2 photos
ALDI Work Zone Inverter Generator 3600W (Jun 2018, Apr 2019)

ALDI Work Zone Inverter Generator 3600W (Jun 2018, Apr 2019)

MPN: 59905
2.8 from 9 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Generators in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by ALDI

Reviews

2.8
9 reviews
Previous
Next
bmorey
bmoreyVic, 3140
  • 65 reviews
  • 49 likes

Reliable and useful

published

Purchased in April 2017 for $399.00.

Incentivised Review No
Briony J.
Briony J.Central Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

You get what you pay for but it was a good short-term fix

published

I live off grid and rely on a solar setup, bought this cheap gen as a back-up (which ended up seeing almost full-time use last winter..!). Worked great (albeit noisy) for quite a few months until the inverter died. It was repaired under warranty but then died again a few months later- by then my nearest service centre had stopped dealing with these due to bad rep) so I had to return for a refund. Did the job until I could afford to buy a better one.

Purchased in April 2019 at ALDI for $399.00.

Incentivised Review No

Other Generators

 
 

0.0
(1,234)

Failed to generate power

published

Brand new, worked fine for a couple of weeks then failed. No power from any outlet. Must be an electrical design fault. Didn't want to open it up as I didn't want to risk the guarantee. Haven't taken it back yet. Bought a replacement as I am dependent on and after just two weeks looks like it's going the same way. Spend the money and buy a known brand. This generator is a piece of garbage. Very inconsistent reviews seems to indicate luck of the draw. Very disappointing.

Purchased in May 2019 at ALDI for $350.00.

Incentivised Review No
Generators

Find out how ALDI Work Zone Inverter Generator 3600W (Jun 2018, Apr 2019) compares to other Generators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Pete
PeteWestern Australia

First time I used this ganerator it ran great for about 30 to 45 minutes using the air conditioner inn the caravan , it then. Started to run flat out as it was going to blow up , the went back to idle and then speeding up and down and not producing any power . Switched the generator off and left it for about an hour . After restart it was just hunting up and down with no power from the generator turned it off. For the day and tried it again the following day with the same problem. You’d think that at least the generator would last more than a day . NOT HAPPY AT ALL

Date PurchasedJune 2018
Mimsy
MimsySydney

The newer version 2018 is a TOTAL failure

published

I bought this generator 2 years ago and it worked well for 4 months, used regularly. When it failed i had lost the receipt... I bought a new one this year, looks the same, but it only worked for a couple of weeks. I was able to return it and get a refund. As the store still had some on the shelf, I bought a replacement, which only lasted 5 days. That's 2 identical generators fail within a month for the 2018 model. The current manufacturer of this generator obviously has substantial quality issues in their production process!

Date PurchasedAug 2018

Related Articles

Previous

Upcoming Special Buys from the ALDI Catalogue

Reviews for what's in the ALDI catalogue this week.

Nathan S.
Nathan S.2 July 2020
upcoming-special-buys-from-the-aldi-catalogue
Next

Exhaust stud snapped off and the other one rattled loose while running. Broke remaining cast mounts essentially ruining all components. Still starts and runs but obviously very loud. Just using up Remaining fuel and will return ASAP. Will probably get another one as the two year warranty is attractive.

Date PurchasedJuly 2018
WayneA.
WayneA.
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

(ALDI) Work Zone T I G 3600W

published

Purchased from new ALDI Store Dalby QLD. Firstly great service from staff at store. Set this Geni up day after purchase and have not yet had any issues with it. have no mains power only off grid solar then Geni to run Pulse charger to keep deep cycle batteries charged at night and geni runs TV & Powered extension speaker system also at night and computer with extension monitor. Not a huge load but works great . It runs from 4pm till 10pm each night . Fuel economy is good on pare with the Fuji Micro of the same KW that I have . I intend using this work zone to also run washing machine ect. Paid only $360.

Date PurchasedJuly 2018
Len1010
Len1010South East Queensland, QLD
  • 54 reviews
  • 83 likes

Great Product for the right people.

published
Date PurchasedJuly 2018

Other Generators

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Honky
HonkyGoulburn

Cannot fault it, great generator for the price.

published
Date PurchasedMar 2016
Honky
Honky
Generators

Find out how ALDI Work Zone Inverter Generator 3600W (Jun 2018, Apr 2019) compares to other Generators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
See all ALDI Inverter Generator reviews

Questions & Answers

Tariq mehmood
Tariq mehmoodasked
Work Zone Inverter Generator 3600W (Jun 2018, Apr 2019)

Geneator shows warning lights .red and green. And also he does not make ignition. Plz help me

1 answer
Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

Contact the service number for help

Stirling
Stirlingasked
1 answer
Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

Howe?

Andy M.
Andy M.asked
Work Zone Inverter Generator 3600W (Jun 2018, Apr 2019)

The generator is being used on my fridge.
After about 30-40 mins, the red “overload” light comes on and the power to the fridge is cut off.
I’ve replaced oil, fuel, cleaned air filter.
Cleaned spark plug.
Any tips?

5 answers
Fishtrmblatmynm
Fishtrmblatmynm

I'm no mechanic, but your/my generator is air cooled, to me the overload is also connected to overheating maybe? Try setting the generator more out in the open to let more cool air flow around it, this is a safety/health issue as well. Like Humans a generator in a confined space starts consuming unbalanced air, (less oxygen more carbon), and starts to work harder, some people put a box around it to weather protect and/or reduce the noise, this could cause a restriction to oxygen; your generator actually runs on Oxygen the Fuel is only there to cause the oxygen to burn/explode, less oxygen means less power, thus the harder the generator will have to work to meet the load this will then cause overloads. I do know that multiple leads, (long leads joined together), multiple connections reduce power and could cause a gradual heating and overload, also a skinny lead in the middle, some chinese leads might be underrated, try putting a heavier lead to your fridge; I'm assuming you are using an RCD device, is this old and causing the generator to push the flow through a constricted connection, which also makes me wonder if any of your leads have a build up of corrosion on the positive or negative contacts; also is there a replacement plug on one of the leads and is it not done well and maybe has a few strands missing where the cable connects to the pin, causing an obstruction to the flow of power? A hot plug junction is evidence of this. One more suggestion, if a lead is coiled up, this too chews up available power and causes overheating in the lead, (very unsafe, melting of the lead and fire are the end result), and this can cause overload to your generator. That's all I've got since you have done everything else.

Andy M.
Andy M.

Thanks for your response!
I don’t have an RCD, not sure what that is.
I saw someone said best to have a UPS for devices like computers and fridges, but I don’t have one of those either.

I tried a couple of different leads.
The unit was out on the deck, with I believe plenty of air, didn’t feel like it was getting hot.

Maybe the inverter can’t keep up with the fridge when the the motor kicks in and is drawing big power?

I’ve had a Honda unit in the past which was running the same fridge, tv and computer.

Fishtrmblatmynm
Fishtrmblatmynm

An RCD is vital for your safety, it stands for Residual Current Device, your Generator can kill you if there is a breakdown in the motor insulation in the device you are powering, your generator instruction book is very clear on having one of these, they are easily purchased from any hardware store. What is the rating Watts altogether of all units connected to your generator, the instructions say that you must times it by 3 for the initial start. Example: a small grinder rated at 900 watts needs 2700 watts to start; I don't think this is your problem as you say it runs for about 30-40 mins; if you have multiple devices with 'watts' that add up close or only just exceeding the rated wattage this also could cause the problem, if only one device and the wattage is well under it leaves only 3 things, either your gen is faulty or the fridge is faulty, or maybe a faulty lead, sorry that's about all I have.

See all ALDI Inverter Generator questions

Get an answer from our members and ALDI representatives

ALDI Work Zone Inverter Generator 3600W (Jun 2018, Apr 2019)

Details

Compare all 6 ALDI Inverter Generator
CategoryGenerators
Release dateJune 2018
Discontinuation dateApr 2019
Compare all 6 ALDI Inverter Generator
  • MPN: 59905

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.