??!

Slow Cookers Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of slow cooker would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

3.6

40 reviews
5
(22)
4
(5)
3
(0)
2
(2)
1
(11)
  • Build Quality
    3.5 (6)
  • Value for Money
    3.8 (6)
  • Ease of Use
    4.0 (6)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (5)
Previous
Next
Mason W.

Mason W.Wide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 8 reviews

A proven favourite

published

Purchased direct from US in 2014 prior to official Oz availability. Easily the most reliable & easiest to use sous vide wand out of 3 different brands experienced. Heats quickly despite smallish 800W rating, energetic water circulation, holds steady temperature, large easy to read digital display & easy to use thumbwheel temperature control. Bluetooth connectivity & phone app is 'nice to have' bonus but can work completely standalone. Six years & many meals later still going strong with no complaints. Lost the bottom cap once & Anova customer service sent free of charge replacement without hesitation! Would happily buy again if necessary & have recommended to friends & family.

Purchased in December 2014 for A$180.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Wing Lui

Wing LuiSydney, NSW

Mother Day present - DOA?

published

After reviewing for quite some time, I finally pulled the trigger and ordered the Precision Cooker Original (wifi) at Anova online store as the Mother Day gift to my mum.

After it arrived, I opened the box. I followed the instruction and filled the water mid way between min and max, turned it on, set the temp and hit the Start button. Long non-stop beep. Switched it off, wait for 10mins and restart it again. Same symptoms - Long non-stop beep when the start button is pressed.

I did some more googling notice that this long non-stop beep sounds is quite a common issues for new arrival Anova Wifi.

I felt some bad for giving my mum a gift that is not working.

Can someone please help? Thanks

Purchased in May 2019 at Anova online store for A$159.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Kev C

Kev CMid North Coast, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Perfect kitchen aid.

published

Have had our Anova Precision cooker for about 5 years (at least). It has just died and we have purchased a new one for $159, delivered in two days. I love to cook and there is nothing better than "juicy" chicken breasts or thick sirloin done Sous Vide. Virtually mistake proof and with a quick browning in the pan or just straight to the plate as with the chicken accompanied with a bechamel sauce...so easy. Fish comes out moist and retains all health benefits as well. 80% of our evening meals are done in the precision cooker and that will continue to happen for the forseable future.

Purchased in October 2014 for A$179.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Slow Cookers

Find out how Anova Precision Cooker compares to other Slow Cookers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Faulty first unit awaiting the second, customer service is a joke

published

Purchased in January 2020 for A$150.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Tania Dzi

Tania DziMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Wonderful product wonderful company

published

The clamp holding the Anova snapped. On contacting Anova a new clamp was sent free of charge no questions. Love using the Anova and have recommended it to several friends.

Purchased in December 2018.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Kennoath

KennoathSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 16 reviews
  • 10 likes

Amazing, simple, easy sous vide

published

I've had my Anova for two years and it is great. Easy to use, doesn't take up any space, and it just works. Early-on, sous vide meant big costly equipment. Anova makes sous vide slow cooking easy in a normal kitchen. Watch online for good deals now and then - sometimes they are discounted massively.

Purchased in April 2016 for A$218.00.

Andrea Tassera

Andrea TasseraSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Amazing

published

Ordered with free shipping and arrived at home with express delivery one day after.
I just tried it out with three beautiful salmon fillets and it gave an outstanding result! Really competing with a restaurant.

Purchased in July 2019 at ANOVA website for A$149.00.

Norman

NormanSydney

  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes

4 dead anova precision cooker in 2 years

published

Purchased in May 2017 at anonvaculinery.com for A$219.00.

Paul

PaulSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Doesn't last more than a year

published

Purchased in November 2017.

Slow Cookers

Find out how Anova Precision Cooker compares to other Slow Cookers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sweet

SweetThornbury 3071

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Easy to cook perfect meats

published

It is a good device to have the meat cooked perfectly. But you need to prepare something more, such as different sizes of vacuum sealing bags, other optional things e.g. Polycarbonate Square Storage Container to leave it at the corner, Balls BPA Free to keep the temperature, stop evaporation and save electricity consumption, Kitchen Food Frame Separator - Vacuum Sous Vide Rack to have the bags in place...

Chewie Choo

Chewie ChooQueensland, Australia

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Best kitchen utility

published

I love my Anova!
I've cooked so many things using this gadget and it really delivers each time and everything cooks to perfection providing you follow the recipes or know your required temp.

Observer

ObserverSydney

Customer service vaudeville

published
Marika Silwedel

Marika SilwedelYarra Glen

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Great device

published

Fantastic product. Cooks meat to perfection every time.
We have cooked chicken, beef, lamb and pork with it. Meat comes out so tender and juicy.
Only downfall is the app which crashes often.
Excellent otherwise.
Highly recommend it

Blackspear

BlackspearSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes

Quality, Simple, Perfect Steaks

published
srjh82

srjh82

  • 20 reviews
  • 10 likes

Versatile and good value

published

I'm really quite happy with this purchase - got it on sale, and it does exactly what it is supposed to with an easy-to-use interface. Temperature control is very good (well under a degree) and it has no issues heating up a 15L esky. In addition to even cooking of thick steaks and breaking down tougher cuts like brisket, the temperature control is useful in homebrewing as well.

Date PurchasedSep 2016
Slow Cookers

Find out how Anova Precision Cooker compares to other Slow Cookers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
JCL

JCLTasmania

  • 30 reviews
  • 20 likes

Sous Vide Everything!

published

Purchased in December 2017 at Anova Culinary.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Nic

NicHarrington NSW

Unreliable. Poor support service. Hassle with Australian Warranty

published

My unit failed after less than 4 months. Customer support is in US there a major hassle. Having a debate with them about whether they will comply with Australian consumer law.

Pitpat

PitpatHobart, TAS

  • 67 reviews
  • 28 likes

For cooking large lumps of meat it is hard to beat!

published
Ben

BenSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 11 reviews
  • 12 likes

Something special indeed

published
Captain

Captain

  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

Anova is a winner

published

I purchased the Wi-Fi version (with no intention of using Wi-Fi, nor Bluetooth as in the other model - I have no idea why I would want to) simply because it was the more powerful (900w). 900w is plenty as once water has reached temperature (I use some water from a kettle to get things started and help it along) it takes little to maintain it. I use big containers (cooking 5 kg or more at a time) and it is fine. Pretty schmick interface on unit and easy to read. Timer is a little odd in that it beeps, but doesn't turn unit off (so is basically a gizmo). But love it so much I am going to buy another.

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Philip W.

Philip W.asked

Anova Precision Cooker

how do i set the timer on my Anova Precision cooker?

1 answer
Kev C
Kev C

Use your anova app...or, turn the dial on the unit to where you want it.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.