??!
2 photos
American Express Platinum

American Express Platinum

3.2 from 37 reviews

See the Best Frequent Flyer & Travel Credit Cards in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Pros

  • No pre-set spending limit

  • Card is made of metal

  • Access to over 1,200 airport lounges worldwide

  • 2.25 Membership Rewards points per $1 spent

Cons

  • $1,450 Annual Fee

  • Minimum required income of $100,000

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
13
4 star
7
3 star
3
2 star
3
1 star
11

unhappy_nbn

unhappy_nbnPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Expensive but if you use the benefits its good

published

If you stay at mid-tier to luxury places and you often stay at these (with your own money), then this card is great. It gives you access to a number of hotel frequent traveller membership groups at 'Gold' level.

Also if you transact a lot its worth it for the frequent flyer points.

Also I made an error when setting up the direct debit and I didnt realise but my bill was overdue by 14 days. It doesnt look like I was charged any penalties, but the concierge did say if I was charged penalties they would look to reverse it in light of the honest mistake.

I'm only a new Platimum Card holder, so far I must say I'm pleased. Customer service is way way more professional than Visa/Mastercard and I think AMEX Credit Card too.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees

Andre A.

Andre A.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Dont get this card or any AMEX card.

published

Super expensive card fee $1450 per year with most of the benefit advertised by AMEX attached to platinum card was not worth the fee plus most places we try to use the card we get this all the time (sorry we dont take AMEX or 2.5 to 3 % surcharges). You Better off with visa or master card platinum offer by banks out there for example Citibank or bankwest world master card annual fee is only $270 yearly but come with load of great rewards and for those travel frequently you get 10 free airport lounges access yearly any where in the world.
AMEX card is totally rubbish dont go there save yourself from frustrations and being ripped off by them.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJuly 2019
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping, Overseas/Travel and Special Purchases
See all answers
Russell

RussellRichmond-Tweed, NSW

Platinum card travel Insurance

published

Rad metal card!

published

With $100,000 minimum income to qualify and a $1,450 annual fee, this card has to be something extra special and it is. You really need to use it to make most if not all of your purchases and use it for travel to gain any value for money. It is a cool status symbol if you're shallow like me :)

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateMarch 2015
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers

  • Verified customer

Great credit card!

published

I am very satisfied with my AMEX card, the customer service is great whenever I need help with any issues.
The points conversion is not too bad. The fee for the card is a little expensive compare to other credit cards but you get the service and a good reward system.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateMarch 2018
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers

Vicky

VickySydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • Verified customer

recommend to frequent travelers

published

If you are a frequent traveler, this card is very suitable for you, because the cardholder has access to over 1200 airport lounges and can get travel credits by booking via Amex travel. Highly recommend.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateApril 2018
Main Point of ContactBranch
Card / Account Used ForOverseas/Travel
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Renold

RenoldCentral Queensland, QLD

Amex card

published

Loads of benefits with this card. Great cashback offers for shopping at Harvey Norman. Priority access to amex lounge which is great if you travel a lot. Fees is on higher side but benefits are great.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateSeptember 2018
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping, Overseas/Travel and Special Purchases
See all answers

Great card

published

Get points whenever you spend, nice to be able to redeem them easy. Good cashback offers on the card and amex customer service is always friendly and helpful. Cant fault it

Transparency
Customer Service
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateMay 2018
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForOnline Shopping, Overseas/Travel and Special Purchases
See all answers
Andrew C.

Andrew C.Sydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified customer

Good card with decent benefits but expensive annual fee

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateMay 2015
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses and Overseas/Travel
See all answers
Michelle

MichelleSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews

Great card for discounts :)

published

This card is great to use because of the discounts like Vogue shopping night that happens once a year ;) Also the customer service is fantastic, they always answer the phone and help you resolve your queries promptly. Highly recommend this card!

Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers

Cainoo

CainooGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Awesome credit card

published

Great rewards credit card, easy to use app and the amex rewards are frequent and beneficial. You are rewarded for friend referrals and card fee is offset by travel credits.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Card Start DateSeptember 2016
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


goonerdroid

goonerdroidPerth, WA

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Benefits getting less and less....

published

I had this card for at least 8 years. This is used to be "the card" for me. It used to have an annual domestic return flight, now it only has $200 travel credit, with a $195 annual fee. Also, the conversion rate to airline points has been halved. The only reason I still reluctantly keep it is I'm still on the lower annual fee rate from a long time ago, plus it gives the most points from supermarket spending.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateNovember 2011
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping and Special Purchases
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


James

JamesSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

Great card and benefits

published

Really good rewards card. I've had 100s back over the years just on my normal spend. I wouldn't use it on foreign purchases though as the fees are high for this.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers

Good bonus points

published

Good card with bonus points but expensive annual fee. Point earn changes but relatively easy to collect these days with most merchants accepting amex. Ok benefits as well, overall not bad.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJanuary 2015
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers
Jay

Jay

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Satisfied customer

published

Been a customer for almost 3 years now. Great little card that is accepted almost anywhere in the world. Issues were dealt with effectively and timely. My only complain is the annual premium.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateFebruary 2016
Main Point of ContactBranch
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping and Overseas/Travel
See all answers

very good benefits

published

very happy with this credit card although the annum fee is expensive. you can obtain the value back through travel or book hotel using travel credit. also free accor plus membership.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Card Start DateAugust 2018
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping, Overseas/Travel and Special Purchases
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


eden

edenGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

dont get this card

published

this card is expensive and most of the "platinum" benefits are not usable
tried 3 times to use the $450 travel credit (once for flight, twice hotels)- each time the cost of the hotel/flight was hundreds more than online. Therefore, need to pay hundreds more to use the voucher, rendering it useless. Each time wasted 30 min on the phone.
Apart from supermarkets and petrol stations, expect to pay 2-3% surcharges.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateDecember 2018
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers

John Doe

John DoeSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 12 reviews

Don't Believe the Hype

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateOctober 2015
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers

Mimi

MimiSydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews

Loved how easy it was to sign up to one

published

i love how they offer the annual flight credit, it was the same amount as the annual fee which makes makes the annual fee worth it. Best card to accumulate Qantas points. So far i'm very happy with this credit card.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateAugust 2019
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping, Overseas/Travel and Special Purchases
See all answers

Peter Highland

Peter HighlandSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

American Express Halves Value of Platinum Card Holders Points without compensation. How many cardholders ware caught?

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateApril 2009
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForOverseas/Travel
See all answers

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.


Get an answer from our members and American Express representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.