??!
2 photos
AEG 2x18v (36V) 6.0Ah 18" Fusion Lawn Mower ALM18BS6

AEG 2x18v (36V) 6.0Ah 18" Fusion Lawn Mower ALM18BS6

MPN: ALM18BS6
3.8 from 13 reviews · View Statistics

Lawn Mower Buying Guide

If you want a backyard that's neat enough to show the in-laws, a quality lawn mower is key. While it's tempting to splash the cash on the best lawn mower from Bunnings, these essential garden power tools should be viewed as a long-term investment. We've provided this short guide on the three main types of lawn mowers to help condense your research phase and find the lawn mower for your garden that's a cut above the rest.

Read now

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.2 (12)
  • Value for Money
    3.7 (12)
  • Ease of Use
    4.3 (12)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.2 (10)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    4.2 (12)
  • Safety
    4.6 (11)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    3.7 (9)
  • Battery Life
    4.3 (8)
Previous
Next
whip

whipCentral West, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 8 likes

Good replacement for my old 4 stroke

published

Purchased in January 2021 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$799.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
See all answers
John S.

John S.Wide Bay-Burnett, QLD

It does the job very well!

published

Purchased at Bunnings Warehouse for A$799.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
See all answers
Rob

RobCentral Queensland, QLD

Should’ve tried one first

published

Purchased in September 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse Retail Stores.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
See all answers
Battery Lawn Mowers

Find out how AEG 2x18v (36V) 6.0Ah 18" Fusion Lawn Mower ALM18BS6 compares to other Battery Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Murray J.

Murray J.Aranda 2614, ACT

Highly recommended

published

Purchased this mower, got it home but mulch plug extremely hard to get in and out. Took it back to Bunnings (Belconnen Canberra) and staff attending agreed it was unacceptable. They tried to modify the plug but to no avail. Eventually had to swap the mower for one where the plug went in and out as it should, smoothly. Product ambassador Daniel Owens was extremely helpful and key to resolving the problem for me! I definitely recommend the mower but if you buy one beware the mulch plug, check it out first. Whether I got the one lemon or it’s a whole batch that has this problem who knows.

Purchased in October 2020 for A$799.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
See all answers
David4242

David4242Gippsland, VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Very Good

published

It is powerful. Batteries charge readily and I can do my whole lawn of a suburban house on one charge. All the other mowers I looked at looked like such flimsy cheap plastic and had small blade diameters. Build quality is good. Catcher not so good.

This mower is Hard to push on lowest cut setting.. I dont like the catcher which is made from fabric and plastic. The catcher struggles to bring all the grass into itself. A lot of grass never gets caught, and a lot falls out of the mower when you take off the catcher to empty it. Design issue here I think.

All in all a very good mower and worth the extra few dollars.

Purchased in October 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse Retail Stores.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
See all answers
Bob Muirhead

Bob MuirheadHobart, TAS

Good electric mower

published

Just as good as my previous petrol mower, without having to pull a cord. Batteries lasted well long enough for my mowing time (about 3/4 of an hour) only 1/3 down after use. Only drawback is the pictorial instructions do not make it clear you have to hold in the 'start' button while compressing the 'go'lever.

Purchased in August 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
See all answers
stop the goats

stop the goatsperth

  • 37 reviews
  • 16 likes

Simple and easy to use

published

I would definitely recommend buying AEG tools and this lawn mower as well. It's easy to use, so would suit older people or females(no offence intended), or not the mechanically minded type as there is no messing around with pull start and petrol. It is good for lawns small to medium and also light to medium duty. If you regularly cut long grass, get a petrol. Noise level is good and the warranty and back-up from AEG has also been very good in my experience. A good unit that should last a long time.

Also another reviewer here states that batteries are not backward compatible. This is not the case and they will fit any other 18v AEG power tool.

Purchased in April 2020 for A$799.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
See all answers
john

johnGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Impossible to mow on lowest turf setting

published

Purchased in April 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
See all answers
Trackless

TracklessGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Takes a lot of push

published

The only problem I have is that the mower takes quite a bit of pushing in thicker grass especially when mowing at a lower height. I found it nigh impossible if using the lowest notch. Apart from that, everything else is excellent. Can do a reasonable lawn on less than half a charge and the grass catcher fills nicely

Purchased in October 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
See all answers
Battery Lawn Mowers

Find out how AEG 2x18v (36V) 6.0Ah 18" Fusion Lawn Mower ALM18BS6 compares to other Battery Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Janet

JanetGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Hard work made easy

published

Life has been so easy with my AEG lawn mower, starts so easy, just a push of a button and off you go. A catcher is not required, with the option for the grass being mulched. With my smaller yard I only charge the batteries when needed. The mower folds up for easy storage

Purchased in November 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
See all answers
SP

SP

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

EXCELLENT!!! with a capital 'E'

published

Purchased in March 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$799.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
See all answers
Rob

RobSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Wish I never brought it

published

AEG Fusion brushless 18” 2x18V (36v) mower
The 2 x 6.0Ah battery’s supplied with the mower will only mow 250 square meters of average length turf (about 80mm), you will have to buy 2 more batteries if you want to mow a larger area. The mower I had stopped working after 3 months (had only done 4 hours of work), I contact AEG warranty they informed me that they wouldn’t replace but repair it and that would take 10-14 days. So I guess I’ll just have to put up with a jungle for a backyard untill I get the repaired mower back. Disappointing from AEG you’ll think for a company that advertises themselves as a premium band they’d replace the mower especially after only doing 4 hours work.

Purchased in December 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
See all answers
Donna1968

Donna1968South East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

SO quiet

published

it takes an hour to charge and will plough through thickest hunks of grass like jelly. Its so quiet you can start mowing at 6am without annoying the neighbours. Its lasts couple hours or at least does our back and front lawn (800sqM) no issues running out of power. At least we don't have to drive to the petrol station anymore and just a quick plugin. It is also very lightweight so I (a small woman) can handle it very easily. Its so easy to clean, looks modern, there is no plugs or leads to deal with whilst you're mowing. This is so far an excellent product however, we have only had it for 2 months.

Date PurchasedNov 2018

Questions & Answers

Geoff

Geoffasked

Hi Bought the mower today. Wouldn't start for 20 mins, (NO INSTRUCTIONS IN WORDS). Then off and on a few times and then it when. Mowed the lawn however, it stopped a couple of times but restarted without issues. In the end it stopped and wouldnt't restart. Batteries were on 25% & 50&?

2 answers
John S.
John S.

Only thing I can think of is full charge of both batteries before first use and make sure the safety key is in properly. Hope it goes well.

Murray J.
Murray J.

I had a similar problem, couldn’t start it. A rep put me straight, hold the starter button down a second or two while holding the lever firmly back. I haven’t experienced it just cutting out unless batteries fully flat. Just because a charger initially flashes on 25% might easily mean it only has a few %, not enough to start it. I recommend if you have issues then hassle the AEG rep. My rep (Daniel Owens, Bunnings Canberra) was excellent, responded quickly and knew the business. Good luck.

Margaret Parry

Margaret Parryasked

I’ve only just unpacked my mower and am bewildered by the inadequate instruction manual - a series of pages with just low quality pictures with no written dialogue to compliment the pictures - I am yet to understand it and sadly am unable to give a review of the capability of the mower as I am still coming to grips as to whether some of the parts are permanent fixtures or removable to allow mulching, deflecting etc. I went to school and learnt how to read - please rewrite your manual with written instructions

No answers
john M.

john M.asked

Bought AEG mower but only problem, is that it does not pick up grass. Mowed my mid size yard and nothing in catcher. Is this common?

2 answers
David4242
David4242

Have you removed the panel on the side? There is a plastic panel that stops the grass from going into the catcher.

jodie w.
jodie w.

I'm having the same issue. How do you remove it?

Get an answer from our members and AEG Power Tools representatives

Details

CategoryBattery Lawn Mowers
Price (RRP) A$799.00
Power SourceBattery (Removable)
FeaturesMulching Capability
Catcher Type Collapsible
Catcher Capacity50 L
Cutting Deck MaterialSteel
Cutting Width460 mm
Height of Cut18 mm to 75 mm
Number of Blades1
Weight26 kg
Manufacturer Warranty6 year(s)

Visit official website
  • MPN: ALM18BS6

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.