7 photos
Haier HWT60AW1 / HWT70AW1 / HWT80AW1

Haier HWT60AW1 / HWT70AW1 / HWT80AW1

HWT70AW1 (7kg), HWT60AW1 (6kg), HWT80AW1 (8kg) (See All)
3.2 from 75 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Top Loading Washing Machines in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Haier

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.6 (23)
  • Value for Money
    3.7 (23)
  • Ease of Use
    4.2 (23)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.7 (23)
  • Noise Level
    3.7 (22)
Previous
Next
Matt
MattPerth, WA
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

The worst washing machine you can buy

published

If you want a washing machine that washes terribly then this is the one for you! It also lies to you too, you select a 45 minute wash and you can guarantee that 1.5 hours later it’s still cleaning away! That along with the water in the bottom that can never be removed that turns to a stale gross smell then you’ve got yourself one of the worst washing machines going! You’ll have to wash heavily soiled clothes twice and they’ll always come out smelling the same since you can’t actually add fabric softener as the rinse cycle has about 10 water changes so nothing ever smells nice

Purchased in June 2019 for $450.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
JanB
JanBSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 10 reviews
  • 2 likes

Small size, big performer.

published

Purchased in April 2021 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Matty C.
Matty C.South East Queensland, QLD
  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

4 Years Old And Still Going Strong

published

Purchased at The Good Guys for $450.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Bought new machine disappointed with spin cycle

published

Last washing machine was a Fisher & Paykel Good machine, till bearings shot Couldn,t be serviced.
Bought a Haier. Started washing all our clothes together. Found it could,nt handle heavy towels very well.
Cleaned clothes OK, but machine could not SPIN DRY washes that including a heavy towel, even on SPIN level 9.
Light clothes eg T shirts etc finished that wet we had to wring them out by hand. NOT SATISFACTORY.
Seviceman was not a lot of help
Now only washing small loads that spin out reasonably well.

Purchased in January 2021.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Haier HWT60AW1 / HWT70AW1 / HWT80AW1 compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
klc09
klc09South East Queensland, QLD
  • 12 reviews
  • 4 likes

Horrible Machine! Avoid!

published

Without fail, whenever we put 2 towels into this machine to wash it always goes off balance when it'd be completely fine if it was another brand. We're at the point of washing 1 towel at a time because of how frequently it's going off balance now.
It's also really noisy which isn't good! There's no fabric conditioner slot so if you use it you're better off going for another brand.
We purchased this as it would fit into our very small laundry, but honestly it's not even worth the money we paid for it! Super disappointing!

Purchased in June 2020 at Appliances Online for $555.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bucca Bay
Bucca BayMid North Coast, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Why All The Bad Reviews?

published

Very satisfied with this washer which is easy to use and comes with an easy to follow manual. Clothes come out really clean and cycle times are quite easy to preset. Cycle times cover all wash types and are accurate. Operation is quiet.

Particularly like cleanable lint filters and a cycle when using a cleaning 'bomb' to sterelise trhe washer over a three hour was and rinse cycle.

Purchased in December 2020 for $799.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Judy Q.
Judy Q.South East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Disappointed

published

Purchased machine 3 years ago and have to replace it already. I have read machines should last around 10 years. My previous one lasted 15 years. Very disappointed in product

Purchased in May 2017.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
The top-rated kitchen appliances for 2022!

Whether you love or loathe being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of over 9,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Avleen M.
Avleen M.14 Dec 2021
the-top-rated-kitchen-appliances-for-2022
Next
Jan
JanWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

Give this machine a big miss

published

As a previous reviewer has stated you can't use the max level on normal wash numbers upside down, can't use synthetic or woolen cycle will just stop midway and start again. This was right from brand new they replaced the computer board to no avail, had technician back again company decided to replace the machine guess what! no change I gave up can only use this machine on certain cycles and water levels so would not even be suitable to resell. I too was replacing my beloved twintub and space was an issue which was why I bought this one in the first place more issues with it today big thumbs down!!!!!

Purchased in July 2018 at Betta Home Living for $449.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Earlier model was better

published

The spin cycle is too strong and is ruining my clothes shape. Only adjustment available is length of time which doesn't help. Fluff filters are fiddly and annoying to clean. No where to put softener, has to be added later in cycle. Was putting holes in my clothes and I had to get the bowl replaced (fortunately under warranty), which fixed the problem but didn't bring back the clothes I had lost. I originally had the 2009 release of this model (until my removalists dropped it and broke it), and that model was absolutely wonderful. This later version (purchased December 2018) is so bad I plan to get rid of it.

Purchased in December 2018 at Appliances Online for $479.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Haier HWT60AW1 / HWT70AW1 / HWT80AW1 compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ash
AshGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 2 reviews

Good till it lasted, Now Broken with no ray of hope

published

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Paul N.
Paul N.Sydney, NSW
  • 4 reviews

So far it's good

published

Bought last week due to the old Haier model broken down.

This new one seems to run quiet and not shaking. Still new so it's early to tell. but so far it's pretty good for $500

Purchased in April 2020 at Bing Lee for $499.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
The Woz Review
The Woz ReviewSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 35 reviews
  • 50 likes

Surprisingly good value for money

published

Firstly the one thing I had trouble with was programming, however once i realised that all I needed to do was select memory the last wash I selected would replay that wash .
Be warned THERE IS NO FABRIC SOFTENER facility in this machine , what I do is premix some powder or liquid detergent in a old OMO bottle and put a bit of Fabric softener and dissolved powder in with some water and next time i do a wash I simply pour the pre mixed powder and softener product into the wash it works a treat ..try it apart from that very little tangles and just a great low cost basic washing machine from the Fisher Paykel company @ $484 from the Good Guys you wont go wrong .

Purchased in December 2019 at The Good Guys for $484.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Haier HWT60AW1 / HWT70AW1 / HWT80AW1 compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tehreem K.
Tehreem K.Sydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews

This is perfect

published

This haier automatic washing machine is best. I’m really very happy with this product. It is very easy to use perfect machine. Easy to understand its functions I’m loving it

Purchased at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Lesley Andrews
Lesley AndrewsMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

worst machine i have ever brought

published

i had a 7.5 kg before, i brought this 8kg machine, put my comferter in the machine, It melted on the top of the wash bowl, Haier let me swap it for a different one, But will not replace the price of my comforter, AS the email they sent me said that i did not read the manual , That you can not put in a sleeping bag, comforter, blanets, to wash, AS it was not over loaded, i have never had a washing machinethat had melted any thing to the wash bowl ,

Purchased in September 2019 at Harvey Norman for $600.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Go fund a granny
Go fund a grannyWhitfield
  • 4 reviews

Price was excellent great for singles small families

published

As a granny I needed a small machine for a modest price that would give me good results and it certainly has lived up to my expectations. A compact machine, the end result is amazing super clean clothes, bedding etc. 10 min cycle fantastic for delicates. I have washed dog blankets, floor mats and the dirty residue that comes from cleaning the filter is proof it is really doing a good job. I laminated the instructions but the press button features are easy to understand and operate. It may lack myriad of settings and features but it does the job, results in clean washing, done quickly, efficiently, quietly and a cost effective solution for those living alone or with small families.

Purchased in April 2019 at The Good Guys Physical store.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

JUDY H.
JUDY H.asked
HWT70AW1 (7kg)

I can't find a spin-only function and have a feeling there isn't one, which is very annoying to say the least.

3 answers
JanB
JanB

I think you are right Judy, although I have a memory of just spinning, but I may be confusing memories with my previous machine.

JanB
JanB

Judy have found it. Use the Program button until it comes to spin on its own.

JUDY H.
JUDY H.
Ross T.
Ross T.asked
HWT60AW1 (6kg)

Leaking from the rear, out what appears to be a plastic pipe at the base of the tube. Any idea of cause and possible fix?

1 answer
JanB
JanB

Sorry Ross can't help with that one, contact Fisher & Paykel for assistance.

Tash and Dan S.
Tash and Dan S.asked
HWT60AW1 / HWT70AW1 / HWT80AW1

Hello, recently purchased the 8.5kg - having issus with dark clothing coming out very fluffy and with liquid detergent/powder marks. I started with powder and have now moved to liquid with the same results.
Several times have had to re-wash the dark load of clothing??

1 answer
JanB
JanB

Need to clean the filter after each wash, surprising how much lint comes off clothes of all colours. Also make sure you are not overloading so clothes can move about freely in the water. Hope this helps.

See all Haier HWT60AW1 / HWT70AW1 / HWT80AW1 questions

Get an answer from our members and Haier representatives

Haier HWT60AW1 / HWT70AW1 / HWT80AW1

Details

Compare all 3 Haier HWT60AW1 / HWT70AW1 / HWT80AW1
CategoryTop Loading Washing MachinesTop Loading Washing MachinesTop Loading Washing Machines
Capacity6 kg7 kg8 kg
Household Size 1-2 people2-3 people3-4 people
FeaturesDoor/Lid Lock (Child-proof)Door/Lid Lock (Child-proof)Door/Lid Lock (Child-proof)
Energy Rating2 star(s)2 star(s)2.5 star(s)
Water Rating3.5 star(s)3.5 star(s)3.5 star(s)
Dimensions 920 x 520 x 540 mm940 x 550 x 570 mm970 x 580 x 590 mm
Motor TypeConventional (Belt Drive)
Max Spin Speed 810 rpm650 rpm670 rpm
Number of Wash Cycles888
Weight33 kg39 kg42 kg
Open Lid Height 1,230 mm1,295 mm1,280 mm
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Colour / FinishWhiteWhiteWhite
ManualDownload manualDownload manualDownload manual
Compare all 3 Haier HWT60AW1 / HWT70AW1 / HWT80AW1

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.