??!

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
12
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
2

Jason

Jason

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Don't Be Fooled

published

This system may work. BUT be weary of a design flaw.

Because the vents open upward the cabinet fills up with dirt and debris. The the condenser is located too close to drain holes on the floor of the cabinet not allowing any of the buildup to be removed even with a hose or air blower. I spoke to Actron who suggested building a cover or shield above the unit to stop this. After spending 15K you would think this problem would have been avoided in the first place. I have since spoken to a various builders (some high end) who confirm they DO NOT install or recommend these units in their builds for exactly this reason.

Purchased in May 2019 for $15,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Large Bedroom, Small Bedroom and Small Office
See all answers
1 comment
ActronAir
ActronAirActronAir

Neil

NeilMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

The only system I could find on the market that did everything I wanted

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Simmonds Heating and Cooling for $15,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Whole House
See all answers
1 comment
ActronAir
ActronAirActronAir

We are so happy with our 9 year old Actron ESP Platinum, that our son installed this system now in his house.

published

We rarely turn on all rooms at once, so the rooms which are on, get cooled or heated very very quickly even when it is very hot outside. The zone control is very important for us as we don't have to cool/heat the whole house and we can have the bedroom rooms constantly three degrees cooler than the living areas. We have it serviced once a year and apart from one zone motor that broke (cost us $ 350 to repair), it has not had any repairs. When our son and his wife moved in their own house they only wanted such an aircon with zone control. They have their aircon now for one year and are also very happy.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Whole House
See all answers
1 comment
ActronAir
ActronAirActronAir
Ray Hayden

Ray HaydenSouth East Queensland, QLD

Aircon on QUE

published

This top of range ducted Home Unit works well and with a simple app makes controlling your temperature room by room a breeze. The Platinum Que though has a long start up before cooling the house.

Purchased in March 2019 at Blue Air & Electrical for $12,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Whole House
See all answers
1 comment
ActronAir
ActronAirActronAir

Review collected in partnership with ActronAir


Quen10

Quen10Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Great Unit and Warranty Fix

published

Purchased in January 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Room Type Whole House
See all answers
1 comment
ActronAir
ActronAirActronAir

Hi Quen10, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review on Product Review. We appreciate all feedback and are happy to hear you have chosen ActronAir and are satisfied with our aftercare support in conjunction with VIP air conditioning.


Fletch

FletchMount Eliza

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Absolutely fabulous.

published

This review is for the Platinum Plus with the Que controller Read this in conjunction with my report on PR for ActronQue. We installed the Que zoned to four areas. The cooling efficiency far exceeds our expectations. Inside unit is exceptionally quiet. It is very quick to cool large areas. We really like the accuracy of maintaining temperature. We also love the remote access via wifi when away from home. Outside unit is not noisy (compared to experience or reports by others ). It may depend on your installer. Ours was amazingly good. Bayside Comfort Solutions in Mornington. We could not fault their attention to detail in both the sales process and more importantly their installers (employees, not contractors).

Date PurchasedOct 2018

Happy Customer

Happy CustomerSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent Unit

published

We purchased this unit during our home renovation, we are so happy with our unit, works great - Gives me great piece of mind on hot day with a toddler! We also have the Wifi and its awesome, can turn on/off from outside the house
This is our second Actron Unit and I wouldn't hesitate to buy another when the time comes.

Date PurchasedMar 2017

Touhid

TouhidSydney

Crap machine & terrible customer care

published
Date PurchasedApr 2014
Heavy

Heavy

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Absolutely fantastic

published

I installed an actron air ESP Platinum Ultima in 2014. This is the fourth system that I have installed. For the love of this system I installed this 19 kw unit in my house. I unit works like it should. I have never been disappointed with it. I have 8 zones with temp sensors.
Yes I installed actron. Why? Because I like it.

I read all these comments on product reviews and a lot of the problems I’m reading are people who have installed these units without the knowledge and how to properly install these great systems.

Everyone I install these for say how great they are.
Yes the outdoor unit can be a little noisy, but that’s nothing that can’t be fixed with a little rubber to absorb the noise.

The truth

Date PurchasedAug 2015
HallettCove

HallettCoveAdelaide

Very happy with our choice

published

After looking into a few of the big brands we selected the Actron based on reputation and being locally made and supported.
It works well in an air-conditioners nightmare house; a mix of large living are with a lot of west facing glass and small bedrooms with minimal glass. It does a great job.
The ActronConnect remote control is great. I can check the house as I'm leaving work and have it comfortable by the time I get home. Much smarter than fixed timers when my daily schedule is so variable.

Date PurchasedOct 2017

Allister W

Allister WGippsland, VIC

  • 9 reviews

Initial Teething and Poor Service, Now Been OK

published
Date PurchasedJan 2017

Perfect system - unbelievable installing team - Nowra

published

The system is just what we wanted. The installing team were on time, efficient, and effective. Each member knew their job and got on with it. The team is a credit to their company and need to be congratulated for their efforts. The system itself is quiet, effective and versatile. Highly recommended.

Date PurchasedNov 2016

Louisa

Louisa

  • 2 reviews

Love our comfy Actron Air

published
Date PurchasedOct 2016

Trev

TrevCooroy Qld

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Replaced Live-Ezi

published
Date PurchasedOct 2014

Has an engineer I rate this as the best choice air con system

published
Date PurchasedAug 2016
John

JohnHunter Region, NSW

  • 13 reviews
  • 15 likes

Great ducted a/c system - Actron ESP Plus Platinum 17kw Single Phase

published
Date PurchasedDec 2015

Questions & Answers

Mark C

Mark Casked

How many KW does it use an hour? Thanks

1 answer
ActronAir
ActronAirActronAir

Hi Mark C,

This link can be used to estimate running costs: http://www.energyrating.gov.au/calculator

You can also use the input power to calculate this, but this is when the system is operating at the test conditions used for Australian standards.

The input power for this particular model is:
4.17 nett for cooling
4.72 nett for heating

Depending on how much you are charged per kW hour, this would be multiplied by the above input.
Eg: If you are charged $0.20 per kW hour, on cooling it would be approximately $0.83 per hour to operate. On heating, it would be approximately $0.94 cents per hour to operate.

I hope this helps!

Thanks - Catherine


Mick M

Mick Masked

EPA Tasmania and the local council say that the heat pump can not emit more than 45 dB(A) 7am to 10pm and 40 dB(A). What is the noise emit from an ActronAir CRV4-19AS-0100. My neighbour has said it is fairly loud.

5 answers
Fletch
Fletch

I do not think ANY air con units would comply with that unless they are turned off! You need to check how far from unit it needs to be that low. Read the brochures or all aircon units incl Actron, And the other big brands. I did. They are all similar!

ActronAir
ActronAirActronAir

Hi Mick M,

Thanks for getting in contact with us on Product Review. Do you know where the local council is taking the reading from? As this can impact the results. The data in our brochures is taken 3m from the unit.

Thanks - Andrew

Mick M
Mick M

Andrew, thank you for replying. The local council bylaws/EPA Tasmania state one meter from the external wall, I am assuming this would be from the neighbours property side. The neighbour has not yet complained to the council but I was hoping to find out in case the neighbour does. So the 65/71 dB(A) is from 3 meters? Also are there lower levels if the heat pump is not at full capacity?


steve

steveasked

how noisy is a 55 kw system over a 25 kw system and is there any precautions I can take to reduce noise

1 answer
Quen10
Quen10

A 25kw is domestic, 55kw more suited commercial and it would be a lot louder. The fans top vent and not sideways so any rebounds are eliminated but when the unit is scrolling up to temp quickly they are all loud. Without building a enclosure not much you can do.


Get an answer from our members and ActronAir representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.