??!
1 photo
Yamaha EF2400IS

Yamaha EF2400IS

4.2 from 10 reviews

See the Best Generators in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
7
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
1

Kelly

KellySydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Great product

published

Awesome product. Very reliable and easy to use. Good size to transport on site or around the farm. Much better quality than the Chinese imports. It’s also a very quiet machine which is great

Purchased in April 2019 at Pickles Auctions for $600.00.


michael

michaelWestern Australia

not as good as I'd expect for a Jap machine

published

This is the second EF2400is Ive had. The first one after three years, the ECU failed. It was always an easy machine to start, usually first pull, but anyway I decided to stay with the brand...bought another one....and again the ECU failed..!!...after a few years..
Before the Yamaha I had a Honda...not once did i have a problem with it. It always started first time, and not once did it ever let me down. ...Im going back to Honda. You might be ranting how good your Yamaha is now.....but it will stop working sooner or later.....Honda's seem to go on for ever..!!

Purchased in August 2015 for $2,200.00.

Not happy

published

Have had for 7 years and use as little as 70 hours a year. Have had to pay to replace ecu at just over 5 years old and 2 years later the unit smoked and now requires further repairs. Always serviced correctly since new.

Purchased in October 2012 at Generator Store for $2,000.00.

Rob B

Rob BMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Excellent generator

published

I tested my caravan AC (older Ibis) on both Honda and Yamaha 2 generators. No go. Bought a cheapy 4.4kw - what a mistake, it would not power anything over 1600w. Bought the Yamaha iS 2400 and have not looked back. Runs AC, washing machine (300w) and battery charger (240w) at the same time. No Eco switch needed - it's in full time Eco as the oversized engine (171cc) has enough grunt to power up under full load. a bit heavy at 32kg, but that's not surprising with the large, easy-working engine. Starts easy, and I like the fuel gauge, so I can refill when it suits me.

Date PurchasedMar 2017

Hydo

HydoGoulburn Valley, VIC

  • 5 reviews

Starts first time every time.

published

I bought my generator back in December from Totals tools and I have set it up on a fridge slide in the ute canopy. We are basically full time travellers and I have been using this genny in conjunction with the gas cooking to boil the kettle, cook toast and use the frying pan. In the 3 months we have owned it we have not had any issues with it. The main reason we bought it was to run the aircon which we haven't had to yet but we won't have a problem as it runs all the other appliances with ease. A bit heavy but on the fridge slide I don't have to man handle it. Runs super quiet as well.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

The perfect Builders tool.

published

I have just finished a 650 sqm 2 storey home to lock up stage using only the Yamaha 2400 as my power supply. Permanent power is now connected and the money saved installing temp power almost paid for the inverter. Simply brilliant and a must have tool for remote building.

Date PurchasedMar 2015

Tim

TimMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 11 reviews
  • 14 likes

Perfect caravan genny!

published
Date PurchasedMar 2017

Rob

RobAU

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Very quiet and plenty of power

published
Date PurchasedNov 2016
Rocko Wallaby

Rocko WallabyGold Coast

  • 12 reviews

Excellent product, easy to start, and ultra reliable

published

I bought this genny tossing up between the Honda 2kw.
Was used to power the aircon in my caravan. But, unlike some competitors, I could run the Microwave AND aircon simultaneously!

It starts easily, runs a hell of a long time on a tank of fuel, and would be perfect for caravans where you have the room, especially larger vans

It's only fault is size and weight. It's big, heavy, and cumbersome. I could slog it around myself, but it's really a 2 person lift, and not something you'd want to toss around a camp sight without need.

Otherwise, if you were looking for a home backup genny, or one fixed into a larger van, it was bulletproof.
Quality Yamaha engineering, would gladly recommend to anyone.

EF2400IS - Great Geni

published

This generator is great. Quiet and efficient and starts real easerly. We bought this unit after researcing and comparing against the 20i Honda. i found that overall the Yamaha came out on top. If there was one thing i think the Honda had on this unit, it would be the ease of moving it.
Very low noise. Ease of operation.
Hard to move one out.

1 comment
pat
pat

hi be carefull the unit is earthed mine just died as a result of a fusion of the windings ( possible overload maybe lightening related. parts are very expensive

Questions & Answers

Ian W.

Ian W.asked

My Stator has gone on my EF2400IS. I need to buy the part but from what i can se they are way to expensive. Do i have to buy genuine?

1 answer
Richard
Richard

Mine went as well Ian and I ended up buying a new generator (same one). mine was 8 years old so for $1900 I just started again with a new one. What is the price to repair yours with genuine parts?


Roz T

Roz Tasked

Would this generator be a good back up generator to an off grid solar system? Can it be wired in for automatic start? Does it have an RCD?

2 answers
Rob B
Rob B

Roz, the Yamaha is2400 does not have electric start. It's a very reliable pull cord start. And it does not have an inbuilt RCD as far as I know. As a camping/caravan power unit, the RCD is inside the caravan. It would certainly make a good backup to a solar/battery off grid system. On a 48v system it could power a 40 amp 48v charger.

Roz T
Roz T

Thanks Rob
What about using it for charging batteries and using for powertools whilst building a house in a remote location? Will this sort of use damage the generator?


Penny

Pennyasked

I would like to use it for back up heating in power outages in a small bungalow. Can you recommend a simple heater it could power?

2 answers
Rob B
Rob B

The Yamaha 2400is is rated at 2200watts continuous, so any heater of less than this rating would be ok. Look st the power rating in the box or the heater itself. There are a number of small inexpensive two stage ceramic fan heaters available which are around 800/1600, or 1000/2000 watts which will work well with this generator. Any oil column heater rated below 2200 watts would be ok too. Small reverse cycle air conditioners of around 3000watts heating capacity (less than around 1600 watts power usage) will probably work ok too. I say probably there as reverse cycle AC units have motors which have a surge current when the compressor cycles on, which must be less than the 2400 watt surge limit of the 2400is generator. "Soft start" AC units reduce this surge on start up - talk to the people selling ACs if considering this option.

Penny
Penny

Thank you very much ......I thought as much but good to have it confirmed! Penny


Get an answer from our members and Yamaha Motor representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.