??!
2 photos
Vax Steam Grime Master VSTGM1200

Vax Steam Grime Master VSTGM1200

2.1 from 17 reviews

Reviews

2.1

17 reviews
5
(0)
4
(4)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(10)
    Previous
    Next
    Stephanie R

    Stephanie R

    • 6 reviews
    • 1 like

    Not too bad

    published

    I found this to be really handy when cleaning my bathroom and kitchen tiles. It worked wonderfully when I cleaned the rangehood filters.
    It would be great if it held more water, I feel like I’m refilling and waiting for steam again way too often. I don’t think it would work too well in a really dirty area but it’s a nice little machine.

    Date PurchasedJun 2018

    Steam?

    published

    Bought it two years ago and never used it. Tried it out the recently and now its a bit late to return it. My kettle puts out more steam and force than this device. Looks great and is well made but why did they waste their time designing it. I will probably bin it as I wouldn't want to waste anyone elses time.

    Date PurchasedJun 2016
    Kim RRR

    Kim RRRSouth East Queensland, QLD

    • 2 reviews
    • 2 likes

    I only bought this today and will be taking it back tomorrow!!

    published

    Was more water than steam, emptied the tank in about 2 minutes flat, I wouldn't know if it cleaned or not, didn't have time to see, was empty before even did one grout line. Don't waste your time or money, hope I save someone else the trouble. Do Not buy

    Date PurchasedNov 2017
    Steam Cleaners

    Find out how Vax Steam Grime Master VSTGM1200 compares to other Steam Cleaners

    Know better, choose better.

    Compare all

    Does what I expected it to do.

    published

    Lots of steam. I used the window cleaning attachment & the small brush to clean my windows & in the grooves. While it worked well it still didn't get out 100% of the dirt in the cornery. I also tried it on my vynal floor & it worked really well getting off those stubborn marks. The tanks lasts for a while, I think I cleaned 3 sliding doors in & out & a large window with 3 panels before I had to refill the tank. That included cleaning in the grooves. It was fairly easy to use & has a safety switch for when not in use or changing the attachments.

    Date PurchasedOct 2017
    noosa bob

    noosa bobbrisbane

    • 8 reviews
    • 9 likes

    Puny in the extreme....holding a boiling kettle to the surface needing cleaned would be more effecti

    published

    This is utter rubbish...a boiling kettle would be more effective if held close to the surface needing cleaned. We sent ours back for a refund almost immediately. Apparently I need to write more words, even though I've said all there is to say about this piece of junk. Nothing to commend it.

    Date PurchasedJan 2017
    George

    GeorgeSydney, NSW

    • 4 reviews
    • 8 likes

    What a bunch of whingers.

    published

    I've got a Vax steam cleaner and it does a perfectly adequate job for its price and intended utility. Perhaps you guys should be using a high pressure blaster not a hand held steam cleaner. I use it to clean up he BBQ and it does a good job. If one fill ov ware is not enough you can usually find water in the tap or swimming pool. Also try a bit of elbow grease.

    Date PurchasedMar 2015
    1 comment
    George
    George

    Bravo! Well said.

    Las

    LasBrisbane

    • 7 reviews
    • 8 likes
    • Verified purchase

    Vax - stay away

    published
    Date PurchasedJan 2017
    • Verified purchase

    Happy for the price.

    published
    Date PurchasedDec 2016
    1 comment
    Anni
    Anni
    Shape Sifter

    Shape SifterBrisbane

    • 5 reviews
    • 2 likes

    Wondering why I need it...?

    published

    Powerful steam with no accessory/tool attached. Much weaker with them. The product cannot produce steam continuously at the fastest flow rate, this is because it is only about 1000-1200 watts. A full tank of water is enough for about 7 to 10 minutes of steam at full flow rate.

    Technicial problems aside, I just can't find much use for it - sits in closet and gathers dust.

    Date PurchasedApr 2016
    Steam Cleaners

    Find out how Vax Steam Grime Master VSTGM1200 compares to other Steam Cleaners

    Know better, choose better.

    Compare all
    Rayah

    RayahGold coast

    Don't waste your time or your money

    published

    I wish I had seen these reviews prior to my purchase. Weak steam, no power, you must have it on max steam for any sort of effect (which is minimal), and lasted approximately 3-4 minutes. Tried cleaning my cook top, it let out a little bit of steam and dripped water all over it. Then tried to clean my roller blinds, ended up smearing a spot that was already there. Disappointed. Back to Bunnings I go.

    Cat

    Cat

    • 5 reviews
    • 2 likes

    Ran out of steam!

    published

    Worst product I have purchased in a long time. Pathetic power. How do manufacturers get away with promising the world and delivering nothing? Would not recommend and will definitely be returning to place of purchase. As soon as I find the receipt. I had doubts about its effectiveness before buying it. Doubts confirmed and Vax is definitely on my list of manufacturers I won't support again.
    Grrrrrrr.

    Waste of time

    published

    First time buyer of a steam cleaner. Hope they aren't all this bad. Lasted minutes - maybe 3. Removed a couple of cms of mould from grout at full blast. Back to Bunnings tomorrow. No amount of elbow grease helps to remove the frustration of this machine.

    John C

    John C

    • 14 reviews
    • 15 likes

    Suites my purpose

    published

    For $79 from Bunnings its reasonably good value . It is not a heavy duty cleaner but a handy tool for maintenance cleaning . I would buy again .

    abbylayla

    abbylaylaAU

    • 3 reviews
    • 2 likes

    Hopeless

    published

    I bought this today and it's hopeless it's not evening removing basic marks I have more success with a chux cloth and a bottle of bleach very disappointed

    private citizen

    private citizenRedfern NSW

    Lower your expectations

    published

    Claims of 8-10 minutes is wildly inaccurate. 3-4 minutes at the most. Firstly it wont work like high pressure water cleaner, it only has a 260ml capacity.
    I am trying to clean bath tiles, little effect until I turned it to nearly full power. It would not take the black from the grout. The steam works on the tiles but you a scrubbing with a 2cm wide brush and you cant transfer scrubbing force through the brush. trying to angle it into the grout is tricky. I ran out of steam after scrubbing 4 tiles.
    Painfully loud in a small space, I had to wear headphones.
    When it comes to bathrooms it could be a good maintenance tool working from a clean bathroom, but it is not going to get a neglected bathroom clean.

    Steam Cleaners

    Find out how Vax Steam Grime Master VSTGM1200 compares to other Steam Cleaners

    Know better, choose better.

    Compare all
    tjscott86

    tjscott86Brisbane

    • 2 reviews
    • 5 likes

    Don't Bother

    published

    Purchased this item from Bunnings on a Friday used it for the first time on Saturday and returned it on Sunday. Thankfully they gave me money back with no issue.

    Does not clean even the easiest of grime in the bath room. The window cleaner squeegee leaves the windows wet, streaky and did not remove fingerprints.

    After trying the above 2 tasks it went back in the box and back to the shop.
    Nothing but a kudos for Bunnings for an easy return policy.
    Everything

    Useless device

    published

    Not effective at all! doesn't come with a hose so difficult to carry and not good handling . window cleaning ( my main purpose of buying that) is just terbile . it leaves all dirts with lots of wet mess ! purchasing this device is just wasting money and time !

    Questions & Answers

    Susie v

    Susie vasked

    My vax steam grime master boils up and has green light on but it won’t steam through the nozzle. Any help?

    No answers
    shirleyclymo

    shirleyclymoasked

    Where are they made

    2 answers
    Phil
    Phil

    Shirley I am not sure but I would say like everything else China.
    I can only say you will be wasting your money if you buy one of these. I used it twice and persevered with trying to get it to work. (I am an engineer) Finally, I threw it out, brand new used twice, did not even bother to get my money back. Its problem is, if you let too much water escape to become steam, it spirts hot water only. If you dont let enough water out to become steam you get nothing. Buy a karcher, I hear they are good.

    shirleyclymo
    shirleyclymo

    Thank you

    Cathie

    Cathieasked

    I just found out I can’t use an extension cord for the grime master. I bought it mainly to clean my outside windows. Is there a good reason why I can’t use an extension cord?

    1 answer
    Phil
    Phil

    Take it back before you use it. This is the most useless and over rated piece of engineering ever.

    I cant see why you cant use a power cord but seriously this thing is useless. A bucket of hot water is better.

    Get an answer from our members

    ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.