??!
1 photo
American Express Essential

American Express Essential

2.5 from 105 reviews

See the Best Low Rate Credit Cards in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Pros

  • $0 Annual Fee & Low Interest Rate of 14.99% p.a. on purchases

  • Earn up to 1.25 Membership Rewards Points per $1

  • 0% p.a. on Balance Transfers for the first 12 months

  • Smartphone Screen Insurance

  • Add up to 4 Additional Cards at no extra cost

Cons

  • 3% Balance Transfer Fee

  • 3% Currency Conversion Fee

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
22
4 star
16
3 star
10
2 star
5
1 star
52

Natalie

Natalie

  • 3 reviews

Terrible company

published

if i could give American Express 0 I would. The customer service is appalling. The verification process is absolutely terrible, at times I've been on the phone for an hour just to be verified then if it is incorrect I would have to hang up and call them back just to go through the same process over and over again. Details do not get passed to the next department, you must go through the verification with each an every department you speak to on the same phone call.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees

Daniel H

Daniel HGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • Verified customer

Decent card for Beginners into the Credit Card World

published

The AMEX Essential card I'd say is a perfect card for people looking to get into the CC market, without going way over the top. The rewards for spending aren't the best, but the No Annual Fee and Lower rate is like I said, more suited to CC novices. You can exchange points to pay off transactions, or get a gift card. Also has bonus offers that appear in the App to save cash from certain retailers. Just remember to keep an eye out for them, as they don't really notify you if new offers come up. Had to use the Customer Service a couple times, and both (new CC inquiry and a doubled up transaction from a retailer) times they were A class.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateNovember 2017
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers
aussiewill

aussiewillQLD, 4350

  • 7 reviews
  • Verified customer

The perfect starter card

published

You get all of the AMEX value with no fees. Its great having this with all the AMEX offers and then the points you earn at servos and supermarkets. Then you add the great customer service!

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateDecember 2016
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses and Online Shopping
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

b19ckr9bb1t

b19ckr9bb1tAdelaide

  • 9 reviews
  • Verified customer

No fee

published

Amex has a great rewards program. This card is their no-fee version. You don't get as many perks but it's still a great card. Good customer service as amex always does.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJanuary 2017
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers

Ang C.

Ang C.Perth, WA

  • 4 reviews

Great reward

published

For a credit card without annual fee, this credit card provide great member benefit and reward program. Not only that, I find the Amex phone app and website is easy to used compared to most the credit card app I used.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJuly 2015
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping and Special Purchases
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


reyansh

reyanshSydney, NSW

Excellent card to have

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateAugust 2018
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers

Ava

AvaGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

No annual fee and lots of rewards!

published

Amex essential is perhaps the only credit card that I can find that has NO annual free but has a lot of rewards to offer.
This is the credit card that I use locally. I also link it with PayPal for payments. There are lots of cashbacks from well-known sellers throughout the year. Amex points are earned from every dollar I spent. These points can be simply turned into credit or any amex rewards I like.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses and Online Shopping
See all answers

caio G.

caio G.Sydney, NSW

  • Verified customer

No annual fee and easy to apply

published

I am very happy with the essentials amex for a few reasons.
Number 1 - it has no annual fee
Number 2 - application and approval was super easy
Number 3 - it has a points referral system
Number 4 - you earn points on purchases and can redeem it for credit against your purchases
Number 5 - it often has good cashback offers
Number 6 - free insurance for smartphone screen repair (when you purchase the phone via the credit card)
Number 7- works with Apple Pay and it worked way before the major banks in Australia.
Number 8 - it normally has a generous limit and reward good payers with low purchase rates at 3.99% for 6 months

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateAugust 2016
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping, Overseas/Travel and Special Purchases
See all answers
jwhero

jwheroNSW, 2118

  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes
  • Verified customer

Best rewards card with no annual fee

published

Great for taking advantage of Amex offers for cashbacks.
Never had to wait on the phone to speak to a rep.
Works with Apple Pay, and the app and website are easy to use.
Comes with smartphone screen and various other insurances. Note I haven't personally claimed on these yet.
Earns rewards points for no annual fee - great for me as otherwise I'd barely break even on cards with an annual fee, even if they do have higher earn rates.

Not the cheapest with overseas fees - I tend to use other cards for overseas spends.

Overall, this is the first card I reach for when making a purchase, although there can be an issue with acceptance of the card with smaller businesses.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJanuary 2019
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping and Special Purchases
See all answers
arob131

arob131Darling Downs, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified customer

Love it!

published

Great card, no fee. Rewards are best I can find without paying an annual fee. Easy to redeem rewards and often AMEX has offers to spend at certain businesses and you get a credit back which is great ie in November spend $20 at local businesses get $10 back up to 5 times.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJuly 2019
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Joseph

JosephSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Great no annual fee rewards card

published

Simply to apply for and good cash back and offers on the card. Not the best for carrying a balance, but you wouldn't do that on a rewards card anyway. I would recommend this for people who don't spend too much.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJanuary 2018
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


praveen

praveenSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Amex is the best

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJanuary 2016
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers

mecool9014

mecool9014Sydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified customer

Basic needs credit card

published

I have been using the card since Jan 2018. Good credit card for basic needs. No annual fee which is awesome. Always have Spend XXX and get XX back promos running. Customer service is amazing, always helpful. Highly recommended.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJanuary 2018
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses and Online Shopping
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


tommy s.

tommy s.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 5 reviews

A must have card in Australia

published

It's easy to accumulate points using this card. And amex is widely accepted in most stores. This is my primary card for shopping. And best of all, no annual fees.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping and Special Purchases
See all answers
xwon1

xwon1Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Good basic AMEX

published

I've had the AMEX Essential for many years. It doesn't have any annual fee. The rewards are not excellent but it's a good basic AMEX which still allows me to enjoy AMEX benefits and offers.

Transparency
Customer Service
Online Experience
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForSpecial Purchases
See all answers
Michelle

MichelleSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews

Good card with no annual fee!

published

Love this card.... at last American Express comes up with a no annual fee card. Easy to sign up to, and very convenient to use for my daily purchases and essentials :)

Customer Service
Application Process

hdawg

hdawgSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

A great card

published

I have been a long time AMEX customer and this was my choice of card the min I landed on Australian land. I have this card since 2016 and it’s been amazing. Backed with world class customer service I’d say this beats most cards in the market.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJune 2016
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping and Special Purchases
See all answers

TJN

TJNSydney, NSW

  • Verified customer

Good local card

published

The best thing about this card is that there are no annual fees and the monthly Amex offers are really good. Only problem is that the foreign currency rate is not as good as Visa especially when they are charging an extra 3%.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Awesome!! Card. Gives same facility like otherwise

published

No Annual fees
Good amex offers
Points on spending
Apple pay
Safe and secure
Can use overseas
Good spending limits
Good customercare service
Low interest rate compare to other third party card.
Easy to use on application

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Card Start DateJanuary 2015
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping, Overseas/Travel and Special Purchases
See all answers

Zack M.

Zack M.Wide Bay-Burnett, QLD

Great Insurance Plan

published

Would recommend if you want no fee AMEX. The smartphone screen insurance is very valuable and so easy to use. I’ve made a claim before and it’s sorted so quick.
Amex service good so far.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateMarch 2016
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForSpecial Purchases
See all answers

Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.


Get an answer from our members and American Express representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.