??!
1 photo
Qantas American Express Discovery

Qantas American Express Discovery

4.4 from 50 reviews

See the Best No Annual Fee Credit Cards in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Pros

  • No Annual Fee

  • No Points Earn Cap

  • 0.75 point-per-dollar rate is reasonable for a $0-annual fee card

Cons

  • Generally fewer sign-up bonus points compared to other cards

  • Low Interest-Free Period (44 Days)

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
27
4 star
19
3 star
1
2 star
1
1 star
2

Blender

BlenderSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified customer

Good offers, Qantas points, no annual fee

published

This is a great basic no annual fee credit card if you want to earn Qantas points. I really like the cashback offers that pop up regularly in the app. I use my card with Apple Pay and more places are now accepting Amex. The app is easy to use. There's no fee to add a supplementary card, which makes it easy for other family members to use too. Highly recommended.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateSeptember 2016
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping, Overseas/Travel and Special Purchases
See all answers

Cal

Calmelbourne

  • 5 reviews

My card of choice

published

The frequent promotions for American Express cash back are really good when keeping an eye on the best price for items on your purchase wish list. No annual fee is how cards should be.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJuly 2012
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers
Justfold

JustfoldSouth East Queensland, QLD

Never leave home without it...

published

Great card and an asset to have in my wallet, with regular bonus spends in all my favorite stores this pays for it self. No annual fee makes this my go too card.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJanuary 2014
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping and Special Purchases
See all answers
jim w.

jim w.Sydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

My favourite credit card

published

This is my go to credit card, no annual fee, Qantas frequent flyer points with ever purchase. And great customer service. Only downside is using it overseas, they stick you with poor FX conversion as well as a commission.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateOctober 2008
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping and Overseas/Travel
See all answers

Rob

RobGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Love it!

published

Great card for perks and bonus points. Easy application which was approved very quickly. The no annual fee is awesome. So far I have no complaints what so ever. Will be keeping this card

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJune 2019
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping and Overseas/Travel
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


thomalfa

thomalfaSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified customer

Best free annual fee credit card

published

This could be one of probably not the best but in overall is the best credit card with perks and earn reward points for annual fee free for life. I will give this a 5 stars card but since the points system changed since last year 2018, it just not generate as much and as fast as how it used to be, but still a good card. The only downside is probably this card doesn't come with complimentary travel insurance as many higher level cards do, but pretty much still does its job when comes to daily use, and online purchasing. If you can afford rather to get the ultimate version (comes with complimentary insurance & lounges access), however to me, i would love to have both, their perks are lovely.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateMarch 2014
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping and Special Purchases
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Suresh

SureshSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Best no annual fee credit going around

published

You get more points than from Any other no annual fee CC. At the same time offers like spend 500 get 150 back from Sony. Fuel offer spend 50 get 15 back etc.. Best to read the term and conditions carefully on the offers.

Transparency
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses and Online Shopping
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Peter

PeterPerth, WA

  • 10 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified customer

Everyone should have one of these

published

The card has $0 annual fees and still comes packed with bonuses. The most obvious are Qantas frequent flyer points, but even better are the regular American Express cash-back offers for selected merchants. Promotions like shop-small. Can't fault them. And if there are any questions, their customer service is very helpful and prompt.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJanuary 2018
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses and Online Shopping
See all answers
Kim Liew

Kim LiewGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 7 reviews

Good Deals and Credit Back without the Annual Fees

published

Easy to transfer my balance to this credit card. Rewards available to me is good. Many good deals as AMEX is trying to push publicity and promotions, a lot of good cashback deals. Easy to accumulate points and is converted to my Qantas Rewards points. The only downside is AMEX is still not accepted everywhere but is definitely getting more recognised. But sometimes it has a higher surcharge than other cards at times. The app was easy to use on mobile as well.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJuly 2018
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping and Special Purchases
See all answers

Free and rewarding!

published

Had this card since 2012. Free to have. Haven't paid a single cent on it due to no annual fees & avoiding interest by paying my statement on time. Customer service is great too. Used many offers via statement credits.
I haven't experienced international transaction fees, only a commission they charge with the money exchange. I did not transfer my balance therefore can't comment on that. Rewards program is great for a free card (QFF). Easy to redeem points via Qantas shop. Easy to accumulate too - it auto transfers your balance to your QFF account.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateDecember 2012
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


jchng83

jchng83Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

No fees, AMEX rewards and Qantas points

published

For a card with no fees to pay this is a great one to have in your wallet. You can leverage any useful AMEX deals and be rewarded with Qantas points on your spending. Definitely a keeper!


Jayson L

Jayson LGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified customer

Set and forget - good to have in your back pocket

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateDecember 2016
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers

Todd

ToddSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews

Free rewards?

published

Free rewards? But at what cost?
Fees are huge over other providers but free if you pay your limit off month to month.
I’m happy with the card because the rewards are great but I’d like to see rates change in line with other providers.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers

Rina

RinaSydney, NSW

Love it ! So useful

published

It’s a great credit card as it has no annual fees and we can use it internationally. Amex provides discounts and offers from different companies and they have been extremely useful

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateMay 2019
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForOnline Shopping and Special Purchases
See all answers
chris2456

chris2456Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 5 reviews

Great entry AMEX card

published

Great everyday AMEX credit card. Not as many perks as the other AMEX cards you can get, but the statement credit offers and no annual fee make it worth it.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateMay 2016
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers
Jo3lastic

Jo3lasticSydney, NSW

Decent credit card

published

I am decently satasfied with the credit card. A positive of the card is that you get flyer miles which is a always good. However a negative of the card is that it is American Express and as a result is can't be used everywhere or you have to pay a extra fee. Overall I would rate this a 3/5

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateSeptember 2014
Main Point of ContactBranch
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping and Overseas/Travel
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Joycec

JoycecSydney, NSW

Good Qantas AMEX card with no annual fee!

published

This is a great card in my opinion as you can earn Qantas Flyer Frequent points while paying no annual fee. The ratio is 0.75 per $1 spent which is not the best on the market but considering no annual fee, you can’t really complaint. I also like the special offers from AMEX including the shop small promotion in November.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJuly 2005
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses and Online Shopping
See all answers

Justin

JustinGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 7 reviews

Great credit card to use overseas. Good offers!

published

Enjoyed using this card overseas. Had no dramas and you don't have to tell them or give them a ring before you go to another country. The app is extremely easy to use which is the thing I love the most as well as the offers that AMEX does with their cards.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
See all answers

Wayne

WayneBrisbane

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great customer service, lots of perks every month

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJanuary 2016
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForOnline Shopping and Special Purchases
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Revlibpas

RevlibpasSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Very good

published

Good card with qantas reward points and no annual fees. However some places don’t accept Amex or charge a transaction fee, so it’s best to have a second card that is visa or MasterCard.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJanuary 2018
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers

Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Andrew W.

Andrew W.asked

Can you access cash from a amex discovery card

No answers

Gracie

Gracieasked

Does Qantas Discovery card have travel insurance included?

No answers

Gracie

Gracieasked

Is travel insurance included with The Qantas American Express Discovery Card?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and American Express representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.