Generations:
Filter By:

Ballarat

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: MN (2009-2014) Badge: GL-R Cab: Dual Cab Body: Ute Engine Size: 2.5L Turbo-Diesel Transmission: Automatic Date Purchased: Feb 2016

Regretful buy

1 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 12, 2018

2012 mn triton auto duel cab.
Poor fuel economy. Slow acceleration which is rather scary trying to get out into traffic. Which eventually blew a head gasket at 190k resulting in a complete engine replacement. I should have done my research before buying this. I am not a fan of the triton

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Perth

  • 1 review
  • 3 answers
Private message

Generation: MN (2009-2014) Badge: GL-R Cab: Dual Cab Body: Ute Engine Size: 2.5L Turbo-Diesel Transmission: Automatic Date Purchased: Jun 2017

Special tool for diff drain plug

5 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 04, 2018

Hi I have a 2011 Triton I want to change the oil in rear diff.where do I get the special tool.looks bit like a L key & does it have a special name.Also how do I find out if my car has the Takata air bag.i tried going online and punching in my rego & state.but it just comes up with rego & state not recognised.i also sent an email but no reply.also sent email to Mitsubishi

Was this review helpful? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Generation: MQ (2015-2018) Cab: Club Cab Body: Ute Engine Size: 2.4L Turbo-Diesel Transmission: Manual Date Purchased: Jan 2016

Four gear boxes

1 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 24, 2018

Have had the car from new at 22000 clutch burnt out not covered under warranty had to pay another $3500 out gear box was piping out of third gear repackaged parts still broken new gear box number one replaced three months later gear box issue again new gear box number two six months later same issue new gear box number three five months later gear box four and now gear box five and I have a crack in the mainifold as well and told not to tow with it and it’s the time of the year where I need it the most going into Christmas car has only done 75000 km what a price of crap and Mitsubishi tell you lies and have had to go to a lawyer to get results more time and money lost do not buy a triton worst car I’ve ever had

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Verified Purchase Generation: MQ (2015-2018) Badge: Exceed Cab: Dual Cab Body: Ute Engine Size: 2.4L Turbo-Diesel Transmission: Automatic Date Purchased: Jun 2018

GREAT CAR

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 23, 2018

There can be no denying the Triton’s sticker price jumps off the page and slaps you in the face. Our test vehicle was the premium grade Exceed purchased for 35K DEMO 700KMS out of the tank all the bells and whistles

Compare that with other top-shelf 4x4 dual cab utes like the Amarok Ultimate V6 ($68,490), HiLux Rugged X auto ($63,690), Ranger Wildtrak auto ($61,790), Colorado Z71 auto ($57,190) and Navara ST-X ($54,490). Obviously, many Aussies have done this and concluded that being able to buy a high quality Japanese ute with all the fruit for under $50K represents outstanding value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Generation: MQ (2015-2018) Cab: Single Cab Body: Ute Engine Size: 2.4L Turbo-Diesel Transmission: Manual Date Purchased: Aug 2016 Drive: 4WD

big problems

2 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 13, 2018

hi
I have a 2016 tritan as a work ute. things were going ok, then at 45000 klms the diesel injector blocked, court fire and melted. 3.5 weeks in workshop then told it was good to go. I drove out of workshop did 132 klms the dpf and engine warning light came on, I had to drive back to workshop at 40 kays as that was max speed, I waited 2 day before they told me it may be a dpf problem and they may be able to claim it under warranty, but they cannot even think about ordering parts until they sort out if its a warranty job. Not to mention this part is not in Australia and will take a month to get here.
The workshop tell me nothing I have to ring to ask them, and the best part is they don't know.

Was this review helpful? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: MQ (2015-2018) Badge: GLX Cab: Single Cab Body: Cab Chassis Engine Size: 2.4L Turbo-Diesel Transmission: Manual Date Purchased: Dec 2015 Drive: 4WD

4wd.. Your joking...

2 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 23, 2018

4wd. Single cab... Purchase new dec 2015... The drum that holds your seat belts.. When retracted rattles very loud . was told by dealer.. Your on your own... When 4x4 stick broke the wire for the rear wheel sensor.. NO more 4wd..but rear wheels bind up if you drive it... I recommend you don't drive it until you you fix it..$400 plus to replace... 2.4 diesel big flat turbo lag..one more thing If your on your own. In the bush with a flat battery you can't clutch start it... Because you have to press in the clutch to start...WHAT WHERE YOU THINKING... 4WD IS A OF ROAD VEHICLE... MITSUBISHI...

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Generation: MQ (2015-2018) Badge: GLS Cab: Dual Cab Body: Ute Engine Size: 2.4L Turbo-Diesel Transmission: Automatic Date Purchased: Jul 2016 Drive: 4WD

No Real Issues At All...Can't Argue with the VALUE FOR MONEY!!!!!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 13, 2018

Have had this car over 2 years and serviced it on time, every time and it (touch wood) hasn't missed a beat. I've got 85xxxkms on the clock and the worst problem i have had is the steering wheel leather peel off, but that was apparently a known issue and they replaced it with a brand new version of it and its still perfect after 60xxxkms.

It drives like a car, i do mostly highway driving to and from work but also do a bit of town and city driving. i constantly average 750kms to a tank and ive gotten as much as 900kms before, the lowest i recorded was 550kms but i was towing a jayco swan caravan so i was still impressed. Towing was a breeze when you put it in triptronic cause i found it trying to much to drop up and down from 5 to 4 but if you see the hill coming and put it in to 4 a bit before the incline it feels so much smoother.

I've fitted an EGR blanking resistor mod and a catch can and my mechanic says my oil is cleaner than most if not all the diesels he sees in and out of his shop, these mods have stopped the sooty build up in the engine so this would the main reason that the oil is pretty clean.

I cant fault the car other than the paint job is a little thinner than i'd like but to pay only 40k and drive out with nudge bar, tonneau cover, Ute liner, tow bar and tow ball, electric brake controller and some roof racks....oh and some rubber mats i cant really complain. I plan to keep this for a long while so i can always try to sort out some paint restoration something later to spruce it up after a couple of years.

Now as the car sits after 2 years its been lifted 2 inches, triple hoop bull bar, led spotties, led lightbars, bigger tyres and still haven't paid as much as my mates navara stx which has been in twice for a rear main oil seal replacement and one of his turbos blowing

Was this review helpful? Yes

Generation: MQ (2015-2018) Badge: Exceed Cab: Dual Cab Body: Ute Engine Size: 2.4L Turbo-Diesel Transmission: Automatic Date Purchased: Sep 2015 Drive: 4WD

Great value for money.Paint and finish arr very good.

5 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 08, 2018

My only vehicle so reliability is first priority,as a fair amount of my driving is on country roads where there is no mobile reception.I travel around 430 kilometres one way to visit family and friends on a regular basis,about every 6 to 7 weeks..Very comfortable,100% reliable,has just been serviced 3 year 45,000 kilometres.For a 2.4 motor it has good overtaking power.I have only done a small amount of off road but seems very capable.

Was this review helpful? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Generation: MQ (2015-2018) Cab: Club Cab Body: Ute Engine Size: 2.5L Turbo-Diesel Transmission: Manual Date Purchased: Mar 2015

Not impressed

2 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 17, 2018

Not very happy with this ute.
Air bag light keeps coming on, have taken it in 4 times in one year. Mitsubishi simply don't k ow what it is. So I'm literally driving a time bomb for all I know.
And apart from that the diesel is a total slug bug.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

PERTH

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 answer
  • 5 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: MQ (2015-2018) Badge: GLX Cab: Dual Cab Body: Ute Engine Size: 2.4L Turbo-Diesel Transmission: Manual Date Purchased: Jun 2017 Drive: 4WD

MQ Diesel Dual Cab-Pig!

2 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 01, 2018

Not happy at all with this vehicle. Seats fallen apart, Stereo system and bluetooth turn robotic. Roof racks interfere with radio reception as aerial cant fully extend. Has flat spot on acceleration. Doesn't like to tow which defeats the purpose as its a commercial work horse. Paint is absolutely crappy! Low quality for the new price paid! Capped price servicing from Mitsubishi only goes up to 45,000kms! Do not bother. Its an absolute PIG! Was told it was a GLXplus- no such badge!

Purchased at: John Hughes Car Sales

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Mandurah

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 answers
Private message

Verified Purchase Generation: MQ (2015-2018) Badge: GLS Cab: Dual Cab Body: Ute Engine Size: 2.4L Turbo-Diesel Transmission: Automatic Date Purchased: Aug 2018 Drive: 4WD

2018 Triton Blackline Edition

5 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 31, 2018

What an amazing vehicle I have just purchased, Looks amazing and drives well on road.
Great turning circle for such a large vehicle and loads of clearance with great view from front cabin.
Next stop .... Aussie Bush, will have to do another review once I get this beast out and about in the wild.

Was this review helpful? Yes

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Purchase Generation: MQ (2015-2018) Badge: GLS Cab: Dual Cab Body: Ute Engine Size: 2.4L Turbo-Diesel Transmission: Automatic Date Purchased: Jul 2018 Drive: 4WD

Disappointed

3 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 25, 2018

Nice to drive, quiet in the cab and roomy.
The negatives: back twice for RUST in chassis. Terrible turbo lag. Traction control cannot be turned off, useless on sand. MAJOR design flaw wheel speed sensor wire snapped in half, $550 repair not under warranty. Mitsubishi wiped their hands of it.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Brisbane

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Generation: MQ (2015-2018) Badge: GLS Cab: Dual Cab Body: Ute Engine Size: 2.5L Turbo-Diesel Transmission: Manual Date Purchased: Aug 2017 Drive: 4WD

Poor quality

2 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 24, 2018

Bought a 2017 black sports edition triton last year brand new. What a mistake !!
Visually looked real nice when I bought it but it didn’t take long for me to notice how cheap everything is on the inside. Nothing feels durable and anything that looks flash scratches if you touch it !
The outside is just as bad. The panels are super thin and weak . Pretty much anything that rubs up against it scratches. Unlike other vechicles I’ve previously had, I have to be very gentle washing it incase I mark it some more !

DO NOT BUY THIS CRAP

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Generation: MQ (2015-2018) Badge: GLS Cab: Double Cab Body: Cab Chassis Engine Size: 2.4L Turbo-Diesel Transmission: Automatic Date Purchased: Jun 2018 Drive: 4WD

assessment of the current GLS auto diesel for the past month

4 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 24, 2018

Its a great handling car with a couple of things that need improvement on. Drivers side arm rest on both sides need to be in more reach of the steering wheel when resting. need more leg room for the driver as console to close to left leg, High beam light not bright enough, and my biggest cry is the head rests need to be able to tilt back and forth, and I was so used to my navara st the back seats to to flip up, cant do it in this car , there bolted down

Was this review helpful? Yes

Generation: MQ (2015-2018) Badge: Exceed Cab: Double Cab Body: Ute Engine Size: 2.4L Turbo-Diesel Transmission: Manual Date Purchased: May 2018

Good Car, easy to stall though

4 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 16, 2018

It's a great vehicle all round so far, it does slip a little more when towing in 4x4, but I think this is due to too much torque going to rear wheels as opposed to 50:50 bias of the MN.

The biggest faults are the time it takes to engage low 4x4 due to no lever, and the way it just stalls out of the blue at times. The hill assist braking system doesn't help!

Was this review helpful? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Generation: MQ (2015-2018) Cab: Double Cab Body: Cab Chassis Engine Size: 2.4L Turbo-Diesel Transmission: Manual Date Purchased: May 2016 Drive: 4WD

2016 GLS Triton - Excellent fuel economy, Great value, Its a work Ute.

3 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 16, 2018

The Bad Firstly:
- 3rd Gear would sometimes jump out of Gear, thought it may have been me shifting but seemed pretty violent when it happened, odd for such low kms, it didn't worry me as the ute is under 10 year warranty for drive line.
- Left Hand Front premature wear, Mitsubishi blamed soft tires, Provided One free wheel alignment provided sheet to show it wasn't out. They swapped to my spare, I jumped up & down.. they replaced the Tyre
- Apple car play, head-unit would sometimes have a volume issue, had to disconnect the battery to fix this as occurred a few times also talking on the phone wasn't an issue, Volume comes through the Left hand speaker however, which can be somewhat hard to hear.
- Seat belt rattles, squeaky rear suspension, instead of complaining about this I just fixed them myself, literally $25 fixed these issues.
- Hobart Dealership was atrocious to deal with, so went to Victoria & saved $5000 they flew me over then put me on the boat home (to Tasmania).
- A bit laggy down the bottom end not a bad thing once you know where the torque range is & know how to drive, knowing its a diesel this is very common thing.... Remaps are cheap from good companies that retain your factory warranty to get it on boost faster.

The Great:
- Good off road ability, I got this in places it really shouldn't have been able to go on highway terrains, the traction control & 4wd system is great.
- I paid $34000 for this car brand new, $10-$15000 less than major competitors, I think most people forget that they are paying less, if you pay $60- $70000 for a Hilux or Ranger and have any issue then you have grounds to complain.
- Fixed price Servicing.
- All these complaints about Fuel economy, I was getting on average 750 kms to a tank, best I got was 850kms to the tank (stock car nothing done at all)
- Parts are cheaper for these to Modify them.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Blacktown

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 answers
  • 3 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: MQ (2015-2018) Cab: Double Cab Body: Cab Chassis Engine Size: 2.4L Turbo-Diesel Transmission: Manual Date Purchased: Nov 2016

Diesel particulate filter and car over reving

2 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 08, 2018

Very disappointed in my financed 2016 triton. 45,000km. The cars been towed in twice with DPF probs, after taking it for a run regularly. Just got it back and now it’s over reving again, in which I was told was causing the dpf issue Lander said it was a sensor problem aswell.. I’m on my 3rd sensor. Days off work. The stitching on steering wheel and driver seat is coming undone, bump the car and it scratches deeply.. definitely not a reliable work car, which was sold to me too be a work horse in Sydney. I also was told, that it could be my possible fault on the dpf first failure, as I do a lot of short trips .. why sell them? if there not built for running around.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Geelong

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 answer
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Generation: MN (2009-2014) Badge: GLX Cab: Dual Cab Body: Cab Chassis Engine Size: 2.5L Turbo-Diesel Transmission: Automatic Date Purchased: Jun 2017 Drive: 4WD

Warranty claim unable to rectify acceleration issues

1 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 29, 2018

Hi to whom this may concern,

I have had alot of dealings with Kings Mitsubishi Breakwater Geelong. In this said my original warranty claim was for the timing belt pulley, it collapsed at 95,000km and the car has had nothing but trouble since.
Sadly for me I've had 7 warranty visits with the same problem. 5th time round it was 2 faulty injectors resolving the issue, after picking up the vehicle 4 times prior, again told it was in great working order and it still had the same acceleration problems from when I took it back the second time.
So here I am again a few months later after the car finally being repaired well and now I have the same faults and no one can rectify them. I was even told by the Manager that there is no problem that it drives perfectly, the same as 2 other models the same as mine. He later admitted it was only one other car he drove.

It lacks power down low, flat spots between 2000-3000 rpm and not to mention no power to take off at all and occasionally the turbo will not kick in, it just goes through the gears when the accelerator is flat to the floor without turbo kicking in.
I'm sick of the lack of care and rude arrogance of [name removed] whom seems more worried about returning the loan car than repairing mine. It seems wasting my time driving 1hr and 30 minutes back and forth when I should be at work is just normal.
Last visit number 7 I believe, the car was kept for one week with still no answers. I just got told they require the Tech from Melbourne and I have to pick up the car until they can rebook me in again. I asked the manager if they found a fault he replied I don't know but they odviosly wouldn't go down this road if they didn't find a problem.
But who would know because odviosly there is not one mechanic in Geelong Mitsubishi that can problem solve or diagnosticly find faults.
To also mention my car had been taken to Waurnponds branch last week where Sean was involved and helpfully tried to keep me in the loop, but to find know faults. Still he believes that there could be a problem so he is getting in contact with this Tech from Melbourne.

Although I have little faith that there is a capible person working at Mitsubishi as the original mechanic who repaired it to proper working order at 5th go round unfortunately for me does not work there anymore, but at least he believed there was a problem and finally rectified it with 2 new injectors....unlike the extremely rude and careless Manager....

Could the other 2 injectors be the problem as it is the same annoying issues as the last time......?
I am really tired of this, can't anyone just please fix my car?

P.s forgot to mention even on the workings of the timing belt the front guard had to be repaired as it was deeply scratched and required painting. It just keeps rolling on....

Frustrated and stressed out

Regards Terry

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 1 answer
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Generation: MN (2009-2014) Badge: GL Cab: Dual Cab Body: Cab Chassis Engine Size: 2.5L Turbo-Diesel Transmission: Manual Date Purchased: Jan 2014

Engine issues

2 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 27, 2018

Had overheating issues at 68,000km and a new engine was installed under warranty. Great. Until the same issue appeared again at 120,000. Not happy Jan.
If it is a major issue In these engines, mitsubishi should try recalling the engines in question before people are left these faults and no warranty.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Generation: MN (2009-2014) Badge: GLX-R Cab: Double Cab Body: Cab Chassis Engine Size: 2.4L Turbo-Diesel Transmission: Automatic Date Purchased: Dec 2011

Water in fuel filter and battery lights

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 25, 2018

2011 GLX-R 4x4, fuel filter light has come on, cleaned and bleed half dozen times still remains on as does the battery light, new battery, have had engine bay cleaned possible water in connection etc, but have spent a hour or so pulling apart and cleaning/spraying connections to no avail?? Anyone ????

Was this review helpful? Yes

1 of 19 pages


Questions & Answers

MK (1996-2006)

I was driving my 2005 MK GLXR Triton petrol today when all of a sudden my indicator lights all came on and stayed on continually, and wouldn't turn off, when I got home I turned every thing off, and went to restart the car, and now only the left side indicators came on, but now I have no ignition lights, and no start. any ideas?

john asked on Dec 08, 2018

Answer this

Call an auto sparky

MK (1996-2006)

Will the canopy off a 1995 triton fit on a 2012 triton?

Rony asked on Dec 07, 2018

Answer this

No the 95 & 2012 are different size trays.1 is a bit longer than the other if you want to save money try the wreckers for a second canopy Maybe even ask if you can do a swap with the wreckers.hey it's worth a try or try gumtree or quokka paper

MQ (2015-Present)

need a replacement clutch after 44000kms and fly wheel - repairer says it is 'wear and tear' because it has been to the beach a few times (18 months old) - are we being ripped off?

Elizabeth asked on Dec 04, 2018

See all 705 questions about Mitsubishi Triton

Your question will be specific to the model that you've selected.


Product Details