??!
1 photo
Haier HWT60AW1 / HWT70AW1 / HWT80AW1

Haier HWT60AW1 / HWT70AW1 / HWT80AW1

HWT70AW1 (7kg), HWT60AW1 (6kg), HWT80AW1 (8kg)
3.2 from 68 reviews · View Details

How to buy the best washing machine

A good washing machine is essential to every household, and while they all serve the same purpose, the variety of machines available can make purchasing one a puzzle. This buying guide will take you through each type of machine, and explain what to look for in each to guarantee you’re making the most informed choice possible when shopping.

Read now

Reviews

3.2

68 reviews
5
(15)
4
(23)
3
(7)
2
(7)
1
(16)
  • Build Quality
    3.7 (15)
  • Value for Money
    3.9 (15)
  • Ease of Use
    4.2 (15)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.9 (15)
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (14)
Previous
Next

Earlier model was better

published

The spin cycle is too strong and is ruining my clothes shape. Only adjustment available is length of time which doesn't help. Fluff filters are fiddly and annoying to clean. No where to put softener, has to be added later in cycle. Was putting holes in my clothes and I had to get the bowl replaced (fortunately under warranty), which fixed the problem but didn't bring back the clothes I had lost. I originally had the 2009 release of this model (until my removalists dropped it and broke it), and that model was absolutely wonderful. This later version (purchased December 2018) is so bad I plan to get rid of it.

Purchased in December 2018 at Appliances Online for A$479.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Ash

AshGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Good till it lasted, Now Broken with no ray of hope

published

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Paul N.

Paul N.Sydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

So far it's good

published

Bought last week due to the old Haier model broken down.

This new one seems to run quiet and not shaking. Still new so it's early to tell. but so far it's pretty good for $500

Purchased in April 2020 at Bing Lee for A$499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Haier HWT60AW1 / HWT70AW1 / HWT80AW1 compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
The Woz Review

The Woz ReviewSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 33 reviews
  • 36 likes

Surprisingly good value for money

published

Firstly the one thing I had trouble with was programming, however once i realised that all I needed to do was select memory the last wash I selected would replay that wash .
Be warned THERE IS NO FABRIC SOFTENER facility in this machine , what I do is premix some powder or liquid detergent in a old OMO bottle and put a bit of Fabric softener and dissolved powder in with some water and next time i do a wash I simply pour the pre mixed powder and softener product into the wash it works a treat ..try it apart from that very little tangles and just a great low cost basic washing machine from the Fisher Paykel company @ $484 from the Good Guys you wont go wrong .

Purchased in December 2019 at The Good Guys for A$484.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Tehreem K.

Tehreem K.Sydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

This is perfect

published

This haier automatic washing machine is best. I’m really very happy with this product. It is very easy to use perfect machine. Easy to understand its functions I’m loving it

Purchased at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Lesley Andrews

Lesley AndrewsMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

worst machine i have ever brought

published

i had a 7.5 kg before, i brought this 8kg machine, put my comferter in the machine, It melted on the top of the wash bowl, Haier let me swap it for a different one, But will not replace the price of my comforter, AS the email they sent me said that i did not read the manual , That you can not put in a sleeping bag, comforter, blanets, to wash, AS it was not over loaded, i have never had a washing machinethat had melted any thing to the wash bowl ,

Purchased in September 2019 at Harvey Norman for A$600.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Go fund a granny

Go fund a grannyWhitfield

  • 4 reviews

Price was excellent great for singles small families

published

As a granny I needed a small machine for a modest price that would give me good results and it certainly has lived up to my expectations. A compact machine, the end result is amazing super clean clothes, bedding etc. 10 min cycle fantastic for delicates. I have washed dog blankets, floor mats and the dirty residue that comes from cleaning the filter is proof it is really doing a good job. I laminated the instructions but the press button features are easy to understand and operate. It may lack myriad of settings and features but it does the job, results in clean washing, done quickly, efficiently, quietly and a cost effective solution for those living alone or with small families.

Purchased in April 2019 at The Good Guys Physical store.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Shazza5

Shazza5Mid North Coast

  • 6 reviews

Excellent value for money

published

Purchased in November 2016 at The Good Guys for A$390.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Dee555

Dee555Melbourne, Victoria

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great 7kg top loader for a single person

published

I did research before purchasing this item. Great washing machine for a single person. Easy to operate. Many different cycles/levels/timers. Washes my queen size fitted, flat, pillowcases and a few other items in one cycle. Gentle cycles work very well on clothes, particularly jumpers, fragile garments (use cold water only). Compact and inexpensive. Very Happy with my final purchase.

Purchased in December 2018 at The Good Guys Physical store.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Haier HWT60AW1 / HWT70AW1 / HWT80AW1 compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read the Fine Print.

Read the Fine Print.Sydney, NSW

  • 28 reviews
  • 26 likes

Small but useful top loader.

published

Purchased in December 2018 at The Good Guys for A$488.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Kong L.

Kong L.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 4 reviews

Worth every cents

published

Bought this from the eBay promotion. Works fine. My wife use it twice a week. Makes very little noise but we have it outside under shade. In general good for the money you paid

Purchased in November 2018 at The Good Guys for A$350.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Rickw

RickwSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Good for the money

published

A little noisy but simple and priced right and seems to wash as well as my past and much more expensive machines. Maybe not many bells and whistles but fine for a single person.
Appliances online also install, and take away old machine and packaging. Also with a delivery time to suit you.

Purchased in August 2018 at Appliances Online.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Micemeat

MicemeatHobart, TAS

  • 27 reviews

Top loader

published

Works amazing, had three front loader washing machines before this and could not get the things level.

Things ended up stuffed.

This replacement has now lasted longer then all three front loaders.

Works well cleans cloths well, only complaint would be that the lint held in the machine is a lot more then it used to be, however airing out cloths/wind helps with that.

Purchased in December 2018.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Dee

Dee

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Okayish

published

The Washing machine started leaking just 6 month after purchase but the hair was helpful enough to send a mechanic to come fix it with no additional cost. The machine overall is not that bad for the price.

Purchased in August 2018 at The Good Guys for A$373.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Minnie

MinnieUlladulla NSW

LEMON

published

I'm having a big issue with this machine, it keeps stopping and showing the E3 problem. Even with 1 (one) towel in the machine it will stop up to 5 times during a wash. I have had the floor checked and all is level and the machine has been checked also, and is level. This machine is only 2 (two) months old and was a birthday present from my sons. I will be selling and never looking at this brand again. LEMON

Purchased in March 2019 at The Good Guys for A$489.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Haier HWT60AW1 / HWT70AW1 / HWT80AW1 compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Water level headache

published

All works well except the water level is very low,just found that once starting cycle to change it to max amount of water.otherwise have to wait 2hours for cycle to stop.Did not think this would be an issue but it is.

Purchased in January 2019.

LittleChicken

LittleChickenBrisbane

  • 16 reviews
  • 4 likes

Very good, inexpensive machine

published

Just bought this, to replace a very short lived front loader, after realising I had buckleys chance of finding a decent twin tub. It was quite cheap (JB HiFi) so ticked that particular box. Runs very well and super quiet (it also doesn't shake the building during spin cycle.) It's quite basic and I'm still trying to work out when to add fabric softener (when countdown is around 8 mins... I think) but it only uses 13 litres more than our prev. front loader which is terrific. Could benefit from a clear lid to check water levels or soap. Also could benefit from place to put fab soft should you wish to go out while the load runs. Thus far very happy with it. Running on tank water with davey pump.

Date PurchasedDec 2018

Rip off !!!

published

Bought this 3 months ago already playing up.Says 8kg but can't even get a single duvet in without it coming out ripped! Has ripped many clothes and most reviews have the same damn problem E1 -E2 The booklet don't tel you how to unblock you have to come online so those who don't have internet won't know!! Second w/machine from them I had no choice ( Not my choice ) but I had to pay for it.The other machine had same problem. Within 2 years of owning that one 3 call outs.And btw it's not quiet either. If I had a choice I would not buy a haier machine crap like their phones.

Date PurchasedJul 2018
Jan O

Jan OGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 9 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great model

published

Very user friendly, and washes the clothes perfectly. I purchased this as a replacement for my mother's old model. Very easy to operate so extremely important for seniors that are not technology geeks. Mum is thrilled to bits, and even likes the outside appearance which she leaves uncovered - no doilies required...

Date PurchasedNov 2018
Fel

FelWollongong

Water level on high only 1/2 fills

published

Complete waste of money! This machine should be taken off the market. This machine only takes very small loads and water level is ridiculously low so you end up doing more loads of washing. And you can forget trying to wash your doona cover! Wish I'd never chosen it. Im feeling extremely ripped off!!

Date PurchasedAug 2018
Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

PAT

PATasked

HWT60AW1 / HWT70AW1 / HWT80AW1

How do I spin dry only on a Haeir HWT70AW1 washing machine pls

2 answers
Deb R.
Deb R.

It doesn't have an option to spin dry only nor does it have an option to rinse only - I bought mine 18 months ago and not happy it doesn't have these options. Also curls my sheets and quilt covers into a tight ball at end of the wash.

PAT
PAT

Hi Deb I think I found the spin dry only method. Use drum dry. I do find the loads imbalance much more easily than my old Haeir 50 litre model

Mary Nicolaou

Mary Nicolaouasked

HWT80AW1 (8kg)

I am first time using this top loader I have set the washing cycle and when I pressed the button to start it hasn't filled with water
What shall I do

1 answer
The Woz Review
The Woz Review

Support24/7 Support Centre
1300 729 948
You're covered 24 hours, 7 days a week

All our appliances are covered with a 2 year parts and labour warranty. We understand that in today's day and age, you need more reassurance though.

That is why we are always waiting to listen to any enquiries you have on our products. We have our very own 24 hours a day, 7 days a week Customer Care service line that allows you to speak to a real person about any questions you might have.

When you buy one of our appliances, you'll automatically have access to one of Australia's largest and most committed service team.

Sukhraj S.

Sukhraj S.asked

HWT80AW1 (8kg)

Hi my name is sukhraj i want to ask 1 question about Haier HWT80AW1 (8kg)
The water pump is not working mean when we will put the clothes for washing
Then its shownE1 and F2 error

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Haier representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.