1 photo
Breville Smart Temp BSC420

Breville Smart Temp BSC420

MPNs: 4213, BSC420 and BSC420BSS
4.1 from 36 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    5.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (1)
  • Ease of Use
    5.0 (1)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (1)
Previous
Next
Caz M
Caz MGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 12 reviews
  • 3 likes

12 years +

published

Great slow cooker, I’ve had mine 12+ years, I’ve just upgraded to a multicooker but I’ll still keep this one for long dishes! I love the keep warm feature, there’s a bit of condensation build up under the rim when it’s going but you can buy ‘covers’ to prevent that.

Purchased in January 2011.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Row
Row
  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Worked very well

published

I bought this about a year ago. It has worked well. It takes a while to perfect slow cooker recipes, you tend to use less liquid than oven baked. I haven’t had any problems. Only thing is I really want to know what the power usage is on its low setting so I can compare it to my oven but I can find that info. I’ve heard they are more efficient than ovens but I just want to find that out myself.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Other Slow Cookers

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Nic_M
Nic_MGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

It’s a great cooker but the display is unreliable

published

This cooks really well. I’ve used both the high and low settings and never been disappointed.
But. Less than 18 months after buying it the display started failing to the point where we joked you have to speak predator to understand what it’s set to. And then finally yesterday at just 3 1/2 years old it stopped working so we came home to partially cooked goulash. I’d expect something from Breville to last longer. you expect better quality from them.

Date PurchasedDec 2014
Slow Cookers

Find out how Breville Smart Temp BSC420 compares to other Slow Cookers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sue
SueMurray Region, NSW
  • 26 reviews
  • 27 likes
  • Verified

A great "slow" cooker.

published

I have used this only once however I am very pleased so far. The first thing I noticed was how easy it is to set the temp and time. There is also 3 temp settings ( low, med high) and a keep warm which it switches to when finished. Then I noticed during the cook that "low" truly is LOW. It didn't boil as some others have and this meant an eight hour cook did indeed take 8 hours and wasn't falling apart and turned to mush. Admittedly I cooked a 1.2 kilo piece of beef, however the veges in with it (to flavour the sauce) didn't disolve into mush. This is a great for those days when I need to put a meal on early in the day and want it ready when I return. Nothing stuck to the pot so cleaning was easy also.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
mollye6
mollye6Central, SA
  • 10 reviews
  • 4 likes

Wow great product

published

This is the best item for busy people. We set it going in the morning and tea is cooked for us when we get home. Easy to clean and cooks beautifully. Don’t know how we lived without this appliance. Looks good on the kitchen bench with its stainless steel look. Recommend this product

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Related Articles
Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020
Next
James
JamesBrisbane
  • 5 reviews
  • Verified

Great slow cooker

published

This smart beauty saves me every dinner, every day. Temperature IQ controls the heating so the food is never over-boiled, even when I set it to 8 hours after I come home from work. The heating element is circular and wraps around the bowl to ensure food is warmed evenly. Best of all, the lid is glass and completely detachable making it easy to clean.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
Vera V
Vera VSydney, NSW
  • 6 reviews

Great help in the kitchen!

published

We were slow cooker newbies prior to getting this one. After a bit of research, we opted for Breville since we already have other appliances with the same brand and they couldn't be faulted for their durability. We weren't disappointed with their slow cooker, too! The timer feature is so handy. You can leave it to cook overnight and wake up to a yummy dish! The clean up is also a breeze. Overall, it does the job well!

Date PurchasedNov 2016
Elle
ElleWollongong
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

love it

published

love this slow cooker. so easy to use and makes incredible food. I love that I can put this on in the morning and have a full meal ready to go when we get home, makes cooking fun and I can spend more time with my family in the afternoon while still supplying a heathy meal.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Other Slow Cookers

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Daniel Francis
Daniel FrancisMelbourne
  • 14 reviews
  • 19 likes

Easy to use. Great capacity

published

Really happy with cooking results. It's really up to the chef to know how long and what temp is required for their particular mean. I've done ribs to slow cooked roasts to stews. No complaints. Having the timer setting is a great advantage. Good value, got it for a wedding present in Dec 2915. Purchased my dad one for Father's Day in sept 2017.

Date PurchasedDec 2015
Slow Cookers

Find out how Breville Smart Temp BSC420 compares to other Slow Cookers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bess
BessAdelaide
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Does a great job

published

This really does a great job. The worst part is all the delicious smells wafting through the house while it does it's thing. While it's slowly creating a masterpiece My tummy is impatiently growling for what seems like an eternity. I know that's the point to cook slowly but I find it best to make meals ahead of time for the next day.

Date PurchasedJune 2017
Carolyn Burcham
Carolyn BurchamSydbey
  • 4 reviews

Great to use when winter comes

published

We have always had a Breville slow cooker as it's easy to cook a meal, whether you use chicken, lamb, sausages or chops. It is also easy to clean & put away. Should it break down, Breville come to fix it & should that not work we purchase another Breville.

Date PurchasedJuly 2015

Great for a few years....

published
Date PurchasedJan 2015
Jean
JeanNew South Wales
  • 43 reviews
  • 31 likes

Good slow cooker, expected a little more for the price

published
Date PurchasedApr 2017
bearman
bearmanLake Macquarie
  • 12 reviews

Almost perfect

published

Bought this June 2017 as old one was too small for growing family. Very thick/ solid ceramic 6 litre insert which takes a long time to cook,( 4 hours for a 2kg piece of silverside). But saying that just set and forget as you use less water then normal crockpot and therefore less steam but meat did not ever look like running out of water,( recommend use half what you normally put in). Digital timer is a lot more accurate then the simple dial from 1 to 5 on my old Breville 2.2litre!

Date PurchasedJune 2017
Other Slow Cookers

 
 

0.0
(1,234)

Excellent!

published

So happy with this purchase! Despite being 52 years old, I am new to cooking! Not only does this cook perfect rice every time, it also doubles as a crock pot. My pork roast turned out perfect yesterday and I cannot wait to try my next recipe. Oh, and the clean up is simple... just love this thing!

Date PurchasedJuly 2017
Slow Cookers

Find out how Breville Smart Temp BSC420 compares to other Slow Cookers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Sodium
Sodiumasked

Can the ceramic bowl be used on the stove top to sear meat etc?

Thanks

2 answers
Caz M
Caz M

No don’t think but there’s a sear function on the cooker, and it gets hot enough to caramelise meat

Sodium
Sodium

Thank you, but I don't think this model has a sear function?

Cheers

Irene
Ireneasked

I bought the Breville Smart Temp BSC420. But after a week returned it. As the heat was far to warm through a 20mil board, and that transferred the heat through to my Benchtop. I've replaced it with the same. BUT it's so hot through a board on top of my bench. This doesn't seem safe. I'm thinking of returning it. And getting a different brand.

No answers
JB21
JB21asked

Can this slow cooker be pre set to start?

1 answer
Sue
Sue

No, it cannot.

See all Breville Smart Temp BSC420 questions

Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

Details

CategorySlow Cookers
Price (RRP) $109.95
Capacity6L
Keep Warm SettingYes
Dishwasher Safe PartsYes
Dimensions 370 x 465 x 295 mm
DisplayLCD
Weight6.1 kg
Power280 W
Outer Body Construction MaterialStainless Steel
Cooking Bowl MaterialCeramic
Removable CordNo
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)
Release dateFeb 2013
ManualDownload manual
Visit official website
  • MPN: 4213, BSC420 and BSC420BSS
  • GTIN13: 9312432019620

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.