??!
7 photos
Westinghouse WRB5004WA (White)

Westinghouse WRB5004WA (White)

3.8 from 13 reviews

Excellent fridge that holds it's temp evenly throughout the unit, top and bottom

Bought this as a second fridge and is working well. Easy to assemble and lives in the garage with no issues. Maintains the temperature throughout the fridge and is very easy to use. Shelves are easy to move around and can store plenty of difficult size shapes when needed during parties. Very happy with the operation.

Purchased in January 2019 at Appliances Online for $1,517.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
Household Size 6 person(s)

Good Refrigerator

Very good fridge. Bought the matching freezer at the same time. Had to put the door handles on went delivered which was easy for the freezer but the fridge was a different story. The screww holes are full of insulation stuff that made it hard to get the screws in. The end result was a service call to fix the door handle.... The westinghouse service agent fixed the door handle but a bit of a rough job i.e. made modifications tonthe door as he didn't have the right size screws and put a minor scratch in the door. So no faith in their service agents, but the fridge works and works well. The vegetable crisper doesn't open or close easily. Hence the 4 stars.

Date PurchasedJun 2018

Perfect size

This is an excellent size for two people, has no noise, defrosts well.so easy to clean, just perfect for us,the temperature stays at the right temperature all the time, i would recommend this to anyone who wants just the perfect size for unit living.easy to pull out and clean behind it

Date PurchasedDec 2016

Good temperature

My 20-year old fridge went on the blink, with frozen fruit, vegetables and smallgoods a common occurrence. Now with this new fridge, we've only had a couple of minor freezes of fruit - and that's only been when they're actually touching the back of the fridge - so we make sure the melons never touch the back/side of the fridge! Apples and citrus fruits seem fine touching the sides of the fridge without freezing, I guess melons are a bit more temperamental.
Now we have cold jars in the fridge door, too - I like! The temperature control is GOOD through the whole fridge. And I like the quick cool option, too. Very useful if you've just put warm food in the fridge after making it. Or just done a big shop and you've had the door open for a while (and yes, it does beep at you after a while if the door stays open, but it's not a loud, horribly annoying beep).
It's SO easy to find things with that big back-light - no more dark spaces! Although first thing in the morning when you've just woken up it seems a bit too bright, ha ha. With its spacious interior, at least I can find things and nothing will go off now for lack of finding it.
This fridge IS a little noisy sometimes, but its pigeon pair freezer is also a little noisy, and compared to my old fridge, it's quiet as a mouse. I don't think you can ever get a super-quiet fridge, unfortunately...and that's a bit of a drawback if you ask me. I'm in the kitchen sometimes and hearing these strange little tick-tick sounds or gassy sounds...and it's emanating from the fridge...it's a bit eerie.
We have NO troubles opening the fridge (unlike what a lot of other people mention in their reviews). We also haven't put the handle on due to lack of space walking in front of the fridge (we don't want to bang our shoulder on it). I think it's easier to open without a handle. We can open it from the top or anywhere down the side. We tried it with a handle and without, and it opens more easily without the handle we feel. The handle looks great, but we just don't have the space for it. Also means our kids can't easily get into it!
My major gripe is that the vegetable drawer down the bottom is an absolute PAIN to open and close! You have to use two hands, and carefully, otherwise it just jams. I keep thinking I'm going to snap it or something. It feels like it should be more smooth, but it's just not. It's like there's a section of plastic permanently stuck there getting in the way - but there's not! The way they have designed it seems odd, with the ratchety top 'rail' catching far too easily.
This fridge would've got 4 stars if that veggie drawer wasn't such a nightmare to open. And 5 stars if it was quiet!

Date PurchasedJan 2018
2 comments
Hi Robyn, Narelle from Electrolux here. We are sorry to hear you are experiencing problems with your Fridge. If you wish to discuss this further please feel free to contact me at customercare@electrolux.com.au attention Narelle ThanksI don't think there's much you can do. This fridge does what it is supposed to do - keep things cold! It's just not as quiet as I would like it to be, and the veggie drawer is designed a certain way. Perhaps in future designs you could make the veggie drawer a LOT easier to open and close.

Love my fridge - when I can open it!

I purchased this fridge nearly 12 months ago and while I love the design and space the fact that the fridge won't open again straight away is a total nightmare. In our hot Qld climate, we have to wait up to 20 - 30 minutes on some days to be able to re-open the fridge. Needless to say this is very inconvenient and impractical.

What can be done to fix the flaw in the design? We are at our wits end!

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Can't open the door

This fridge is a nightmare. At first I thought that the door wouldn't open because it was new and would take some time (as it did with other fridges).
After a couple of months, I thought that it had gone on for a bit long.
Just recently I did some research and found that if the temperature difference is substantial, then it can take longer to open the door. Fair enough. So I gave it a few more months to perform.
Now, much later and being at my wits end, I have researched this fridge and found that other customers have the exact same problem. I am so disappointed.
So,
to answer your questions
- it maintains temp if the door is shut properly
- yes, it's quiet;
- it is easy to clean, but I wouldn't say that it is any easier to clean than any other glass shelfed fridge (even though you seem to be claiming that it is sooooo easy to clean)

Westinghouse, you better fix this problem, for the sake of good customer service. I've been let down in the washing maching arena, and now the fridge (so far). I hope to hear from you soon.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
1 comment
Hi Bec, Kathy from Electrolux here. We are sorry to hear you are experiencing problems with your Westinghouse fridge. We would love the opportunity to discuss the concerns you have raised with model WRB5004WA If you wish to discuss this further please feel free to contact me at customercare@electrolux.com.au attention Kathy Thanks Kathy

Avoid this fridge

Looks nice, plenty of space, but try and open the door more than once...no chance.

Just spent an enjoyable 40mins on the phone to Westinghouse describing the massive inconvenience of having a fridge with seals that are so strong, that after opening it once and closing the door, the fridge won't open again for 45-60secs.

In a nutshell, if you take something out of the fridge, you can't put it back in. Such a headache.

Date PurchasedNov 2017

Great fridge !!

This fridge works so well in our kitchen ! So quite and keeps all the food nice and cool. Has a great humidity drawer in the bottom but can get a bit sticky to open sometimes. Love that it has a matching freezer and we will be purchasing that too !

Date PurchasedNov 2017

top price and quality

very happy with my purchase . There is plenty of space to put even large containers. The only drawback that I find is that the motor is slightly noisy. There is plenty of light to see inside even at night.

Great

At 510 litres this fridge provides all the space a family needs.
Love the adjustable crisper (no more forzev veg), fast chill option and wide shelves
The full length LED light shows up every corner so nothing gets lost in corners.
Fully adjustable shelving and sliding door shelves to fit tall items is a great touch.
I just love this fridge. And .....you can reverse the door if you need to have it open in the other direction.
Couldn't be happier

Date PurchasedOct 2017

Beautiful fridge

We bought this from harvey norman. I love that iys just a fridge (no freezer) has lots of shelving & even a saftey compartment for medicines. Keeps food nice and cold. Food stays nice & fresh for a long period of time. Very easy to clean with the glass shelving.

Date PurchasedAug 2017

Fingers crossed

Had to call in an electrician this morning after our 22 yr old 2-door American assembled Whirlpool fridge almost caused a fire. We had noticed a smokey kitchen and an overpowering chemical burning smell. The safety switch in the mains was triggered and our electrician advised us that the old models have an unhealthy design with a board covering the rear at the base which limited ventilation. Dust had accumulated and clogged up the blades of the fan which could not turn but electricity cont to flow, causing heat and what we smelled. Had the safety switch not triggered, a fire would have erupted. My stubborn husband ignored my brother-in-laws' advice and mine to get rid of this old model on the basis of poor energy efficiency as he wanted to retain this as the "stinky" fridge which could store food with odours that did not appeal to him, like seafood. Well, it almost cost us our house. Off we went to Harvey Norman, wary that Westinghouse has closed its manufacturing doors in NSW to move to Thailand. We wanted a single door fridge only unit so that left limited choices. So despite my review on WRM4300WB last yr, we took the plunge on WRB5004SA with a 2 yr warranty as the other models appear to have equally flimsy hinged joints. Fingers crossed, esp with a made in Thailand product and hopefully I do not have to make another post to amend the star rating for at least 5 yrs

Date PurchasedMar 2017
2 comments
I emailed U on 16/3/17 at customercare@electrolux.com.au but did not receive any reply or tel call. So I am posting this - This is part of my email Hi ELECTROLUX OR WESTINGHOUSE CUSTOMER CARE I bought with some hesitation, another Westinghouse fridge on Monday though your manufacturing plant has relocated to Thailand The purchase was made on Mon and it arrived 2 days later 15/3/17 Model WRB5004SA Please refer to the pix of the attached door where of the 6 screws, 5 are faulty I do not wanna end up with another fridge door worse than the one I had to replace for the WRM4300SB Try emailing Westinghouse for resolution, says my header of my other product review I would like a new fridge, a new door ... ASAP The fridge had not been turned on Please don't make me wait 3-4 wks for a new door I would like a brand new perfect replacement Please advise me (mobile number was provided) HUMBUG - I did not receive any call. I contacted Harvey Norman where superstaff [name removed] tried her best to resolve my disappointment with their Westinghouse rep - I have been told that I cannot refund the fridge as it is out of the packaging - nor will they give me a new unit - I can only keep my fingers crossed that there are no other construction defects in other parts of the fridge not visible to me. I have been advised to use the fridge and wait for up to 6 wks to get a new door The design of the fridge door of this model is different - 5 of the 6 screws are jutting out, only one was inserted correctly. However, the demo model on the floor had the screws fitted properly X6. We own 3 other Westinghouse models, Aussie made - screws not visible on the side Cannot comment on other functioning as have not switched it on. My family and I are annoyed and unhappy. Stay tunedCustomer Care at Electrolux called me to my surprise, offering me a replacement fridge which arrived within a week. This time, the fridge arrived first, and later, a technician came to install the handle and screws - we realized that the whitish screw tops were just to cover the metallic screw bores and on our earlier model, had not been properly installed. The door seal on this is better. Like the other reviewer Susan, we found the door seal of the first faulty model too tight. Thank U A week later, our 12.5 yr old staff room fridge failed. Our split system refrigeration mech sugg it would not be worth repairs so given the positive experience, I decided to replace it with a Westinghouse WTB2800WG but decided to add on a 3 yr commercial extra care warranty with Online Appliances. This makes it our 6th Westinghouse fridge/freezer but 2nd Thai model - if there are any probs with the Thai models, I will post a review but so far, we have not had any probs in the first few wks and both are running smoothly and quietly

Fantastic so far but only a few weeks of operation.

Big 500 litres of fridge and going great. Runs at 50 watts which tells me that the newer stuff really is more economical, because the older model Westinghouse all fridge we have just replaced was about double that power consumption at 104 watts. It was 21 years old and still going strong, even had the original door seal and never a service call in all that time. So for this reason we decided to invest again in the Westinghouse all fridge thing. As there are only a few of that type of fridge on the market it was really a no brainer. Complaints of excessive door suction, which is true, don't worry me. I like it, tells me there's no leaks. But after a minute or so entry is allowed, and if instructions followed regarding the floor supports its steady as a rock on the floor. Really no issues at all, but as curly says "day ain't over yet". So time will tell, I post my critique early in order to qualify for the competition, wicked I know.
Rupert. (not stupert)

Update: fridge still working fine some months in, suction on door not quite as dramatic now, but crisper drawer starting to be difficult to pull out push in. Can't really figure out what the problem is as all looks ok. Still not a deal breaker though.

Date PurchasedJan 2017

See all Westinghouse 501L Upright reviews

Questions & Answers

Help the door alarm is going off for over an hour now. Have read and applied all the troubleshooting methods in the book have tried some online tips. Nothing. Beep. Friggin beep. Am home sick from work with a headache. About to kill this fridge it’s one week old. Tried to call the 1300 number sat on hold for 30 mins. Grrrrrr. Any one know how to stop 5ge beep
1 answer
Have you completely closed the door, or does the fridge think it's properly closed? Is there a small power cord (eg phone charging cable) hanging in the seal? Perhaps the sensor inside has gotten stuck somehow and it thinks the door is still open? Maybe have a look at that to see if it's working properly and that it registers that the door is in fact opening & closing? If all else fails you can always unplug the fridge...at least it won't beep then! But your food won't stay cold, either...! Perhaps just unplug it for an hour at a time... Anyway, good luck. If it's something that's fried electrically that's causing it to beep incessantly then I suggest you wear earplugs or earmuffs inside until it's fixed!

I have the model WRB5004wa very pleased but seems like it runs quite often. Example in middle of night with no one opening or closing. Any suggestion?
1 answer
Frank, thanks for the question. I wouldn't be to concerned about that, as it's my understanding that fridges and freezers cycle on and off all the time, 24/7. My noisy 15 year old fisher and paykel freezer sure does . I put a Aldi fridge/ freezer temp gauge inside the big Westinghouse to get the 3 degrees I wanted and it has the light scale indicators showing 2 and a half led lights luminated ( meaning two brightly lit and the third less so). I would think the ambient temperature in the room has a huge bearing on how hard the fridge works, you know if the rooms warm the fridge will work to keep temp inside right. Also I find that good fridges of any size can start freezing tucker if turned up to high. So relax and grab another beer you deserve it. See ya Rick

Details

WRB5004WA (White)
Price (RRP) $1,899
Dimensions 1725 x 699 x 720 mm
Energy Rating3 star(s)
Household Size 4-5 people
FeaturesDoor Alarm and Frost Free
Colour / Finish White
Handle Type External
Smart Fridge No
Shelf MaterialGlass
Number of Shelves5
Number of Fruit & Vegetable Bins 1
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Capacity
Total Capacity 501 L
Fridge Capacity 463 L
Compare all Westinghouse 501L Upright

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.