all answers

Nicole

NicoleWestern Australia

  • 8 reviews
  • 7 likes

Great Steam Mop

published

I only fill tank once per use.
Floors are spotless after cleaning.
Pads last for ages - dont think I have replaced for a few years.
Cord length could be a bit longer.

Purchased in June 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Floor Type Tiles
See all answers
Amy

AmyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Leaves streaks on tiles

published

The steam doesnt lift off much. You have to go over and over the same spot. It also leaves streaks on our glossy tiles, so i have to dry the tiles with a towel afterwards.

Purchased in January 2019 at Big W Retail Stores for $150.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Floor Type Tiles
See all answers
Cassie

CassieBrisbane

  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great steam cleaner

published

I noticed the reviews on this item are quite negative and I'm not sure why. It works well for me, HEAPS of steam and I love all the different attachments! It works best on floors and my carpet. Would highly recommend to have a steam mop in any home. Very pleased.

Date PurchasedDec 2018

Useless piece of equipment!

published

Doesn't produce steam or heat. I hold my finger on the button for 10 minutes, and can still put my hand on the mop part. A little bit of water eventually drips out to make the mop damp, but it does not clean anything. Also, this one is specifically designed NOT to get into corners! Have given up on it, and gone back to an old fashioned mop & bucket - at least this cleans the floors, and gets right into the corners.

Date PurchasedMar 2017

necccccyyyy

necccccyyyyIpswich

  • 6 reviews

Work fine.

published

I live in a two bed room unit and my kitchen and bathroom is tiles. It works perfectly fine clean really well. I always to add floor cleaner in the tanks to add extra and leave a nice smell. It’s heavy when you trying to use it as a hand held devices but it does come with a strap as well and all other accessories to change the tip and what suite you best on what your cleaning. I’m happy with it. Heats up really hot so make sure you avoid the tip!! It come with two mat which it’s great one the the kitchen and the other for the bathroom. Throw them in the wash and ready to be used again.

Date PurchasedOct 2017

Not that Impressed

published
Date PurchasedSep 2017

Jane

JaneBendigo, Victoria

  • 12 reviews
  • 13 likes

Not great but does the job OK

published
Date PurchasedJun 2017
SamM

SamMBraybrook

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great on tiles and bathroom

published

I purchased the steam mop to clean my tiled floors quickly and cleanly. The mop works very well... dries quickly and leaves no streaks. I have two playful dogs and I like my floors to dry quickly as it's always a home if activity. I also freshen up the rugs and it works a treat.
The tiles in the bathroom come up great too! I don't use chemicals in my home and the steam mop is fabulous to help maintain cleanliness in a non chemical way.
The only tricky bit is holding the handheld for over 15mins as is gets heavy and awkward... other than that, keep the water in and steam away! I've had this product for two weeks and so far so good.

Date PurchasedJul 2017
Leanne

LeanneMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Far better than I expected.

published
Date PurchasedMar 2017

SandraC

SandraCMelbourne

Ok but unreliable

published

Had this mop for about 2 1/2 years. The had held attachment was handy and worked well initially, but plastic attachments are flimsy and break easily. The steam produced is not powerful enough to clean properly. The mop head pads fall off easily (I replaced the cords with elastic).
My mop no longer heats up!
This is the second Vax mop I have purchased. The first mod was replaced twice under warranty.
Don't buy this mop if you want something reliable & built to last!

Date PurchasedMay 2014

disappointed

published

bought one recently used twice then refused to steam very disapointed returned for full refund this was a gift for someone who really needed it waste would not recommend it to anyone as a few have asked how it was i told them dont waste your money buy a normal mop more reliable

Date PurchasedOct 2016

Slow to start but came through

published

I was initially disappointed as steam was intermittent. I tried again the next week and it came good. Trick is to keep water full and rest it for a big job. Could do with a bigger scrubbing attachment for tiles. Also one set kind of melted out of shape :-/

Date PurchasedOct 2016

Mel

MelNoble Park

Only good for a few uses

published

Thought this was great at first worked well both floor and attachments but after 3 times on floor and using the attachments around the house twice it stopped working. The worst thing it was a present from the kids and they didn't keep the receipt so it was their money wasted.

Date PurchasedDec 2016

Don't Purchase!

published

Followed instructions - nothing! Lights came on but does not work! Very very disappointing product! Better with a run of the mill mop people - I guess that's the lesson that I have learned from Vax! Pathetic!

Stopped working

published

About 2yrs old but only used less than 5 times and has already stopped working. Can't find the receipt to return it and is no doubt out of warranty but it has never worked as advertised anyway. Steam coming out is barely noticable and doesnt even heat the floor up. Didn't clean stainless cooktop or windows at all either


Maurie

MaurieSydney

Pretty Good, but...

published

Worked well for about 3-4 months then stopped producing decent steam. I figured out that the resin filter needs replacing. That's cool as I can understand that with hard water types. Anyway, Vax don't sell these. You have to go to Stokes which seems the only place in Australia you can buy them. $35.75 plus $16.00 delivery. They don't stock them either. Seriously!! Just under a third of the price of a new mop. Give me a break. Its gone in the otto and I will check out price of other brands and the availability/price of the filters


Horrible

published

Waste of money. Doesn't steam properly due to mat so doesn't even make the floor hot let alone sterilise! Wish I could find my receipt so I could take it back and get my money back. Only good thing about it is it has a sturdy handle but won't be using it anyway so won't have to worry abou it breaking.

1 comment
Vax
Vax A.Vax

Hi Leilani - we're sorry to hear you're having troubles with your Duo steam mop and we'd like to help! If you'd like to send us your details to vax_enquiries@ttibrands.com.au we will do what we can to help you out. Thanks! Sarah


ozdingo

ozdingoBrisbane

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Good as a basic mop

published

You cant fault it as a basic steam mop but the other attachments are only so so, dont work too well. The similar model sold in the UK sells for a lot cheaper and comes with better attachments and the hand held part has a handle. I guess this is a lesser model of the UK model, that is exclusive to bunnings, ironocally sold at a higher price! Why cant Oz get the smae models even if it has to be sold at a higher price?

Update:
Dont buy this, used only twice now no steam, tried everything to no avail. No stem comes. This is the worst product I have ever bought. Terribly dissapointed. Hope I can get my money back.
Steam floor mop
over priced lesser model of the one sold in the UK

1 comment
Vax
Vax A.Vax

sconna

sconnaAU

  • 9 reviews
  • 4 likes

Seriously excellent

published

Exceeded all my expectations very good and worth every dollar.. Cleaned my stainless steel gas cooktop that I use daily and had 3 years of built up grime and dirt under the elements, Seriously looks brand new.i had tried to scrub it off numerous time. It even got the black mark off the tiles on then splash back I have tried to scrub off for 3 years with no success steam cleaned it off In about 2 min. Couldnt believe it.
seriously good water tank comes off for easy refilling. easy to assemble once you work it out with swivel heaf.

1 comment
Vax
Vax A.Vax

Thank you for taking the time to review your Vac Duo steam mop. We are glad that you have been able to remove the built up grease and grime. Regards, Phoebe


Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Nicola

Nicolaasked

My steam mop works perfect on floor but wont work when I put attachments, any help?

No answers

eagle point

eagle pointasked

Where can I buy cotton cloth s forVSTDUO1600?

1 answer
Not happy
Not happy

I think Bunnings have them on the shelf,( go to a Big format store ).
if not they can get them in for you so they told me at time of Purchasing mine .
Sadly I’ve had no need to re-place mine as I took mine back and upgraded to a Karcher mob


Bmck

Bmckasked

I have just purchased the vax duo master could someone please confirm that the on button has to be physically held down continuously whilst cleaning floors? Thankyou.

1 answer
Not happy
Not happy

The power button (On-off) The answer is NO just turn on or off once .
The trigger switch on the Handle should only need pressing when you need more steam or water. Sadly to do my floors I had to constantly press it which kind of beat the purpose of having a trigger switch in the first place. I returned my and got a full refund it just wasn’t doing my floors like they said it would and was quicker & better with the mop and bucket .
I have now just purchased a karcher roller mop - I have yet to use it , he’s hoping I can retire the mop and bucket once again


Get an answer from our members and Vax representatives

Details

CategorySteam Mops
Price (RRP) $186
Power1600W
Tank Capacity400ml
Cord Length7m
Weight2.6kg
Store ExclusivityBunnings

Visit official website - Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.