??!
1 photo
Westinghouse WCM1400WD / WCM2000WD / WCM2900WD

Westinghouse WCM1400WD / WCM2000WD / WCM2900WD

WCM1400WD, WCM2000WD, WCM2900WD
3.9 from 17 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

3.9

17 reviews
Previous
Next
Stevesreview

StevesreviewSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Westinghouse Chest Freezer

published

Great size family freezer, loads of room plus a basket. We had an old Tuckerbox freezer which was great, but used a lot of energy. This one uses much less, has just as much capacity, is light weight (easy for cleaning), has an external drain, and takes up less space. All this under $350. Love it.

ShaunG

ShaunGMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Very quiet, does what it says. Needs more baskets.

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Appliances Online for A$376.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Shop-till-u-drop

Shop-till-u-dropSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent chest freezer for a decent price !

published

Have decided to stock up and buy my frozen food in bulk and my fridge freezer combo at the moment just wasn't big enough so bit the bullet and decided to purchase a stand alone chest freezer , was slightly concerned about the upcoming power bill , to my amazement the power bill was no different to the one before purchasing this freezer , is whisper quiet and has a decent internal volume

Chest Freezers

Find out how Westinghouse WCM1400WD / WCM2000WD / WCM2900WD compares to other Chest Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Carla81

Carla81South East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Love it!

published

Pros - Great size. I use it to store pre-made meals and it is fantastic for buying meat or other foods in bulk when on special. For a family of 5 it is a perfect size. Have had ours 8 months already and only needing to do a defrost now. It was recommended every 6 months so I'm happy about how good it's gone frost free. Haven't noticed much of an increase in the powerbill.
Cons- Door takes a good 10-15mins before it can be re-opened but this isn't a problem for me.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Alfreddo

AlfreddoHunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great small freezer

published

This size freezer a good accompaniment to my upright model, also a Westinghouse. We live outside town, and do a weekly shop. It is quiet and economical, holds sufficient food for my family and I can freeze leftovers when I make too much. Will also allow me to cater for parties when I make food ahead for the occasion.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
Henry

HenryGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 8 likes

Compact Freezer for those that live in apartements.

published

Bought this freezer after having left behind the Fisher and Paykel freezer which I had back in Perth Western Australia. As someone who prefers to buy things in bulk and just store in the freezer, I was always annoyed when I bought stuff and found that my regular Fridge's freezer compartment was always too small to accommodate the things that I bought. So I did some research and compromised on this one due to the little space that it uses especially when it comes apartment living. So far so good. Does the work well. The suction caps can be quite inflexible but I guess that's the beautiful thing about it as it will stop air from leaking out and help with reducing those power bills. Would I recommend it to anyone? Yes definitely!

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Cherry

CherryWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Loads of space

published
Date PurchasedApr 2016
Tristian

Tristian

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great for additional space

published

We use this for additional freezer space as our integrated drawer freezer doesn't have a lot of room for bulk orders of bread, meat, etc. The chest freezer is quiet, seals well, and has more than enough space for a two-person household.
One thing to note is that, because it's not frost-free, this isn't ideal if you're opening it every day. We only open it once or twice a week and have still had to defrost it twice in under a year. That said, the plastic scraper it comes with works great, and it doesn't take long to get all the ice out.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
jeremy.ieraci

jeremy.ieraciDarwin, NT

  • 29 reviews
  • 25 likes

Excellent

published

I bought this freezer to replace an older fridge to house my home brew fermentation vessel using an external thermostat. It works an absolute treat, have not run into the problem of sticking door seal like others have stated. It's not frost free but doesn't affect me because I turn it off when not in use.

Date PurchasedJul 2017
Chest Freezers

Find out how Westinghouse WCM1400WD / WCM2000WD / WCM2900WD compares to other Chest Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
MetalGodz

MetalGodzHunter Region, NSW

  • 48 reviews
  • 26 likes

Excellent

published

Supports a great deal of space, and is ideal for any small to Medium family. Maintains a constant temperature and is quiet. The seal seems to be rugged and should cope with regular lifting. So far it hasn't needed any defrosting, as our old Tuckerbox required. Our previous Haier had just broken down, and we missed out on the Aldi unit, which was far cheaper.

Date PurchasedJan 2017
Matt

MattMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Great freezer but lid can be hard to open

published

Purchased the freezer and it has been fine but when it is empty and you have recently opened the lid, it creates a suction effect making it impossible to open the lid until you wait for a while. Having less of an issue with this now that it has heavier food in there. Apart from that, it looks good and is keeping my food cold.

Date PurchasedOct 2016
Lightshow

LightshowBrisbane

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent Product

published
Date PurchasedNov 2016
shopperjill

shopperjillNorth Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews
  • 3 likes

Happy with freezer

published
Date PurchasedJan 2017
penegeau

penegeauSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 19 reviews
  • 18 likes

Burns everything in it within hours.

published
Date PurchasedJun 2016
2 comments
Westinghouse
ELECTROLUX ..Westinghouse
penegeau
penegeau
MonsterAMG

MonsterAMG

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Failed on the 1st week

published

Bought this a week ago and it stopped working. They couldn't fix it and I am still waiting for westinghouse/electrolux to get back to me on a solution. My full load of frozen food is now going into the bin. Thought a branded product will not fail me that soon, should have bought a less known brand for lesser price instead

Date PurchasedJul 2016
2 comments
Westinghouse
ELECTROLUX ..Westinghouse
MonsterAMG
MonsterAMG
Chest Freezers

Find out how Westinghouse WCM1400WD / WCM2000WD / WCM2900WD compares to other Chest Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Guy

GuySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 10 reviews
  • 8 likes

Does exactly what it is supposed to do

published

Bought the Westinghouse after returning not just one but two Hisense units. The Hisense chest freezers both had faulty seal rims (dips in the the actual plastic moulding that were too deep for the seal to close off), causing excess ice build up. Both Hisense units also made an unpleasant gas type odour which left me feeling unwell after a few hours in the same room.

The 200L Westinghouse is clearly a better quality unit with a perfectly straight/flat seal rim and a much larger, more solid seal. There is no odour and the unit does not run as often. Should have saved myself some trouble and spent the extra $70 on the Westinghouse at the outset.

Colin52

Colin52Perth, WA

  • 31 reviews
  • 47 likes

Westinghouse 200L Chest Freezer

published
6 comments
Colin52
Colin52
Colin52
Colin52
Colin52
Colin52

Questions & Answers

BTF

BTFasked

WCM1400WD

Can anyone tell me what temperatures the dial relates to on here - goes from 1 to 5 - recommendation is three but it doesn't tell me any temperature.

No answers
Janelle

Janelleasked

WCM1400WD / WCM2000WD / WCM2900WD

Why the green light go off an on all the time is that normal i just bought 140 Tucker box freezer

1 answer
ShaunG
ShaunG

Not uncommon depends on the environment. As the unit needs to cool. The light will come in same as your fridge compressor turns on, as it warms it needs to cool.

Janelle

Janelleasked

WCM1400WD / WCM2000WD / WCM2900WD

Why does the green light go off and on all the time

2 answers
ShaunG
ShaunG

The green light is when the unit is actively cooling. If the light is off the unit has reached its set temperature.

Janelle
Janelle

Ok thanks thought there was something wronge with it

Get an answer from our members and Westinghouse representatives

Details

Compare all 3 Westinghouse WCM1400WD / WCM2000WD / WCM2900WD
CategoryChest FreezersChest FreezersChest Freezers
TypeChest FreezersChest FreezersChest Freezers
Energy Rating333
Capacity140L200L290L
Height825mm825mm845mm
Width760mm980mm1055mm
Depth560mm560mm735mm
Release dateDec 2014Dec 2014Dec 2014
Compare all 3 Westinghouse WCM1400WD / WCM2000WD / WCM2900WD

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.