??!
2 photos
American Express Platinum

American Express Platinum

3.1 from 43 reviews

Pros

  • 80,000 bonus Membership Points if you spend $3,000 in the first 3 months

  • No pre-set spending limit

  • Card is made of metal

  • 2.25 Membership Rewards points per $1 spent

Cons

  • $1,450 Annual Fee

  • Minimum required income of $100,000

Reviews

3.1

43 reviews
5
(15)
4
(7)
3
(3)
2
(4)
1
(14)
Previous
Next
Mgas

MgasSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews

This card is fantastic

published

The customer service on this card is excellent. Any time you need to contact the call centre they are knowledgeable and helpful. The annual fee is on the high side but worth it for the savings in travel insurances and extended warranties.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJanuary 2015
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers
Paul. S

Paul. SMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 3 reviews

If you travel a lot its a fantastic card to have.

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJanuary 2010
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Overseas/Travel
See all answers
Byron M.

Byron M.Hunter Region, NSW

pathetic customer service.

published

Their customer service is essentially non existent.
Don't fool yourself to think the travel insurance is helpful.
I see absolutely no value in any product provided by AMEX and will gladly not be using them in the future.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJanuary 2020
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Overseas/Travel
  • Special Purchases
See all answers
Frequent Flyer & Travel Credit Cards

Find out how American Express Platinum compares to other Frequent Flyer & Travel Credit Cards

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Aussiebloke34

Aussiebloke34Perth, WA

  • 27 reviews
  • 1 like

Three times the annual fee of the same card in America

published

Company is ripping Australians off charging $1450, vs $550 for exactly the same thing (actually technically we get less, being less offers etc we can use) so that is almost 3 times the annual fee for less beniefts.

Again another company ripping Australians off.

Barry Plant

Barry PlantSouthwest, VIC

DO NOT USE!

published

Please believe me that you will be worse off as a business using this card! I would give 0 stars if I could! They increase and decrease limits without advising you, continually ask for business turnover updates, charge absolutely ludicrous fees if you're two days late in paying (when I was overseas) - the worst banking experience I have ever encountered! DO NOT JOIN - BELIEVE ME!!

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateSeptember 2016
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers
Omar A.

Omar A.

  • 2 reviews

Great looking Card,

published

Beautiful Heavy Card. Expensive yearly fees, however the benefits of having the card pay off, especially if you travel a lot.
Downfall is the inability and complexity of trying to enrol in the rewards programs that are offered. Lots of glitches with AMEX being able to connect with the hotel providers, AFR and others.
Platinum customer service is sadly not very helpful either! you get promised call backs and follow ups regarding issues and they hardly follow up, so be prepared for the run around like you do with any other corporate provider

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateOctober 2019
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Overseas/Travel
  • Special Purchases
See all answers
unhappy_nbn

unhappy_nbnPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Expensive but if you use the benefits its good

published

If you stay at mid-tier to luxury places and you often stay at these (with your own money), then this card is great. It gives you access to a number of hotel frequent traveller membership groups at 'Gold' level.

Also if you transact a lot its worth it for the frequent flyer points.

Also I made an error when setting up the direct debit and I didnt realise but my bill was overdue by 14 days. It doesnt look like I was charged any penalties, but the concierge did say if I was charged penalties they would look to reverse it in light of the honest mistake.

I'm only a new Platimum Card holder, so far I must say I'm pleased. Customer service is way way more professional than Visa/Mastercard and I think AMEX Credit Card too.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Andre A.

Andre A.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Dont get this card or any AMEX card.

published

Super expensive card fee $1450 per year with most of the benefit advertised by AMEX attached to platinum card was not worth the fee plus most places we try to use the card we get this all the time (sorry we dont take AMEX or 2.5 to 3 % surcharges). You Better off with visa or master card platinum offer by banks out there for example Citibank or bankwest world master card annual fee is only $270 yearly but come with load of great rewards and for those travel frequently you get 10 free airport lounges access yearly any where in the world.
AMEX card is totally rubbish dont go there save yourself from frustrations and being ripped off by them.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJuly 2019
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Overseas/Travel
  • Special Purchases
See all answers
Russell

RussellRichmond-Tweed, NSW

Platinum card travel Insurance

published
Frequent Flyer & Travel Credit Cards

Find out how American Express Platinum compares to other Frequent Flyer & Travel Credit Cards

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Rad metal card!

published

With $100,000 minimum income to qualify and a $1,450 annual fee, this card has to be something extra special and it is. You really need to use it to make most if not all of your purchases and use it for travel to gain any value for money. It is a cool status symbol if you're shallow like me :)

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateMarch 2015
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers
  • Verified customer

Great credit card!

published

I am very satisfied with my AMEX card, the customer service is great whenever I need help with any issues.
The points conversion is not too bad. The fee for the card is a little expensive compare to other credit cards but you get the service and a good reward system.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateMarch 2018
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers
Vicky

VickySydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • Verified customer

recommend to frequent travelers

published

If you are a frequent traveler, this card is very suitable for you, because the cardholder has access to over 1200 airport lounges and can get travel credits by booking via Amex travel. Highly recommend.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateApril 2018
Main Point of ContactBranch
Card / Account Used For
  • Overseas/Travel
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Renold

RenoldCentral Queensland, QLD

Amex card

published

Loads of benefits with this card. Great cashback offers for shopping at Harvey Norman. Priority access to amex lounge which is great if you travel a lot. Fees is on higher side but benefits are great.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateSeptember 2018
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Overseas/Travel
  • Special Purchases
See all answers

Great card

published

Get points whenever you spend, nice to be able to redeem them easy. Good cashback offers on the card and amex customer service is always friendly and helpful. Cant fault it

Transparency
Customer Service
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateMay 2018
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Online Shopping
  • Overseas/Travel
  • Special Purchases
See all answers
Andrew C.

Andrew C.Sydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified customer

Good card with decent benefits but expensive annual fee

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateMay 2015
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Overseas/Travel
See all answers
Frequent Flyer & Travel Credit Cards

Find out how American Express Platinum compares to other Frequent Flyer & Travel Credit Cards

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Michelle

MichelleSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews

Great card for discounts :)

published

This card is great to use because of the discounts like Vogue shopping night that happens once a year ;) Also the customer service is fantastic, they always answer the phone and help you resolve your queries promptly. Highly recommend this card!

Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers
Cainoo

CainooGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Awesome credit card

published

Great rewards credit card, easy to use app and the amex rewards are frequent and beneficial. You are rewarded for friend referrals and card fee is offset by travel credits.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Card Start DateSeptember 2016
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

goonerdroid

goonerdroidPerth, WA

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Benefits getting less and less....

published

I had this card for at least 8 years. This is used to be "the card" for me. It used to have an annual domestic return flight, now it only has $200 travel credit, with a $195 annual fee. Also, the conversion rate to airline points has been halved. The only reason I still reluctantly keep it is I'm still on the lower annual fee rate from a long time ago, plus it gives the most points from supermarket spending.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateNovember 2011
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Special Purchases
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

James

JamesSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

Great card and benefits

published

Really good rewards card. I've had 100s back over the years just on my normal spend. I wouldn't use it on foreign purchases though as the fees are high for this.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers

Good bonus points

published

Good card with bonus points but expensive annual fee. Point earn changes but relatively easy to collect these days with most merchants accepting amex. Ok benefits as well, overall not bad.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJanuary 2015
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.