??!
1 photo
Victa 82V 21" Wide Cut Mower

Victa 82V 21" Wide Cut Mower

MPN: 1687892
3.9 from 52 reviews · View Statistics

Lawn Mower Buying Guide

If you want a backyard that's neat enough to show the in-laws, a quality lawn mower is key. While it's tempting to splash the cash on the best lawn mower from Bunnings, these essential garden power tools should be viewed as a long-term investment. We've provided this short guide on the three main types of lawn mowers to help condense your research phase and find the lawn mower for your garden that's a cut above the rest.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.5 (27)
  • Value for Money
    3.4 (27)
  • Ease of Use
    4.6 (25)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.6 (25)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    4.6 (24)
  • Safety
    4.8 (24)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    3.1 (21)
  • Battery Life
    4.3 (18)
Previous
Next
James M

James MSouth East Queensland, QLD

If only the battery didn't die after 8 months

published

Initially I loved this mower as it was light with a steel chassis. After 8 months the battery wouldn't fully charge. It would charge to 3 blue lights on the battery indicator only giving me 5 minutes mowing time. A replacement battery costs between $250-$370 according to whether you go the 2 or 4 amp version which I was not willing to risk spending more money and getting the same problem so I took it back to Bunnings and swapped it for a petrol lawn mower.

Purchased in April 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
See all answers
gardenchick

gardenchickGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

This transformed lawn care for me!

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in December 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $590.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
See all answers
Glenn

GlennCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Really good alternative to my petrol mower

published

I've had my 82 Volt mower for a couple of months, and I think it's great, very light weight, batteries last a long time, I mow my grass on the 3rd setting as I like to keep my grass thicker during the summer months, it mulches very well too. It's extremely quiet too. The only thing is it does not cut as finely as my old mower, but it had a quad cut blade system, so you have to expect a bit of difference there I suppose. Overall I'm very happy with it, we will have to see how it goes for the long term.

Purchased in October 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
See all answers
Battery Lawn Mowers

Find out how Victa 82V 21" Wide Cut Mower compares to other Battery Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mark S.

Mark S.

  • 2 reviews

Poor quality, already falling apart

published

Its now just a "Vic"...because the "ta" fell off.
Runs well enough but doesn't pick up the grass and bogs down easily.
We live in Nth QLD, it was great in winter when the grass grew slowly but now in summer it can't get through the lawn, even on a high cut setting, I hade to break out my 23 year old Honda to get the job done so its a "winter only" Mower.
Disappointing from a Aussie product, but when you see the "made in China" stickers on the mower itself you understand why its cheap and rubbish.
Should have bought a Stihl :(

Purchased in July 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $850.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
See all answers
Jeff

JeffLaunceston, TAS

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Very good, with one flaw.

published

Purchased in February 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $893.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
See all answers
paulneri

paulneriKingston 2604, ACT

  • 12 reviews
  • 2 likes

A fearsome beast but heavy for older folk.

published

Purchased in October 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse Retail Stores for $929.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
See all answers
1 comment
paulneri
paulneri

Edit: penny dropped as to why the mower seemed unusually heavy and its partly due to the large catcher being full of grass! Common sense, I know. So... if you ain't the spring chicken you once were might be best to use the mower without the catcher.

Never again sorry

published

Had high hope for this mower but was greatly disappointed. The positives are plenty of power, light weight, good battery run time. The negatives are the lowest setting the mower drags on the ground making pushing very demanding. The next setting the cut is to high. The worst of all is the refusal to pick up clippings even when very dry, just leaves it behind like with a mulching plug in. You would think the manufacturer would have done a bit more field research before releasing a dud. No way I be tempted to buy another electric mower again

Purchased in June 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $899.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
See all answers
Suraya

SurayaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Too Easy

published

Because of stage 4 lockdowns my gardener hadn't been able to come & mow my lawns. Being a widow i needed something that was easy to use. After extensive research & lawn getting worse i decided on the Victa 82V, 21" wide cut. Bought it from bunnings which inc 2 2AH batteries & charger for $929.00. From opening the box to assembly, to completely mowing the backyard lawn it took me 2.5 hrs. Being unfamiliar within this area, as my partner mowed while i gardened, the Manual for assembly could've been more detailed but otherwise i highly recommended this product. Am now looking at buying the Victa whipper snipper.

Purchased in August 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $929.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
See all answers
Paul

PaulSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Good quality, very satisfied

published

Setup was a breeze. Cuts well. I like the metal deck, the quality is good. Battery charges fast and so far it lasts well enough. I won’t be going back to petrol after this.

Purchased in August 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $695.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
See all answers
Battery Lawn Mowers

Find out how Victa 82V 21" Wide Cut Mower compares to other Battery Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
rogerthat

rogerthatAU

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Pretty good. better than expected.

published

We've had ours about 2 years. The missus loves the fact that she doesn't have to be a 2 stroke whisperer to get it started. Mows our tough Queensland lawn pretty well. Will do about 120m2 before it conks out. That's most of our lawn. Have a cold drink and finish it off later. We'll invest in the whipper snipper one day, but the batteries are expensive. Batteries + electric motor are definitely the future. They'll only get better.

Purchased in September 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for $499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
See all answers
John

JohnGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes
  • Verified purchase

Good battery powered mower

published

Purchased in January 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
See all answers
George O.

George O.Sydney, NSW

Pretty good

published

Replaced an old Enviromower, which required two batteries to get around the lawn, this does front & back (about 350sq,m) on one charge. We mulch always so catcher not used ever. No probs with cutting height but we do use the lowest. Noisier than the old one, but more powerful and maybe 30% wider cut? so faster. Build quality is average, handle flexes a bit but doesn't really affect it in use.

Purchased in December 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
See all answers
Mike west

Mike west

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Love the battery power

published

Love the concept and the battery life. Does a good mow but I find it hard to push through lush buffalo that is fairly short. Also the height adjustment seemed to be reversed so there was little adjustment at the lower end with multiples at the top end. I had to file a notch for the preferred height. All in all good exercise.

Purchased in November 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Blueglow

BlueglowHunter Region, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 8 likes

Just Bought

published

Purchased in January 2020 for $849.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
See all answers
big-m

big-mHunter Region, NSW

  • 17 reviews
  • 13 likes

This may rival a petrol mower.

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
See all answers
Battery Lawn Mowers

Find out how Victa 82V 21" Wide Cut Mower compares to other Battery Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Waz

WazSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 18 reviews
  • 8 likes

One year on!

published

Purchased in February 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for $560.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
See all answers
Phil

PhilGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 16 reviews
  • 10 likes
  • Verified purchase

Going back to petrol

published

Purchased in January 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
See all answers
Jane

JaneMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Didn't get as far as mowing

published

Returned the first to Bunnings due to broken wheel, before using it. Returned 2nd with broken height lever noticed while assembling. Not sure if this delivery got dropped or something considering the positive reviews, didn't risk a 3rd, got my money back.

Purchased in September 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Bogdan B

Bogdan BGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Works well enough, but it needs tweaks and improvements

published

Purchased in October 2018 at ebay tandem_lawnmowers for $470.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Jeremy

JeremySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Wow, It works! So surprised!

published

Purchased in July 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $899.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
See all answers
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Mark S.

Mark S.asked

How do I make the mower stay on the high speed setting, it doesn't pick up the grass on the lower speed

2 answers
Jeff
Jeff

There's no manual speed control. Speed changes are automatic as you go into thicker grass. I've never tested the catcher as on our lawn I find ours is quite good at mulching so without the catcher it's not leaving visible grass on the surface.

paulneri
paulneri

Agree with Jeff. Not sure why it's not picking up the grass on low speed. I guess the only way you could make the mower stay on high speed is to lower the height setting as the lawn tends to be thicker at the roots and the mower may need to work harder but this wouldn't be ideal for your mower or your lawn.

Signet19

Signet19asked

Not all the lights on the battery are blue when battery is fully charged. The last one isn’t lit at all. Is this normal ? Thanks

1 answer
paulneri
paulneri

No, I don't think it is but that might not mean the battery isn't fully charged - could be an issue only with the light. FYI when I bought my mower one of the batteries didn't work at all but Bunnings replaced it. With your issue, if the battery seems to have a run-time for as long as expected - small battery 30 mins; large battery 60 mins - no problem!

Kerri

Kerriasked

I’m very happy with the mower except it keeps leaving lines of grass clippings when I mow. The catcher is definitely not full. Any ideas?

4 answers
paulneri
paulneri

mmm. That's odd. Perhaps experiment with putting the mulcher plug in? I've yet to use it but my understanding is it simply sends the grass back on the blades for a second cutting so...be interesting if you still got lines of grass clippings.

Leigh
Leigh

Yes had the same problem. Very poor pick up, doesn’t have enough angle on the blades to creat enough air to throw clipping in the bag. It amaze me victa could market these mower without throughly testing them. Have sold mind and gone to a disc with 4 blades, couldn’t believe the difference in the two

Kevin D
Kevin D

I agree with Leigh I only get 1/8 of a catcher before it leaves a trail of cut grass on the next run. Vista need to put a bigger bend on the blade or a bigger draft plate. Paul Eric if you put the mulched plug in there is nowhere for the grass to enter the catcher.

Get an answer from our members and Victa representatives

Details

CategoryBattery Lawn Mowers
Price (RRP) $929.00
Power SourceBattery (Removable)
FeaturesFoldable Handle and Mulching Capability
Catcher Type Collapsible
Cutting Deck MaterialSteel
Cutting Width533 mm
Height of Cut17 mm to 80 mm
Number of Blades1
Noise Level 60 dB
Weight27.5 kg
Voltage 82 V
Running Time 90 min
Charging Time0.5 hours
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)
Engine / Motor
Engine NameBriggs & Stratton Nexcel 1200W Brushless Motor
Engine TypeLithium-Ion Battery
BrandBriggs & Stratton

Visit official website
  • MPN: 1687892

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.