??!
2 photos
ANZ Rewards

ANZ Rewards

2.8 from 54 reviews · View Statistics

Are rewards credit cards worth it?

Getting rewarded for spending money sounds like an ideal scenario. But will a rewards card really give you bang for your buck? This short guide will take you through the things to think about before signing up for a new rewards credit card.

Read now

Pros

  • 50,000 Bonus Reward Points when you spend $1,000 on eligible purchases in the first 3 months from approval

  • 1 Reward Point per $1 spent on eligible purchases up to $1,000 per statement period

  • Up to 55 interest free days on purchases

Cons

  • 3% Overseas Transaction Fee

  • Lower earn rate of 0.5 Reward Points per $1 after the first $1,000 per statement period

Details

With 50,000 bonus points on offer if you spend $1,000 on eligible purchases within the first 3 months, this ANZ Visa is worth considering if you are a member of the ANZ Rewards Program or have a Virgin Australia Velocity Frequent Flyer account.

You can earn reward points at a ratio of 1:1 for the first $1,000. After that, it drops to 0.5 points per dollar. You can also convert your Reward points to other frequent flyer / rewards programs that you have an account with. This includes:

  • If you're a Velocity member, you can covert your Reward points at a transfer rate of 2 ANZ Rewards Points for 1 Velocity Frequent Flyer Point. An initial minimum of 2,000 ANZ points is required to redeem.
  • If you're a part of the Air New Zealand loyalty program, you can redeem an initial minimum of 3,000 ANZ Reward Points for 15 New Zealand Airpoints Dollars and then additional multiples of 1,500 Reward Points

For an annual fee of $80, this ANZ credit card is also the cheapest Rewards card on offer by ANZ, compared to the annual fee of its other Rewards cards which all have the same interest rate on purchases of 20.24% p.a.:

If you want Qantas Frequent Flyer points, consider ANZ Frequent Flyer credit cards which allow you to earn Qantas points.

CategoryRewards Credit Cards
Card TypeVisa
BenefitsSign-Up Bonus Points Offer
Minimum Credit Limit A$1,000
Minimum Income A$15,000
Additional Cardholders 3
Additional Cardholder Fee A$65 p.a.
Minimum Repayments2%
Rewards ProgramANZ Rewards
Points Earn Rate 1 points per $1
Points Conditions
  • 1 point $1 spent on eligible purchases up to and including $1,000 per statement period

  • 0.5 points per $1 spent on eligible purchases above $1,000 per statement period

Contactless PaymentsApple Pay, Garmin Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay
Rates & Fees
Purchase Rate20.24% p.a.
Cash Advance Fee2%
Late Payment FeeA$20
Annual FeeA$80 p.a.
Foreign Transaction Fee 3%
Overseas ATM Withdrawal FeeA$5
Interest Free Period 44 days
Cash Advance Rate20.99% p.a.
Introductory Offers
Sign-Up Bonus

50,000 bonus Reward Points when you spend $1,000 on eligible purchases in the first 3 months from approval.

Release dateMay 2007

Visit official website

Reviews

  • Transparency
    3.9 (21)
  • Customer Service
    3.9 (20)
  • Rates and Fees
    3.1 (21)
  • Rewards
    4.2 (18)
  • Online Experience
    3.9 (20)
  • Application Process
    4.0 (16)
Previous
Next
peter

peterHobart, TAS

  • 11 reviews
  • 12 likes

Indian Credit appraisers from a far world away

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Main Point of ContactOnline
See all answers
Kanye

KanyeBelconnen 2615, ACT

  • 48 reviews
  • 40 likes

Love it

published

Fees are bit high with a second card but can’t complain every dollar we spend we get points, we use for everything, it ads up really quick and we can use gift card on shopping very quickly.

Haven’t used the card overseas feels like it should be free.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateMarch 2020
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
See all answers
Kieana.B

Kieana.BPeel, WA

  • 8 reviews

Awesome card

published

Use this as our daily expense card. Love that I can have Apple Pay connected to my card to pay with my phone. Overall completely satisfied with my ANZ card.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateNovember 2018
Main Point of ContactBranch
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers
Rewards Credit Cards

Find out how ANZ Rewards compares to other Rewards Credit Cards

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Charles C.

Charles C.Sydney, NSW

  • 11 reviews
  • Verified customer

Good for frequent travelers

published

You can collect bonus Velocity Points and ANZ Rewards when you use the card to make eligible purchases and no foreign transaction fees, which is very suitable to frequent travelers. The annual fee is $225, not cheap but worth it if you make full use of the card.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateFebruary 2019
Main Point of ContactBranch
Card / Account Used For
  • Overseas/Travel
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

E Gift Cards are Excellent

published

We use this card every day. It is a good way to budget for gifts as the range of E gift cards is excellent. We save up and redeem the gift cards at Christmas time.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateJuly 2018
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers
Dan

DanGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Good as a basic credit card

published

Haven't used the card overseas yet but quite satisfied with having the Anz rewards credit card. I like that there are many e gift card to choose with the reward points. The rewards site is simple, easy to use and I've redeemed couple gifts with ease. The points seem to accumulate ok since I've had the card for 3 years now and since claimed couple hundred jb hifi vouchers.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateFebruary 2017
Main Point of ContactBranch
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers
Moh A.

Moh A.Sydney, NSW

  • 12 reviews

Anz credit card

published

The is a standard card which functions as you would expect a normal visa to function. I use this to pay for online purchases.
Rewards are very minimum ,overseas fees are high

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Incentivised ReviewNo
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Online Shopping
See all answers
Cainoo

CainooGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Basic rewards credit card

published

Ready to use and basic credit card. Easy to redeem your points and can do so in many different form, gift cards are a nice surprise. App for this card worked well.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateJune 2013
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers
Zaccy D.

Zaccy D.Canberra 2600, ACT

Reliable card/product - used it overseas without any problems.

published

Overseas it worked well, including several tap and go transactions. Nil issues. Rewards available to redeem were great - alot of diversity (gift cards and airline reward schemes) being my favourite. Redemption took about 2 minutes and was received it instantly.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateFebruary 2019
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers
Rewards Credit Cards

Find out how ANZ Rewards compares to other Rewards Credit Cards

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Eric

EricMelbourne

  • 11 reviews

Decent card with alright rewards

published

The card is a standard card which functions as you would expect a normal visa to function. I use this to pay for most online purchases and whatnot, at the end of each year i usually get enough points for $150 in gift cards which is nice and easy to redeem.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateSeptember 2016
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Special Purchases
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Dissapointed

DissapointedQueensland

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Good rewards, reasonable fees

published

I have had no issues with this card, fee's are more reasonable than my last bank and had no issues using it overseas. The built in travel insurance is great (just remember its not for domestic travel).

Rewards are good, I guess like any card it depends on how you use it to how many points you can reap.

Overall a good card, reasonable fees, ease of use and looks good to boot :-).

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Main Point of ContactBranch
See all answers
SB

SBMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 52 reviews
  • 68 likes

Typical ANZ bad service since outsourcing call centres overseas.

published

Don’t have an issue because if you do it is a nightmare to deal with ANZ support. You will spend more time trying to get the call centre person to understand English then resolving the issue.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateJanuary 2004
Main Point of ContactPhone
See all answers
Armour

ArmourSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews

Spend big receive not much

published

I have been an ANZ reward member for a very long time and too lazy to look for anything better. I just think the rewards in the way of cash back or gift cards is not really worth it. 13000 points will get you a 50 dollar gift card. I'd think it would be better to receive 200 for points over 10000. I guess even waiving the annual fee in addition to the rewards would also be a good reward.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Incentivised ReviewNo
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Special Purchases
See all answers
Pauline

PaulineSydney

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

BEST VALUE CARD!

published

This is my favourite card as you can redeem CASH back against your statement instead of only having the ability to use your points to receive gifts available. I get a lovely surprise every now and then when the credit amounts show up on my statement! Have had this card for at least 20 years or so.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateJanuary 1998
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Overseas/Travel
  • Special Purchases
See all answers

Great so long as you pay on time

published

I enjoy the rewards aspect of the card, however the interest fees are a killer if you dont stay on top of your payments and pay everything off in full each month. To be fair, they are the same as all the other large banks. The rewards are only worth it though if you arent paying the huge interest amounts each month.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateMarch 2015
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Rewards Credit Cards

Find out how ANZ Rewards compares to other Rewards Credit Cards

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
RobMid

RobMidSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews
  • 8 likes

Free credit card if you pay it off on time and have enough points to redeem.

published
Transparency
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Overseas/Travel
  • Special Purchases
See all answers
Leonel S.

Leonel S.Sydney, NSW

  • Verified customer

It's a credit card! Spend, pay off, repeat, no interest. Get points, redeem for goods, enjoy life!

published

I have had my ANZ Rewards card for over 15 years now. I got the ANZ Rewards card because they offered rewards for every $ I spend. I spend, I pay it off in full, no interest. I get reward points, I redeem them, which is very simple and easy to do, and I enjoy what I get. I haven't needed to use the insurance yet, but I am glad it is there.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateMay 2003
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Overseas/Travel
  • Special Purchases
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Lizzy

LizzyGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

False advertising, this rewards program is a joke, WESTPAC here we come!

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateJanuary 2017
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Overseas/Travel
  • Special Purchases
See all answers
Geoffrey Boxer

Geoffrey BoxerSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 17 reviews
  • 11 likes

Looks after your purchases without problems

published

Have only ever used ANZ Visa card. What more do people want? A complete list of all purchases, absolutely no interest as long as you pay outstanding credit on time. Easy comprehensive system to pay bills and frequent flyer credits. Fast telephone service if there is any problems. Automatic payment from another account to pay outstanding credit. Frequent flyer points are added automatically to Qantas. I assume other credit cards are okay but as I have used ANZ for over 30 years with no problems it suits me. Comprehensive list of all statements including CMC Stockmarket (originally Etrade).

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Incentivised ReviewNo
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Overseas/Travel
  • Special Purchases
See all answers
Jenni

JenniSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Great for people who spend a lot of money on there credit card

published

I signed up for this credit 12 years ago. It was great then. Low yearly fees and you would get gift cards without being too expensive. Now it is hardly worth it. By the time I pay for having the rewards card and then having my husband as an adiditional cardholder. I have to spend 22,225 to get an $100.00 give card. And each year these fees and the gift cards get more expensive. Unless you send a lot of money you could make this card worthwhile.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateSeptember 2005
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Christine

Christineasked

Can I choose my own departures times with the free domestic flight offered

1 answer
Armour
Armour

I would like to think so but best follow up directly with ANZ

bianca

biancaasked

What do I do if ANZ wont offer me the 40 000 velocity points and claim that is not an offer that they endorse?

1 answer
Kanye
Kanye

Call ANZ

Len25

Len25asked

I have an ANZ Platinum Qantas Rewards card and when I logged into my Qantas account I discovered ANZ had capped my points at 1000 per month ...even though I spending $7,000+ on the card every month. How can that be?

1 answer
Tumbleweed
Tumbleweed

I don't know what level of card you have - maybe at the level you have this was part of the terms - seems low - I don't have that - have the black card

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.