??!
1 photo
Victa 82V Rapid Trimmer 1696788

Victa 82V Rapid Trimmer 1696788

4.4 from 10 reviews

See the Best Petrol Whipper Snippers in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
5
4 star
4
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0

Cliveh

ClivehGippsland, VIC

  • 3 reviews

Powerful, quiet and no starting issues

published

I have owned several whipper snippers and have been regularly frustrated at their unreliable starting. However this cordless beauty is superbly quiet, is powerful enough for any job around our half acre property and I never have to pull a cord in vain again. I suspect that there maybe better line delivery systems out there but it is a massive improvement over my previous petrol trimmer. I note others complain that the pole is too long but I don’t find this an issue.

Purchased in May 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $479.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Weekly
Grass Type Tall grass
See all answers

me_whynot

me_whynot

  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

Good trimmer, but understand how to get the best out of it

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Dave B

Dave BQueensland, 4051

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Great line trimmer for a long-term investment

published

This line trimmer is really great for quiet and reliable operation. The line trimmer is not light and it is really suitable for taller people. The battery charger is rapid so noisier than standard charger. I wish the device had 4amp battery instead of 2amp battery. The 2amp battery can go for a long while at 1 hour or more if you don't need turbo mode.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
Wills

WillsNsw, 2259

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Cordless is a great idea when the product works the way its intended

published

Made for taller people than me 170cm. The pole needs to be 1 foot shorter. Maybe 1/2 a foot. Seems to long. Needs 4ah battery standard to do the whole yard

Still using it and no matter what i try. Cant get it to last long enough on 1x 82v 2ah battery to finish my yard. Even running on the lowest speed it can go most the way. The safety switch isnt in the correct place to make easy to push and use the trigger either

Date PurchasedMar 2018

Carmelo S.

Carmelo S.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

A must for lawn maintenance

published

Bought this from Bunnings after reading reviews and specs as I normally do before buying. This is a lot dearer than the equivalent petrol version. But you get what you paid for: easy to use, low noise per power it produces and the built quality is excellent. The weight is just a tad bit heavy than the petrol version. This is due to its higher voltage (82v )battery compare to other battery operated brands. But this gives the unit, plenty of power for thicker lawns. The bump head is a plus, this avoid the hassles of always changing the worn out nylon. All in all, it is good product and highly recommended.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Aussieidiot

AussieidiotSydney, NSW

  • 12 reviews
  • 12 likes
  • Verified purchase

Easier to use than my Honda

published
Date PurchasedDec 2017

Damodon

DamodonBrisbane

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Excellent

published

Very happy with this purchase. I got the ‘skin’ only because I’d also bought the mower kit which had charger and batteries.
It’s very quiet - crazy quiet- and strong enough for everything I’ve thrown at it so far. The battery lasts 45m+ I’ve found but so far I’ve never exhausted it by just using the trimmer. The cord seems to last a very long time.
It’s a more expensive option initially but will feel like a smart purchase and the right decision. Victa have made a good product here.

Date PurchasedNov 2017

Steve

SteveTamworth

  • 6 reviews
  • 21 likes

Excellent trimmer although a little heavy

published
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Zach J

Zach JPerth

  • 3 reviews
  • 27 likes

Fantastic Trimmer

published
Date PurchasedMay 2017
1 comment
Zach J
Zach J

Powerful

published
Date PurchasedMay 2017

Questions & Answers

Thanh

Thanhasked

I just bought a Victa cordless line trimmer model 1696788. Why does its bump head falls off a couple of seconds after I pull the trigger?

No answers

colin

colinasked

how to wind the trimmer cord on?

1 answer
Zach J
Zach J

To replace the cord when it is finished and wind a new cord on,
1. Line up the slots on the spool cap with the slots on the string head.
2. Insert line through the string head hole. Push line until it exits the opposite string head hole
3. Pull the line through until there is an equal amount of line on each side.
4. Turn the spool cap clock-wise to begin winding the string into the string head.
Leave approximately 5 inches of string protruding out of each side of the head.

I have copied these texts from the manual.
What i find is that to prolong the life of the string, when u are using it near edges of bricks and walls, reduce speed.
If u only have grass to cut, use higher speeds.

You can see more details about this product by downloading the Victa manual.
1. Go to https://www.victa.com/au/en_au/support/manuals.html?
2. Click on "Lithium Ion "
3. Enter Model Number as 1696788
4. Download the manuals.


Get an answer from our members and Victa representatives

Details

CategoryPetrol Whipper Snippers
Price (RRP)299
Power SourcePetrol
Handle TypeBike Handle
Weight5

Visit official website - Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.